The *** Official Marantz NR1604 *** Owners Thread - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 852 Old 05-12-2014, 06:07 AM
Member
 
kukynas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
finally 1605? so far not enough specs but some info below

http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=cs&sl=de&tl=en&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.auditorium.de%2FHiFi%2FQuellgeraete%2FStreaming%2FMarantz-NR1605-schwarz-Marantz-NR1605-schwarz.html

shame about missing Audyssey multiEQ XT I was hoping for rolleyes.gif
finally DSD support?

pre-order price in Germany looks like 699,- EUR as below

http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=cs&sl=de&tl=en&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.thomas-electronic-online-shop.de%2FMarantz-AV-Receiver-NR-1605-silbergold

shame I can't attend hi-end show in Munich as Marantz going to present it there mad.gif
kukynas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 852 Old 05-13-2014, 01:22 PM
Newbie
 
Gracol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post


Unseat and reseat all the HDMI cables. And although cables are no longer labeled with an HDMI number, you may want to try replacing them with better quality High Speed Monoprice cables which are < $5 each.

 

Reseated all HDMI's and so far so good. Thanks again!!

Gracol is offline  
post #633 of 852 Old 05-14-2014, 03:03 PM
Newbie
 
WimB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveting99 View Post

PTV Programmer,

JD is correct. All you need is internet explorer, chrome, firefox, safari, etc. and type in the IP address of your Marantz NR-1604 unit that's connected to your router/network. It'll come up with a web browser interface.

The web browser interface is much more user friendly than going through the TV screen and navigating/monkeying with a remote. I honestly use the web browser on a regular basis as it's much more convenient way to interact with the NR-1504 and quickly change settings on the fly to suite the listening environment depending on what's playing from the source. This feature alone is worth it's weight in gold.biggrin.gif The best part is this important feature is available from the lowest end models of the Denon/Marantz receiver line-up. Thumbs up for D&M engineers for implementing this. Maybe should thank the competition as they too have this..

Hi,
Sounds great. I already installed the marantz app on my phone but I have no clue how to find the IP address of my NR-1604.
Could you help me? I can't find it in my manual...
Thanks!
WimB is offline  
post #634 of 852 Old 05-14-2014, 03:08 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,839
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2131 Post(s)
Liked: 1781
^^
Using the remote: Setup - Information

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST daily
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #635 of 852 Old 05-16-2014, 08:31 AM
Member
 
JPDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 10
News about Marantz nr1605!

Just found this article about the new Marantz nr1605 - presented at the Munich High End show. It seems that the 1605 will feature HDMI 2.0, Wi-Fi and Audyssey MultEQ XT. That is great news.

http://translate.google.dk/translate?hl=da&sl=de&tl=en&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.areadvd.de%2Ftests%2Fhigh-end-2014-der-auftritt-von-denon-und-marantz%2F
JPDK is offline  
post #636 of 852 Old 05-16-2014, 11:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
Phrehdd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: So Cal
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by JPDK View Post

News about Marantz nr1605!

Just found this article about the new Marantz nr1605 - presented at the Munich High End show. It seems that the 1605 will feature HDMI 2.0, Wi-Fi and Audyssey MultEQ XT. That is great news.

http://translate.google.dk/translate?hl=da&sl=de&tl=en&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.areadvd.de%2Ftests%2Fhigh-end-2014-der-auftritt-von-denon-und-marantz%2F

I would say that if all of the above is true, that is quite an addition (along with the watt bump).

For me, the 1604 works very well and only two of the four differences have value - Audyssey MultiEQ XT and slight bump in wattage. - Not sure how many people will benefit from HDMI 2.0 and curious about the WiFi implementation.
Phrehdd is offline  
post #637 of 852 Old 05-16-2014, 02:41 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,839
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2131 Post(s)
Liked: 1781
^^
Keep in mind there may be differences between the European models and the USA models, although European press releases are sometimes wrong as well. In this instance there is no increase in power ... it remains 50W, rather the 90W value is simply the spec for a 1khz signal at 1% THD. Also MultEQ continues with the USA NR1605. You'll note on the Denon UK website (image below) that they even rate the NR1604 as 90W.


---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST daily
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #638 of 852 Old 05-16-2014, 07:42 PM
Member
 
rg-one's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Keep in mind there may be differences between the European models and the USA models, although European press releases are sometimes wrong as well. In this instance there is no increase in power ... it remains 50W, rather the 90W value is simply the spec for a 1khz signal at 1% THD. Also MultEQ continues with the USA NR1605.

By any chance do you have a link to US specs yet? I'm really ready to pull the trigger on one of them, have been waiting months to see if I'll be snagging a 1605 or just trying to find a 1604 with a nice discount.
rg-one is offline  
post #639 of 852 Old 05-17-2014, 04:19 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,839
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2131 Post(s)
Liked: 1781
^^
Should be available by June.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST daily
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #640 of 852 Old 05-17-2014, 09:35 AM
Newbie
 
pedro0223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

The Zone 2 pre-outs will output an independent analog connected source (ie. no digital source) or onboard audio source (network, internet radio, AM/FM Tuner, USB) or while using the "All Zone Stereo" feature will pass the same source (digital or analog) playing in the main zone to Zone 2.

To make sure I am understading you correctly, if my audio source is digital (HDMI, etc...) using the "All Zone Stereo" function will output audio from these sources to zone 2? I'm looking to buy this receiver and this functionality is key to my decision. Thanks in advance for the help.
pedro0223 is offline  
post #641 of 852 Old 05-17-2014, 11:51 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,839
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2131 Post(s)
Liked: 1781
^^
Correct. The same stereo 2.0 source playing in the main zone.
pedro0223 likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST daily
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #642 of 852 Old 05-18-2014, 01:16 AM
Newbie
 
Gatormanred's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi new to the board, I bough the 1604 and have two issues, first one is easy I think, have Sony TV with Netflix app, how do I assign the TV to play through 1604, it is connected to TV with hdmi into monitor output but I don't see an option to assign hdmi inputs for avr, it works for my cable box as I can assign hdmi input......second is trickier! Ever since I upgraded to ios7 iPad 3 connects to 1604 for about 1. Minute then turns back to iPad this is the same for iMac running latest iOS. iPhone 5 works as is using ios6... Any help at all would be great cheers!!
Gatormanred is offline  
post #643 of 852 Old 05-18-2014, 03:44 AM
Member
 
JPDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This french site also claims that the Marantz nr 1605 will feature MultiEQ XT. Quote: "For the calibration part, Audyssey MultEQ is replaced by the MultEQ XT (8 measurement points against 6 above)"

http://translate.google.dk/translate?hl=da&sl=fr&tl=en&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.audiovideohd.fr%2Factualites%2F10375-Marantz-NR1605.html&sandbox=1
JPDK is offline  
post #644 of 852 Old 05-18-2014, 07:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 1,022
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 395 Post(s)
Liked: 135
^Guys,

Have a read up on the Audyssey FAQ in depth technical addendum regarding MultiEQ XT here: http://www.avsforum.com/t/795421/official-audyssey-thread-faq-in-post-51779/51750#post_21783037

I'm a little bit dubious on the improvements to sound quality going from MultiEQ to MultiEQ XT. If I was to up-grade from the current MultiEQ to a better version of Audyssey, I'd go only to MultiEQ XT32. YMMV.

Maranatz NR1504, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, LG LW6500, aTV, WDTV Live, Harmony 650 remote, KEF E301, MiniDSP(2x4), Rythmik F12G
steveting99 is online now  
post #645 of 852 Old 05-19-2014, 02:30 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,839
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2131 Post(s)
Liked: 1781
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gatormanred View Post

Hi new to the board, I bough the 1604 and have two issues, first one is easy I think, have Sony TV with Netflix app, how do I assign the TV to play through 1604, it is connected to TV with hdmi into monitor output but I don't see an option to assign hdmi inputs for avr, it works for my cable box as I can assign hdmi input......second is trickier! Ever since I upgraded to ios7 iPad 3 connects to 1604 for about 1. Minute then turns back to iPad this is the same for iMac running latest iOS. iPhone 5 works as is using ios6... Any help at all would be great cheers!!

1. To get audio from a TV app (Netflix) back to the AVR you can either use HDMI (ARC) or can connect an optical cable from the TV to the AVR. To use HDMI (ARC) set HDMI Control on the AVR to ON and set HDMI CEC (BraviaSync) on the TV to ON as well as possibly setting the TV audio to "External speakers."

2. Possibly iOS 7 related but try rebooting the iOS devices as well as the router and unplug the AVR for at least 10 minutes.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST daily
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #646 of 852 Old 05-24-2014, 12:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
ptysell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Am I better off using Marantz 4k up scaling or sticking with the scaler in the XBR?
ptysell is offline  
post #647 of 852 Old 05-24-2014, 12:14 AM
Member
 
anthonybme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TORN: Marantz NR1604 vs Yamaha RX-S600.

I have been pouring over the information I can find between these two slimline receivers and I'm torn.
They have so much in common but here's the comparisons I see:
Yamaha . . . . . . . . . . . Marantz
5.1. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7.1
MHL . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . —
Passes through 4K . . . . . . Upconverts to 4k
SCENES . . . . . . . . . . . . . Hide inputs
complex remote . . . . . . . . . . good, lit remote
multibrand remote . . . . . . . . . .just Marantz
good app . . . . . . . . . . . . . bad app
60wpc . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 50wpc
more audio finesse . . . . . . . good audio reviews
— . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . web browser control

The specific use for this will be my "entertainment room" which does movies occasionally, but it also the music room for my kids- specifically my son who is somewhat autistic.

I used to have an all-in-one DVD/AM/FM receiver that was great. It died. Not able to be repaired. We tried.
It was good because no matter what was being done before it was turned off, my son could go in the entertainment room, press the play button, and the unit would turn itself on, switch inputs, and begin playing his CDs. Then he knew the one big knob was for volume.

There is nothing like that on the market today. I've spent months looking. Even purchased and sent back stuff.

So I've resigned myself to separates, and getting a DVD/CD player and a receiver to talk to each other (turn the receiver on when the DVD play button is pressed) MIGHT be possible, but I haven't found it. It's not a feature manufacturers promote any more as far as I can tell.

Also, the projector was wired component, in wall from the front of the room to the rear wall. So a receiver that has the ability to at least handle component in from a DVD/BluRay and output it to the projector is better than an HDMI-only unit (most things today) because good HDMI to component conversion (a nice new projector is not in the budget) is an additional cost and, based on reviews, someone tricky to come by.

So I've whittled it down to these two, non-monsterous looking, models. (Links to the Crutchfield pages above)
Key features I see are; the Yamaha has the "scenes" so that he could hopefully press one button on the receiver and it'll turn itself on and switch to CD. Then he can press play on the DVD player and it'll turn itself on and begin playing. Big knob on the right for volume. And I can go in to the unit menus and LIMIT the maximum volume. smile.gif

The Marantz, on the other hand, gets consistently better reviews on sound. It has a good remote for ME to use the few times I watch a movie on the system. And, in the long run, it upconverts to 4K, which is an inevitable format so it's nice to get that in here now and be done with it. But it's a bit trickier for him to get it going on his own- using the face of the radio alone- at this point in his life. (He's 4). It can limit the output volume, but only in two steps.

So, right now I'm leaning Yamaha, but wanted to get some additional feedback.

"Can you hear me now?"
anthonybme is offline  
post #648 of 852 Old 05-24-2014, 02:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 1,022
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 395 Post(s)
Liked: 135
^anthonybme,

Reading your post, it appears that the primary concern is simple operation for your young son? I can think of a main way for him to work with either the Marantz or the Yamaha - the logitech 650 universal remote: http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-Harmony-650-Control-Refurbished/dp/B00I54C0GA/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1400919132&sr=8-2&keywords=logitech+650+harmony+remote

You can program a button on the 650 to turn on the required number of devices so your son can play some tunes on the disc.

Another way is to get a Marantz blu-ray player and use the remote device connection port shown on page 45 of the owner's manual. This way a single Marantz remote will be able to control two devices.

A future method is archiving the music in digital format. With a mobile phone (such as any iDevice) your son can stream the tunes to the Marantz as it's got Airplay. Not so sure about the Yamaha.

The NR-1604 has the ability to convert analogue component video to HDMI. It's got just one output. It also has a component video output for analogue. This may serve your TV/projector requirements.

As far as room correction features (if it's important to you in terms of sound quality), the NR-1604 has Audyssey MultiEQ which does some correction for bass frequencies. It's not as good as the top end XT32, but you'll have to pay more for it on the SR-7008 unit. I'm not familiar with Yamaha's YAPO room correction, so someone else can chime in. I don't believe it does any correction for bass frequencies.

I'm not very familiar with the Yamaha gear as I've got the Marantz unit. You might want to ask the same question in a Yamaha thread and see what the replies are like.
anthonybme likes this.

Maranatz NR1504, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, LG LW6500, aTV, WDTV Live, Harmony 650 remote, KEF E301, MiniDSP(2x4), Rythmik F12G
steveting99 is online now  
post #649 of 852 Old 05-24-2014, 03:32 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,839
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2131 Post(s)
Liked: 1781
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptysell View Post

Am I better off using Marantz 4k up scaling or sticking with the scaler in the XBR?

Depends on which does a better job. smile.gif

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST daily
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #650 of 852 Old 05-24-2014, 03:55 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,839
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2131 Post(s)
Liked: 1781
@anthonybme

Although the Harmony 650 that Steve suggests is likely to be your best bet as it allows control of up to 8 different devices with a single remote, note also that the new NR1605 (to be released June/July?) will include "Smart Select" buttons on the remote, similar to the SCENE buttons used by the Yamaha.
anthonybme likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST daily
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #651 of 852 Old 05-24-2014, 06:18 PM
Member
 
anthonybme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd rather the kids not use the remote, as it can be lost, and can easily set the unit into other modes/adjustments that I don't want them to adjust.

My JVC had a separate section on the bottom right front panel for the menu settings. The kids never touched it because it was not part of the normal workflow of usage.
All they needed to know was where the play button was to listen to the CD, and where the power button was (top left) to turn it off. Volume is the only knob. Eject is the button next to the drawer. THat's it.


"Can you hear me now?"
anthonybme is offline  
post #652 of 852 Old 05-24-2014, 07:01 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,839
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2131 Post(s)
Liked: 1781
^^
There are a couple of safeguards you can use with the 1604 .... one is a Panel Lock which disables the buttons on the front panel and the other is a Setup Lock which disables the Setup menu button. Also, you can purchase a cheap $10 universal remote which would just be for the kids to use for the simple functions.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST daily
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #653 of 852 Old 05-24-2014, 07:46 PM
Member
 
anthonybme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the panel lock leave the power button and the input select (left dial) and volume working?

I like the idea of a simple remote, but the small ones I've seen either aren't limited to just the functions I want to program, or, if they are programmable, they are expensive.

Also, a question about the Champagne color... Crutchfield only has it in black. Where do I find it in the lighter color, which would go with the room a lot better. All the wood is a light pine- even my sub.
And the receiver will be sitting on the sub. which is front and center, under the center channel in-wall speaker. The sub controls will be buried out of sight.


"Can you hear me now?"
anthonybme is offline  
post #654 of 852 Old 05-25-2014, 05:07 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,839
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2131 Post(s)
Liked: 1781
^^
1. The manual indicates there are two Power Lock settings, one for all buttons and one for all buttons less the volume both of which would exclude use of the INPUT select dial.

2. Marantz only sells the "black" units in the USA.

3. Bad idea to set the AVR on the sub.

4. AVScience is an authorized Marantz dealer. Call for additional assistance.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST daily
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #655 of 852 Old 05-25-2014, 10:51 AM
Member
 
anthonybme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So neither Power Lock setting would work for me, unless I could get a basic, but programmable remote to do just those functions I want to allow them.

Rats on the color.

I've always had my receiver on the sub, and even when playing CDs or DVD's there's been zero issue. It has two, opposing, acoustic suspension drivers. The cabinet does not vibrate. The previous one only stopped working because of a lightning strike. :\

Can you get the Champagne one? smile.gif

"Can you hear me now?"
anthonybme is offline  
post #656 of 852 Old 05-25-2014, 11:24 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,839
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2131 Post(s)
Liked: 1781
^^
Other than black colors for D&M models are only available when purchased in other regions in the world outside of the USA.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST daily
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #657 of 852 Old 05-28-2014, 03:46 AM
Newbie
 
Frank Bijlard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello, i want to buy the NR1604, but i want to use it only as a stereo amplifier on my old (but still liked) big JBL LX-1000 speakers. I come from an old Onkyo TX-SV525R. Is this a good choice ? Or is this amplifier to weak for these kind of speakers ?

 

Thank you very much for your help..

 

Frank

Frank Bijlard is offline  
post #658 of 852 Old 05-28-2014, 03:58 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,839
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2131 Post(s)
Liked: 1781
^^
If these are 8-ohm speakers and you listen at moderate levels, the 1604 should work just fine.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST daily
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #659 of 852 Old 05-28-2014, 05:48 AM
Newbie
 
Frank Bijlard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
If these are 8-ohm speakers and you listen at moderate levels, the 1604 should work just fine.

I listen to moderate level ! Thanks for your answer !

Frank Bijlard is offline  
post #660 of 852 Old 06-08-2014, 02:04 PM
Newbie
 
opperwezen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi all, I jus bought the nr1604 and i kind of miscalculated its options so maybe one of you can help. As I understand its possible to connect the nr1604 with wifi via a dongle. Looking for a dongle on internet i only see usb dongles. Are that the ones to make the nr1604 wifistreaming or are there also other ports? Is it possibly to connect the usbport of the receiver to the widely known multiple usb-sockets-case so i can plug in both the wifi connection (for the remote app) and the usb-stick with my mp3's?

The thing is i bought it (no return policy) to connect my usb stick with mp3's with my speakers. but i guess just the connection doesnt make it possible to navigate my musiclibary (no tv is connected) so i try now to organise the remote app via android and my wifirouter.

thanks in advance for your replies!

opperwezen is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Nr1604 Slim Line 7 1 Network Receiver
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off