AVR with optical output jack volume control? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 03-28-2013, 10:58 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CalebLevArn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is there an AVR out there that has a 5.1 optical audio output jack that allows volume and mute controls while using the AVR's remote control?

CalebLevArn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 03-28-2013, 11:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 22,772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Definitely not volume as the optical out is a fixed output. Doubt mute works either.

What would you be sending out of the optical output? And to what?

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 03-28-2013, 11:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
JBWIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 874
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I don't think that volume control is in the spec for TOSLINK.

Also, at least with models released in the last few years, only the high-end models have an optical output to being with. You'll be paying for a 9.2-capable receiver even if you only need 5.1.

What are you trying to accomplish? Maybe there's another way.

JBWIII is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 03-28-2013, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ross Ridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Like afrogt says, you're not going to find any AV receiver that will give you any sort of volume control over the optical outputs. Moreover you're not going to find any AV receiver that will convert HDMI or analogue audio input to optical audio output. Your probably going to have to completely reconsider what you were trying to accomplish.
Ross Ridge is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 03-28-2013, 11:20 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CalebLevArn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have my headphones hooked up to a DSS2 unit.

The DSS2 unit has a 5.1 optical input and a 3.5 output for my headphones.

But the only thing I dislike is that I can't use a remote to change the volume so I'm stuck with turning the volume knob on the DSS2 unit.


CalebLevArn is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 03-28-2013, 12:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
JBWIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 874
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Is it that you dislike the volume knob itself, or is the DSS2 far away and it forces you to get up to change the volume? If it's the latter, maybe you need a strategy to bring it closer to you.

JBWIII is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 03-28-2013, 12:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CalebLevArn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBWIII View Post

Is it that you dislike the volume knob itself, or is the DSS2 far away and it forces you to get up to change the volume? If it's the latter, maybe you need a strategy to bring it closer to you.

The DSS2 is too far away.

But I think I found a solution!!!

The hdmi output cable from the AVR will plug into the input of new box pictured below and then I will have another hdmi cable going from the switch box to my tv.

I will then plug a toslink cable into the DSS2 from the switcher box.

In the end I will be getting 5.1dd sent to the DSS2 and I will be able to control the volume with my AVR remote.

Yay. smile.gif


CalebLevArn is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 03-28-2013, 01:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ross Ridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caleb Lev Arn View Post

In the end I will be getting 5.1dd sent to the DSS2 and I will be able to control the volume with my AVR remote.

There's two problems with this. First since most TVs don't support 5.1 Dolby Digital over HDMI you may only get 2.0 PCM. The second is that the HDMI audio output of a recevier isn't volume controlled either. A receiver's volume control only affects the speaker outputs and any pre-outs the receiver might have.

The simplest solution would seem to be a longer optical cable so you can move the DSS2 closer to you.
Ross Ridge is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 03-28-2013, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ross Ridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Another possible solution is that many AV receivers support Dolby Headphone and other virtual surround sound headphone technologies that would make using the DSS2 unnecessary. You could plug your headphones directly into the receiver and get virtual surround and control the volume and everything else from the receiver's remote control.
Ross Ridge is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 03-28-2013, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,774
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 195
Another solution is to buy a headphone with volume control on it. You will not find volume control in any digital signal.
Foxbat121 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off