Yamaha HTR-8063 Reciever & Logitech Z5500 Speakers - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 05-26-2013, 02:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
nightslide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there,
First post, please be gentle with me.
I've finally gotten around to rearranging my setup, and hooking up my Yamaha THR-8063 Receiver. I've been using Logitech Z5500 speakers hooked up to the Blu Ray Player and the PlayStation, and they've worked great.
Sadly, my TV only has 2 HDMI connections, so couldn't use some of my other devices.

I've got everything hooked up right (as per Yamaha's suggestion, I've hooked up the Logitech speakers via the Preout, using RCA to 3.5mm inputs into the Logitech's 'Control Pod'.
However, I'm not getting any sound via the receiver to the speakers.
I can:
Power the receiver off, and have the video and sound pass through the receiver, and into the TV (Stereo only, of course).
However, once I turn the receiver on, I'm not getting any sound to the speakers or even the TV.
I've got the Blu Ray player and my Sony NSZ7 Google TV Box also hooked up to the speakers via Coax and Optical out, and they are playing through the speakers fine.

Could someone please tell me how to 'fix' this? I'm assuming there's a setting somewhere to tell it to output via the Preouts, rather than the traditional speaker connections, but I can't seem to find it.

I have updated to the latest firmware. I know at some point i will have to buy proper 'real' speakers, but these currently work great for my small living room, and my ears are poor anyhow, and these sound more than terrific to my poor ears.
I'm quite new at the receiver end, so thank you very much in advance for all your help.

Some links to help:

Yamaha HTR-8063 Page (Includes manual)
http://ca.yamaha.com/en/products/audio-visual/av-receivers-amps/htr-8063_black__c/?mode=model

Logitech Z5500 Support Page:
http://www.logitech.com/en-ca/support/224

Again, thank very much to all the experts on here for their help.

Have a nice day!

Don
nightslide is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 05-26-2013, 08:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 391
Are you 100% sure you're using the preouts? That receiver also has 7.1 analog inputs and you wouldn't be the first person to get those mixed up.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 05-26-2013, 09:08 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
nightslide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just checked, and I'm pretty sure, please see the attached pictures.
Thank you for the suggestion though, I'd appreciate any other help or thoughts you have.






Just to check, do I have them plgged in right?
I just noticed the surround, the Front is Front Left/Right
Should the back two speakers be put in the next 'surround' spot, or should they be in the 'surr back' spot?

Thanks again for all your help!

Don
nightslide is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 05-26-2013, 09:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 391
If you have a 5.1 setup they should be place in Surrounds, not Surround Back.

Looks like you're using the preouts so that should be fine.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 05-26-2013, 10:30 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
nightslide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay, that's what I thought at the time, but when I looked at it again, I started having doubts.
Nice to know I'm not totally out to lunch.
So, if I've got it hooked up right, any ideas what I could be doing wrong?

As mentioned, I've tried both the Optical & Coax inputs (Blu Ray Player & Google TV Box, and the sound is fine there).
It also does pass through to the TV speakers when the reciever is turned off.

Thanks again for your help, I really do appreciate it.

Don
nightslide is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 05-26-2013, 11:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 391
I don't know that receiver but is HDMI audio somehow turned off? check each input setting and make sure its not defaulted to analog, coaxial or optical.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off