The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ - Page 416 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 358Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12451 of 12464 Old 08-16-2016, 06:15 PM
Newbie
 
cheecheung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi, I accidentally pressed a wrong on the Denon X4000 and now when I power on the AVR it stays on Blu-ray mode all the time. How do I change it back so the AVR can automatically detect whichever HDMI signal I have turned on, ie if I turn the Blu-ray player on, the AVR kicks in. Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
cheecheung is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12452 of 12464 Old 08-17-2016, 02:33 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,430
Mentioned: 187 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9851 Post(s)
Liked: 4582
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheecheung View Post
Hi, I accidentally pressed a wrong on the Denon X4000 and now when I power on the AVR it stays on Blu-ray mode all the time. How do I change it back so the AVR can automatically detect whichever HDMI signal I have turned on, ie if I turn the Blu-ray player on, the AVR kicks in. Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
Unless you are using HDMI(ARC), the AVR will power on to the last source used. You can bypass by instead of pressing the power on button, simply press the source device you want to use which will not only power on the AVR but also select that source as well.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12453 of 12464 Old 08-21-2016, 02:59 AM
Member
 
jj-34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry to be a bit late on this subject.
I very recently installed a brand new X4000 out its box that was waiting in it since 2 years ....
But if everything else seems to work nicely, I have a problem with the projector connection :
I have a 65" UHD Sony TV on monitor 1 out (not using ARC) with a short hdmi cable, and my 1080p JVC RS56 projector on monitor 2 using 25' hdmi 2.0 certified cable, and playing BR on my Panasonic BDT-500.


With the TV everything is fine, but with the projector after a few minutes ( maybe 5 to 10 minutes) I start having periodic image connection losses, that's what the projector indicates, during about 5 to 10 seconds and then it reconnects and projection resumes, in the meanwhile no audio losses though.


I have read the 1st pages of this thread but did not find any remedy, and the french Denon service has been of no help either plus the unit being out of warranty they do not bother


Any idea of what happens ? Faulty unit ?
Maybe some bad settings in the chain ?


Another hint, when both TV and projector are on, the problem does not happen, or at least after watching more that 1/2 hour before giving up I did not notice it.


Also if I plug the projector direct into the BDT-500 it works nicely too.


Thanks
jj-34 is offline  
post #12454 of 12464 Old 08-21-2016, 06:19 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,430
Mentioned: 187 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9851 Post(s)
Liked: 4582
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj-34 View Post
Sorry to be a bit late on this subject.
I very recently installed a brand new X4000 out its box that was waiting in it since 2 years ....
But if everything else seems to work nicely, I have a problem with the projector connection :
I have a 65" UHD Sony TV on monitor 1 out (not using ARC) with a short hdmi cable, and my 1080p JVC RS56 projector on monitor 2 using 25' hdmi 2.0 certified cable, and playing BR on my Panasonic BDT-500.


With the TV everything is fine, but with the projector after a few minutes ( maybe 5 to 10 minutes) I start having periodic image connection losses, that's what the projector indicates, during about 5 to 10 seconds and then it reconnects and projection resumes, in the meanwhile no audio losses though.


I have read the 1st pages of this thread but did not find any remedy, and the french Denon service has been of no help either plus the unit being out of warranty they do not bother


Any idea of what happens ? Faulty unit ?
Maybe some bad settings in the chain ?


Another hint, when both TV and projector are on, the problem does not happen, or at least after watching more that 1/2 hour before giving up I did not notice it.


Also if I plug the projector direct into the BDT-500 it works nicely too.


Thanks

If you have the Video Output set at the default of "Auto", try using "Monitor 1" or "Monitor 2" depending on the source you want to pass to each. Also, if not already doing so, ensure the cable being used with the TV is the same type cable being used with the PJ.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12455 of 12464 Old 08-21-2016, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,929
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 159
The Mysteries of HDMI

My x4000 has been out of the box for two days after its trip to United Radio (needed a new headphone connector), working fine, no problems loading the config file I saved before I sent it to the Denon hospital.

When I turned on the unit to watch cable tv this morning, there was no audio. Other HDMI inputs worked fine, and the cable box produced sound when I switched it temporarily to another HDMI input on the AVR. After it was plugged back into its usual input, it worked fine again...

I probably could have burned some incense and gotten the problem solved...

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K701, Burson HA-160, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
post #12456 of 12464 Old 08-21-2016, 09:32 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,430
Mentioned: 187 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9851 Post(s)
Liked: 4582
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
The Mysteries of HDMI

My x4000 has been out of the box for two days after its trip to United Radio (needed a new headphone connector), working fine, no problems loading the config file I saved before I sent it to the Denon hospital.

When I turned on the unit to watch cable tv this morning, there was no audio. Other HDMI inputs worked fine, and the cable box produced sound when I switched it temporarily to another HDMI input on the AVR. After it was plugged back into its usual input, it worked fine again...

I probably could have burned some incense and gotten the problem solved...
Just an HDMI handshake issue. When I use my CenturyLink DVR, I normally have to press the 7 sec rewind button to get audio to start.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12457 of 12464 Old 08-21-2016, 09:39 AM
Member
 
jj-34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
If you have the Video Output set at the default of "Auto", try using "Monitor 1" or "Monitor 2" depending on the source you want to pass to each. Also, if not already doing so, ensure the cable being used with the TV is the same type cable being used with the PJ.
Hi JD
you nailed it, eventually it looks like I never tried this before !

My hdmi cables are both the same type, only different length.
I switched the AVR's Video Output to "Monitor2" where the PJ is connected then watched a full movie and it did not loose connexion, even with the audio going thru the same hdmi to the AVR, no drop outs.
Before I had to use the optical digital connexion to the AVR to avoid audio drops at the same time.

In "Auto" mode when only the TV is ON alone it's OK, as well as when both TV and PJ are ON together.
Isn't that quite strange that when only the PJ is ON I have to switch Video Output to "Monitor2" ?

As I write this I realize that I did not test with Video Output switched to "Monitor1" ( and the PJ plugged into monitor1 too of course )?
I have to test this too some times ...

Thanks again, as I have two other input devices I can now use my AVR as the hdmi switch, and do not have to replug my PJ's cable everytime.

Last edited by jj-34; 08-21-2016 at 09:42 AM.
jj-34 is offline  
post #12458 of 12464 Old 08-23-2016, 10:20 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Pandora on X4000 still messed up? Seems like denon wont fix it no more

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
parekoy is online now  
post #12459 of 12464 Old 08-23-2016, 10:45 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
seggers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: WNY
Posts: 2,248
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by parekoy View Post
Pandora on X4000 still messed up? Seems like denon wont fix it no more

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
It's being fixed but just not yet. See this reply:

The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ

Seggers
parekoy likes this.

Vizio M80-C3, Denon X4000, Emotiva UPA5 (triggered), Wharfedale Pacific Evo 40s, CS, 10s, PC DX12 sub, the internet, an ASUS ChromeBox running Kodi, a TiVo Series 3 and a Sony BDPS6200. There's also a Wii, but we don't talk about that...
seggers is offline  
post #12460 of 12464 Old Yesterday, 01:59 AM
Member
 
jj-34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope they will add a few "by the way" hdmi output fixes too ......
jj-34 is offline  
post #12461 of 12464 Old Yesterday, 07:33 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question

Hi guys. I have a avr-x4000.
1) it is a very hot. How much space on top I should leave? 10cm?
2) How to stream TIDAL to it? x400 connected to PC now via HDMI. Sure I can just install Tidal app on PC, but there is no remote app for iOS. Another way - stream Tidal from iPad via AirPlay.
3) What do you think about AirPlay (from iPhone/iPad) sound quality? I hear that it is not so good as via DLNA/HDMI, maybe I am wrong with it.
4) DLNA and HDMI has a same quality?
5) I have a B&W CM9 (front) and B&W ASW-300 (subwoofer). I think that sub is lower class then CM9. Should I set Front as "Small" or not?
6) Can x400 automatically detect audio signal type (DTS, Dolby digital, Stereo, etc) or I should set it manually every time?

Thanks.
sstyle is offline  
post #12462 of 12464 Old Yesterday, 07:37 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,430
Mentioned: 187 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9851 Post(s)
Liked: 4582
Quote:
Originally Posted by sstyle View Post
Hi guys. I have a avr-x4000.
1) it is a very hot. How much space on top I should leave? 10cm?
2) How to stream TIDAL to it? x400 connected to PC now via HDMI. Sure I can just install Tidal app on PC, but there is no remote app for iOS. Another way - stream Tidal from iPad via AirPlay.
3) What do you think about AirPlay (from iPhone/iPad) sound quality? I hear that it is not so good as via DLNA/HDMI, maybe I am wrong with it.
4) DLNA and HDMI has a same quality?
5) I have a B&W CM9 (front) and B&W ASW-300 (subwoofer). I think that sub is lower class then CM9. Should I set Front as "Small" or not?
6) Can x400 automatically detect audio signal type (DTS, Dolby digital, Stereo, etc) or I should set it manually every time?

Thanks.
1. Shouldn't be that hot, however, allow at least 3-4 inches on top and sides with open front and back. Also consider adding one or two PC fans to exhaust the heat if really that hot.
2. Airplay or you can add a Denon HEOS Link and stream TIDAL using the Denon HEOS app.
5. SMALL/80Hz
6. First time yes, then the AVR remembers for future sessions.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12463 of 12464 Old Yesterday, 07:44 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
1. Shouldn't be that hot, however, allow at least 3-4 inches on top and sides with open front and back. Also consider adding one or two PC fans to exhaust the heat if really that hot.
2. Airplay or you can add a Denon HEOS Link and stream TIDAL using the Denon HEOS app.
5. SMALL/80Hz
6. First time yes, then the AVR remembers for future sessions.
Thanks.
2. No other ways? HEOS Link not cheap (
6. But I will watch different movies with different audio codecs. My old Yamaha (100$ cost) can detect automatically after signal changed.
sstyle is offline  
post #12464 of 12464 Old Today, 02:46 PM
Member
 
jj-34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some news about my video connection losses with my PJ :


I have installed a powered hdmi switch between the Monitor2 hdmi output of the Denon X4000 and the long cable to the PJ, switched the amp's video out back to Auto ..... and it works !


We have watched 3 films since, two BR and one from the adsl box and had no connection loss, let's cross our fingers .....


Only drawback I noticed is that now the Denon's menu always goes to the PJ even if the TV is playing alone and PJ powered off, but the hdmi switch is on all the time of course.
In Video Out Auto mode, should the menu not been displayed on both ?

Last edited by jj-34; Today at 02:51 PM.
jj-34 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr4310ci Receiver , dolby digital plus , netflix 5.1
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off