Confused on my options - Get amplifier or better receiver? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 11 Old 05-19-2013, 06:30 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 77
I've always had 1 receiver that powered everything. I have zero experience or knowledge on how to use supplemental amplifiers. I am aware of using "pre-outs" but have no idea how to the sound processing works across multiple receivers/amps.

I currently have a Sony STR-DH820. It is 7.1, with what I think is pre-outs and zone 2 outputs which the manual mentions is for a 2nd receiver (in a 2nd room). So I don't think the latter is what I need.

My front speakers (polk TSI500) wants 20-275 watts, my center CS20 is 20-150 watts. I feel my receiver is adequate, but not really pushing my front channels to their potential. I could likely spend 500-600 bucks this year, but don't know the technical approach (i.e. what equipment) would serve me best. Should I just save up for a new receiver ?

Thanks, and sorry for any dumb questions.

Warning: I make a lot of mistakes but occasionally I learn from them!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 05-19-2013, 06:55 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 100
The Sony STR-DH820 AVR doesn't have 7.1 (or 5.1) pre-outs, so you can't use it with an external amplifier.
It has 7.1 INPUTS, and 2 subwoofer pre-outs, but no pre-outs that could drive an external amplfier.

If you want to use a receiver as your surround processor you'll need a decent one with pre-outs (a nice one would be the Yamaha RX-A820), coupled with (say) an Emotiva XPA-3 external amplifer (3 x 200watts), then use your receiver to drive the two surrounds (plenty of power for that duty), and the XPA to drive your front left & right, and center channels which are the most demanding.
Good luck!
Johnny Mnemonic likes this.

The Insane Pink Care Bear's Home Theater Set Up: