*Official* Pioneer SC-1522 9.2 Network ready AV receiver owners thread - Page 55 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1621 of 1735 Old 09-28-2013, 09:16 PM
Newbie
 
ed meyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Has anyone used the SC-1522 with the 4k pass through to a ultra 4K HD TV?

I own this receiver and was looking to purchase a LG-84LM9600 TV and was hoping the 4-k pass through would work fine.

ed meyer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1622 of 1735 Old 09-29-2013, 12:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,507
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Has anyone tried the icontrol app with the new ios7?

FS- Netgear 550 .ISO player - PM me
My Gear-Pioneer, JBL Pro Cinema, Fi Car Audio 4- SP4 18", Peavey IPR2 7500 x 4 -Mini-Dsp 4x10, GIK Acoustics, Seymour Screens 110" AT, Dune Smarts, uNraid Server
Theater Build and Two Sono Sub Builds Here-
pdxrealtor is offline  
post #1623 of 1735 Old 09-29-2013, 12:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxrealtor View Post

Has anyone tried the icontrol app with the new ios7?

Yes, works just fine.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #1624 of 1735 Old 09-29-2013, 12:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,507
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Thx

FS- Netgear 550 .ISO player - PM me
My Gear-Pioneer, JBL Pro Cinema, Fi Car Audio 4- SP4 18", Peavey IPR2 7500 x 4 -Mini-Dsp 4x10, GIK Acoustics, Seymour Screens 110" AT, Dune Smarts, uNraid Server
Theater Build and Two Sono Sub Builds Here-
pdxrealtor is offline  
post #1625 of 1735 Old 10-13-2013, 12:38 PM
Member
 
gasdag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just got a 1522 off EBay. Looks perfect, powered up, have it connected to ps3 and my desktop PC and two speakers for now while I try it out.

1 major problem. The remote does not communicate with the receiver. I changed out for fresh batteries, the red light illuminates on the remote when a button is pressed, Ie the remote has power and is working. The receiver simply does not respond to anything I press on the remote. Volume, inputs, anything.

Does the remote have to be paired with the receiver it was made for? Any ideas? Initial reading in instruction manual does not say anything about pairing the remote to the receiver. You can teach it to "learn" other devices, but I'd think it should be working 100% with the receiver it came with.

# on the remote is AXD7668

Thanks!

Panasonic 60ST60, Pioneer SC-1522-K, Polk RTiA9, PS3 Slim
gasdag is offline  
post #1626 of 1735 Old 10-13-2013, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by gasdag View Post

Just got a 1522 off EBay. Looks perfect, powered up, have it connected to ps3 and my desktop PC and two speakers for now while I try it out.

1 major problem. The remote does not communicate with the receiver. I changed out for fresh batteries, the red light illuminates on the remote when a button is pressed, Ie the remote has power and is working. The receiver simply does not respond to anything I press on the remote. Volume, inputs, anything.

Does the remote have to be paired with the receiver it was made for? Any ideas? Initial reading in instruction manual does not say anything about pairing the remote to the receiver. You can teach it to "learn" other devices, but I'd think it should be working 100% with the receiver it came with.

# on the remote is AXD7668

Thanks!

You've got to push " RECEIVER" on the remote first to control it. The iControlAV2012 is better.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #1627 of 1735 Old 10-13-2013, 12:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
skriefal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 931
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 35
AXD7668 is the correct model number for the remote. Check the remote control setup under Home Menu > System Setup > Other Setup > Remote Control Mode Setup.
skriefal is online now  
post #1628 of 1735 Old 10-13-2013, 01:14 PM
Member
 
gasdag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

You've got to push " RECEIVER" on the remote first to control it. The iControlAV2012 is better.
Wow, RECIEVER four rows down, four columns over. THAT receiver button, not the one top left on the remote. I don't know who failed harder, Pioneer for making it that way, or me for missing it. Thanks! I am remoting now. Enjoy your Sunday evening.

Panasonic 60ST60, Pioneer SC-1522-K, Polk RTiA9, PS3 Slim
gasdag is offline  
post #1629 of 1735 Old 10-13-2013, 07:50 PM
Senior Member
 
jugger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Anyone found a "surround" setting that let's you hear the umpires voice at a reasonable volume on a NFL game? Extended stereo is ok but I'm not found of having all the same sound on all 7 speakers.

Thanks

RC-64 Center, RF-7 Fronts, RF-82 Sides, RW-12D, QTY=2, RSW-15, RS-52ii Rears, Pioneer SC-1522-K, Panasonic 65VT60, 65"
jugger is offline  
post #1630 of 1735 Old 10-14-2013, 04:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Pioneer_Elte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by jugger View Post

Anyone found a "surround" setting that let's you hear the umpires voice at a reasonable volume on a NFL game? Extended stereo is ok but I'm not found of having all the same sound on all 7 speakers.

Thanks

Did you try the Sports setting? If I remember correctly from when I tried it, it put the crowd in the surround speakers and the announcers on the front main.

Pioneer_Elte is offline  
post #1631 of 1735 Old 10-14-2013, 08:00 PM
Senior Member
 
jugger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 55
I just tried the sports setting and didn't really notice any difference. I kept on rewinding a penalty and went through every setting and the only one that made the ref somewhat audible was extended stereo. I feel like there is something wrong with my setup as no one else has complained about it.

RC-64 Center, RF-7 Fronts, RF-82 Sides, RW-12D, QTY=2, RSW-15, RS-52ii Rears, Pioneer SC-1522-K, Panasonic 65VT60, 65"
jugger is offline  
post #1632 of 1735 Old 10-14-2013, 09:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by jugger View Post

I just tried the sports setting and didn't really notice any difference. I kept on rewinding a penalty and went through every setting and the only one that made the ref somewhat audible was extended stereo. I feel like there is something wrong with my setup as no one else has complained about it.

Check the settings on your source. In this case the cable / satellite box. The AVR will play whatever audio format is behind sent to it. If setreo is the only source then that's all it's going to play.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #1633 of 1735 Old 10-16-2013, 04:14 AM
Senior Member
 
DaveCarrera4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

You've got to push " RECEIVER" on the remote first to control it. The iControlAV2012 is better.
Good point. And now for a fun fact: How many of you knew there are videos explaining most of the sound explorer settings in iControl2012?

Why go out to a movie theater?
DaveCarrera4 is offline  
post #1634 of 1735 Old 10-20-2013, 04:55 PM
Newbie
 
PetitSinge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all. I just experienced a strange problem with my SC-1522k I've been using problem free for several months. I turned on the unit (no error messages or other indicators that something was wrong) and no sound was being emitted from the speakers, but I was getting LFE from my subwoofer. I tried turning the unit off and back on several times, cycling the amp (receiver+speaker option on the remote) and even removed the power for ~1 minute. Nothing seemed to work. I even switched over to the MCACC setup screen and tried to adjust speaker levels where I got nothing from anything but the subwoofer. After about 10 minutes of playing with the unit I switched the amps off then on again using RECEIVER+SPEAKERS on the remote. This time there was a 'pop' emitted from the speakers and sound started to play correctly. I've now been playing music for about 20 minutes with no problem.

Any idea what might be going on? Do you think the amp or caps might be going bad?
PetitSinge is offline  
post #1635 of 1735 Old 10-20-2013, 05:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,850
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Sounds like amp section is the problem. LFE channels don't go through amp at all.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #1636 of 1735 Old 10-25-2013, 03:35 PM
Member
 
N2AUDIO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
For some reason (I don't know why or how), I cannot seem to access or control my iPod Touch at all from the remote or front panel of the receiver. It seemed to work fine a couple of times before this, but now it's unresponsive to any commands. I've tried pressing the "iPod Control" button on the remote, but that doesn't do anything. The receiver seems to connect okay to my iPod Touch and I get the iPod main menu to show up on the TV, I just can't do anything beyond that. Has anyone run across this problem before? I'm afraid to do a system reset, because I don't want to lose all my settings, or will they be unaffected?

Thanks.
N2AUDIO is offline  
post #1637 of 1735 Old 10-26-2013, 08:03 AM
Senior Member
 
jugger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Mine sometimes does this and holding down the power button on the front of the receiver for something like 10 seconds does a soft reset. You don't loose any settings.

RC-64 Center, RF-7 Fronts, RF-82 Sides, RW-12D, QTY=2, RSW-15, RS-52ii Rears, Pioneer SC-1522-K, Panasonic 65VT60, 65"
jugger is offline  
post #1638 of 1735 Old 10-27-2013, 10:51 AM
Newbie
 
psamona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Guys, I purchased the Pioneer 1522-k receiver at Costco last month (last one in the state) for 540 + tax and it was a significant upgrade over my 7+ year Onkyo receiver.

Around 5-6 years ago I purchased 3 Athena WS-60 speakers used as my fronts/center and a pair of Athena WS-15's for the rears. Here is a link to the WS-60's - http://www.woot.com/offers/athena...ker-mar-28. Also here's a link to an Athena AS-P4100 subwoofer I purchased at that time as well - http://www.woot.com/offers/athena...fer-mar-28

I currently live in an apartment-style condo and can't run my speakers on full blast. With that being said, I feel that there is a lot to be desired from the Athena's. I don't hear everything I should (for instance if I put my ear to the speaker I can hear subtle effects that get lost when I move a few feet away from the speaker). I ran MCACC several times and have tweaked my speakers as much as possible. It's still difficult for my ears to hear dialog at times and subtle effects. I spend 60% of my listening for TV/Movies and 40% for games. I'd like to start listening to more music though.

My question is this. I purchased 2 Monitor 70's from Newegg to replace my fronts (plan on bi amping), and will pick up a CS2 for my center. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=82-290-208&SortField=0&SummaryType=0&Pagesize=100&PurchaseMark=&SelectedRating=-1&VideoOnlyMark=False&VendorMark=&IsFeedbackTab=true&Page=2#scrollFullInfo

Since the Athenas are are rated at 8 ohms I am likely going to replace my rear WS-15's with the WS-60's I'm freeing up. I may eventually add the WS-15's back in for a 7.1 setup when I get a new home. I feel that my a subwoofer is currently more than adequate unless someone objects. Taking all of this in account, do you guys feel that this will be a good upgrade? Should the Monitor 70's and CS2 (also open to other center channels) sound a lot better than my Athenas? I know these are still budget speakers, but I want to make sure it's a good upgrade or I can hold off for another deal on others.

Any feedback before these puppies ship would be much appreciated!
psamona is offline  
post #1639 of 1735 Old 10-27-2013, 12:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by psamona View Post

Hey Guys, I purchased the Pioneer 1522-k receiver at Costco last month (last one in the state) for 540 + tax and it was a significant upgrade over my 7+ year Onkyo receiver.

Around 5-6 years ago I purchased 3 Athena WS-60 speakers used as my fronts/center and a pair of Athena WS-15's for the rears. Here is a link to the WS-60's - http://www.woot.com/offers/athena...ker-mar-28. Also here's a link to an Athena AS-P4100 subwoofer I purchased at that time as well - http://www.woot.com/offers/athena...fer-mar-28

I currently live in an apartment-style condo and can't run my speakers on full blast. With that being said, I feel that there is a lot to be desired from the Athena's. I don't hear everything I should (for instance if I put my ear to the speaker I can hear subtle effects that get lost when I move a few feet away from the speaker). I ran MCACC several times and have tweaked my speakers as much as possible. It's still difficult for my ears to hear dialog at times and subtle effects. I spend 60% of my listening for TV/Movies and 40% for games. I'd like to start listening to more music though.

My question is this. I purchased 2 Monitor 70's from Newegg to replace my fronts (plan on bi amping), and will pick up a CS2 for my center. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=82-290-208&SortField=0&SummaryType=0&Pagesize=100&PurchaseMark=&SelectedRating=-1&VideoOnlyMark=False&VendorMark=&IsFeedbackTab=true&Page=2#scrollFullInfo

Since the Athenas are are rated at 8 ohms I am likely going to replace my rear WS-15's with the WS-60's I'm freeing up. I may eventually add the WS-15's back in for a 7.1 setup when I get a new home. I feel that my a subwoofer is currently more than adequate unless someone objects. Taking all of this in account, do you guys feel that this will be a good upgrade? Should the Monitor 70's and CS2 (also open to other center channels) sound a lot better than my Athenas? I know these are still budget speakers, but I want to make sure it's a good upgrade or I can hold off for another deal on others.

Any feedback before these puppies ship would be much appreciated!

I've got no experience with Athena' speakers. However, I do own Polk Audio Monitor speakers.
1) Passive bi-amping will not do anything.
2). I wouldn't consider going for the Polk Audio Monitors an upgrade. They are an entry speaker. If you want better detailed sound you have to buy better speakers.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #1640 of 1735 Old 10-27-2013, 04:48 PM
Newbie
 
psamona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks I think you're right. I know that the Monitor 70's would definitely be an upgrade, but I may hold off for a deal on some entry level mids instead. For now I can deal with my Athena's, but would like to eventually put my receiver to some real work wink.gif
psamona is offline  
post #1641 of 1735 Old 10-29-2013, 07:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Jeff in Canada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I could not find an answer to this in the search. So I'm asking here.

My friend has this unit and bought it 6 months ago, but just finished his theater and is using it now. The unit will power off periodically when around -5 dB driving 9 speakers. I'm trying to find out if it flashes the power button.

It does not appear that any wires are near touching, so it does not appear to be grounding. Everything is in 12 gauge speaker wire.

Overheat?

Denon AVR-3311, Sherbourn 7-350, Fusion Tempest (LCR), Fusion Alchemy (4xSurrounds),15" Dayton Ultimax X 4, SMX 2.35:1 Screen
Theater Build
DIY Speaker / Sub Build
Jeff in Canada is offline  
post #1642 of 1735 Old 10-29-2013, 07:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff in Canada View Post

I could not find an answer to this in the search. So I'm asking here.

My friend has this unit and bought it 6 months ago, but just finished his theater and is using it now. The unit will power off periodically when around -5 dB driving 9 speakers. I'm trying to find out if it flashes the power button.

It does not appear that any wires are near touching, so it does not appear to be grounding. Everything is in 12 gauge speaker wire.

Overheat?

I'm thinking more like preventing from blowing up your speakers. Mine did the same, but I am using external amps. It will do it with certain high bass dance / techno music at +7 dB's with +10 dB's gain.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #1643 of 1735 Old 10-29-2013, 07:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

I'm thinking more like preventing from blowing up your speakers. Mine did the same, but I am using external amps. It will do it with certain high bass dance / techno music at +7 dB's with +10 dB's gain.

I just realized too that I've got all of my tower speakers set to large. The 4 surround / surround back are 6 ohm speakers. So, I am going to set the 4 back speaker and center to small. Let the 4 front towers be large and test again.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #1644 of 1735 Old 10-29-2013, 07:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 382
Do you have a subwoofer in this system? If so set all speakers to small. This will take a load off your receiver to produce low frequencies.

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #1645 of 1735 Old 10-29-2013, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post

Do you have a subwoofer in this system? If so set all speakers to small. This will take a load off your receiver to produce low frequencies.

Don't have subs. Sold both of them last week. Thus, the reason why I set my towers to large wink.gif

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #1646 of 1735 Old 10-29-2013, 09:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Jeff in Canada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

I'm thinking more like preventing from blowing up your speakers. Mine did the same, but I am using external amps. It will do it with certain high bass dance / techno music at +7 dB's with +10 dB's gain.

He says that the problem happens in dance music when it peaks or in an explosion in a movie. I thought he might have an issue with shorting. New wiring, speakers, etc. I told him to check to ensure that at no point (behind the receiver or behind speakers) is there a chance of a vibration making wires touch.

Denon AVR-3311, Sherbourn 7-350, Fusion Tempest (LCR), Fusion Alchemy (4xSurrounds),15" Dayton Ultimax X 4, SMX 2.35:1 Screen
Theater Build
DIY Speaker / Sub Build
Jeff in Canada is offline  
post #1647 of 1735 Old 10-29-2013, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff in Canada View Post

He says that the problem happens in dance music when it peaks or in an explosion in a movie. I thought he might have an issue with shorting. New wiring, speakers, etc. I told him to check to ensure that at no point (behind the receiver or behind speakers) is there a chance of a vibration making wires touch.

Most of the time it is a short like you've mentioned. I've checked all of my cables, and I don't haven't found anything lose or touching.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #1648 of 1735 Old 11-10-2013, 11:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pdawg17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cali
Posts: 1,786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
How good is the video conversion on this receiver? I just got a VT60 Panny plasma and am trying to figure out if I should turn conversion off on the receiver and let the TV do the work or if I should have the 1522 do it...any opinions?
pdawg17 is offline  
post #1649 of 1735 Old 11-11-2013, 06:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 1,578
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 383
As an owner of your display and of a different Pioneer receiver with the same chip - turn off any processing in the receiver and let the Panasonic do it. If anyone is buying a receiver for its video chips, that's very debatable on whether it is really worth it. Love the D3 amps though.
smurraybhm is online now  
post #1650 of 1735 Old 11-11-2013, 07:17 AM
Newbie
 
psamona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will say this, I own a Samsung LN46A650 TV - http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-LN46A650-46-Inch-1080p-Touch/dp/B001413D94 and ended up getting the SC-1522-K in September. I run all video through my receiver and have to say that it looks fantastic. I heard similar feedback regarding video quality on this receiver. With that being said, part of this is likely due to having an older TV with a maybe not so good upscaler. I also don't know how much scaling my receiver actually does since I'm running a lot of content from my Xbox/PS3, PC, etc. which in most cases upscaling is handled by those devices respectively.

To be honest, the single biggest thing I did to improve my picture quality was calibrating my set using the AVSForum video calibration discs. If you have not done this already (or something comparable), you're really missing out IMO. I LOVE this receiver!
psamona is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Pioneer Sc 1522k 9 2 Channel Av Receiver
Gear in this thread - 1522k by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off