The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ - Page 371 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #11101 of 11117 Old 05-01-2015, 04:36 PM
Member
 
johnnymacIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Comp625 View Post
x4000 owners, I'm hoping you can help me.

My 5-month old receiver's Front Right channel loses sound every so often. At first, I thought it was a blown speaker until I swapped in another one to no avail. Also, the test tone plays but it's very faint (you have to hold the speaker up to your ear to hear it). Wires look good, and I rewired to no avail.

However, I accidentally jarred the receiver and sound from the FR channel came back.

Shortly after, sound disappeared again but an aggressive knock against the right side of the receiver case (toward the back) brought back sound.

Is something loose and can an amateur fix it? Should I call Denon? FWIW, I bought it as a refurb from AC4L.

Sent from my XT1096 using Tapatalk
Definitely don't open it up. Call Denon and they will set you up with an authorized repair center. Hopefully the repair center is close enough to drop the unit off. If not, see if you can get them to pay for shipping. When I had to send my unit back to A4L from NC to FL it cost me $88 via UPS ground, but that was including box and packing as well.
johnnymacIII is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11102 of 11117 Old 05-01-2015, 08:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Do you guys have any idea if open box denon x4000 from best buy still comes with 3 yr manufacturer warranty?
tapsilog is online now  
post #11103 of 11117 Old 05-01-2015, 08:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by tapsilog View Post
Do you guys have any idea if open box denon x4000 from best buy still comes with 3 yr manufacturer warranty?
It should. Ask them to confirm. It's only when it has a "used" status that you lose the warranty.
Soulburner is online now  
post #11104 of 11117 Old Yesterday, 05:45 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,499
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3784 Post(s)
Liked: 2189
Quote:
Originally Posted by tapsilog View Post
Do you guys have any idea if open box denon x4000 from best buy still comes with 3 yr manufacturer warranty?
Yes. Open box from an authorized dealer still has 3 year warranty.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11105 of 11117 Old Yesterday, 09:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yes. Open box from an authorized dealer still has 3 year warranty.
Is best buy denon authorized dealer? I just took home open box x4000. How i am gonna get the 3 yr warranty? Should i call denon?
And also they dont have the rc 1185 remote for x4000 instead they gave me rc 1192. Is that remote will just work fine?
tapsilog is online now  
post #11106 of 11117 Old Yesterday, 12:42 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,499
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3784 Post(s)
Liked: 2189
Quote:
Originally Posted by tapsilog View Post
Is best buy denon authorized dealer? I just took home open box x4000. How i am gonna get the 3 yr warranty? Should i call denon?
And also they dont have the rc 1185 remote for x4000 instead they gave me rc 1192. Is that remote will just work fine?
Yes, Best Buy an authorized dealer and is Denon's largest customer. Your Best Buy invoice with date of purchase is the only item needed for warranty service if required. The RC-1192 remote is used with the newer X2100W and X3100W AVRs and although some commands may work others will be missing as the X4000 is a higher level model. You would be better served purchasing a Harmony remote and downloading the RC-1185 commands to it from the Logitech website.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11107 of 11117 Old Yesterday, 12:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yes, Best Buy an authorized dealer and is Denon's largest customer. Your Best Buy invoice with date of purchase is the only item needed for warranty service if required. The RC-1192 remote is used with the newer X2100W and X3100W AVRs and although some commands may work others will be missing as the X4000 is a higher level model. You would be better served purchasing a Harmony remote and downloading the RC-1185 commands to it from the Logitech website.
In see. Thanks. Any harmony will work? Is this the recent firmware version for the x4000, 5530-8776-1610?
tapsilog is online now  
post #11108 of 11117 Old Yesterday, 01:04 PM
Member
 
mhaider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's the firmware version on my X4000, I was able to connect with the update server Thursday night and was told I had the latest version

Sent from my LG-V500 using Tapatalk
mhaider is offline  
post #11109 of 11117 Old Yesterday, 01:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhaider View Post
That's the firmware version on my X4000, I was able to connect with the update server Thursday night and was told I had the latest version

Sent from my LG-V500 using Tapatalk
Thanks
tapsilog is online now  
post #11110 of 11117 Old Yesterday, 01:56 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,499
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3784 Post(s)
Liked: 2189
Quote:
Originally Posted by tapsilog View Post
In see. Thanks. Any harmony will work? Is this the recent firmware version for the x4000, 5530-8776-1610?
Yes any Harmony. There are many models available depending on how many other components you also want to control in addition to the AVR.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11111 of 11117 Old Yesterday, 02:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yes any Harmony. There are many models available depending on how many other components you also want to control in addition to the AVR.
Thanks. I think i got a defect unit. When doing a test tone from avr 0.0db the surround left speaker doesn't make any sounds.all others are okay. Hmmm
tapsilog is online now  
post #11112 of 11117 Old Yesterday, 02:54 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,499
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3784 Post(s)
Liked: 2189
^^
Whenever you get a "used" unit, the first step is to reset the microprocessor to return all settings to their factory defaults. See post ##5 of this thread or look at p. 225 in the Owner's manual.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11113 of 11117 Old Yesterday, 04:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Whenever you get a "used" unit, the first step is to reset the microprocessor to return all settings to their factory defaults. See post ##5 of this thread or look at p. 225 in the Owner's manual.
Thanks again. Did the reset and all is working fine now. And you are right the remote they gave me are missing all major buttons i guess. Is it possible i can ask denon for replacement?is it cover with the warranty?
tapsilog is online now  
post #11114 of 11117 Old Yesterday, 05:26 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,499
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3784 Post(s)
Liked: 2189
^^
Not likely but doesn't hurt to try ... although some who have gotten open box units from Best Buy have simply negotiated an additional $50 off the sale price to acquire a new remote.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11115 of 11117 Old Yesterday, 11:17 PM
Member
 
BLeClair12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No idea what's going on here, but I'm in need of some assistance.

I've had my X2000 for a year now and have never had even a hint of an issue.

Tonight, I watched a movie on my PS3, put it back on TV for a while, then switched over to my Xbox One and played a game for a bit. When I switched back over to my cable input, my screen was black. And I can't get it back. I've reset the cable box, shut everything down and restarted. Nothing. All of my other inputs and devices work. I moved the cable box to a different input on the receiver, nothing. I get sound after I change the channel for the first time, but no video.

I plugged the box directly into a different TV and it worked perfectly fine.

Sounds like an HDMI handshake issue, but how? Why now after a full year?
BLeClair12 is online now  
post #11116 of 11117 Old Today, 03:05 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,499
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3784 Post(s)
Liked: 2189
^^
HDMI handshake issues with cable/sat boxes can present out of the blue when there is a firmware update to cable/sat box with the issue not resolved until the next firmware update tot he cable/sat box. Go through the HDMI HDCP reset procedure I list in the Troubleshooting section of post ##3 of this thread linked below. If no joy, connect HDMI to the TV with optical to to the AVR until the next firmware update to the cable/sat box.

The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11117 of 11117 Unread Today, 06:57 PM
Member
 
BLeClair12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
HDMI handshake issues with cable/sat boxes can present out of the blue when there is a firmware update to cable/sat box with the issue not resolved until the next firmware update tot he cable/sat box. Go through the HDMI HDCP reset procedure I list in the Troubleshooting section of post ##3 of this thread linked below. If no joy, connect HDMI to the TV with optical to to the AVR until the next firmware update to the cable/sat box.

The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ
Thanks! I actually solved it about an hour after I made the post, just by trial and error. I thought I'd seen the recommendations from the thread at some point, but I couldn't find it at the time. Probably because it was 2 in the morning and I just wanted to get to bed, but couldn't possibly be satisfied until I figured it out.

In the end, I unplugged the HDMI cable from both ends and cut the power to my whole system, waited 60 seconds or so, booted everything up, and it was good to go.
BLeClair12 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr4310ci Receiver , dolby digital plus , netflix 5.1
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off