yamaha rx-v 375 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 05-09-2013, 06:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NotInvolved's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: philly
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
i have a yamaha rxv 375 and the crossover is starting to bug me. my speakers are capable of handling the lows down to 25hz and my receivers crossover only goes down to 40hz. it is very noticeable and it bugs me a lot. is there a way to bypass it? are there any receivers that do not have a crossover like this?

-speakers: cerwin vega vs120s, cerwin vega LS12s, cerwin vega at12s, jbl S36II, pok audio psw10, realistic mc1000, paradigm 7se MKII, sanyo sx600

yamaha rxv375
NotInvolved is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 05-09-2013, 06:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
garciab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Princeton, TX - USA
Posts: 1,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Why not set your speakers to large? And set 'subwoofer plus' to no. That way sub only gets LFE content, and you won't miss much bass content in the other channels.

bg
garciab is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 05-09-2013, 07:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NotInvolved's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: philly
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
i did set them to large. the sub plus is not on my setup menu. i guess ill deal with it

-speakers: cerwin vega vs120s, cerwin vega LS12s, cerwin vega at12s, jbl S36II, pok audio psw10, realistic mc1000, paradigm 7se MKII, sanyo sx600

yamaha rxv375
NotInvolved is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 05-10-2013, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
garciab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Princeton, TX - USA
Posts: 1,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Sorry, it's 'extra bass', but it should default to off. Page 58 of the manual.

What are you listening to when you have the problem? If you have large fronts, and extra bass is off, your sub should only be getting LFE content, and the xover setting does not apply. If the problem occurs during movies, simply turn the sub level down until it sounds the way you like it.

bg
garciab is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 05-10-2013, 10:19 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NotInvolved's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: philly
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
i have extra bass on. thats the only way i can use my subs too on 2ch mode(90%of the time i use 2ch)

-speakers: cerwin vega vs120s, cerwin vega LS12s, cerwin vega at12s, jbl S36II, pok audio psw10, realistic mc1000, paradigm 7se MKII, sanyo sx600

yamaha rxv375
NotInvolved is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 05-10-2013, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
garciab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Princeton, TX - USA
Posts: 1,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 29
If you insist on using the sub listening to music with mains that extend down to 25Hz, then your only option is to reduce the level of the sub to your liking. You can also try setting your big speakers to small, and playing with the crossover point and sub level to see if you can achieve a sound more to your liking. Good luck.

bg
garciab is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 05-10-2013, 12:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
crn3371's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by NotInvolved View Post

i have extra bass on. thats the only way i can use my subs too on 2ch mode(90%of the time i use 2ch)
Setting your speakers to small will engage the sub on 2 channel music as well. You don't have to engage extra bass.
crn3371 is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 03-31-2014, 05:19 AM
Newbie
 
frankkeane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any way to disable the OSD when changing volume?
frankkeane is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 03-31-2014, 06:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fatbottom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 3,757
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Disable short message.

Krell Evolution 900e x 7

Bose Jewel speakers.

 

Jealous of my speakers?

fatbottom is online now  
post #10 of 15 Old 03-31-2014, 06:03 AM
Newbie
 
frankkeane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do I disable short message?
frankkeane is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 03-31-2014, 06:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fatbottom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 3,757
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 182
By disabling it. smile.gif

Krell Evolution 900e x 7

Bose Jewel speakers.

 

Jealous of my speakers?

fatbottom is online now  
post #12 of 15 Old 03-31-2014, 06:22 AM
Newbie
 
frankkeane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I cannot find the option anywhere in the settings or manual
frankkeane is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 04-01-2014, 01:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fatbottom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 3,757
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Setup, Function, Display Set, Short Message.

At least that's on the 671

Krell Evolution 900e x 7

Bose Jewel speakers.

 

Jealous of my speakers?

fatbottom is online now  
post #14 of 15 Old 04-01-2014, 05:44 AM
Newbie
 
frankkeane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not on 375. Only Input Rename, Dimmer, Memory Guard.
Thanks anyway :-)
frankkeane is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 04-03-2014, 05:20 AM
Newbie
 
frankkeane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your email and for your interest in Yamaha A/V & Hi-fi.

Unfortunatley our RX-V375 does not have the ability to have the OSD disabled, this feature starts a few models up from your receiver (RX-V675), sorry this was not the answer you were looking for.

Hope this helps and if you have any further questions or queries, pleased do not hesitate to ask.

Many thanks

Yamaha Technical A/V

A/V & Hi-fi Technical Support Team
Yamaha Music Europe GmbH (UK)
Sherbourne Drive
Tilbrook
Milton Keynes
MK7 8BL
frankkeane is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off