Sony STR-DN1040 Official Thread - Page 40 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #1171 of 1179 Old 02-18-2015, 03:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I'm having issue with audio/video sync. I have the DN1040 set at 0ms audio delay, however the audio is still too slow. I've also tried the AUTO setting.

This happens with any source I use (cable box, apple tv, etc...) and as may different wiring connections of hdmi inputs/outs on the DN1040 as I could try.

Any suggestions?
tac1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1172 of 1179 Old 02-18-2015, 06:04 PM
Member
 
jsb75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I would try doing a factory reset. When I first got my 1040 I had a problem with cable and lip sync. Did a reset and started all over and everything has been fine since.comcast was the only problem I had, and only random times.
jsb75 is online now  
post #1173 of 1179 Old 02-18-2015, 07:31 PM
Senior Member
 
milkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by helvetica bold View Post
Im also really happy with my 1040. No issues at all (knock on wood). I did get the extended warranty for a $100
that lasts for 5 years.

Side note: Did you see Sony's the new 1060 receiver for this year?
http://store.sony.com/7.2-ch-hi-res-...y-ces-2015-hav

Im surprised Sony hasn't announced and Atmos support. I hope they do soon.
I also expect them to support DTS:X.
only one hdcp 2.2 input I was hoping for two I need a receiver hehe and with all the good reviews of the 1040 was going to wait for 1060.

Samsung UN60H7150AF/Xbox One
Samsung UN55F6300AF/Xbox 360
milkk is offline  
post #1174 of 1179 Old 03-28-2015, 11:58 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi just thought I would mention a security issue with this avr.

Firstly, this is interesting:

192.168.1.10:50001/cers/ActionList.xml
<actionList>
<action name="register" mode="1" url="192.168.1.10:50001/cers/register"/>
<action name="getSystemInformation" url="192.168.1.10:50001/cers/getSystemInformation"/>
<action name="getRemoteCommandList" url="192.168.1.10:50001/cers/getRemoteCommandList"/>
<action name="getStatus" url="192.168.1.10:50001/cers/getStatus"/>
<action name="getText" url="192.168.1.10:50001/cers/getText"/>
<action name="sendText" url=192.168.1.10:50001/cers/sendText"/>
</actionList>

This is more worrying:
192.168.1.10/wireless_network_config.js
192.168.1.10/1000/device_details.asp

and if you right click on this page:
192.168.1.10/1000/network_settings.asp

and view the source well... it will just spit out your wpa password <input id="oTextWpaPassphrase" type="password" name="Passphrase" value="your-password" size="30" maxlength="64" onKeyUp="onKeyUpTextWpaPassphrase()">


It is worth noting that using google with some keywords or the path to some of the pages you can log into some avr's which people have wide open to the entire internet and I would assume the code
is riddled with exploitable bugs which would effectively allow someone to infiltrate your amp. write their own scripts or gain root to the linux or whatever is running the http server and hop skip and jump to your
router and quite possibly any device attached. of course they could just stay in your amp and router and watch and control you outside the touch of any antivirus software.

Have fun
nihilistAU is offline  
post #1175 of 1179 Old 04-02-2015, 05:22 AM
Newbie
 
Spikecast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What are the limitations of this AMP in terms of 4K? I know this doesn't have HDMI 2.0 so how does the 4K side of things work? Thinking of upgrading my TV to 4K with this AMP.
Spikecast is offline  
post #1176 of 1179 Old 04-02-2015, 06:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HockeyoAJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,102
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 408 Post(s)
Liked: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spikecast View Post
What are the limitations of this AMP in terms of 4K? I know this doesn't have HDMI 2.0 so how does the 4K side of things work? Thinking of upgrading my TV to 4K with this AMP.
The STR-DN1040 should pass 2160p24 and 2160p30 video with bit depths as high as 12 bits per primary (36 bits per pixel) with support for 4:2:2 color subsampling. It should also pass 2160p24 and 2160p30 video with a bit depth of 8 bits per primary (24 bits per pixel) with support for both full RGB and 4:4:4 color subsampling. Lastly, it will also pass 2160p60 video with a bit depth of 8 bits per primary (24 bits per pixel) with support for 4:2:0 color subsampling (which is technically a feature of HDMI 2.0 that falls within the 10.2 Gbps bandwith limitation of the chip). Basically, it supports HDMI 2.0 lite.

What it doesn't support is the full 18 Gbps bandwidth spec'd for new HDMI 2.0 chips and, perhaps more importantly, it doesn't support HDCP 2.2. This means you can only pass unencrypted 4K video. It might also be able to pass 4K content that requires the use of HDCP 1.3 encryption (the variety currently used for copy protected HD content), however, I'm not sure that any such content exists or ever will exist. Afaik, any/all copy protected 4K content that exists now and will exist in the future requires HDCP 2.2 encryption when transported via. HDMI or DisplayPort cables.

If you already own the STR-DN1040 and are considering purchasing a 4K display, I say "go for it". On the other hand, if you are shopping for an AVR now and you plan to purchase standalone 4K source devices that play back copy protected 4K content (e.g. Ultra HD Blu-Ray, 4K set top boxes from a cable/satellite company, and/or forthcoming 4K streaming devices) then I would recommend getting an AVR that supports HDCP 2.2. Sony has a couple high end models out now and the newer mainstream models (e.g. the 860 and 1060) that are due to be launched in the next couple of months all support HDCP 2.2.
HockeyoAJB is online now  
post #1177 of 1179 Old 04-03-2015, 05:31 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
helvetica bold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 68
The 1040 will pass a 1920x1080 signal with full 12 bits (36 bits per pixel) with support for 4:4:4 color subsampling, right?
Thats what I'm expecting to get from my PS4. On my TV display it does state 12bit video.
helvetica bold is offline  
post #1178 of 1179 Old 04-04-2015, 07:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HockeyoAJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,102
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 408 Post(s)
Liked: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by helvetica bold View Post
The 1040 will pass a 1920x1080 signal with full 12 bits (36 bits per pixel) with support for 4:4:4 color subsampling, right?
Thats what I'm expecting to get from my PS4. On my TV display it does state 12bit video.
It should be able to handle 1080p60, 12 bit, 4:4:4. It might even be able to do 1080p60, 16bit, 4:4:4. Unless I'm mistaken, 1080p60, 16 bit, 4:4:4 requires the same bandwidth (bits per second) as 2160p60, 8 bit, 4:2:0, which we know it can do. Feel free to check my math on that.
helvetica bold likes this.
HockeyoAJB is online now  
post #1179 of 1179 Unread Today, 04:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey guys, is there some kind of weird setting (like reassigning inputs) or something required to get composite video to work? I just re-set up everything in my 1050, and my two composite sources (a Nintendo Wii and a Retron 3 classic video gaming system) no longer have their image output to the screen. I can hear sound, but there's no video. (They're both stereo sources, and sound is coming out of both front speakers. Thus, I know that the audio cables are plugged in correctly)

Neither source supports any video output other than composite.

I have the Wii plugged into the three Video 1 connections. The Retron is plugged in to the three SAT/CATV connections. (My actual cable box is plugged in via HDMI. Nothing is plugged into the HDMI input labeled SAT/CATV)

In the Input Settings Menu, the Video 1 and SAT/CATV both have Component and Opt/Coax set to None.

Has anyone else run into problems with composite video sources?

Thanks.
jmac_the_man is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Sony Str Dn1040 7 2 Channel 1050 Watt A V Receiver
Gear in this thread - Dn1040 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off