The *** Official Marantz NR1604 *** Owners Thread - Page 33 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 16Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #961 of 974 Old 10-15-2015, 04:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Connectivity Issues between NR1604 and PS4

I'm currently running my NR1604 amp with a PS3, PS4 and XBOX 360 into a projector system. The PS3 and XBOX have no issues running through the amp to the projector, however the PS4 will not run. I have restarted the PS4 in safe mode and completely restored it to factory settings and still no luck. Sometimes it may make it through the opening scenes of the game, however it then shut downs completely.

This issue doesn't happen when i connect the PS4 directly to a TV however.

Does anybody have any solutions? Most appreciated!
Smally89 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #962 of 974 Old 10-15-2015, 10:15 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 57,906
Mentioned: 112 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7312 Post(s)
Liked: 3367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smally89 View Post
I'm currently running my NR1604 amp with a PS3, PS4 and XBOX 360 into a projector system. The PS3 and XBOX have no issues running through the amp to the projector, however the PS4 will not run. I have restarted the PS4 in safe mode and completely restored it to factory settings and still no luck. Sometimes it may make it through the opening scenes of the game, however it then shut downs completely.

This issue doesn't happen when i connect the PS4 directly to a TV however.

Does anybody have any solutions? Most appreciated!
Ensure you have the "Deep Color Output" setting on the PS4 disabled.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
Authorized dealer: Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #963 of 974 Old 01-05-2016, 10:20 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How to get my NR1604 to play DLNA-based audio using Track #?

Hello all.

I've had a NR1604 since it came out and am quite happy with it for 2.1 audio & HT performance.

My question is: When playing audio tracks from a DLNA-equipped NAS device, the NR1604 will ONLY play the tracks in alphabetical order - even if I change the names of the tracks (using Windows Explorer).

So, what happens is, when I point to a folder (containing a complete album), the tracks will play:
A, B, C, D (example titles of tracks)
Instead of (what I want): #1 , #2 , #3 , etc. (based on the track order of the original recording).

Any ideas?
Thanks,
crp
crp762 is offline  
post #964 of 974 Old 01-05-2016, 11:44 AM
Senior Member
 
hpp8140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by crp762 View Post
Hello all.

I've had a NR1604 since it came out and am quite happy with it for 2.1 audio & HT performance.

My question is: When playing audio tracks from a DLNA-equipped NAS device, the NR1604 will ONLY play the tracks in alphabetical order - even if I change the names of the tracks (using Windows Explorer).

So, what happens is, when I point to a folder (containing a complete album), the tracks will play:
A, B, C, D (example titles of tracks)
Instead of (what I want): #1 , #2 , #3 , etc. (based on the track order of the original recording).

Any ideas?
Thanks,
crp
It's not about file names, but id3 tags.

LN55C630
PN64F8500
Definitive SSA-50
GE Supercinema 3D Array X
Yamaha RX-V479 (evaluating whether to keep)
SVS SB-1000 (evaluating whether to keep)
hpp8140 is offline  
post #965 of 974 Old 01-05-2016, 12:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by hpp8140 View Post
It's not about file names, but id3 tags.
Thanks for the reply. I should have mentioned in the OP that I've checked the metadata for the songs I'm trying to play, and, at least according to JRiver, the track info (ie, Track 1 of 14) is present using the command "Get Info" for all of the tracks I'm trying to play.

crp
crp762 is offline  
post #966 of 974 Old 01-05-2016, 12:29 PM
Senior Member
 
hpp8140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by crp762 View Post
Thanks for the reply. I should have mentioned in the OP that I've checked the metadata for the songs I'm trying to play, and, at least according to JRiver, the track info (ie, Track 1 of 14) is present using the command "Get Info" for all of the tracks I'm trying to play.

crp
According to the manual:
The order in which the tracks/files are displayed depends on the server
specifications. If the tracks/files are not displayed in alphabetical order due to the
server specifications, searching by the first letter may not work properly.

May be tedious for many songs, but you can add the track number in front of the title or use an app like bubbleupnp that supports sorting.

LN55C630
PN64F8500
Definitive SSA-50
GE Supercinema 3D Array X
Yamaha RX-V479 (evaluating whether to keep)
SVS SB-1000 (evaluating whether to keep)
hpp8140 is offline  
post #967 of 974 Old 01-05-2016, 12:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by hpp8140 View Post
According to the manual:
The order in which the tracks/files are displayed depends on the server
specifications. If the tracks/files are not displayed in alphabetical order due to the
server specifications, searching by the first letter may not work properly.

May be tedious for many songs, but you can add the track number in front of the title or use an app like bubbleupnp that supports sorting.
That's what's confusing me: I've edited the track names (in Windows Explorer) and added "01 (space)" to the beginning of the first track, "02 (space) in front of the 2nd track, etc., and the Marantz STILL plays the songs alphabetically.

I've got a couple dozen songs on the DLNA server & I've looked at the tracks in other album directories (aside from the 1 directory that's giving me the problem) and the song titles have "01", "02" etc. in front of them. Those other directories play in track number order on the Marantz.

TL;DR version: I have multiple folders of audio contents on a DLNA server and, only the most recently added directory won't play on the Marantz by track number, even when I edit the track title to begin with "01", "02", etc. and the metadata for the tracks shows "Track x of z Tracks".

crp
crp762 is offline  
post #968 of 974 Old 01-05-2016, 01:00 PM
Senior Member
 
hpp8140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by crp762 View Post
That's what's confusing me: I've edited the track names (in Windows Explorer) and added "01 (space)" to the beginning of the first track, "02 (space) in front of the 2nd track, etc., and the Marantz STILL plays the songs alphabetically.

I've got a couple dozen songs on the DLNA server & I've looked at the tracks in other album directories (aside from the 1 directory that's giving me the problem) and the song titles have "01", "02" etc. in front of them. Those other directories play in track number order on the Marantz.

TL;DR version: I have multiple folders of audio contents on a DLNA server and, only the most recently added directory won't play on the Marantz by track number, even when I edit the track title to begin with "01", "02", etc. and the metadata for the tracks shows "Track x of z Tracks".

crp
Just to be clear you edited track title in the id3? or filename? What is your dlna server and does it have sorting options?

Also, depending on the dlna server, after editing, your may have to re-index the server and restart the receiver.

LN55C630
PN64F8500
Definitive SSA-50
GE Supercinema 3D Array X
Yamaha RX-V479 (evaluating whether to keep)
SVS SB-1000 (evaluating whether to keep)
hpp8140 is offline  
post #969 of 974 Old 01-05-2016, 01:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by hpp8140 View Post
Just to be clear you edited track title in the id3? or filename? What is your dlna server and does it have sorting options?

Also, depending on the dlna server, after editing, your may have to re-index the server and restart the receiver.
My DLNA server is a WD MyCloud NAS, attached via Ethernet cable to an Asus Wireless Router. The Marantz NR1604 is connected via a PowerLine adapter to the same router.

So far, I've only edited the Track names by browsing to the target file in the NAS directory structure using Windows Explorer & then manually renaming the title of the track by pre-pending "0x" to the title. I haven't tried to directly edit any of the id3 info.

crp
crp762 is offline  
post #970 of 974 Old 01-05-2016, 01:35 PM
Senior Member
 
hpp8140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by crp762 View Post
My DLNA server is a WD MyCloud NAS, attached via Ethernet cable to an Asus Wireless Router. The Marantz NR1604 is connected via a PowerLine adapter to the same router.

So far, I've only edited the Track names by browsing to the target file in the NAS directory structure using Windows Explorer & then manually renaming the title of the track by pre-pending "0x" to the title. I haven't tried to directly edit any of the id3 info.

crp
The DLNA media server running on the WD is called Twonky.

You will need to edit the id3 tags and re-index the server.

LN55C630
PN64F8500
Definitive SSA-50
GE Supercinema 3D Array X
Yamaha RX-V479 (evaluating whether to keep)
SVS SB-1000 (evaluating whether to keep)
hpp8140 is offline  
post #971 of 974 Old 01-09-2016, 05:01 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Well, I figured out what was causing the "issue" for me - it wasn't an issue at all. Rather, what I figured out was that the Marantz was displaying the audio files EXACTLY the way the display choices are listed.

What I mean is: I've always selected the music I want to listen to by browsing the DLNA server "By Folder". After trying again with a new album I ripped today - which includes the track #'s in the title - and then the Marantz STILL played the tracks in alpha order - I decided to go back and select the tracks "By Artist".

Eureka! Tracks were displayed in track order. Same if I backed out and selected tracks "By Album".

So, in summary, my "Problem" was that I have to select the music I want to hear by Artist, or Album, not "By Folder", and things work.
crp762 is offline  
post #972 of 974 Old 01-16-2016, 11:51 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
At which volume levels it is safe to use NR-1604?
Let's say 90 out of 100. Is it a lot?
Does it safe to run this receiver with such volume level for a long period of time?

I plan to buy one soon and give it a try. Currently I have DENON VR-1912 which is rated 125W at 6Ohm. I a have a big room, but I do not listen to loud music. With AVR-1912 I am listen to CDs at volumes between 30-40 and movies between 40 and 55. So from one hand 70W of NR-1604 sound good enough.
However my speakers Yamaha NS-555 and Yamaha NS-C444 are relatively powerful (100W with max.250W) and I have a 3.1 setup. Will it affect somehow the NR-1604?

I am really new to this topic.

My main drivers to migrate to NR-1604 are the size (fits better to my TV furniture) and the 4k pass-thought.
P.S. I consider to buy a used one and in my country there is currently 1604 on sale, but no 1504.
McDime is offline  
post #973 of 974 Old 01-16-2016, 11:52 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question At which volume levels it is safe to use NR-1604?

At which volume levels it is safe to use NR-1604?
Let's say 90 out of 100. Is it a lot?
Does it safe to run this receiver with such volume level for a long period of time?

I plan to buy one soon and give it a try. Currently I have DENON VR-1912 which is rated 125W at 6Ohm. I a have a big room, but I do not listen to loud music. With AVR-1912 I am listen to CDs at volumes between 30-40 and movies between 40 and 55. So from one hand 70W of NR-1604 sound good enough.
However my speakers Yamaha NS-555 and Yamaha NS-C444 are relatively powerful (100W with max.250W) and I have a 3.1 setup. Will it affect somehow the NR-1604?

I am really new to this topic.

My main drivers to migrate to NR-1604 are the size (fits better to my TV furniture) and the 4k pass-thought.
P.S. I consider to buy a used one and in my country there is currently 1604 on sale, but no 1504.
McDime is offline  
post #974 of 974 Old 01-16-2016, 07:02 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 57,906
Mentioned: 112 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7312 Post(s)
Liked: 3367
Quote:
Originally Posted by McDime View Post
At which volume levels it is safe to use NR-1604?
Let's say 90 out of 100. Is it a lot?
Does it safe to run this receiver with such volume level for a long period of time?

I plan to buy one soon and give it a try. Currently I have DENON VR-1912 which is rated 125W at 6Ohm. I a have a big room, but I do not listen to loud music. With AVR-1912 I am listen to CDs at volumes between 30-40 and movies between 40 and 55. So from one hand 70W of NR-1604 sound good enough.
However my speakers Yamaha NS-555 and Yamaha NS-C444 are relatively powerful (100W with max.250W) and I have a 3.1 setup. Will it affect somehow the NR-1604?

I am really new to this topic.

My main drivers to migrate to NR-1604 are the size (fits better to my TV furniture) and the 4k pass-thought.
P.S. I consider to buy a used one and in my country there is currently 1604 on sale, but no 1504.
1. You should never raise the volume level above 80 to ensure there is still sufficient headroom available.
2. The NR1604 will not pass through a 4k/HDCP 2.2 signal that will be sent from the new 4k/UHD Blu Ray players to hit the streets in the next few months.
McDime likes this.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
Authorized dealer: Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Nr1504 Slim Line 5 1 Network Receiver , Marantz Nr1604 Slim Line 7 1 Network Receiver
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off