The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ - Page 420 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 377Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12571 of 12593 Old 11-27-2016, 01:01 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 31,333
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2057 Post(s)
Liked: 1778
Are the firmware versions posted at the beginning of this thread somewhere? I've looked and only see how to update it and what each version has fixed but no version numbers.

My current version, X4000, is 5630-9776-1665. Is that most recent firmware version for this model?

Thanks
Keenan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12572 of 12593 Old 11-27-2016, 02:51 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 31,333
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2057 Post(s)
Liked: 1778
Quote:
Originally Posted by parekoy View Post
How come i cant still log in on pandora from my x4000? I thought there's an update to fix it?

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
Did you check the below page for your model number?

http://denon.custhelp.com/app/answer...-using-pandora

Also check this post by jdsmoothie.
parekoy likes this.
Keenan is online now  
post #12573 of 12593 Old 11-27-2016, 02:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
tboe77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by tboe77 View Post
I've got an X4000 going into protection mode (red light flashes rapidly). I'm only using the preamp outputs on it, (no speakers connected directly to it), so no chance of it being a short in the speaker wire.

The manual suggests the amp circuit may be toast. The unit is just three years old.

Is there a known fix for this? My warranty is done and there isn't an authorized repair centre anywhere near me. Thinking I might try a local repair shop. Would help if I can point them in the right direction.
So, I've got an update on my situation. I found a link to a youtube video that shows a fellow supposedly fixing this problem, or a similar problem.


As my unit is out of warranty, I decided to give this a shot. I opened my unit up. I did not find any loose wires, as shown in the video. I did, however, pull out that same connector, pushed the wires in just in case (though I saw no visible evidence that anything was loose). I re-connected the white connector, and then plugged the unit back in and turned it on. Prior to this, it was going into protection every 5-10 minutes. I left it on for a couple of hours and it did not shut off. I put the cover back on, hooked everything back up, and have had several hours of trouble-free operation since then.

I'll re-iterate, that I did not see the problem shown in the video (loose wires), when I had the cover off. I did not think that anything I had done could have made a difference (though I did un-plug that white connector and plugged it back in, it didn't seem the least bit loose or poorly seated). I was trying to think what could have made the difference. At this point, I remembered wiping a bit of cobweb away from the back of the unit after I pulled it out of my entertainment center (the unit had been sitting there, undisturbed and performing flawlessly for three years). The web was hanging from one of the binding posts on the back of the unit.

Is it possible that a bit of spider web could have caused a short, in the same way that a stray strand of speaker wire might do? Or is that sheer idiocy and wishful thinking? I'm perfectly willing to accept the latter, but I'm hoping that it is the former, as this would mean that the unit was operating as intended (protecting against a short circuit), and does not have a manufacturing flaw. I guess time will tell. I'll report back again if I experience any further issues.
BGLeduc and Retspin like this.

Chronic masticator.
Gear: Speakers (Paradigm Reference Studio Series): 40 v4 (front L/R), CC-690 v4 (centre), 20 v4 (surround L/R). PSA XS30 (subwoofer).
Denon AVR-X4000, Emotiva XPA-5, Samsung PN64F8500 (64" plasma), DarbeeVision Darblet DVP5000, PS4, PS3, Sony BDP-S6200,
Apple TV (3rd gen.), Harmony One, Sennheiser RS180
tboe77 is offline  
post #12574 of 12593 Old 11-27-2016, 03:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
Did you check the below page for your model number?

http://denon.custhelp.com/app/answer...-using-pandora

Also check this post by jdsmoothie.
Hi it says x4000 nov 24 was released date. Its nov 27 nov. But still i dont receive any updates in my x4000 pandora still borks.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
parekoy is online now  
post #12575 of 12593 Old 11-27-2016, 03:34 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 31,333
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2057 Post(s)
Liked: 1778
Quote:
Originally Posted by parekoy View Post
Hi it says x4000 nov 24 was released date. Its nov 27 nov. But still i dont receive any updates in my x4000 pandora still borks.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
jdsmoothie's post indicates that it's now pushed out to Jan 2017,

Quote:
Pandora update fix
D&M will begin releasing the Pandora fix beginning with the newer models and working back to the 2013 models on the following schedule:

2013 Models
Jan 2017 – E300, E400, X1000, X2000, X3000, X4000
parekoy likes this.
Keenan is online now  
post #12576 of 12593 Old 11-27-2016, 04:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,958
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by tboe77 View Post
Is it possible that a bit of spider web could have caused a short, in the same way that a stray strand of speaker wire might do? Or is that sheer idiocy and wishful thinking? I'm perfectly willing to accept the latter, but I'm hoping that it is the former, as this would mean that the unit was operating as intended (protecting against a short circuit), and does not have a manufacturing flaw. I guess time will tell. I'll report back again if I experience any further issues.
I wonder about that, because I had this problem about six months after I bought the unit. I shipped it for warranty repair. They couldn't duplicate the problem, dusted it out, and mailed it back. Here it's 2-1/2 years later, and the problem hasn't recurred. So maybe mine was caused by dust shorting out the circuit somehow??

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K701, Burson HA-160, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
post #12577 of 12593 Old 11-28-2016, 05:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BGLeduc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 4,120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1414 Post(s)
Liked: 1207
Quote:
Originally Posted by tboe77 View Post
So, I've got an update on my situation. I found a link to a youtube video that shows a fellow supposedly fixing this problem, or a similar problem.

https://youtu.be/BtLOpqGlY5E

As my unit is out of warranty, I decided to give this a shot. I opened my unit up. I did not find any loose wires, as shown in the video. I did, however, pull out that same connector, pushed the wires in just in case (though I saw no visible evidence that anything was loose). I re-connected the white connector, and then plugged the unit back in and turned it on. Prior to this, it was going into protection every 5-10 minutes. I left it on for a couple of hours and it did not shut off. I put the cover back on, hooked everything back up, and have had several hours of trouble-free operation since then.

I'll re-iterate, that I did not see the problem shown in the video (loose wires), when I had the cover off. I did not think that anything I had done could have made a difference (though I did un-plug that white connector and plugged it back in, it didn't seem the least bit loose or poorly seated). I was trying to think what could have made the difference. At this point, I remembered wiping a bit of cobweb away from the back of the unit after I pulled it out of my entertainment center (the unit had been sitting there, undisturbed and performing flawlessly for three years). The web was hanging from one of the binding posts on the back of the unit.

Is it possible that a bit of spider web could have caused a short, in the same way that a stray strand of speaker wire might do? Or is that sheer idiocy and wishful thinking? I'm perfectly willing to accept the latter, but I'm hoping that it is the former, as this would mean that the unit was operating as intended (protecting against a short circuit), and does not have a manufacturing flaw. I guess time will tell. I'll report back again if I experience any further issues.
Good find on the YouTube video. As I reported a few posts ago, my X4000 went into protection mode for the 1st time in 2 1/2 years of service. I had hoped it was a one off, but yesterday it started tripping repeatedly.

I still have warranty until April, so I will send it in for service. If it was not under warranty, I too would at least pull the cover and give the connector in the video some attention, but I don't want to mess with it.

As an aside, I still have my 3808 which the X4000 replaced. I did a full swap, including reprogramming my Harmony One in about 90 minutes. Got it all done just in time for EP9 of Westworld. :-)

#JB17
BGLeduc is online now  
post #12578 of 12593 Old 11-28-2016, 05:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,633
Mentioned: 223 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11125 Post(s)
Liked: 5139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
Are the firmware versions posted at the beginning of this thread somewhere? I've looked and only see how to update it and what each version has fixed but no version numbers.

My current version, X4000, is 5630-9776-1665. Is that most recent firmware version for this model?

Thanks
I don't post version numbers, rather the AVR will indicate whether it has the most current firmware version or not.
Keenan likes this.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #12579 of 12593 Old 11-28-2016, 05:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,633
Mentioned: 223 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11125 Post(s)
Liked: 5139
Quote:
Originally Posted by parekoy View Post
Hi it says x4000 nov 24 was released date. Its nov 27 nov. But still i dont receive any updates in my x4000 pandora still borks.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
jdsmoothie's post indicates that it's now pushed out to Jan 2017,

I edited that post to indicate the current dates, which for the X3000 and X4000 (as already released to the lower 2013 models) was supposed to have been November 24. The update will likely be released this week.
Keenan and parekoy like this.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #12580 of 12593 Old 11-28-2016, 10:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
tboe77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by BGLeduc View Post
Good find on the YouTube video. As I reported a few posts ago, my X4000 went into protection mode for the 1st time in 2 1/2 years of service. I had hoped it was a one off, but yesterday it started tripping repeatedly.

I still have warranty until April, so I will send it in for service. If it was not under warranty, I too would at least pull the cover and give the connector in the video some attention, but I don't want to mess with it.

As an aside, I still have my 3808 which the X4000 replaced. I did a full swap, including reprogramming my Harmony One in about 90 minutes. Got it all done just in time for EP9 of Westworld. :-)


Funny. My X4000 also replaced a 3808. I sold the 3808 after purchasing the X4000, but on Saturday, I was really wishing I had kept it!
BGLeduc likes this.

Chronic masticator.
Gear: Speakers (Paradigm Reference Studio Series): 40 v4 (front L/R), CC-690 v4 (centre), 20 v4 (surround L/R). PSA XS30 (subwoofer).
Denon AVR-X4000, Emotiva XPA-5, Samsung PN64F8500 (64" plasma), DarbeeVision Darblet DVP5000, PS4, PS3, Sony BDP-S6200,
Apple TV (3rd gen.), Harmony One, Sennheiser RS180
tboe77 is offline  
post #12581 of 12593 Old 11-28-2016, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BGLeduc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 4,120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1414 Post(s)
Liked: 1207
Quote:
Originally Posted by tboe77 View Post
Funny. My X4000 also replaced a 3808. I sold the 3808 after purchasing the X4000, but on Saturday, I was really wishing I had kept it!
For giggles and sheets, I have the X4000 sitting on the floor, plugged in, powered up, with nothing connected to it but the power cord. Curious if it will go into protection while just idling.

I have a separate 2CH systems, which is where the 3808 was until a just a couple weeks ago. I like swapping gear in and out of that rig, and had just swapped in an integrated amp in place of the 3808. I was kind of glad I had done that, otherwise I would have had to tear apart my 2CH rig in order to swap the 3808 into my HT system.

#JB17
BGLeduc is online now  
post #12582 of 12593 Old 11-29-2016, 05:14 AM
Member
 
Seeker2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Littleton MA.
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I received a message this morning that there was an update for my X3000 when I started watching TV. I requested the update a few times due to connection failures etc, but it finally connected and now I can run Pandora.


No news on when my 3311CI will be updated.
Seeker2 is offline  
post #12583 of 12593 Old 11-29-2016, 05:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,633
Mentioned: 223 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11125 Post(s)
Liked: 5139
Quote:
Originally Posted by tboe77 View Post
So, I've got an update on my situation. I found a link to a youtube video that shows a fellow supposedly fixing this problem, or a similar problem.

Great find! Thanks for posting this. I've added it to the Issues item in post 4 of this thread.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #12584 of 12593 Old 11-29-2016, 11:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Retspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by tboe77 View Post
So, I've got an update on my situation. I found a link to a youtube video that shows a fellow supposedly fixing this problem, or a similar problem.



https://youtu.be/BtLOpqGlY5E



As my unit is out of warranty, I decided to give this a shot. I opened my unit up. I did not find any loose wires, as shown in the video. I did, however, pull out that same connector, pushed the wires in just in case (though I saw no visible evidence that anything was loose). I re-connected the white connector, and then plugged the unit back in and turned it on. Prior to this, it was going into protection every 5-10 minutes. I left it on for a couple of hours and it did not shut off. I put the cover back on, hooked everything back up, and have had several hours of trouble-free operation since then.



I'll re-iterate, that I did not see the problem shown in the video (loose wires), when I had the cover off. I did not think that anything I had done could have made a difference (though I did un-plug that white connector and plugged it back in, it didn't seem the least bit loose or poorly seated). I was trying to think what could have made the difference. At this point, I remembered wiping a bit of cobweb away from the back of the unit after I pulled it out of my entertainment center (the unit had been sitting there, undisturbed and performing flawlessly for three years). The web was hanging from one of the binding posts on the back of the unit.



Is it possible that a bit of spider web could have caused a short, in the same way that a stray strand of speaker wire might do? Or is that sheer idiocy and wishful thinking? I'm perfectly willing to accept the latter, but I'm hoping that it is the former, as this would mean that the unit was operating as intended (protecting against a short circuit), and does not have a manufacturing flaw. I guess time will tell. I'll report back again if I experience any further issues.


I had the same exact experience as you. I watched the video and expected to find a loose connecter in my 4000 too but found nothing. I reseated several connectors and it has been trouble free for 3 months now. Before it would trip off multiple times a day. I hope I haven't jinxed it now!
BGLeduc and tboe77 like this.
Retspin is offline  
post #12585 of 12593 Old 11-29-2016, 12:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Got firmware update this afternoon for my x4000. Pandora log in.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
parekoy is online now  
post #12586 of 12593 Old Yesterday, 12:09 AM
Senior Member
 
garnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by parekoy View Post
Got firmware update this afternoon for my x4000. Pandora log in.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
+1

Living Room: Denon X4000, XPA-5, Polk RTiA9, CSiA6, RTiA3-wides, FXiA4, OWM3, SVS PC12+, 4 Shakers, Epson 5030, VApex 92”, Sony XBR9 52”, PS3, Xbox 360, Darbee, Harmony 1.
Bedroom: Denon X2000, Polk: RTiA3, CSiA4, RTiA1, SVS SB12-NSD, Sony XBR-55X850B, Sony BPD-S590, Xbox 360, RPi2-RasPlex, Darbee, Harmony 510.
Home Office: Onkyo 707, Polk: LSiM 703, LSiM 704, Monitor 70, Yamaha SW315 x 2, Turntable, Triple Monitors, Harmony 610.
garnuts is online now  
post #12587 of 12593 Old Yesterday, 03:55 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
So as I got a message yesterday that the update was available for my AVR -X3000. I attempted to install it but I got the message "ConnectionFail01" the receiver rebooted said "Update Retry" then again said "ConnectionFail01"and stopped there. I did a factory restore but when it rebooted it immediately started installing the update again. I can kick it out of the updating process if I do a factory restore while the network cable is unplugged. Then if I plug the cable in and reboot the receiver it starts updating again. I don't think the update was ever actually installed because I still can't login to pandora
Bray90820 is offline  
post #12588 of 12593 Old Today, 04:22 AM
Member
 
jj-34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is that update a US only update ?
Denon France still indicates that current update for the x4000 is 5630-9776-1611 (November 2015)
jj-34 is offline  
post #12589 of 12593 Old Today, 04:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,633
Mentioned: 223 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11125 Post(s)
Liked: 5139
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj-34 View Post
Is that update a US only update ?
Denon France still indicates that current update for the x4000 is 5630-9776-1611 (November 2015)
Information on the update provided in this thread is for the USA models specifically, although other regions may receive the update around the same time frame.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #12590 of 12593 Old Today, 04:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,633
Mentioned: 223 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11125 Post(s)
Liked: 5139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bray90820 View Post
So as I got a message yesterday that the update was available for my AVR -X3000. I attempted to install it but I got the message "ConnectionFail01" the receiver rebooted said "Update Retry" then again said "ConnectionFail01"and stopped there. I did a factory restore but when it rebooted it immediately started installing the update again. I can kick it out of the updating process if I do a factory restore while the network cable is unplugged. Then if I plug the cable in and reboot the receiver it starts updating again. I don't think the update was ever actually installed because I still can't login to pandora

There is a lot of very helpful information provided in the first 6 posts of this thread, to include how to do a "Network reset" in post 5.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #12591 of 12593 Old Today, 08:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bray90820 View Post
I got the message "ConnectionFail01" the receiver rebooted said "Update Retry" then again said "ConnectionFail01"and stopped there.
My X4000 also showed me a "Connection Failed" message after offering the most recent update, but a few minutes later it worked OK. I assumed the "failure" was a server overload at Denon's end, not locally.

---- Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is offline  
post #12592 of 12593 Old Today, 09:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,633
Mentioned: 223 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11125 Post(s)
Liked: 5139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan in St. Louis View Post
My X4000 also showed me a "Connection Failed" message after offering the most recent update, but a few minutes later it worked OK. I assumed the "failure" was a server overload at Denon's end, not locally.
Server guy likely had to take his finger off the switch for a coffee break.
Squirrel! likes this.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #12593 of 12593 Old Today, 02:28 PM
Member
 
Signal to Noise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: C A N A D A
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Information on the update provided in this thread is for the USA models specifically, although other regions may receive the update around the same time frame.


I received on-screen notice for the new firmware update yesterday here in the North Country. I didn't bother executing said update yet since it only mentions Pandora and we were getting ready to watch a program. X4000.


Curious if there are other fixes/improvements or is it just Pandora (which I don't even use)?

Audio + Video = Bliss

Audio: Denon | Cambridge Audio | Polk | Totem | Martin Logan | Mission
Visual: Panasonic plasma | Samsung lcd
Signal to Noise is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr4310ci Receiver , dolby digital plus , netflix 5.1
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off