Yamaha RX-V573 or Yamaha RX-V575 Zone A versus Zone B Question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 04-08-2013, 06:50 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
aprest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am thinking of buying a Yamaha RX-V573 or Yamaha RX-V573 because of its Zone B capability. I want to replace an older Yamaha RX-V659 AVR that does not have HDMI but it does have Zone A and Zone B. The receiver feeds a 5.1 system in my master bedroom and two Polk ceiling speakers in the master bath. I want to be able to feed music from my LAN using DLNA and Plex on my PC to either the bedroom or bathroom or both. The Yamaha RX-V575 or RX-V573 can do that on Zone A but I need to have the network and music selection screen visible on the attached TV screen to navigate when using Zone B. What I would like to find out is if you switch to Zone B will the information still be visible on the TV screen? With the Yamaha RX-V671 in my office when I switch from Zone 1 to Zone 2 (i.e., for outside speakers on my porch) the TV screen goes blank thus preventing navigation. I had to do some fancy juggling through my Smart Samsung TV to see the navigation screen when using Zone 2.
aprest is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 04-08-2013, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ross Ridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Since this is really a Speakers A/B feature and not true independent zones like with the RX-V671 you'll still be able to the OSD regardless of whether the "Zone A" or "Zone B" speakers are active.

With the RX-V671 you can only see the OSD when using the main zone. Since the main zone and zone 2 share the same internal network source, to make your music selections all you need to do is use the main zone. Just switch the remote to the main zone, switch the main zone input to the network source (if necessary) and use the OSD. You don't need juggle anything around on your TV.
Ross Ridge is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 04-08-2013, 02:30 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
aprest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your answer. Since Zone A/B on the RX-V573 or RX-V575 allows me to use digital sources (like a Roku), it seems like they are a better choice than an AVR that uses independent zones for the master bedroom/ master bathroom application given that might wife is the one that likes to listen to music while she is in the tub. She has always found a way to get the old Yamaha so messed up that I had to figure what she had done that resulted in no sound anywhere.

As for the RX-V671, in retrospect I think what you suggested is what I ended up doing using the Roomie application on my iPad and iPod so that I could control the volume of the RX-V671 wirelessly through my LAN outside on the porch.
aprest is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off