*Official* Pioneer SC-1522 9.2 Network ready AV receiver owners thread - Page 59 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1741 of 1753 Old 10-08-2014, 06:41 PM
Newbie
 
PetitSinge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vivatech View Post
I have also noticed my amps don't always turn on when switching inputs. I have to switch between inputs several times to get the amps to accept the input signal and/or turn on.

It's happened at least twice that I can remember within the past month... I'm going to keep a closer eye on this issue.
Yeah, it's a real shame because I have enjoyed the SC-1522k. It is a great receiver when it works. I'm bummed that it's only been 1.5 years and it's already developed a problem. I have another Pioneer, a smaller VSX919AHK that is 6 or 7 years old and still humming along. I will definitely be thinking twice about looking at Pioneer in the future. I'm glad I purchased the unit from Costco because the 1 year warranty from Pioneer is a joke. : /

I'm hoping the Denon X4000 holds up. And at the very least it comes with a 3 year warranty.
PetitSinge is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1742 of 1753 Old 10-09-2014, 12:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by PetitSinge View Post
Yeah, it's a real shame because I have enjoyed the SC-1522k. It is a great receiver when it works. I'm bummed that it's only been 1.5 years and it's already developed a problem. I have another Pioneer, a smaller VSX919AHK that is 6 or 7 years old and still humming along. I will definitely be thinking twice about looking at Pioneer in the future. I'm glad I purchased the unit from Costco because the 1 year warranty from Pioneer is a joke. : /

I'm hoping the Denon X4000 holds up. And at the very least it comes with a 3 year warranty.
I used to have the 1522 as well. I never had a problem with it. I sold it for $600 locally (I got lucky on this one lol). Now, I've got the X4000, which I like even more with the XT32 and SubEQ.

I wish I had waited a little bit longer, since Best Buy had the Denon 4520ci for $1000 like a month ago

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #1743 of 1753 Old 10-09-2014, 01:45 PM
Newbie
 
PetitSinge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post
I used to have the 1522 as well. I never had a problem with it. I sold it for $600 locally (I got lucky on this one lol). Now, I've got the X4000, which I like even more with the XT32 and SubEQ.

I wish I had waited a little bit longer, since Best Buy had the Denon 4520ci for $1000 like a month ago

Good to hear you like the X4000. Mine was just delivered yesterday. I hope to have time to hook it up and play around with calibration tonight.
PetitSinge is offline  
post #1744 of 1753 Old 10-11-2014, 11:29 PM
Senior Member
 
K5/SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 49
I am sure this has been answered in this thread numerous times but I have people over and need a quick answer..

When I am watching a recorded movie on my DVR and it switched to a commercial it sometimes is incredibly loud. This only occurs on some commercials, not all.

I went into the receiver settings but I couldn't find a quick fix. Can someone walk me through a fix to this terribly annoying issue? Thanks in advance!

Oppo BDP103, Sony 70" LED, Definitive Technology Mythos STS Towers, Definitive Technology Mythos 9's x3, Pioneer SC-1523-K, Furman Elite 15, Harmony Ultimate Hub and Rythmik FV15HP.
K5/SS is offline  
post #1745 of 1753 Old 10-11-2014, 11:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by K5/SS View Post
I am sure this has been answered in this thread numerous times but I have people over and need a quick answer..

When I am watching a recorded movie on my DVR and it switched to a commercial it sometimes is incredibly loud. This only occurs on some commercials, not all.

I went into the receiver settings but I couldn't find a quick fix. Can someone walk me through a fix to this terribly annoying issue? Thanks in advance!

I think the cable providers do that on purpose, no?.
NODES is online now  
post #1746 of 1753 Old 10-11-2014, 11:45 PM
Senior Member
 
K5/SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 49
I thought there was a setting on my SC-25 that made sure the volume never spiked? I could be wrong though..

Oppo BDP103, Sony 70" LED, Definitive Technology Mythos STS Towers, Definitive Technology Mythos 9's x3, Pioneer SC-1523-K, Furman Elite 15, Harmony Ultimate Hub and Rythmik FV15HP.
K5/SS is offline  
post #1747 of 1753 Old 10-12-2014, 08:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by K5/SS View Post
I am sure this has been answered in this thread numerous times but I have people over and need a quick answer..

When I am watching a recorded movie on my DVR and it switched to a commercial it sometimes is incredibly loud. This only occurs on some commercials, not all.

I went into the receiver settings but I couldn't find a quick fix. Can someone walk me through a fix to this terribly annoying issue? Thanks in advance!
Most commercials volume are higher than regular programming. I don't think there's much you can do about it.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #1748 of 1753 Old 10-29-2014, 08:23 AM
Senior Member
 
ALtlOff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: St. Louis Mo
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 20
A couple of questions, 99% sure I know the answers but just want some verification.

The 1522 has a single amplifier that distributes power between the used channels...?

If so...that means that if half of your speakers are 8ohm and the other half are 4ohm, you're only really putting a 6ohm load on the amp....? (I just used "half" as a generalization)

Thinking about selling a couple of my mono-block's and just covering my "options" bases for now.

*Warning* None of my suggestions, ideas or even thoughts have any WAF, in any way!
My Build Thread:
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/15-gen...formation.html
ALtlOff is offline  
post #1749 of 1753 Old 11-09-2014, 07:35 PM
Member
 
smurfman2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I lost the PC disc for the recv. Pioneer does not post this as a download, so I have to purchase from parts. Any one know where I could find software for free?
smurfman2002 is offline  
post #1750 of 1753 Old 11-19-2014, 09:24 AM
Member
 
Mk3_wagen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Do you guys leave phase control on or off?

FOR SALE: Denon X4000 BNIB | Klipsch RF-82 II BNIB | Klipsch RS-52 II BNIB | Klipsch SW-112 BNIB | Klipsch WA-2 BNIB | Jamo C607 used | Jamo C60 CEN used | Jamo SUB 650 used
Mk3_wagen is online now  
post #1751 of 1753 Old 11-20-2014, 01:14 PM
Senior Member
 
metalguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfman2002 View Post
I lost the PC disc for the recv. Pioneer does not post this as a download, so I have to purchase from parts. Any one know where I could find software for free?
What is it you use the disc for? As I have never used it and have never had a problem with anything. Or have I been missin out on s h i t all this time?
metalguy is offline  
post #1752 of 1753 Old 11-20-2014, 01:15 PM
Senior Member
 
metalguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mk3_wagen View Post
Do you guys leave phase control on or off?
good question. I have always left it off as I think anything "extra" messes with the sound hence why I, like others use no mcaa for room correction eaither.
metalguy is offline  
post #1753 of 1753 Old 11-20-2014, 08:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
BIG INJUN CHIEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfman2002 View Post
I lost the PC disc for the recv. Pioneer does not post this as a download, so I have to purchase from parts. Any one know where I could find software for free?
I may have an extra copy. If interested, PM me and I will try to dig it up.
BIG INJUN CHIEF is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Pioneer Sc 1522k 9 2 Channel Av Receiver
Gear in this thread - 1522k by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off