Can't access Dolby PLII Music or other music modes!! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 03-30-2013, 11:24 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Dssquared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I've had the 7007 for a couple of days and I love it so far. However, I cannot, no matter how many menu selections I've made, get the thing to play Pro logic MUSIC or any other sound field. I can click on Dolby PLII movie, but no music mode. Surround Parameters is highlighted but there are no choices other than Home Theater EQ on or off. It's Saturday so I can't call Marantz. This is really starting to piss me off. Why is this buried??
Any help would be great.

'That sure is a nice record player you got there...'
Dssquared is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 03-30-2013, 12:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Dssquared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay, thanks to Matt at Magnolia in Webster, I've been able to access the menu. I can't find this in the owner's manual but apparently you press and HOLD the Music button to bring up a drop down menu. This doesn't seem intuitive at all but at least I found it. It says to press the button on page 77...I pressed it. It doesn't say HOLD until the menu comes up. This kind of thing can drive a guy crazy.
But, I will say this 7007 sounds really clean and smooth with my B&W 603 S3 speakers and surrounds. The bass to my SVS sub is tight and clean as well. Blows my previous Denon away.

'That sure is a nice record player you got there...'
Dssquared is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 03-30-2013, 01:50 PM
Member
 
ickabod665's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dssquared View Post

I can't find this in the owner's manual but apparently you press and HOLD the Music button to bring up a drop down menu.

An addendum that may (or may not) be of interest to some is that i programmed a Harmony Remote 670 with the music and movie buttons, but holding it down on the Harmony apparently doesn't have the same effect. At least for me, on the 6007. I need to use the remote that came with the Marantz to change the music and movie modes.
ickabod665 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 03-30-2013, 07:08 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,597
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2031 Post(s)
Liked: 1757
p. 75 Owner's manual ....




The 7007 uses the more advanced version of Audyssey MultEQ XT vs. only MulTEQ on your old 2307.

Also note there is a dedicated thread for 7007 Owners where you may find more helpful information .....

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1420942/marantz-sr7007-av-receiver-owners-thread/0_100

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off