STR-DG720 Audio Out - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 03-31-2013, 08:55 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
apcavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi

I'm sure this is a totally ridiculous question but I'm afraid I'm a bit confused. I recently purchased a pair of high impedance headphones and a headphone amp to drive them for my analog setup. I realized, however, that it would be silly to not loop my digital stuff into this hifi setup. I assumed my receiver would have an RCA audio out that I could lock into a Y splitter and plug right into my headphone amp... but after twenty minutes of poking around the only out I can find is a subwoofer one (which I'm assuming is not the same.) I can't directly link it but page 9 of this manual (http://www.docs.sony.com/release/STRDG720_EN.pdf) shows the audio out ports on my receiver... is there any way I can push audio out of this thing or am I sort of out of luck.

Thanks and apologies for what I'm sure is a totally ignorant question
apcavs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 04-01-2013, 10:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It is a function that has all but gone away in AVR's.

It will be interesting to see what others have to say about it.

I think there are older Denon avr's tha can do it.


They have speaker to line level converters. But this is not really the high end D to A conversion your are looking for.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 04-01-2013, 10:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
bguzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
After looking at the manual, your only hope is audio out for Video 1. If you're lucky it will act like a monitor out.

bguzman is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 04-01-2013, 08:04 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
apcavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow. It looks like I'm lucky then... video one acts like a normal out and passes right into the headphone amp without a problem. Thanks so much for your help.
apcavs is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 04-01-2013, 08:25 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
apcavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay so taking a chance on one more question because I really don't know much about A/V receivers. If I elect to go from the audio source --> receiver --> headphone amp will there be any meaningful audio quality loss when compared to going directly from the source to the headphone amp? I can't imagine there would be any sort of issue but this is the first time I've ever tried to do hifi through an intermediary.

Thanks!
apcavs is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 04-01-2013, 08:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
bguzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by apcavs View Post

Wow. It looks like I'm lucky then... video one acts like a normal out and passes right into the headphone amp without a problem. Thanks so much for your help.

Glad I could help, happy listening.

bguzman is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off