How to connect xbox to my Denon AVR-1913 reciever? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 05-13-2013, 02:29 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
padymgee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am trying to connect my original xbox 360 to my receiver using the av cables. I am putting the AV cables into the spots that say cbl/sat, but when I turn on my xbox, I can only hear the audio, and no picture comes up on my tv.. i moved my cable box into the spot where it says media player, so the only thing going into the cbl/sat spot is the xbox. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
padymgee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 05-13-2013, 02:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 380
what kind of video connection does the Xbox 360 use? If not using HDMI make sure there is no HDMI assigned to that input.

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #3 of 10 Old 05-13-2013, 02:36 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,698
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 642 Post(s)
Liked: 1375
With the component video cable (red/green/blue) connected to the 1913 using the default input of CBL/SAT, you cannot have any HDMI input connected to the HDMI(CBL/SAT) input so you may want to "assign" that input to another source name not being used by an HDMI input, yet still having analog inputs with the same source name as neither analog audio nor HDMI inputs are assignable.

Note also there is a dedicated thread for 2012 Denon AVR-XX13 Owner's linked in my sig. Review posts #3-6 in that thread for more information.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4 of 10 Old 05-13-2013, 02:43 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
padymgee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@afrogt it uses the red/blue/green cables for video and red/white for the audio
padymgee is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 05-13-2013, 02:45 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
padymgee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@jdsmoothie I don't have any hdmi cable going to the cbl/sat input. I only have the red/blue/green cables connected and the red/white cable for the audio connected. I can hear the xbox turn on, but no picture shows up on the tv. I did have my cable box plugged into the HDMI input for cbl/sat before I plugged in the cables for xbox, but I move that input into the spot 'media player'
padymgee is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 05-13-2013, 03:05 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,698
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 642 Post(s)
Liked: 1375
Try resetting the xBox while connected to the AVR.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #7 of 10 Old 05-13-2013, 03:12 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
padymgee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've tried that already. Is there a way to reset the cbl/sat settings on the receiver?
padymgee is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 05-13-2013, 03:14 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,698
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 642 Post(s)
Liked: 1375
Sure. Reset the AVR (p. 146 OM).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #9 of 10 Old 05-13-2013, 03:40 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
padymgee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I reset the AVR, am I gonna have to recalibrate my speakers? If so, is there any other suggestions you may have?

Thanks for the quick responses by the way
padymgee is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 05-13-2013, 03:48 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
padymgee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nvm, I fixed it. Had to go to setup and change the assign to component.

Thanks
padymgee is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 1913 Receiver

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off