Onkyo TX-NR727, 626, 525 "official" owner's thread discussion - Page 14 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #391 of 411 Old 12-04-2014, 04:32 PM
Senior Member
 
RobertWy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bellaire, Texas, 77401
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by sat-tv View Post
Thanks Robert.. only problem I don't know and can't find my Onkyo ID Number for tx NR626 reciever
You look it up by receiver brand and receiver model.

http://www.onkyo.newremotecontrol.co...efnum=TX-NR626

Robert
RobertWy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #392 of 411 Old 12-11-2014, 08:59 PM
Member
 
sat-tv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can anybody suggest the best setting for Surround sound. Also My center speaker is not louder then the surround speakers
sat-tv is offline  
post #393 of 411 Old 12-15-2014, 09:40 AM
Newbie
 
sheac12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone tell me the part number, voltage rating and amperage for the first fuse on the power distribution board (right by the power cord) for the NR727? I took it out and went to replace it, but ended up losing it.
sheac12 is offline  
post #394 of 411 Old 12-15-2014, 09:18 PM
Newbie
 
sheac12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheac12 View Post
Can anyone tell me the part number, voltage rating and amperage for the first fuse on the power distribution board (right by the power cord) for the NR727? I took it out and went to replace it, but ended up losing it.
Figured it out. For anyone else it is a 250 volt 8 amp s51 fuse. The service manual says it is T8AL250.
sheac12 is offline  
post #395 of 411 Old 12-16-2014, 03:09 PM
Member
 
holden190's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please excuse this very dumb question, but I don't see an LFE output on my 636. Could it be labeled as something else?

Thanks.
holden190 is offline  
post #396 of 411 Old 12-16-2014, 07:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MUDCAT45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by holden190 View Post
Please excuse this very dumb question, but I don't see an LFE output on my 636. Could it be labeled as something else?

Thanks.

It is labeled 'subwoofer'. Color code is purple, I think.
MUDCAT45 is online now  
post #397 of 411 Old 12-19-2014, 09:27 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have the TX-NR626 and was told I should have HDMI cables at > 14 gbps. I then came across on a forum:
"On the flip side, new Onkyo receivers are listed with HDCP 2.2. What they aren't telling you is that the HDMI 2.0 implementation is limited to 10.2Gbps (just like HDMI 1.4). While this allows the Onkyo receiver to pass the HDCP 2.2 handshake, it will limit how much data can be passed, negating many of the benefits of HDMI 2.0."
Does anyone know if this is correct and if so would it impact the 4K upscaling versus a different receiver?
absopt is offline  
post #398 of 411 Old 12-19-2014, 10:29 PM
Member
 
andrewsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Redmond, WA, USA
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The main limitation will be the frame rate will be at most 30hz until devices are available that can handle the full 18.7gbps required for 4k 60hz operation.
andrewsi is offline  
post #399 of 411 Old 12-22-2014, 10:40 PM
Member
 
sat-tv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I need some help..I have 7.1 speakers setup and I was playing around with the settings.

I can't seemed to see the rear speakers in my setup. I only see 5.1 everything is connected correctly and tested.

Is there a option to enable 7.1/2..what am I missing.

Also what is the best setting for surround sound
sat-tv is offline  
post #400 of 411 Old 12-28-2014, 10:20 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Rename inputs

I got a 525 for Christmas to replace my aging HT-RC160 that I was tired of dealing with HDMI switching issues on. However, I can't for the life of me seem to figure out how to rename inputs. This is a ridiculously simple feature that older models have, so I can't imagine this one doesn't. Figure I simply am looking in the wrong places in the manual. So giving up and hoping someone online can help since right now the only inputs that are named something similar to what's actually attached to them are the cable and game ones

I will be seriously kicking myself if this receiver purchase ended up being a downgrade.
jennyfur is offline  
post #401 of 411 Old 12-28-2014, 10:40 AM
Member
 
StephenRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Spacecoast of Florida
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jennyfur View Post
I got a 525 for Christmas to replace my aging HT-RC160 that I was tired of dealing with HDMI switching issues on. However, I can't for the life of me seem to figure out how to rename inputs
I looked at the pdf at Onkyo's web site for the TX-NR525. On page 50, it looks like you only have a limited choice of names to choose from.
AndyKoopa likes this.
StephenRC is offline  
post #402 of 411 Old 12-28-2014, 04:17 PM
Member
 
AndyKoopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question

I have a Denon AVR 591 I bought in 2010. I have been looking into the 525 at newegg as the $200 seems like a great price and I have some gift cards to burn. I only need 5.1 so not looking for 7.2. Does the 525 support HDMI 2.0? Anyone know if this upgrade would be worth it? Just figure I have the credit to burn

Thanks
AndyKoopa is offline  
post #403 of 411 Old 12-30-2014, 09:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 3,097
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 53
I have a TX-NR525 and have a question about Audio Adjust > Multiplex.

I was changing some settings the other day & noticed that Multiplex was set to Sub, but that the default was Main. I wasn't sure if the Audyssey setup changed it or maybe I accidentally did it at some point. I'm reading the explanation in the manual & am not sure what this setting does. I also Googled it & searched the forum but still am not sure.

I don't understand how "Main", "Sub" & "Multiplex" are all tied together in this setting. And what do multilingual broadcasts have to do with the subwoofer? It seems like secondary language channels can be sent to the subwoofer, which of course doesn't make sense.

What does this setting really do?
Mike99 is offline  
post #404 of 411 Old 12-30-2014, 10:19 AM
Member
 
Icer Jo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKoopa View Post
I have a Denon AVR 591 I bought in 2010. I have been looking into the 525 at newegg as the $200 seems like a great price and I have some gift cards to burn. I only need 5.1 so not looking for 7.2. Does the 525 support HDMI 2.0? Anyone know if this upgrade would be worth it? Just figure I have the credit to burn

Thanks
I'm sure hdmi 2.0 should be backwards compatible with 1.4 but no, the TX-NRx2x series does not have hdmi 2.0 ports or support. If you require HDMI 2.0, might i advise looking at the new TX-NRx3x series?

Last edited by Icer Jo; 12-30-2014 at 12:43 PM.
Icer Jo is offline  
post #405 of 411 Old 01-03-2015, 08:09 AM
Member
 
tadam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Compeau View Post
I'm interested in the TX-NR626 because of its 4K passthrough and 4K upconversion abilities. Does anybody have one of these hooked up to a 4K TV? If so, how does the 4K upconversion look? Does it introduce a lot of display lag?
I am using that setting for my 4K TV and it does upconvert. No lag issues.
tadam is offline  
post #406 of 411 Old 01-03-2015, 10:27 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenRC View Post
I looked at the pdf at Onkyo's web site for the TX-NR525. On page 50, it looks like you only have a limited choice of names to choose from.
Well that is incredibly unfortunate. Downgrade indeed. Hrmph. Guess my chromecast is now destined to be called "PC".
jennyfur is offline  
post #407 of 411 Old 01-04-2015, 01:26 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
NR626 with BenQ1085ST projector - no sound to projector

I connected my NR626 with a new BenQ 1085ST projector. Long term I want to connect my speakers to the receiver, but for today i wanted to use the audio out from the projector to a simple set of speakers that use a 3.5mm headphone jack. I am not getting any sound out of the audio out from the projector. What could be the issue?

Thanks in advance for the help!
SRBH is offline  
post #408 of 411 Old 01-06-2015, 01:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 3,097
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Anyone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike99 View Post
I have a TX-NR525 and have a question about Audio Adjust > Multiplex.

I was changing some settings the other day & noticed that Multiplex was set to Sub, but that the default was Main. I wasn't sure if the Audyssey setup changed it or maybe I accidentally did it at some point. I'm reading the explanation in the manual & am not sure what this setting does. I also Googled it & searched the forum but still am not sure.

I don't understand how "Main", "Sub" & "Multiplex" are all tied together in this setting. And what do multilingual broadcasts have to do with the subwoofer? It seems like secondary language channels can be sent to the subwoofer, which of course doesn't make sense.

What does this setting really do?
Mike99 is offline  
post #409 of 411 Old 01-11-2015, 08:58 PM
Member
 
nu77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question about Audyssey and Equalizer settings

I recently bought an Onkyo TX-NR828 which I'm sure is very similar to the other models listed in this thread. My question is how the Equalizer settings relate to Audyssey. If I first set a manual EQ curve and then run the Audyssey setup, does Audyssey try to deliver my EQ setting as a "target response curve?" Or is the EQ added after Audyssey does it's thing to flatten the response (I don't think this is quite equivalent to setting a target). Or maybe the EQ only works when Audyssey is off?

Beyond this basic question I'm seeing some behavior I don't quite understand when I measure my system response (using Room EQ Wizard). My first measurement of my system showed a fairly flat response, and when I played with the EQ settings I could see minor changes here and there across the spectrum. Then I ran the Audyssey MultiEQ setup and measured again. This time it showed a 10dB hump around 16kHz. This is a puzzle on it's own (maybe the Audyssey mic is calibrated very differently?)... but the strangest thing was when I switched off Audyssey and re-measured -- the 10dB hump was still there!

Maybe I should take up this second question in the REW forum, but I'm wondering if any fellow Onkyo owners might understand this behavior. Is the Audyssey on/off setting only to control the Dynamic EQ and/or Dynamic Volume features, and the initial setup is kept as a baseline that's in effect at all times? (And maybe the manual EQ is an adjustment on top of this, answering my first question.) If this is the case, how do I reset Audyssey to be completely disabled?

Thanks for your help!
nu77 is online now  
post #410 of 411 Old 01-22-2015, 12:21 PM
Senior Member
 
fst96se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hey all, I just bought an NR626, and a Vizio 70" e700i-b3. I am unable to get ARC to work!

I feel like I've got all the settings correct on both the receiver and the TV, but I get nothing.

On the setup page for the TV/CD input, there is no option available for ARC.

At the same time, my TV recognizes the NR626 as a CEC device in its menu.

I'm using a brand new 25ft high speed HDMI cable.

Help?
fst96se is offline  
post #411 of 411 Unread Today, 08:12 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Help - Onkyo 626

Hi - just got my new Onkyo 626. I have been trying for a while and very frustrated with figuring out how to select "Bluetooth" input source for Zone 2???

When I first powered it on, Zone 2 and Zone 1 both played the Bluetooth source. While playing with it, I changed the source for Zone 2 to my tuner and now am not able to figure out how I get back to Bluetooth for Zone 2. Please help!!!

Thx.
Slacker72 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Tx Nr727 7 2 Channel Network Audio Video Receiver , Onkyo Tx Nr626 7 2 Channel Network Audio Video Receiver , Onkyo Tx Nr525 5 2 Channel Network Audio Video Receiver
Gear in this thread - Nr525 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off