Could I be missing something? Need answer for a Yamaha - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 04-01-2013, 06:32 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
illuvial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its a real simple setup, DTV to RCVR via HDMI. RCVR to TV via HDMI.

The problem is that when HDMI Control is on, the RCVR defaults to the AV4 audio input instead of HDMI1. The default can be changed in the menu but none of the HDMI options are there. Just AV1-5.

When HDMI Control is off, the RCVR defaults to HDMI1 on power up. This is not optimal since Grandma doesn't do too well with more than one remote.
illuvial is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 04-02-2013, 08:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
JBWIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 41
It's doing that because when the TV turns on the receiver (I'm assuming you're using the TV remote to turn on the receiver?), the receiver is switching to the TV scene which takes its audio from AV4. Try changing the TV scene to HDMI1. Read the manual to see how it's done.

Also, does Grandma need the receiver to be on? I ask because when guests/old people are using my system, I hide the receiver remote and use HDMI standby pass-through* set to pass the cable box. That way, it's like the receiver isn't even there.

* What model Yamaha is yours? Only the 473 and up have HDMI standby pass-through.

JBWIII is online now  
post #3 of 11 Old 04-02-2013, 09:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
illuvial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nope, that's not it.

First, it's a V373.

Second, I'm using the DirecTV remote. I didn't program the Yamaha into the remote, just the TV. When I power on the DTV box the TV powers on, then the Receiver.

But I set the TV Scene (which was OFF) to HDMI1 and I still get AV4 when I power up.

Any ideas?
illuvial is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 04-02-2013, 09:13 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
illuvial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh, and that's why I want the Receiver to set HDMI1 on startup. So Grandma doesn't have to deal with it.

She needs the audio quality from the RCVR (TV speakers are horrid). I also hide the RCVR remote. smile.gif
illuvial is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 04-02-2013, 09:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 154
If you need to keep HDMI control ON then you could add an optical cable to feed audio to AV4 (either from the TV if it has optical audio out, or from the cable box).
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 04-02-2013, 09:55 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
illuvial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That was my previous solution. But there is a terrible lag in the audio when doing it that way. And the Sync function doesn't correct it.
illuvial is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 04-02-2013, 10:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
JBWIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Read the OP's OP. The receiver is in between the TV and the cable box. Makes no sense to have an optical cable looping back.

The reality is that HDMI control is finicky and unpredictable, especially with different brands.

Your best bet is to get a Harmony remote and program it to turn everything on and off separately. It will be even easier that way from Grandma's perspective.

JBWIII is online now  
post #8 of 11 Old 04-02-2013, 10:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 154
You'll need to enable manual lip sync and test with different delays. You might find that taking audio from the cable box to AV4 is better than from the TV.

I don't think there's another solution, unless you turn off HDMI control and use a programmable remote to power on TV and receiver with a single button.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 04-02-2013, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,857
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 211
HDMI control only works with devices that support HDMI CEC control protocol. Sounds like OP's DTV box doesn't support that. You don't need to assign audio inputs because when HDMI CEC is on, the receiver should automatically switch to the HDMI input that powers on and take audio from there instead of statically preconfigured one.

If your device does not support HDMI CEC (most cable boxes don't support that), you should not use HDMI control in the first place.

As suggested, a universal control like Harmony is a better and reliable solution. I always turn HDMI control off.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #10 of 11 Old 04-02-2013, 12:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
illuvial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

HDMI control only works with devices that support HDMI CEC control protocol.

Crap!

Thanks for the explanation. That's what I needed, not a workaround. It just didn't make sense that the initiating HDMI wasn't being selected.

Crap!
illuvial is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 04-11-2013, 03:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
illuvial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bought a Harmony 200.

All is well.

Thanks!
illuvial is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off