*Official* Pioneer SC-1522 9.2 Network ready AV receiver owners thread - Page 21 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-01-2013, 03:50 PM
Member
 
thatguyhileman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I returned mine for the popping noise described above and exchanged it no problem. Get home, open the new one, and bam....transformer hum like crazy without any load. It was just sitting on the table by itself. Take it back and the guy at costco let me open one and try in store to make sure no hum. This is my last shot as they only have one left now. I really hope this works out as I'm sure I just got unlucky. That's what I get for carefully inspecting the boxes in store to make an educated guess as to which box contained the best one! Anyways, I've been enjoying the receiver so far although I had been working on dialing in the sound as I hadn't found it to my liking quite yet.

Big props to Costco for the deal and for the great customer service. The guy also reminded me I didn't have to rush to return as I could return anytime in the future!
thatguyhileman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-01-2013, 04:05 PM
Newbie
 
jwilson3317's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sid369 View Post

I want floor standing speakers. Space is not an issue the room is 22x19 and carpeted and opens to the kitchen. It has to look nice though wife likes the piano black finish.

Had the same requirements. Was looking at B&W and came across HTD.com reviews on AVS. Went with the Level 3 towers and HD ceiling speakers plus Whole House Amp. Everything sounds great, big savings, very helpful staff.
jwilson3317 is offline  
Old 05-01-2013, 08:32 PM
Member
 
N2AUDIO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafa341 View Post

I'm getting ready to pull the trigger thanks to you guys but wanted to get some advise. I have a focal 800v cc, and 2 706v for fronts and two 106 customs for surrounds. I've narrowed down to the pioneer 1522-k or denon 3313 what do u guys think as far as receiver?

I can't tell you what to do, but I can tell you that I think the Pioneer is a much better for the money. The two are very close in terms of features and power, except that the Pioneer (I think) has better build quality than the Denon. The Pioneer checks in at 33 lbs, whereas the Denon is like 26 lbs. Thats a 7 lbs difference, which is clearly related to the better construction of the Pioneer. Now, as far as sound, can't help you much there about the Denon, but I can tell you that prior to the Pioneer I owned an Anthem AVM20 v2.21 processor. If you don't know much about the Anthem, it originally sold back in 2004 for about $3,500 and was HIGHLY acclaimed in its day. Even today I would consider it one of the better processors out there, despite the fact that it doesn't have auto calibration or HDMI inputs. Well, after calibrating the Pioneer using its Full Auto MCACC feature, I think that the Pioneer not only provides a much better soundstage, but the music is much more detailed and has better presence. I'm hearing instruments in the same music I've listened to for years that I haven't heard before (or at least as well). Lastly, there's the difference in cost between the Pioneer and Denon, which the Pioneer wins by at least $200 by my research.

Good luck choosing one, but in the end the one that's right for you is the one that sounds the best with your current system of speakers and room acoustics.
N2AUDIO is offline  
Old 05-01-2013, 10:48 PM
Member
 
WCunha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if the SC-1522 will send the LFE channel the right and left mains when they are set to large and the sub is set to no?

The reason I ask is because I am using Golden Ear Triton 3s as my main left and right speakers and Golden Ear recommends using the binding posts and sending a full range signal to the Tritons and let the internal crossover do the work. It seems I get more perceivable bass setting the front right and left to small and using the lfe input on the Tritons. I can't seem to find an answer in the manual and Pioneer hasn't responded to my email yet.

Thanks, Wade
WCunha is offline  
Old 05-02-2013, 04:52 AM
Member
 
kkng2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone tell me what the latest firmware version is?
Their change history does not include the release dates.
I've just got my receiver. I try to upgrade the firm ware via USB, but keep getting error 6 on two different USB drives.
I also tried over the network, but it says "no need update"

The current version is
Ver 1-197-084-512-124

Thanks,
kkng2 is offline  
Old 05-02-2013, 05:55 AM
Member
 
cos54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Version 1-203-084-513-160. I needed 3 different flash drives until 1 of them worked.
cos54 is offline  
Old 05-02-2013, 06:07 AM
Member
 
darenwh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Note also that the latest upgrade will only work from a USB device, not via a network connection.

Darenwh

Just getting started. Hope to have some decent equipment within a year or two.
darenwh is offline  
Old 05-02-2013, 07:00 AM
Member
 
f1snob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks! I think that did it.

I posted again because I did not see you reply earlier.
f1snob is offline  
Old 05-02-2013, 07:19 AM
Member
 
dre3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This is the latest firmware version from the Pioneer site
Ver:1_203084513160
You will of to do it from the front USB port
With a flash drive(that's what work for me)
First I tried a flash drive that was formatted in NTFS file and it was giving me a lot of errors,
I had to reformat it back to FAT before it work.
Remember to unzip the BIN files on to the flash drive from the ZIP file / ZIP folder.
jcorbin likes this.
dre3000 is offline  
Old 05-02-2013, 07:47 AM
Member
 
Bjorn_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will this receiver handle both 120 and 240 Volt?

/BE
Bjorn_E is offline  
Old 05-02-2013, 07:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,160
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bjorn_E View Post

Will this receiver handle both 120 and 240 Volt?

/BE

120V only according to manual.
Foxbat121 is online now  
Old 05-02-2013, 08:22 AM
Newbie
 
RichCoate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

which router do you have?

I have a D-Link DIR655. Someone on a different thread advised me to reset it and that worked. Thanks.
RichCoate is offline  
Old 05-02-2013, 08:27 AM
Newbie
 
RichCoate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguyhileman View Post

Can anyone advise whether you have a small pop come through the speakers when changing listening modes or switching sources?

I get it sometimes. Doesn't bother me. I used to have a NAD receiver that did it all the time as well.
RichCoate is offline  
Old 05-02-2013, 08:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 8,753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 278 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by dre3000 View Post

First I tried a flash drive that was formatted in NTFS file and it was giving me a lot of errors,

as you found out, it doesn't work with NTFS, Pioneer's directions say FAT32. only FAT format will work. the rest of your directions are spot on smile.gif
dre3000 likes this.

Steve
ss9001 is online now  
Old 05-02-2013, 10:40 AM
Member
 
kkng2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The two flash drives that I tried earlier were both FAT 32 formatted. I will get and try another one later today.
kkng2 is offline  
Old 05-02-2013, 11:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,160
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichCoate View Post

I have a D-Link DIR655. Someone on a different thread advised me to reset it and that worked. Thanks.

It will come back again. That router is notorious for dropping UPnP packets. That's the root cause of your problem. You need to turn on (or off if it is already on) Multicast option on your specific router's settings. That will somehow magically tell router not to drop UPnP packets. I'd get a different router.
Foxbat121 is online now  
Old 05-02-2013, 12:17 PM
Senior Member
 
jugger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by WCunha View Post

Does anyone know if the SC-1522 will send the LFE channel the right and left mains when they are set to large and the sub is set to no?

The reason I ask is because I am using Golden Ear Triton 3s as my main left and right speakers and Golden Ear recommends using the binding posts and sending a full range signal to the Tritons and let the internal crossover do the work. It seems I get more perceivable bass setting the front right and left to small and using the lfe input on the Tritons. I can't seem to find an answer in the manual and Pioneer hasn't responded to my email yet.

Thanks, Wade

I'm am curious about this as well. Does anyone know?

RC-64 Center, RF-7 Fronts, RF-82 Sides, RW-12D, QTY=2, RSW-15, RS-52ii Rears, Pioneer SC-1522-K, Panasonic 65VT60, 65"
jugger is offline  
Old 05-02-2013, 12:25 PM
Member
 
kkng2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cos54 View Post

Version 1-203-084-513-160. I needed 3 different flash drives until 1 of them worked.

Would you mind mentioning the make and model of the the one that worked for you?

Thx.
kkng2 is offline  
Old 05-02-2013, 01:31 PM
Newbie
 
ananke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Get Energy Veritas with black piano finish, when on sale. They look classy and provide good sound for the money. Otherwise, you next shot will be B&W 9 series with piano black finish, but they cost more than $1500 a pop. Excellent sound though. A friend of mine is running his Pioneer Elites with Vienna Acoustic speakers - brown liqueur, and they sound nice too. I am with Energy. smile.gif

I have another setup with Denon and Klipsch THX Ultra 2 - in my opinion that one is still better combo, but is is getting outdated.

My favorite test is fight scenes of the Transformers movie - the scratching of metals sound differently depending on the receiver.
ananke is offline  
Old 05-02-2013, 02:23 PM
Member
 
thatguyhileman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I asked one time bofore but didn't see any responses. Is anyone having hdmi handshake issues?
thatguyhileman is offline  
Old 05-02-2013, 04:56 PM
Member
 
evil0ne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still 6 available at the Henderson, NV location.

evil0ne is offline  
Old 05-02-2013, 05:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
toddRiffic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 1,103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguyhileman View Post

I asked one time bofore but didn't see any responses. Is anyone having hdmi handshake issues?


None at all so far with Xbox 360, sony bluray player and hd-dvd player. Haven't tried arc yet.
toddRiffic is offline  
Old 05-02-2013, 06:04 PM
Member
 
sjsufootball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Danville, California, USA
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by evil0ne View Post

Still 6 available at the Henderson, NV location.

I see seven in the picture ;-D
sjsufootball is offline  
Old 05-02-2013, 06:22 PM
Member
 
WCunha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is the response I received from Pioneer about bass management.

"Thank you for contacting Pioneer Electronics (USA) Inc.
Yes, if you set the speakers to LARGE and the subwoofer to NO, the front speaker terminals will output full frequencies.

Sincerely,


Rocky
Customer Service Representative"
WCunha is offline  
Old 05-02-2013, 07:30 PM
Member
 
kkng2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kkng2 View Post

The two flash drives that I tried earlier were both FAT 32 formatted. I will get and try another one later today.

Quick update.. 3rd time is the charm!
I went to get Patriot Xporter Xpress and I was able to complete the firm ware upgrade w/o issue.

Thanks all for your suggestions.
kkng2 is offline  
Old 05-02-2013, 08:23 PM
Member
 
f1snob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am only getting 720p being output to my InFocus 7205 projector. This is coming from all sources including my new 3D DVD player, cable box (which says it's putting out 1080i on HD channels 480 on non-HD) I was getting 1080i on my old system. Is there a setting on the sc-1522-k to adjust the resolution? I was using component video to the projector now I am using HDMI (brand new hi-res 3d capable one-way cable) into the DVI port..

I did replace the bulb not too long ago, now I read something about a 1080p bulb. Is it the bulb that's not 1080p? That doesn't make sense to me.
f1snob is offline  
Old 05-02-2013, 10:47 PM
Member
 
azeemtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you are right, it can't. vsx-70 looks like it will, along with the 3313ci. I had the 3313ci, loved that feature, but had too many issues with it the first month.

Here is what I am going to do to TRY and use this instead.

Directv to 1x4 switch. one port to AVR, one to TV2.
On TV2, I have a smart TV, so theoretically, I'll have TV, Amazon, and Netflix always on there. The only shortcoming for me is BD player. For that, TV1 would also have to be on BD. I think I can live with that for now.
azeemtn is offline  
Old 05-02-2013, 11:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
skriefal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by WCunha View Post

This is the response I received from Pioneer about bass management.

"Thank you for contacting Pioneer Electronics (USA) Inc.
Yes, if you set the speakers to LARGE and the subwoofer to NO, the front speaker terminals will output full frequencies.
"

That statement does not necessarily suggest that LFE will be routed to the mains. They may be (and probably are) referring to the fact that none of the content from the mains would be routed to the (absent) subwoofer, and thus the mains "will output full frequencies".
skriefal is offline  
Old 05-03-2013, 06:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
dharel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Isle of Long
Posts: 505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguyhileman View Post

I asked one time bofore but didn't see any responses. Is anyone having hdmi handshake issues?

None here.
dharel is offline  
Old 05-03-2013, 08:03 AM
Member
 
N2AUDIO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguyhileman View Post

I asked one time bofore but didn't see any responses. Is anyone having hdmi handshake issues?

I'm not seeing any handshake issues, either. Just the usually delay in HDMI locking onto the signal, but I can live with that. If the delay is meant to secure the connection, then I'm all for it. If you're having issues with this, then I suggest getting high-speed HDMI cables. That might help.
N2AUDIO is offline  
 

Tags
Pioneer Sc 1522k 9 2 Channel Av Receiver
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off