The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ - Page 426 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 409Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12751 of 12780 Old 05-30-2017, 04:36 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 69,053
Mentioned: 336 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13801 Post(s)
Liked: 6435
Quote:
Originally Posted by dishdudes View Post
Was out listening to my Denon AVR-E300 today and it just started rebooting and trying to connect back to Pandora. Eventually it stopped. I have replaced the network switch it was connected to and still no connection, actually no link light either.

I did a Network Reset and a Microprocessor reset and no luck.. The link light lit up for a few seconds then went out.

Any other options or suggestions?
Try doing at least 4-5 Network Resets in a row. If still no joy, then wire the E300 directly to the modem and try again. If yet still no joy, then if purchased "new" from an authorized dealer with a credit card, the card issuer may extend the warranty an extra year (ie. 2--> 3 yrs) so if still within 3 years of purchase date, warranty repair, otherwise, compare estimated repair cost to purchase of a newer model.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12752 of 12780 Old 05-31-2017, 04:14 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the advice.. Did a few network resets in a row.. Eventually it lights up the link light but then walks thru the setup assistant. It hangs trying to launch that and eventually the link light goes back out. I can exit the setup assistant but by then no light. I can play other sources, TV/CABLE etc fine just nothing network related. This unit is used to power speakers by a pool, controlled thru the APP so not much use without network. I may struggle thru the summer using an apple tv for streaming and AIRPLAY to decide what the next step is.. I bought it on May 1 2015 from AMAZON, Like New with my Discover Card so over 2 years, I'll look to see what discover offers as far as extended warranty.
dishdudes is offline  
post #12753 of 12780 Old 05-31-2017, 08:57 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 69,053
Mentioned: 336 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13801 Post(s)
Liked: 6435
Quote:
Originally Posted by dishdudes View Post
Thanks for the advice.. Did a few network resets in a row.. Eventually it lights up the link light but then walks thru the setup assistant. It hangs trying to launch that and eventually the link light goes back out. I can exit the setup assistant but by then no light. I can play other sources, TV/CABLE etc fine just nothing network related. This unit is used to power speakers by a pool, controlled thru the APP so not much use without network. I may struggle thru the summer using an apple tv for streaming and AIRPLAY to decide what the next step is.. I bought it on May 1 2015 from AMAZON, Like New with my Discover Card so over 2 years, I'll look to see what discover offers as far as extended warranty.
If purchased from the Amazon Warehouse, AFAIK, Denon does not honor the warranty when purchased there, so it is unlikely that Discover will honor any extension when the mfr warranty isn't valid in the first place, but still worth trying.
jdsmoothie is offline  
 
post #12754 of 12780 Old 05-31-2017, 03:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Teremei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,576
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 515 Post(s)
Liked: 220
ok so can I got dolby HD or dts HD audio from blu ray sources that support it if I connect the blu ray player to the TV, then use a digital optical cable out to the denon x4000? the tv in question is sony 75x940d. The weird thing is I don't get any audio when connecting to the "TV in" on the x4000 but I do when I use the "CD in". What's up with that?

Upstairs Living Room - LG 65EG9600: Klipsch R-20B Soundbar
Basement - Sony 75x940d: Klipsch Reference series II speakers, 2 subwoofers, Denon x4000
Teremei is offline  
post #12755 of 12780 Old 05-31-2017, 03:38 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 69,053
Mentioned: 336 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13801 Post(s)
Liked: 6435
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teremei View Post
ok so can I got dolby HD or dts HD audio from blu ray sources that support it if I connect the blu ray player to the TV, then use a digital optical cable out to the denon x4000? the tv in question is sony 75x940d. The weird thing is I don't get any audio when connecting to the "TV in" on the x4000 but I do when I use the "CD in". What's up with that?
Nope.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12756 of 12780 Old 05-31-2017, 04:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 8,770
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1961 Post(s)
Liked: 1682
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teremei View Post
ok so can I got dolby HD or dts HD audio from blu ray sources that support it if I connect the blu ray player to the TV, then use a digital optical cable out to the denon x4000? the tv in question is sony 75x940d. The weird thing is I don't get any audio when connecting to the "TV in" on the x4000 but I do when I use the "CD in". What's up with that?
Sounds like you may need to re-read the user's manual. Or at least the quick start guide.
Marc Alexander is offline  
post #12757 of 12780 Old 05-31-2017, 04:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Teremei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,576
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 515 Post(s)
Liked: 220
yes I'm gonna do that, but it sounds like jd had the answer for me. the only thing I need true HD audio is the blu ray so I might just connect that via the old fasioned way and then send the PS4 Pro directly to the TV (so I can see the 4K content). Until I get a new receiver I'll just have to do it that way because I just need to see 4K content on my PS4 Pro and most games don't support "dolby HD" or anything like that.

Upstairs Living Room - LG 65EG9600: Klipsch R-20B Soundbar
Basement - Sony 75x940d: Klipsch Reference series II speakers, 2 subwoofers, Denon x4000
Teremei is offline  
post #12758 of 12780 Old 06-01-2017, 12:21 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
If purchased from the Amazon Warehouse, AFAIK, Denon does not honor the warranty when purchased there, so it is unlikely that Discover will honor any extension when the mfr warranty isn't valid in the first place, but still worth trying.
Called Discovercard today and opened a case with the extended warranty dept. We'll see what it gets me.. Thanks for the tip.
dishdudes is offline  
post #12759 of 12780 Old 06-08-2017, 07:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Teremei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,576
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 515 Post(s)
Liked: 220
So I just ordered 4 more speakers, currently running 5.2. But.

7 Channel Amplification with 9.2 channel processing , so what does that mean? Can I still run 9.2, does it just use the power from other channels?

Upstairs Living Room - LG 65EG9600: Klipsch R-20B Soundbar
Basement - Sony 75x940d: Klipsch Reference series II speakers, 2 subwoofers, Denon x4000

Last edited by Teremei; 06-08-2017 at 08:03 PM.
Teremei is offline  
post #12760 of 12780 Old 06-08-2017, 08:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Teremei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,576
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 515 Post(s)
Liked: 220
accidental post.

Upstairs Living Room - LG 65EG9600: Klipsch R-20B Soundbar
Basement - Sony 75x940d: Klipsch Reference series II speakers, 2 subwoofers, Denon x4000
Teremei is offline  
post #12761 of 12780 Old 06-09-2017, 01:31 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 69,053
Mentioned: 336 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13801 Post(s)
Liked: 6435
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teremei View Post
So I just ordered 4 more speakers, currently running 5.2. But.

7 Channel Amplification with 9.2 channel processing , so what does that mean? Can I still run 9.2, does it just use the power from other channels?
It means that although the X4000 can "process" 9CH, as it only has 7 amps on board, you must add a 2CH external amp in order to expand from 7CH --> 9CH.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Teremei View Post
accidental post.
You can DELETE a post simply by selecting the EDIT button and then the DELETE radio button.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12762 of 12780 Old 06-09-2017, 01:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Teremei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,576
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 515 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
It means that although the X4000 can "process" 9CH, as it only has 7 amps on board, you must add a 2CH external amp in order to expand from 7CH --> 9CH.
wow really? oh well, guess I'll return the newegg order and go with the heights over the rears.

Upstairs Living Room - LG 65EG9600: Klipsch R-20B Soundbar
Basement - Sony 75x940d: Klipsch Reference series II speakers, 2 subwoofers, Denon x4000
Teremei is offline  
post #12763 of 12780 Old 06-09-2017, 01:59 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 69,053
Mentioned: 336 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13801 Post(s)
Liked: 6435
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teremei View Post
wow really? oh well, guess I'll return the newegg order and go with the heights over the rears.
When only adding 2 "height" speakers a more ideal location is overhead (ie. Top Middle); however, you can very easily go to 4 height speakers by adding an AudioSource Amp100VS (see below) or just use an old AVR that the X4000 may have replaced .... either will work just fine.

https://www.amazon.com/Audio-Source-.../dp/B00ZSEFU94
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12764 of 12780 Old 06-09-2017, 06:16 AM
Member
 
jj-34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
When only adding 2 "height" speakers a more ideal location is overhead (ie. Top Middle);
I have this setup, ie. 2 height speakers overhead in the top middle aimed at the sitting place, but somehow do not get any significant sound out of them.
They are declared as height in the x4000 setup, anything else to define in the setup ?
They play well if I test with all stereo but that's all.

The 2 height speakers :



They are in between here :

Front 3 + 1 setup : Back 2 surrounds
jj-34 is online now  
post #12765 of 12780 Old 06-09-2017, 10:48 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 69,053
Mentioned: 336 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13801 Post(s)
Liked: 6435
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj-34 View Post
I have this setup, ie. 2 height speakers overhead in the top middle aimed at the sitting place, but somehow do not get any significant sound out of them.
They are declared as height in the x4000 setup, anything else to define in the setup ?
They play well if I test with all stereo but that's all.

The 2 height speakers :

They are in between here :

Front 3 + 1 setup : Back 2 surrounds
Try bumping up their volume level a few db in Manual Setup - Levels - Test Tones.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12766 of 12780 Old 06-10-2017, 10:42 AM
Member
 
thxbest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Denon AVR-X4000 - Audyssey setup microphone

What is the Audyssey setup Microphone model number that comes with the Denon AVR-X4000? Is that the ACM1HB?

Can any other Audyssey microphone model like DM-A409 be used with the Denon AVR-X4000 to get the same result as with the original one that came with the receiver?

Thanks for your advice
thxbest is offline  
post #12767 of 12780 Old 06-10-2017, 01:14 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 69,053
Mentioned: 336 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13801 Post(s)
Liked: 6435
Quote:
Originally Posted by thxbest View Post
What is the Audyssey setup Microphone model number that comes with the Denon AVR-X4000? Is that the ACM1HB?

Can any other Audyssey microphone model like DM-A409 be used with the Denon AVR-X4000 to get the same result as with the original one that came with the receiver?

Thanks for your advice
Yes and yes the A409 can be used as well.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12768 of 12780 Old 06-11-2017, 06:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Teremei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,576
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 515 Post(s)
Liked: 220
so I got my heights set up and was watching a blu ray, but in order to use them I had to hit the GAME button to enable DTS Neo:6. Repeatedly hitting MOVIE, only Dolby HD was available. I also prefered just straight Dolby HD via MOVIE and that didn't even use the heights. It might vary from movie to movie I guess. But why was I able to get Neo:6 in game mode but unable to activate my height speakers in movie mode?

Upstairs Living Room - LG 65EG9600: Klipsch R-20B Soundbar
Basement - Sony 75x940d: Klipsch Reference series II speakers, 2 subwoofers, Denon x4000
Teremei is offline  
post #12769 of 12780 Old 06-11-2017, 06:41 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 69,053
Mentioned: 336 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13801 Post(s)
Liked: 6435
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teremei View Post
so I got my heights set up and was watching a blu ray, but in order to use them I had to hit the GAME button to enable DTS Neo:6. Repeatedly hitting MOVIE, only Dolby HD was available. I also prefered just straight Dolby HD via MOVIE and that didn't even use the heights. It might vary from movie to movie I guess. But why was I able to get Neo:6 in game mode but unable to activate my height speakers in movie mode?
If you have the Front Height speakers configured, as noted on p. 234 of the Owner's manual, there should be multiple surround modes available to pass audio to them to include: DD PLIIz, DSX, or DTS Neo:X.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12770 of 12780 Old 06-11-2017, 01:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Teremei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,576
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 515 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
If you have the Front Height speakers configured, as noted on p. 234 of the Owner's manual, there should be multiple surround modes available to pass audio to them to include: DD PLIIz, DSX, or DTS Neo:X.
I read through the manual pertaining to height speakers. A lot of the modes either have this note or that note.

A signal for each channel contained in an input signal is output as audio.
Audio is output when the set sound mode name contains “+PLgz”.

I don't understand either. Especially 1. I am using 7.1ch(SB/FH/FW).

Upstairs Living Room - LG 65EG9600: Klipsch R-20B Soundbar
Basement - Sony 75x940d: Klipsch Reference series II speakers, 2 subwoofers, Denon x4000

Last edited by Teremei; 06-11-2017 at 01:29 PM.
Teremei is offline  
post #12771 of 12780 Old 06-11-2017, 04:58 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 69,053
Mentioned: 336 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13801 Post(s)
Liked: 6435
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teremei View Post
I read through the manual pertaining to height speakers. A lot of the modes either have this note or that note.

A signal for each channel contained in an input signal is output as audio.
Audio is output when the set sound mode name contains “+PLgz”.

I don't understand either. Especially 1. I am using 7.1ch(SB/FH/FW).
Note 1 simply means that if 2CH/5CH of audio goes "into" the AVR then 2CH/5CH of audio will go "out of" the AVR (ie. no simulation to the SB/FH/FW).
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12772 of 12780 Old 06-12-2017, 06:12 AM
Member
 
jj-34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Note 1 simply means that if 2CH/5CH of audio goes "into" the AVR then 2CH/5CH of audio will go "out of" the AVR (ie. no simulation to the SB/FH/FW).

I am using that setting too 7.1ch(SB/FH/FW) and my box and/or TV outputs are thru HDMI and mainly 2 (Dolby) or 5.1 channels,
and the sound mode I use is Movie + Audissey DSX (A-DSX), could that explain why I have no significant sound out of my FH speakers ?


I do not use DTS NEO:X as I believe it only simulates Back SR and I don't have any.


I have tried Dolby PLIIz but was not enthousiastic with this mode, maybe I should experiment a bit more ?
jj-34 is online now  
post #12773 of 12780 Old 06-12-2017, 06:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Teremei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,576
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 515 Post(s)
Liked: 220
I'm just using 5.2 for now. When I eventually get a new receiver then I will use those 2 speakers as atmos. I briefly had a sony 1080p and they definitely did a better job with the extra 2 speakers. I think atmos incorporates heights better into older 5.1 movies. 5.2 just sounds better to me on my x4000.

Upstairs Living Room - LG 65EG9600: Klipsch R-20B Soundbar
Basement - Sony 75x940d: Klipsch Reference series II speakers, 2 subwoofers, Denon x4000
Teremei is offline  
post #12774 of 12780 Old 06-12-2017, 06:59 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 69,053
Mentioned: 336 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13801 Post(s)
Liked: 6435
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj-34 View Post
I am using that setting too 7.1ch(SB/FH/FW) and my box and/or TV outputs are thru HDMI and mainly 2 (Dolby) or 5.1 channels,
and the sound mode I use is Movie + Audissey DSX (A-DSX), could that explain why I have no significant sound out of my FH speakers ?


I do not use DTS NEO:X as I believe it only simulates Back SR and I don't have any.


I have tried Dolby PLIIz but was not enthousiastic with this mode, maybe I should experiment a bit more ?

1. Possibly, I have seen very few posts over the years from anyone using DSX.
2. DTS Neo:X can simulate audio to any speaker in your setup to include SB/FH/FW.
3. Yup.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12775 of 12780 Old 06-12-2017, 03:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,849
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 684 Post(s)
Liked: 207
I just got around to doing the last firmware update on our x2000 today.
The firmware info page says 8600-9776-1674. Those numbers don't seem to correspond with anything.

Is the firmware properly updated?
DoctorM is offline  
post #12776 of 12780 Old 06-18-2017, 03:04 PM
Member
 
jj-34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
1. Possibly, I have seen very few posts over the years from anyone using DSX.
2. DTS Neo:X can simulate audio to any speaker in your setup to include SB/FH/FW.
3. Yup.
Last night we had a nice musical show on TV, so I decided to try the Music + DTS Neo:X setting, it was very nice indeed and all the speakers playing their part.
But I had to significantly increase the audio volume as compared to the Audissey setting, from 40 to about 55 and the center channel was also a bit weaker.
Is this a normal behaviour ?
Does DTS Neo require significantly more power ?
jj-34 is online now  
post #12777 of 12780 Old 06-18-2017, 04:03 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 69,053
Mentioned: 336 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13801 Post(s)
Liked: 6435
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj-34 View Post
Last night we had a nice musical show on TV, so I decided to try the Music + DTS Neo:X setting, it was very nice indeed and all the speakers playing their part.
But I had to significantly increase the audio volume as compared to the Audissey setting, from 40 to about 55 and the center channel was also a bit weaker.
Is this a normal behaviour ?
Does DTS Neo require significantly more power ?
What is it you are referring to as the "Audyssey volume setting"? Average volume level after running Audyssey for most is 50-70.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12778 of 12780 Old 06-19-2017, 03:22 AM
Member
 
jj-34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
What is it you are referring to as the "Audyssey volume setting"? Average volume level after running Audyssey for most is 50-70.
I actually meant the difference between the Music Sound modes types Audissey DSX and DTS Neo:X
I am a bit confused between the X4000 "sound processors" and the various "sound modes" .
After the initial Audissey setup is the Audissey sound processor always active (MultEQ XT32, Dynamic EQ, ... ) ?
Even when selecting DTS Neo:x ?

About the volume, we do not listen to very high levels, and usually settle around master level 40 dB ( + or - a few ),
we both are a bit older ( 70+ ) and my wife cannot stand very high sound levels, also we do not want to entertain the neighborhood
But I just noticed that I made a confusion as we usually do use the "Movie" sound mode, and this time the test was with the "Music" sound mode.
So the volume increase was actually due to the sound mode change from Movie to Music and not from A-DSX to DTS Neo.
I will check if this difference is also true between Movie + A-DSX and Movie + DTS Neo

But the question remains why do I have to increase the master volume that much when switching from Movie to Music ?

By the way in my case the increase in perceived audio level is not as much when in the 50 dB range as it is when in 30-40 dB range, I mean around 45 - 55 the perceived audio level increase is not that significant as it is when in the 35 - 45 range.
I know what dB means and that the level doubles every 3 dB, but I do not feel that a 3 dB increase from 37 to 40 is the same as from 48 to 50.

Dynamic EQ is ON but Dynamic Volume is OFF as it was too disturbing with audio levels changing between scenes while watching TV or films.

Last edited by jj-34; 06-19-2017 at 03:28 AM.
jj-34 is online now  
post #12779 of 12780 Old 06-19-2017, 03:53 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 69,053
Mentioned: 336 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13801 Post(s)
Liked: 6435
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj-34 View Post
I actually meant the difference between the Music Sound modes types Audissey DSX and DTS Neo:X
I am a bit confused between the X4000 "sound processors" and the various "sound modes" .
After the initial Audissey setup is the Audissey sound processor always active (MultEQ XT32, Dynamic EQ, ... ) ?
Even when selecting DTS Neo:x ?

About the volume, we do not listen to very high levels, and usually settle around master level 40 dB ( + or - a few ),
we both are a bit older ( 70+ ) and my wife cannot stand very high sound levels, also we do not want to entertain the neighborhood
But I just noticed that I made a confusion as we usually do use the "Movie" sound mode, and this time the test was with the "Music" sound mode.
So the volume increase was actually due to the sound mode change from Movie to Music and not from A-DSX to DTS Neo.
I will check if this difference is also true between Movie + A-DSX and Movie + DTS Neo

But the question remains why do I have to increase the master volume that much when switching from Movie to Music ?

By the way in my case the increase in perceived audio level is not as much when in the 50 dB range as it is when in 30-40 dB range, I mean around 45 - 55 the perceived audio level increase is not that significant as it is when in the 35 - 45 range.
I know what dB means and that the level doubles every 3 dB, but I do not feel that a 3 dB increase from 37 to 40 is the same as from 48 to 50.

Dynamic EQ is ON but Dynamic Volume is OFF as it was too disturbing with audio levels changing between scenes while watching TV or films.

1. Yes, by default Audyssey XT32 and Dynamic EQ are both enabled after running Audyssey.
2. Yes, even when selecting DTS Neo:X. The only sound modes that disable Audyssey are DIRECT and PURE DIRECT.
3. Not aware of any level difference when the same mode is selected using either MOVIE or MUSIC, rather only between sound modes themselves.
4. The volume scale you are using is not "db" rather simply a scale from 1-98.
5. Dynamic Volume is designed to normalize the volume level (ie. boost lower level dialog and suppress loud explosions/bangs). Most use the Medium setting for this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12780 of 12780 Old Today, 01:17 AM
Member
 
jj-34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
1. Yes, by default Audyssey XT32 and Dynamic EQ are both enabled after running Audyssey.
2. Yes, even when selecting DTS Neo:X. The only sound modes that disable Audyssey are DIRECT and PURE DIRECT.
3. Not aware of any level difference when the same mode is selected using either MOVIE or MUSIC, rather only between sound modes themselves.
4. The volume scale you are using is not "db" rather simply a scale from 1-98.
5. Dynamic Volume is designed to normalize the volume level (ie. boost lower level dialog and suppress loud explosions/bangs). Most use the Medium setting for this.
Last night another TV musical show ( June 21st Summer music feast ) so tried Music DTS Neo:X again and hold your breath we dared pushing the volume to 60 ....


Indeed it does make a difference nice surround sound and effects but the wife had to quit before the end

Last edited by jj-34; Today at 01:20 AM.
jj-34 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
assistance , dead , Denon , Denon Avr4310ci Receiver , dolby digital plus , netflix 5.1 , receiver , support

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off