Denon AVR-3321 ER Emitter help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 04-28-2013, 08:03 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
aaarneson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We moved into a house with this setup...everything seems to work great....we just want to be able to adjust the volume and the receiver is in a closet in another room. There currently is an IR Emitter, but when I plug it in to the back of the receiver under Remote Control IR it doesn't work. However when I tried to plug it into the dock control it did light up and was ready to go...but obviously still didn't work. Do I need a new IR emitter?

Please help.

Thanks
aaarneson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 04-28-2013, 08:13 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,154
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 402 Post(s)
Liked: 1342
Was this included with the current setup or you just added it? If it worked for the previous owner then it should work, otherwise you may need to try another brand of emitter.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 04-28-2013, 08:18 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
aaarneson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Was this included with the current setup or you just added it? If it worked for the previous owner then it should work, otherwise you may need to try another brand of emitter.

The emitter was included in this setup...but it was not plugged in....So I am not sure how he had the emitter setup...maybe he had a repeater?

I am just confused that it powers on when plugged into the dock control and not the remote control ir.
aaarneson is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 04-28-2013, 08:23 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,154
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 402 Post(s)
Liked: 1342
Ensure it's plugged into the IN jack.


---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 04-28-2013, 08:29 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
aaarneson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did...it is strange. It only lights up when plugged into the dock.
aaarneson is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 04-28-2013, 08:46 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
aaarneson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do I need a specific ir emitter?
aaarneson is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 04-28-2013, 08:51 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,154
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 402 Post(s)
Liked: 1342
Some work .. some don't. Try searching on the word "repeater" or "emitter" in the Denon AVR-XX12 Owner's thread for more info.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1334369/the-official-denon-avr-xx12-model-owners-thread/0_100

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 05-02-2013, 08:59 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
aaarneson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I tried this one and it didn't work. Not sure what to get or really know what will work....seems like they should all work.

http://www.discounthdtvcables.com/hiirreexsyco.html
aaarneson is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 05-02-2013, 10:50 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
aaarneson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could it be that the frequency of my remote is the issue?
aaarneson is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off