The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ - Page 371 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11101 of 11127 Old 05-01-2015, 04:36 PM
Member
 
johnnymacIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Comp625 View Post
x4000 owners, I'm hoping you can help me.

My 5-month old receiver's Front Right channel loses sound every so often. At first, I thought it was a blown speaker until I swapped in another one to no avail. Also, the test tone plays but it's very faint (you have to hold the speaker up to your ear to hear it). Wires look good, and I rewired to no avail.

However, I accidentally jarred the receiver and sound from the FR channel came back.

Shortly after, sound disappeared again but an aggressive knock against the right side of the receiver case (toward the back) brought back sound.

Is something loose and can an amateur fix it? Should I call Denon? FWIW, I bought it as a refurb from AC4L.

Sent from my XT1096 using Tapatalk
Definitely don't open it up. Call Denon and they will set you up with an authorized repair center. Hopefully the repair center is close enough to drop the unit off. If not, see if you can get them to pay for shipping. When I had to send my unit back to A4L from NC to FL it cost me $88 via UPS ground, but that was including box and packing as well.
johnnymacIII is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11102 of 11127 Old 05-01-2015, 08:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Do you guys have any idea if open box denon x4000 from best buy still comes with 3 yr manufacturer warranty?
tapsilog is online now  
post #11103 of 11127 Old 05-01-2015, 08:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by tapsilog View Post
Do you guys have any idea if open box denon x4000 from best buy still comes with 3 yr manufacturer warranty?
It should. Ask them to confirm. It's only when it has a "used" status that you lose the warranty.
Soulburner is online now  
post #11104 of 11127 Old 05-02-2015, 05:45 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,536
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3806 Post(s)
Liked: 2196
Quote:
Originally Posted by tapsilog View Post
Do you guys have any idea if open box denon x4000 from best buy still comes with 3 yr manufacturer warranty?
Yes. Open box from an authorized dealer still has 3 year warranty.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11105 of 11127 Old 05-02-2015, 09:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yes. Open box from an authorized dealer still has 3 year warranty.
Is best buy denon authorized dealer? I just took home open box x4000. How i am gonna get the 3 yr warranty? Should i call denon?
And also they dont have the rc 1185 remote for x4000 instead they gave me rc 1192. Is that remote will just work fine?
tapsilog is online now  
post #11106 of 11127 Old 05-02-2015, 12:42 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,536
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3806 Post(s)
Liked: 2196
Quote:
Originally Posted by tapsilog View Post
Is best buy denon authorized dealer? I just took home open box x4000. How i am gonna get the 3 yr warranty? Should i call denon?
And also they dont have the rc 1185 remote for x4000 instead they gave me rc 1192. Is that remote will just work fine?
Yes, Best Buy an authorized dealer and is Denon's largest customer. Your Best Buy invoice with date of purchase is the only item needed for warranty service if required. The RC-1192 remote is used with the newer X2100W and X3100W AVRs and although some commands may work others will be missing as the X4000 is a higher level model. You would be better served purchasing a Harmony remote and downloading the RC-1185 commands to it from the Logitech website.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11107 of 11127 Old 05-02-2015, 12:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yes, Best Buy an authorized dealer and is Denon's largest customer. Your Best Buy invoice with date of purchase is the only item needed for warranty service if required. The RC-1192 remote is used with the newer X2100W and X3100W AVRs and although some commands may work others will be missing as the X4000 is a higher level model. You would be better served purchasing a Harmony remote and downloading the RC-1185 commands to it from the Logitech website.
In see. Thanks. Any harmony will work? Is this the recent firmware version for the x4000, 5530-8776-1610?
tapsilog is online now  
post #11108 of 11127 Old 05-02-2015, 01:04 PM
Member
 
mhaider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's the firmware version on my X4000, I was able to connect with the update server Thursday night and was told I had the latest version

Sent from my LG-V500 using Tapatalk
mhaider is offline  
post #11109 of 11127 Old 05-02-2015, 01:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhaider View Post
That's the firmware version on my X4000, I was able to connect with the update server Thursday night and was told I had the latest version

Sent from my LG-V500 using Tapatalk
Thanks
tapsilog is online now  
post #11110 of 11127 Old 05-02-2015, 01:56 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,536
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3806 Post(s)
Liked: 2196
Quote:
Originally Posted by tapsilog View Post
In see. Thanks. Any harmony will work? Is this the recent firmware version for the x4000, 5530-8776-1610?
Yes any Harmony. There are many models available depending on how many other components you also want to control in addition to the AVR.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11111 of 11127 Old 05-02-2015, 02:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yes any Harmony. There are many models available depending on how many other components you also want to control in addition to the AVR.
Thanks. I think i got a defect unit. When doing a test tone from avr 0.0db the surround left speaker doesn't make any sounds.all others are okay. Hmmm
tapsilog is online now  
post #11112 of 11127 Old 05-02-2015, 02:54 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,536
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3806 Post(s)
Liked: 2196
^^
Whenever you get a "used" unit, the first step is to reset the microprocessor to return all settings to their factory defaults. See post ##5 of this thread or look at p. 225 in the Owner's manual.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11113 of 11127 Old 05-02-2015, 04:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Whenever you get a "used" unit, the first step is to reset the microprocessor to return all settings to their factory defaults. See post ##5 of this thread or look at p. 225 in the Owner's manual.
Thanks again. Did the reset and all is working fine now. And you are right the remote they gave me are missing all major buttons i guess. Is it possible i can ask denon for replacement?is it cover with the warranty?
tapsilog is online now  
post #11114 of 11127 Old 05-02-2015, 05:26 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,536
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3806 Post(s)
Liked: 2196
^^
Not likely but doesn't hurt to try ... although some who have gotten open box units from Best Buy have simply negotiated an additional $50 off the sale price to acquire a new remote.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11115 of 11127 Old 05-02-2015, 11:17 PM
Member
 
BLeClair12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No idea what's going on here, but I'm in need of some assistance.

I've had my X2000 for a year now and have never had even a hint of an issue.

Tonight, I watched a movie on my PS3, put it back on TV for a while, then switched over to my Xbox One and played a game for a bit. When I switched back over to my cable input, my screen was black. And I can't get it back. I've reset the cable box, shut everything down and restarted. Nothing. All of my other inputs and devices work. I moved the cable box to a different input on the receiver, nothing. I get sound after I change the channel for the first time, but no video.

I plugged the box directly into a different TV and it worked perfectly fine.

Sounds like an HDMI handshake issue, but how? Why now after a full year?
BLeClair12 is offline  
post #11116 of 11127 Old 05-03-2015, 03:05 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,536
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3806 Post(s)
Liked: 2196
^^
HDMI handshake issues with cable/sat boxes can present out of the blue when there is a firmware update to cable/sat box with the issue not resolved until the next firmware update tot he cable/sat box. Go through the HDMI HDCP reset procedure I list in the Troubleshooting section of post ##3 of this thread linked below. If no joy, connect HDMI to the TV with optical to to the AVR until the next firmware update to the cable/sat box.

The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11117 of 11127 Old 05-03-2015, 06:57 PM
Member
 
BLeClair12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
HDMI handshake issues with cable/sat boxes can present out of the blue when there is a firmware update to cable/sat box with the issue not resolved until the next firmware update tot he cable/sat box. Go through the HDMI HDCP reset procedure I list in the Troubleshooting section of post ##3 of this thread linked below. If no joy, connect HDMI to the TV with optical to to the AVR until the next firmware update to the cable/sat box.

The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ
Thanks! I actually solved it about an hour after I made the post, just by trial and error. I thought I'd seen the recommendations from the thread at some point, but I couldn't find it at the time. Probably because it was 2 in the morning and I just wanted to get to bed, but couldn't possibly be satisfied until I figured it out.

In the end, I unplugged the HDMI cable from both ends and cut the power to my whole system, waited 60 seconds or so, booted everything up, and it was good to go.
BLeClair12 is offline  
post #11118 of 11127 Old Today, 06:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hi guys im looking for X4000 remote. If you guys have one that you don't use, and wanna sell it please let me know. Thank you.
tapsilog is online now  
post #11119 of 11127 Old Today, 06:48 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,536
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3806 Post(s)
Liked: 2196
^^
You would be better served purchasing a Harmony remote which would not only be able to operate the X4000 but several other components in your setup as well.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11120 of 11127 Old Today, 07:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,280
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1130 Post(s)
Liked: 605
^^

Doesn't have to be Harmony. $18 Xsight Color (Nevo C2) from ebay works as well as any Harmony and is cheaper than the original X4000 remote. Mine has over 200 Denon functions on it, far more than any Denon remote. Probably more than any Harmony, unless you do a lot of work (learning over 100 functions from a JP1 remote).
mdavej is offline  
post #11121 of 11127 Old Today, 07:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
You would be better served purchasing a Harmony remote which would not only be able to operate the X4000 but several other components in your setup as well.
If buying harmony, all buttons and functions on x4000 denon remote will be there on the harmony too?
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
^^

Doesn't have to be Harmony. $18 Xsight Color (Nevo C2) from ebay works as well as any Harmony and is cheaper than the original X4000 remote. Mine has over 200 Denon functions on it, far more than any Denon remote. Probably more than any Harmony, unless you do a lot of work (learning over 100 functions from a JP1 remote).
i will try to check it out. All functions too for x4000 will be there on the remote?harmony cost more. Trying to save some money.
tapsilog is online now  
post #11122 of 11127 Old Today, 08:27 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,280
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1130 Post(s)
Liked: 605
^^
Both are programmable universal remotes. They'll have whatever functions you put on them. Out of the box, universals don't have any functions. For Xsight, I simply load the device below. I can make a version for the X4000 as well, upon request. If you get a Harmony, then I would be wasting my time adding all the X4000 specific functions.
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dl...&file_id=12518

Mine has all the functions of the original plus many more that aren't on the original. Harmony is probably similar. JD can address that question.
mdavej is offline  
post #11123 of 11127 Old Today, 10:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,691
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1669 Post(s)
Liked: 1914
The way Harmony works is that it has a huge database of device codes -- when you set up the remote via the web bases software you tell it the device model number and it loads a "profile" of commands associated with that device. Harmony officially only supports functions on the original remote -- but it will reproduce 100% of the function that the original remote has.

Beyond the preloaded profile for each device, like any decent universal remote Harmony's can "learn" functions from other remotes. The disadvantage with Harmony's is, as mdavej mentions above, it's a lot more work to get extra commands in there. Since Harmony is more of a "consumer oriented" brand they don't make it as easy as other remotes to do your own customization so you have to figure out how to "hack" the extra commands in there.

I don't know anything about the XSight remotes but they look interesting after a quick google. @mdavej -- do they offer "activity" style macros like Harmony?

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #11124 of 11127 Old Today, 10:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
^^
Both are programmable universal remotes. They'll have whatever functions you put on them. Out of the box, universals don't have any functions. For Xsight, I simply load the device below. I can make a version for the X4000 as well, upon request. If you get a Harmony, then I would be wasting my time adding all the X4000 specific functions.
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dl...&file_id=12518

Mine has all the functions of the original plus many more that aren't on the original. Harmony is probably similar. JD can address that question.
Can you tell me please where i can get the remote that you have? If this can work like harmony, i will get this and save some money. And yes i an interested of you can also help me out regarding the x4000 version. Ty
tapsilog is online now  
post #11125 of 11127 Old Today, 11:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,280
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1130 Post(s)
Liked: 605
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
I don't know anything about the XSight remotes but they look interesting after a quick google. @mdavej -- do they offer "activity" style macros like Harmony?
They're the top of the line JP1 remote model at the moment. Yes, they do activity style macros and are programmed similarly (wizards in a web based interface). We also have our own, better software for programming them (Remote Master). While they have more programming capabilities than Harmony (fully editable activities, variable hold durations, pronto hex import, custom protocols and devices, load/save configs locally), they lack Harmony's state tracking feature. So they are best suited for devices with discrete power and input codes. Since being discontinued, these originally $150-$250 remotes are dirt cheap on ebay now. They're comparable to the old Harmony One (IR) and 900 (RF).

I can easily load every possible Denon function by entering codes from Denon's technical documents. Doing the same on Harmony would require more effort and possibly an additional remote for teaching, as you already know.

Since I'm very biased as a JP1 user for 15 years, here's a good post from a more recent convert:
Acoustic Research XSight Remote
mdavej is offline  
post #11126 of 11127 Old Today, 11:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,691
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1669 Post(s)
Liked: 1914
Thanks. Can you explain how the RF remote would work? Is it similar to the Harmony in that you'd need a separate "base station" which converts the RF signal back to IR and then blasts it to the source components? And is that hardware included with the remote or bought separately?

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #11127 of 11127 Old Today, 11:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,280
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1130 Post(s)
Liked: 605
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
Thanks. Can you explain how the RF remote would work? Is it similar to the Harmony in that you'd need a separate "base station" which converts the RF signal back to IR and then blasts it to the source components? And is that hardware included with the remote or bought separately?
The Xsight Touch and Nevo C3 (its twin) are the RF capable models, the Color and C2 are IR only. The base is purchased separately (around $15 on ebay at the moment, originally $100). The base is a blaster itself and comes with 6 other blasters (each with 10 ft of very thin wire and self adhesive eyes about a half inch in diameter). The RF is very basic, not addressable, and the RF remote shoots IR as well simultaneously.

Here's a base on Amazon. I agree with one reviewer that these are very sensitive to RF interference. It took some trial and error to find a noise free location for mine.

http://www.amazon.com/Acoustic-Resea.../dp/B002NPS3NG

Prices for the Touch and C3 have gone up significantly recently. A few months ago, they were under $30. But finding one at that price now is a challenge. The Color and C2 IR models are still very cheap, under $20. They have no RF capability at all. I use them in bedrooms and guest rooms.
mdavej is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr4310ci Receiver , dolby digital plus , netflix 5.1
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off