*Official* Pioneer SC-1522 9.2 Network ready AV receiver owners thread - Page 58 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1711 of 1734 Old 04-08-2014, 02:57 PM
Member
 
gasdag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Anyone know if the Video Mode (video converter) can be set to default to OFF? It comes on every time I power on my system which is the 1522K, TIme Warner Cisco HD DVR and a Panasonic Plasma. The picture is noticeably darker and less realistic human flesh tones with the Video Mode set to ON. This is kind of a pain to have to turn off Video Mode every time I power on the 1522K

pionneer_zpse22b74c9.jpg

Panasonic 60ST60, Pioneer SC-1522-K, Polk RTiA9, PS3 Slim
gasdag is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1712 of 1734 Old 04-08-2014, 04:48 PM
Member
 
117olddude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: West of LA
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I set my converter to off in the general settings section of the 1522 and it's stayed off. I watch BDs using an Oppo 103 and don't want any video conversion.
117olddude is offline  
post #1713 of 1734 Old 04-20-2014, 10:50 AM
Member
 
rmilyard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have question. Trying to setup 9.2. When running macc only shows one sub. Is that right?
rmilyard is offline  
post #1714 of 1734 Old 04-24-2014, 08:39 AM
Member
 
rmilyard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmilyard View Post

I have question. Trying to setup 9.2. When running macc only shows one sub. Is that right?


Anyone know how to do this?
rmilyard is offline  
post #1715 of 1734 Old 04-24-2014, 02:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 8,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 245
^^
the 2 main room sub connections on the rear panel are internally Y-d together so are electrically the same & are calibrated as "one" combined sub even if you have 2 physical subs connected. so one sub in MCACC is correct.

Steve
ss9001 is offline  
post #1716 of 1734 Old 04-24-2014, 02:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 8,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by gasdag View Post

Anyone know if the Video Mode (video converter) can be set to default to OFF?

press Video Parameters on remote button or use the i-app. click "off" in app or use the remote keys to change the display from on to off. Video processor settings, incl on/off are not global but input specific. so for 1 input it can be on, and another it can off.

there is not a global way to turn it off, it's per input by design so user can have different settings for different sources.

Steve
ss9001 is offline  
post #1717 of 1734 Old 04-24-2014, 03:31 PM
Member
 
rmilyard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss9001 View Post

^^
the 2 main room sub connections on the rear panel are internally Y-d together so are electrically the same & are calibrated as "one" combined sub even if you have 2 physical subs connected. so one sub in MCACC is correct.


Thanks. Kinda what I thought.
rmilyard is offline  
post #1718 of 1734 Old 05-01-2014, 10:15 AM
Member
 
LNEWoLF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Sorry if this has already been posted. Trying to catch up. biggrin.gif

Pioneer has updated the IControl app in March, just found it now for apple products. Its called IControl AV 5. It is now back compatable with the SC 1222, SC 1522 and many other older recievers. Thanks to the many owners that emailed Pioneer and kept on them to make a universal app. If you feel up to it. Take the time to rate the new app. Its a good way to thank Pioneer Engineers for doing this.
pdxrealtor, vivatech and alnilam1 like this.

Mitz DLP 73740
Pioneer SC 1222K
Pioneer BDP 150
Apple I Pad Retina
Fronts Cerwin Vega AT-12
Center JBL Northridge EC-35
Surround Rear JBL CST-56
Surround Back Advent
LNEWoLF is offline  
post #1719 of 1734 Old 05-04-2014, 11:34 AM
Senior Member
 
vivatech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Has anyone been able to successfully control the Pioneer SC-1522-K via the 3.5mm wired infrared IR rear inputs?

I'm trying to control the reciever in my media cabinet via a Harmony Ultimate and the AVR is not responding to any commands from wired input; it only responds using one of the IR blasters bouncing off the cabinet walls.

I'm connecting a 2.5mm mono to 3.5mm mono adapter to the Harmony Hub and a 3.5mm mono patch cable to AVR's Input 1. Manual states the input is 3.5mm mono, so I assume I got that part right.

After reading the manual it says the input is "High Active (High Level: 2.0 V)". I'm not sure what that means.

Any thoughts? Any successes with wired control? Failures?


Thanks!!
vivatech is offline  
post #1720 of 1734 Old 05-04-2014, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 8,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by vivatech View Post

Any thoughts? Any successes with wired control?

all success here, over many years, with both a SC-09TX & SC-68. nothing special needed. using 2 URC programmable remotes with RF-IR controller interface. URC MX3000 & MX-6000. I also plug into an Oppo 93 player with no problems.

I can't imagine why it wouldn't work IF you have reliable IR output from the remote and IR receiving-transmitting devices. are you sure you have it plugged into IR in, not IR out or 12 v trigger ports? smile.gif

if you are using a powered IR receiver on the wall, a Xantech for example, make sure it's output is sufficient for the Pioneer's input.

Steve
ss9001 is offline  
post #1721 of 1734 Old 05-06-2014, 06:03 AM
Senior Member
 
vivatech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss9001 View Post

[...]
are you sure you have it plugged into IR in, not IR out or 12 v trigger ports? smile.gif

if you are using a powered IR receiver on the wall, a Xantech for example, make sure it's output is sufficient for the Pioneer's input.

I appreciate the feedback that it should work. I'm definitely sure I'm using the one of the two wired IR inputs. Unfortunately, I can't send any wired commands to my FiOS QIP7100-2 STB either, so I can't help but wonder if it's a remote controller issue. The FiOS STB uses a stereo mini-jack so that added an additional variable that the mono Pioneer doesn't have.

One of my concerns is the Harmony Hub's output is potentially too much for the Pioneer's 2.0V-specified level.
vivatech is offline  
post #1722 of 1734 Old 05-10-2014, 09:40 PM
Member
 
rmilyard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I picked up a set of Definitive Technology BP-7002. I have a 9.2 setup before. Thinking just using subs in the bp7002's. So I have used the auto calibrate in the past. However never changed much after setup. Reading about these speakers I read that need to change crossover to 80. It's showing at 100. Is there a guide or something to learn better how to setup system better? These speakers seem really good so want to max setup.

Currently have the to bp7002's front towers, DT CLR2002'center. All 4 surrounds are Polk TL1's as are the 2 front heights.

Anyone help would be great!
rmilyard is offline  
post #1723 of 1734 Old 05-20-2014, 10:18 AM
Member
 
rmilyard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a question. Can I setup my FRONTS as LARGE and SUB YES and will the 1522 send full range to FRONTS and whatever crossover is set to send that to the SUBS?
rmilyard is offline  
post #1724 of 1734 Old 05-20-2014, 10:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,816
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 200
I'd suggest you set SUB to Plus. If you set to YES, only the LFEs in other smaller speakers and .1 channels are send to SUB. When set to Plus, the LFE in the front channels below cross over will be send to the sub as well.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #1725 of 1734 Old 06-05-2014, 05:17 PM
Senior Member
 
apaulct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheshire, CT
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I was trying out icontrolav5 while watching a blu-ray outputting dts-hd mstr 5.1. The status screen in icontrolav5 showed an input of 5.0 up converting to an output of 5.1. The display on the front panel of the AVR shows LFE input and I am getting output from the sub. Anyone else notice this? Any ideas?

Allen
apaulct is offline  
post #1726 of 1734 Old 06-05-2014, 06:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,816
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 200
It looks like an app bug or receiver reporting bug. The older icontrolav 2012 app had the similar problem.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #1727 of 1734 Old 06-05-2014, 07:46 PM
Senior Member
 
apaulct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheshire, CT
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Guess so, foxbat, thanks for the quich response. Watched Thor tonight, my BDP-BX510 showed 7.1 out. The app showed 7.0 in and 5.1 (only running 5.1 speakers) out. The LFE rocked the room so everything seams to be working. DD from my DVR reports correctly, 5.1 in & out.

Allen
apaulct is offline  
post #1728 of 1734 Old 06-23-2014, 06:16 AM
Senior Member
 
lemonslush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I bought one of these a year ago and it had video issues, the screen would turn green and blue randomly. I returned it to costco and sadly they didn't have anymore in stock, so I walk away. Its time to replace my (free to me) HKavs254 receiver for my 7.2 setup. All klipsch reference speakers with 2 18" martycubs.

I remember the sound from the 1522 was great and it had a lot of power. How has everyones held up so far, any regrets?

I found a new one on amazon for $600. Same price as costco sans sales tax (6.5% in MA). Not huge pioneer fan to be honest, but everything about the receiver on paper sounds good and it did sound nice when I played it in stereo.
http://www.amazon.com/Pioneer-SC-152...A2UOHMZVK1F2Y5
lemonslush is online now  
post #1729 of 1734 Old 06-23-2014, 09:11 PM
Member
 
mooonshine199's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Holding up well!

I had taken back 3 or 4 of them before getting one that had zero issues. I still have the random handshake issue with my Mitsubishi WD-65C9. Occasionally when I power them both up using my harmony one remote, I get either a "small screen" that is half the size of my TV in both directions, or infrequently I get a green screen or some artifacts with a partially green screen. I just switch to a different input and switch back, 80% of the time that works, 20% of the time it takes 2 tries. Aside- the new app is better- still odd. Why does Pandora have an add station feature that doesn't work on the app...all else is great!
lemonslush likes this.
mooonshine199 is offline  
post #1730 of 1734 Old 06-24-2014, 09:01 AM
Senior Member
 
lemonslush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Do all pioneers have similar quality issues? My Yamaha receivers have all worked flawlessly
lemonslush is online now  
post #1731 of 1734 Old 06-24-2014, 11:01 PM
Member
 
FarmerBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: On the Beach.
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemonslush View Post
Do all pioneers have similar quality issues? My Yamaha receivers have all worked flawlessly
Pioneer has been my go to brand for decades. Got a new one about a year ago. Hate It! Installed a Yamaha (no fine tuning) for a friend over Christmas and every time I watch something at their house I hate my Pioneer even more. The Yamaha is amazing.

Pioneers hardware, software and Tech Support is so disappointing. As soon as I can morally justify pawning off this POS, I will be going Yamaha. My 15 year old analog Pioneer receiver is billion fold better with none of the bells, whistles and toys. Things have really gone down hill in those years.

AND! I forgot to include this until it happened tonight. Every time I turn this thing on about 10-15 minutes after my ears start ringing. I have never ever had this happen with a piece of audio gear. Not my VSX-D909S nor any of the three VSX-9300's that I still have scattered around or any of Lord knows I have had my share of all kinds, makes and compositions of systems from retail to road gear . . .

P.S.
I started with Marantz in High School and then Yamaha with Crown road amps, some Carver and then Pioneer. Should have stayed with the Yammi's. But then I would have never had fun with the Carvers.
lemonslush likes this.

Last edited by FarmerBob; 06-25-2014 at 09:19 PM. Reason: Brain Damage
FarmerBob is offline  
post #1732 of 1734 Old 06-25-2014, 04:08 AM
Senior Member
 
lemonslush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by FarmerBob View Post
Pioneer has been my go to brand for decades. Got a new one about a year ago. Hate It! Installed a Yamaha (no fine tuning) for a friend over Christmas and every time I watch something at their house I hate my Pioneer even more. The Yamaha is amazing.

Pioneers hardware, software and Tech Support is so disappointing. As soon as I can morally justify pawning off this POS, I will be going Yamaha. My 15 year old analog Pioneer receiver is billion fold better with none of the bells, whistles and toys. Things have really gone down hill in those years.
The more I read about pioneer products in general the less faith I have in the brand. Looking over specs of actual power they produce at all 7 channels is rather impressive, without a doubt their class D amps are kicking some butt. But, what good is all that power if the darn thing doesn't work properly. Its like having a 1000Hp viper with tires that constantly go flat. I was looking at the Sc-71 but I might just get another Yamaha. I know how to use them, they sound great, setup is easy and I manually tweek the room correction with a DB meter anyways. Yamaha lets you take their auto room correction settings and modify them as you see fit. Unlike the marantz and denons. I just really wanted all that power to work for me.
lemonslush is online now  
post #1733 of 1734 Old 07-11-2014, 07:33 PM
Member
 
Joshua_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
general AVR questions

Hi Everyone,
I have a few questions for advice. Let me list my set up first:
Vienna Acoustics Shonberg FL/FR, Webern center, Webern RL/RR, Berg SR/SL for a 7.1
Sub = HSU VTF 2 MK4
Pioneer Kuros PRO141FD (60 “ without the speakers)
Pioneer sc 1523-k (one of the few AVR rated for the above 4 ohm speakers) , PS3 (fat boy with SACD capabilities), AT&T Uverse, iMac 27 inch with i7, 2 macbook pro, 3 iPads, iPhone 5s x2, apple tv2 x2, apple tvx1, but I have not committed to their use yet (the integration has not yet happened- i have a phobia to making the wrong decision)
My questions are general questions regarding the pioneer “system”. What is the point of having an Oppo 103 vs a Pioneer BDP? Or any other BDP? Would using the Pioneer link essentially make the other type of players obsolete? And does this Pioneer link go directly to the Display as well?
My question (as I am reading it I guess), is which one should I let do the processing at this point? And what is the point of external processors? And where would the Darbee processing take place if I went that route?
Thanks in advance for the discussion, and I will be asking more set-up questions as I proceed.
JB
Joshua_j is offline  
post #1734 of 1734 Old 07-11-2014, 09:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
skriefal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 922
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemonslush View Post
Do all pioneers have similar quality issues? My Yamaha receivers have all worked flawlessly
All manufacturers of HDMI-equipped components have these problems, but they may occur only with certain combinations of source/AVR/display. HDMI and HDCP are imperfect protocols. Don't assume that the problem is with the AVR. It might be, or it might just as easily be a problem with your TV -- even if the problem doesn't occur with a different AVR.

HDMI cables (and the connectors) can also be problematic. HDMI cables are the only type of A/V cable with which I can recall having ever had problem(s). And again, a troublesome cable may not be troublesome with every component.
skriefal is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Pioneer Sc 1522k 9 2 Channel Av Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off