Sony STR-DN1040 Official Thread - Page 42 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 17Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1231 of 1242 Old 01-10-2016, 11:02 AM
Member
 
emiliosic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wakefield, MA
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a Tivo Premiere connected to the '1040 via HDMI and never had any issues with audio; nor with Blu-Rays.
Could you use the HDMI input instead?

When the audio stream is encoded in Dolby; the screen on the receiver should indicate that the stream switched the codec. Do you see any changes when switching from PCM to Dolby?

Quote:
Originally Posted by IRJ View Post
I am having a speech audio problem on broadcast TV shows which are in Dolby Digital format..


When viewing any sports event all the sound and audio are nice and clear and most significantly the commentators dialog is excellent.
However, when I watch broadcast channels and popular shows the speech audio comes across muffled and difficult to understand.


I am using a digital Cable feed into the latest TIVO set to Dolby digital and my Sony 1040 defaults to Pll and have a 5.1 set up of speakers/woofer.
I must have spent many tens of hours trying every conceivable change in settings, but the speech audio in these prime time shows is always ranging from poor to horrible.
Changing back and for between Dolby digital and PCM on the TIVO doesn't help.
I am at a loss to know which way to turn. I switched in another 1040 receiver, but this did not help.
Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks
Ian
emiliosic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1232 of 1242 Old 01-10-2016, 11:48 AM
IRJ
Senior Member
 
IRJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by emiliosic View Post
I have a Tivo Premiere connected to the '1040 via HDMI and never had any issues with audio; nor with Blu-Rays.
Could you use the HDMI input instead?

When the audio stream is encoded in Dolby; the screen on the receiver should indicate that the stream switched the codec. Do you see any changes when switching from PCM to Dolby?

Thanks for the reply.
I use HDMI from the TIVO into my 1040.

Ian
IRJ is offline  
post #1233 of 1242 Old 01-10-2016, 12:04 PM
Member
 
-Jim-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Do you have any other source you can connect via HDMI with multichannel sound to the 1040? Cablebox / Blu-Ray?

Regards,


Jim
-Jim- is offline  
post #1234 of 1242 Old 01-10-2016, 02:20 PM
IRJ
Senior Member
 
IRJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Jim- View Post
Do you have any other source you can connect via HDMI with multichannel sound to the 1040? Cablebox / Blu-Ray?
I have no cable box and am buying a BluRay Player next week. I will update as soon as I can there.

Ian
IRJ is offline  
post #1235 of 1242 Old 01-10-2016, 06:34 PM
IRJ
Senior Member
 
IRJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Jim- View Post
Do you have any other source you can connect via HDMI with multichannel sound to the 1040? Cablebox / Blu-Ray?
Ok I hooked up a spare DVD Player and played a disc on Dolby Digital and sound was OK.
Played back an episode of Elementary and Hawaii 5 O and sound on both was muffled.
Playback from TIVO Romaio Pro is set to Dolby Digital.
Hmmmm

Ian
IRJ is offline  
post #1236 of 1242 Old 01-10-2016, 10:24 PM
Member
 
-Jim-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Thanks for that, but to be definitive you need to connect in the same manner as your TIVO box. (HDMI) Unless of course there is an Optical or Coaxial SPDI out from the TIVO box and you can use it for a preliminary check. If that works you've narrowed it down to the HDMI side. It could then be the TIVO box, the DTR-DN1040, or the Cable. Of course swapping the HDMI Cable out is the easiest and something you can try now as well.


I hope this is helpful.

Regards,


Jim
-Jim- is offline  
post #1237 of 1242 Old 01-11-2016, 07:28 AM
IRJ
Senior Member
 
IRJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Jim- View Post
Thanks for that, but to be definitive you need to connect in the same manner as your TIVO box. (HDMI) Unless of course there is an Optical or Coaxial SPDI out from the TIVO box and you can use it for a preliminary check. If that works you've narrowed it down to the HDMI side. It could then be the TIVO box, the DTR-DN1040, or the Cable. Of course swapping the HDMI Cable out is the easiest and something you can try now as well.


I hope this is helpful.

All my inputs to the 1040 are via HDMI.
I recorded some shows using WMC and played thru an XBox360 and the sound was better than the same show through the TIVO.
One other strange thing is that when I use a mini TiVo and play a show in my home theater the sound is better than directly using the base TIVO in my family room unit.
(Note I also use a 1040 in the home theater)
I don't know enough about the electronics of the TIVO to know why that would be.
I am beginning to think the "problem" is in the TIVO unit itself.

Ian

Last edited by IRJ; 01-11-2016 at 07:35 AM.
IRJ is offline  
post #1238 of 1242 Old 01-11-2016, 06:01 PM
Member
 
-Jim-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I'd be leaning towards a defective TIVO as well but first swap out it's cable for another known good one.

Regards,


Jim
-Jim- is offline  
post #1239 of 1242 Old 01-11-2016, 07:52 PM
IRJ
Senior Member
 
IRJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Jim- View Post
I'd be leaning towards a defective TIVO as well but first swap out it's cable for another known good one.

Thanks that's a thought.
I will change the HDMI cable and see what happens.
Meantime I have an active ticket with TIVO.

Ian
IRJ is offline  
post #1240 of 1242 Old 01-11-2016, 09:45 PM
Senior Member
 
bsd107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have a XBR-65X900A that I bought a few years back. It came from the factory with one HDMI port already upgraded with the proper HDCP 2.2 on the single port.

I have the TV on a stand. Most of the other components are connected to my STR-DN1040 in a cabinet behind a door. I am able to select between all of my AV components using the remote and the TV interface, as it sends the proper signals to the STR-DN1040 over HDMI.

I bought this TV, like an idiot, thinking that the PS4 would be upgraded with software to support 4K video (for streaming movies) in the first year of release. Obviously, I was wrong. I also thought that the STR-DN1040 was future-proof "enough", with multiple 4K inputs on it. Again, I was wrong.

So that I can finally see SOMETHING in 4K on my XBR-65X900A that I bought years ago, I bought a Roku 4.

Now my question is, how do I hook it up without losing the functionality of my AV receiver? Right now the STR-DN1040 is plugged into the HDCP 2.2 port. Although I am pretty certain that the DN1040 does not support HDCP 2.2.

How can I hook up the Roku 4 to the TV, and still get audio back to the receiver, and continue using the HDMI-CEC that works so well for my setup?

I considered getting a newer Sony AV receiver, but the DN1060 supports only ONE HDCP 2.2 input, and I can't find any info on whether the DN1070 supports multiple HDCP 2.2 inputs although I am guessing it is still only a single. I don't want to buy a DN1070 and then be limited again if I get a second 4K device....
bsd107 is offline  
post #1241 of 1242 Old 01-12-2016, 06:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HockeyoAJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,603
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 743 Post(s)
Liked: 595
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsd107 View Post
I have a XBR-65X900A that I bought a few years back. It came from the factory with one HDMI port already upgraded with the proper HDCP 2.2 on the single port.

I have the TV on a stand. Most of the other components are connected to my STR-DN1040 in a cabinet behind a door. I am able to select between all of my AV components using the remote and the TV interface, as it sends the proper signals to the STR-DN1040 over HDMI.

I bought this TV, like an idiot, thinking that the PS4 would be upgraded with software to support 4K video (for streaming movies) in the first year of release. Obviously, I was wrong. I also thought that the STR-DN1040 was future-proof "enough", with multiple 4K inputs on it. Again, I was wrong.

So that I can finally see SOMETHING in 4K on my XBR-65X900A that I bought years ago, I bought a Roku 4.

Now my question is, how do I hook it up without losing the functionality of my AV receiver? Right now the STR-DN1040 is plugged into the HDCP 2.2 port. Although I am pretty certain that the DN1040 does not support HDCP 2.2.

How can I hook up the Roku 4 to the TV, and still get audio back to the receiver, and continue using the HDMI-CEC that works so well for my setup?

I considered getting a newer Sony AV receiver, but the DN1060 supports only ONE HDCP 2.2 input, and I can't find any info on whether the DN1070 supports multiple HDCP 2.2 inputs although I am guessing it is still only a single. I don't want to buy a DN1070 and then be limited again if I get a second 4K device....
You are correct. The STR-DN1040 does not support HDCP 2.2. For now, my recommendation would be to disconnect your AVR from the HDCP 2.2 compliant input (HDMI 4, iirc) on the TV and connect it to the ARC-capable HDMI input (HDMI 1, iirc) on the TV. All of your existing sources (except the Roku 4) will continue to go thru the AVR and to the TV. Then, plug the Roku 4 into the HDCP 2.2 compliant input on your TV.

Now, here's where you have an option...

Option #1 ) Enable HDMI CEC (Bravia Sync) on your TV and AVR. This will enable the Audio Return Channel, which will allow audio from the TV and the Roku 4 to pass from the TV to the AVR over the same cable that passes the AV signal from the AVR to the TV. I'm fairly certain that the X900A supports passthru of DD 5.1 via. ARC/optical, which should cover you for 99% of the content you would use you TV's apps/tuner, and your Roku 4 to play back. Neither are capable of outputting lossless multichannel, so no loss there. The 1% of content where you would be settling for DD 5.1 in lieu of a superior option would be titles with DD+ audio from the Roku 4. The STR-DN1040 doesn't support Atmos anyway, so no loss there.

Option #2 ) Connect an optical audio cable from your TV's optical audio output to an optical audio input on your AVR. This will have pretty much the same benefits and limitations as option #1 . The main difference is the added optical cable vs. dealing with the quirks of HDMI CEC.

Eventually, you'll want to get a new AVR that supports HDMI 2.0a/HDCP 2.2 on all HDMI ports. You may even want to get one that supports Dolby Atmos and DTS-X while you are at it. Thus far, the only model from Sony that supports all of the above is the STR-ZA5000ES. If that is out of your price range then you might want to look at some other AVR brands (Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, or Onkyo/Pioneer)

Last edited by HockeyoAJB; 01-12-2016 at 06:55 AM.
HockeyoAJB is offline  
post #1242 of 1242 Old 01-13-2016, 12:38 AM
Senior Member
 
bsd107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by HockeyoAJB View Post
You are correct. The STR-DN1040 does not support HDCP 2.2. For now, my recommendation would be to disconnect your AVR from the HDCP 2.2 compliant input (HDMI 4, iirc) on the TV and connect it to the ARC-capable HDMI input (HDMI 1, iirc) on the TV. All of your existing sources (except the Roku 4) will continue to go thru the AVR and to the TV. Then, plug the Roku 4 into the HDCP 2.2 compliant input on your TV.

Now, here's where you have an option...

Option #1 ) Enable HDMI CEC (Bravia Sync) on your TV and AVR. This will enable the Audio Return Channel, which will allow audio from the TV and the Roku 4 to pass from the TV to the AVR over the same cable that passes the AV signal from the AVR to the TV. I'm fairly certain that the X900A supports passthru of DD 5.1 via. ARC/optical, which should cover you for 99% of the content you would use you TV's apps/tuner, and your Roku 4 to play back. Neither are capable of outputting lossless multichannel, so no loss there. The 1% of content where you would be settling for DD 5.1 in lieu of a superior option would be titles with DD+ audio from the Roku 4. The STR-DN1040 doesn't support Atmos anyway, so no loss there.

Option #2 ) Connect an optical audio cable from your TV's optical audio output to an optical audio input on your AVR. This will have pretty much the same benefits and limitations as option #1 . The main difference is the added optical cable vs. dealing with the quirks of HDMI CEC.

Eventually, you'll want to get a new AVR that supports HDMI 2.0a/HDCP 2.2 on all HDMI ports. You may even want to get one that supports Dolby Atmos and DTS-X while you are at it. Thus far, the only model from Sony that supports all of the above is the STR-ZA5000ES. If that is out of your price range then you might want to look at some other AVR brands (Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, or Onkyo/Pioneer)
Thanks a lot for your help. I will try and go for Option 1 - that should work!

Meanwhile I did determine that the STR-DN1070 actually does support HDCP 2.2 now on ALL of it's HDMI inputs. (I found the Sony page which lists the specs, and the photo of the rear panel actually spells out that all of the inputs are HDCP 2.2 - I compared the photo to the rear of the STR-DN1060 which spells out only a single port having HDCP 2.2.) So, ultimately I may upgrade to the STR-DN1070 for future flexibility, but it is great that I don't need to upgrade right now to use the Roku 4 with my existing receiver.

Thanks!
bsd107 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Sony Str Dn1040 7 2 Channel 1050 Watt A V Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off