The *** Official Marantz NR1604 *** Owners Thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 685 Old 09-09-2013, 09:32 PM
Newbie
 
kokkeoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have My speakers set to bi-amp. The 1604 as Well.
How do I set the zone 2? On or off?
On, the zone 2 lits on the front when 1604 is turned off.
Thank you.
kokkeoe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 685 Old 09-10-2013, 03:42 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,831
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
The 1604 is only a 7CH AVR so with a 5.1 setup you have 2 more channels left to power either "Zone 2" or "bi-amp". With your current "bi-amp" configuration, you would want to set Zone 2 to OFF as the speaker posts are being used for "bi-amp". Note however, this feature is not likely providing any real benefit so if you need Zone 2, disconnect the "bi-amp" wiring to the FL/FR speakers, add back the jumper plate to the FL/FR speakers and reconnect the wiring to your Zone 2 speakers. You also have the option of adding a 2CH amp to the Zone 2 pre-outs to power the Zone 2 speakers as well if you prefer to keep the bi-amp connection.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #183 of 685 Old 09-11-2013, 11:21 PM
Newbie
 
JPDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am considering buying a Marantz nr1604. But what about the new HDMI 2.0 version. Will the 4K pass-through function in the nr1604 work with this new standard and is the 4K pass-through function able to pass-through a 4K 50/60 Hz signal from a given source? Should I buy now or should I wait for a possible new model, for example nr1605 that will come in the future?

Thanks
JP
JPDK is offline  
post #184 of 685 Old 09-12-2013, 03:03 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,831
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
As is likely the case with all brands of current HDMI 1.4 models (to include the 1604), only 24/30fps 4k video will pass through. If the HDMI 2.0 standard is something you feel you will need and either you already own (or intend on purchasing) an 80" or larger display as well as a new HDMI 2.0 Blu Ray player, then you would need to wait until the 2015 models are released next summer as their will be no "upgrading" of any of the current models to HDMI 2.0. Otherwise, as is the case with HDMI 1.3 --> 1.4, there will likely be dual HDMI 2.0 Blu Ray players which can pass the 4k video to the display and HD audio to the AVR if you didn't want to wait for the summer 2015 to purchase an AVR.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #185 of 685 Old 09-12-2013, 07:04 PM
Member
 
Tybio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all, I've spent some time looking around, and I really like the features of the 1604 and size. I was wondering if I could get opinions on starting out with a 3.0 system using two different speaker sets:

2x SP-FS52 + SP-C22

Or

2x HTD Level-2 Towers + L2 Center

The room isn't that large, 11x21 but the viewing is done across the narrow 11' side, so 8' at most from TV/Speakers. The left from the viewing area is closed in with a wall about 5' away...the right however is open to a hallway and a HUGE open wall into the kitchen (8' wide, right next to where the left speaker will be).

My concern is if the 1604 can power those to normal listening levels. I'm not interested in VOLUME...just cleaning up the dialog in movies/tv and getting better sound than my first generation $99 Vizio sound bar (not like that's hard).

Usage is 100% media (Movies/TV).

I'd love any thoughts people have, if this goes to plan then I'll likely turn this into a 5.1 system down the line.
Tybio is offline  
post #186 of 685 Old 09-12-2013, 07:20 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,831
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
Ideally as long as the F/C/R are from the same "family" you're in good shape, although even when not, Audyssey will do a great job of EQing them to account for your room's dynamics. In most instances, the 1604 will provide more than enough power unless trying to power 4-ohm speakers at loud volume levels.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #187 of 685 Old 09-12-2013, 11:37 PM
Newbie
 
JPDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks jdsmoothie

What is your opinion about HDMI 2.0, is it worth the wait?
HD movies, such as Blu-ray movies, runs at 24Hz/1080p, to create that special film-look. I think 4K films also will be prefered played at 24Hz. We have not seen Blu-ray movies with a playback at 1080p 60Hz. Then is 50/60Hz playback for 4K at all necessary for films, such as the new HDMI 2.0 standard supports?

JP
JPDK is offline  
post #188 of 685 Old 09-13-2013, 06:55 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,831
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
We've likely got at least a few more years before it really becomes mainstream and unless you own or plan on purchasing an 80"+ TV/PJ screen, moot at best.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #189 of 685 Old 09-17-2013, 01:58 PM
Newbie
 
olybol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have an Samsung 3D HT and want to use it as a bluray/cd player hooked on the 1604 but am not sure if this will work ?
olybol is offline  
post #190 of 685 Old 09-17-2013, 05:27 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,831
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
^^
HTIB speakers/sub are generally not designed to be connected to an AVR, although depends on the impedance of the speakers. The sub is "passive" so not a good choice. If you already own the Samsung HTIB, you would be better served selling it and purchasing a dedicated set of speakers + powered sub (eg. Energy Take Classic 5.1 or the Monoprice branded 5.1 setup linked below) ...

.http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=109&cp_id=10906&cs_id=1090601&p_id=10565&seq=1&format=2

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #191 of 685 Old 09-18-2013, 07:45 AM
Newbie
 
olybol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I meant I want to connect my Samsung Home Theater HT-C5900 as a bluray player through HDMI on AV 1604 to pass thru 3D to my Samsung TV. Am aware of that the AV 1604 must have own speaker set the one from the HT.
Is it possible to connect this way and the HT act like a bluray/cd player ?
olybol is offline  
post #192 of 685 Old 09-18-2013, 07:46 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,831
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
Oh ... sure. No different than any other HDMI source device. smile.gif

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #193 of 685 Old 09-29-2013, 11:45 PM
703
Member
 
703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm planning to use this AVR to power the KEF E305's. Just wondering if there is enough power for the speakers? Some review mention that they need a beefy amp.

Founder | BullsEye Calibration | www.bullseyecal.co.nz
703 is offline  
post #194 of 685 Old 09-30-2013, 03:30 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,831
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
Those are fairly inefficient speakers; however, as long as you don't listen at loud movie reference levels, the 1604 should provide enough power.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #195 of 685 Old 10-09-2013, 09:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
par4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Although often debated .. there is no difference in audio quality between amps .. an amp simply provides power. If the 1604 is sufficient to power your Zone 2 speakers, there is no reason to include the Sonos..

Please, no preaching. As you said, this topic "often debated".
par4 is offline  
post #196 of 685 Old 10-16-2013, 01:57 AM
Senior Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Is there any other receiver that has a slim profile such as the Marantz NR1604? I don't have the space for a full sized receiver and like the simplicity of the NR1604 solution.

Steve

Maranatz NR1504, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, LG LW6500, aTV, WDTV Live, Harmony 650 remote, KEF E301, MiniDSP(2x4), Rythmik F12G
steveting99 is online now  
post #197 of 685 Old 10-16-2013, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 317
The 1504 might be an option if you don't need all the features of the 1604. It has a less-capable version of Audyssey, though.

Selden
Selden Ball is online now  
post #198 of 685 Old 10-16-2013, 03:39 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,831
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
^^
Both the 1504 and 1604 feature the same version of Audyssey MultEQ, as MultEQ XT begins on the 500X series.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #199 of 685 Old 10-17-2013, 01:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Both the 1504 and 1604 feature the same version of Audyssey MultEQ, as MultEQ XT begins on the 500X series.

Yup. JD's right, of course. Sorry.

I'm sure I read somewhere that the 1604 had XT, but its manual claims otherwise. Must have been in a dream....

Selden
Selden Ball is online now  
post #200 of 685 Old 10-18-2013, 08:17 AM
Newbie
 
EvilTuna7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all,

I purchased a brand new nr1504 yesterday and ran into a problem with the airplay feature. Using my iphone 5 with the latest iOS7 the signal breaks up almost constantly and bits of music only come through once or twice every minute. I tired using airplay on my roommate's iphone 4 (iOS 6) and it works fine, but I've used my iphone on other airplay systems before without issue (although not since the iOS7 upgrade). Just to note, I updated the nr1504's firmware to the latest release. Do you guys have any ideas that might help me out? Thanks!

edit: Forgot to mention that my nr1504 is connected by network cable to my router and that I have Verizon Fios.
EvilTuna7 is offline  
post #201 of 685 Old 10-18-2013, 09:44 AM
Senior Member
 
esdwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Fewquick questions,

1. Can I browse, select and play mp3 files stored on my Android phone directly over the wifi with NR1604 hooked up to the same router which runs my wifi? What Android app is used for that and anyone tried whether it works?
confused.gif
Since the user manual says only about turning unit on/off, selecting input source, etc. I was wondering whether the app they talk about has also typical "player capability" or whether it is indeed a receiver simple control only. And if yes, is there any other app than can be used for playing audio files right from your phone like it is done with Yamaha android app that does both? I appreciate you letting me know.

2. Since manual clearly says playing sound from digital audio inputs (whether HDMI, Coax or Toslink) in zone 2 is not possible, I was wondering if by looping PreOut to one of analog AV inputs solve this problem? Has anyone tried that and whether it worked ?

3. User manual does not say anything about 3.1 speaker setup although I would assume this is not a problem since each speaker can be defined as present or not. Is that true? Also, I was wondering if with just front speakers connected, whether the EQ would account for that and perform sort of simulated surround or would it be just whatever is decoded from front and center?

4. Are Treble and Bass level settings available in Tone Control menu saved individually for each AV input including HDMI inputs? So, I can have bass boosted just for selected A/V input like CD or HDMI3 for example?
esdwa is offline  
post #202 of 685 Old 10-20-2013, 03:08 PM
Newbie
 
joshua844's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there, I'm new to this thread and I recently bought this receiver. So far I love it but I was wondering if somebody could tell me how to stream photos from my iphone to my tv using airplay on this receiver? I'd prefer not to use flickr if I don't have to. Cheers!
joshua844 is offline  
post #203 of 685 Old 10-20-2013, 03:56 PM
Senior Member
 
esdwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I think this thread is dead. No response from users. So in order to answer all questions I posted for example, I decided to order one of these receivers and test it myself. As you purchased your, I suggest contacting customer support and post them your question. Good luck.
esdwa is offline  
post #204 of 685 Old 10-21-2013, 02:40 AM
Newbie
 
Milosz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Warsaw, PL
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have two questions regarding my Marantz NR1604.

1. I have independent stereo and home cinema systems in the same room. Unfortunately Marantz's remote control uses the same codes as my Plinius M8 stereo preamplifier. I know both Marantz and Plinius are using Philips RC5 standard correctly but it is a problem for me having them both in the same room. When I turn on or off any of them or turn up or down the volume, both of them react at the same time. I have already asked Plinius if I can change codes of the remote but they say it's not possible in the M8 preamplifier. Is it possible to change codes for remote control of the Marantz NR1604? I know that it is possible for some Marantz AVRs.

2. If I want to connect the Marantz to my stereo system in order to stream music over DLNA from my NAS discs, which pre out should I use to connect it to my stereo preamp? There are two pre outs in the Marantz: pre out for Zone 2 and pre out for front speakers. My stereo preamplifier has HT bypass so I can plug the Marantz passing over volume control in the Plinius but I just wonder which pre out in the Marantz should I use.

Thanks for your assistance.

Jazz happens here...
Milosz is offline  
post #205 of 685 Old 10-21-2013, 03:20 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,831
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
^^
1. No. rather only with some of the upper level remotes. Try using a smart phone app instead (eg. AVR-Remote)
2. More likely Zone 2 as using the main zone pre-outs would have both sets of speakers ON at the same time.
Milosz likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #206 of 685 Old 10-21-2013, 07:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
1. No. rather only with some of the upper level remotes. Try using a smart phone app instead (eg. AVR-Remote)
2. More likely Zone 2 as using the main zone pre-outs would have both sets of speakers ON at the same time.

Another thing to consider is that the main zone front speaker channel preamp outputs would have Audyssey applied when it's enabled, while the Zone 2 outputs never would. If you're using separate sets of speakers, the Audyssey calibration of the HT speakers would be quite inappropriate for the music speakers.

If you're actually using the HT-bypass in your stereo preamp, though, that implies that you're using the same speakers for both configurations, probably with separate source devices connected to the two different preamps. In that case, you should use the main zone's preamp outputs so that Audyssey can do its job when you're running the stereo preamp in HT mode.
Milosz likes this.

Selden
Selden Ball is online now  
post #207 of 685 Old 10-21-2013, 11:35 PM
Newbie
 
Milosz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Warsaw, PL
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you both for your answers. No, I'm using two independent systems for stereo and home theatre with two separate sets of speakers: 5.1 and 2.0. I'm not using HT bypass now but I'm going to use it for music streaming from the Marantz. I will connect it to the Zone 2 pre outs as suggested. Do those pre outs work only when Zone 2 is switched on in the Marantz or that option only changes the function of the back surround speaker terminals?

Jazz happens here...
Milosz is offline  
post #208 of 685 Old 10-22-2013, 12:28 AM
Senior Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 53
I'm wondering how long it's going to take before the NR-160X gets Audyssey XT32?

The size, number of amps and power rating of this receiver is just right. What's lacking is the room correction feature set.

Steve

Maranatz NR1504, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, LG LW6500, aTV, WDTV Live, Harmony 650 remote, KEF E301, MiniDSP(2x4), Rythmik F12G
steveting99 is online now  
post #209 of 685 Old 10-22-2013, 03:04 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,831
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Milosz View Post

Thank you both for your answers. No, I'm using two independent systems for stereo and home theatre with two separate sets of speakers: 5.1 and 2.0. I'm not using HT bypass now but I'm going to use it for music streaming from the Marantz. I will connect it to the Zone 2 pre outs as suggested. Do those pre outs work only when Zone 2 is switched on in the Marantz or that option only changes the function of the back surround speaker terminals?

Only when Zone 2 is switched on.
Milosz likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #210 of 685 Old 10-23-2013, 01:50 PM
Newbie
 
EvilTuna7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilTuna7 View Post

Hey all,

I purchased a brand new nr1504 yesterday and ran into a problem with the airplay feature. Using my iphone 5 with the latest iOS7 the signal breaks up almost constantly and bits of music only come through once or twice every minute. I tired using airplay on my roommate's iphone 4 (iOS 6) and it works fine, but I've used my iphone on other airplay systems before without issue (although not since the iOS7 upgrade). Just to note, I updated the nr1504's firmware to the latest release. Do you guys have any ideas that might help me out? Thanks!

edit: Forgot to mention that my nr1504 is connected by network cable to my router and that I have Verizon Fios.


Ok, I haven't called tech support yet, but I have found that the (buggy) Marantz iphone app is much more consistent with Airplay than itunes or spotify on my phone. Not sure why there would be a difference between the two, but that's what my findings are so far.


Can anyone else out there comment on how well Airplay works with their iphones/ipads?
EvilTuna7 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Nr1604 Slim Line 7 1 Network Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off