The "Official" Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A1030, RX-A2030, RX-A3030 and CX-A5000/MX-A5000 Thread - Page 100 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #2971 of 3388 Old 07-30-2014, 05:43 AM
Member
 
tyreman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Using the RX-V1075 here basically a '1030.
Has anyone ever had the handshake issue with no sound on Viera Plasma tv with ARC?
About once every 2 weeks it goes back to TV speaker(s)
You then have to go into Viera Tools and set back to home theatre.
All is well then.

Yamaha RX-V1075/3 Bryston 3B ST's/4 B&W 804's, fronts & side surrounds
2 B&W 602's(rears)50S60 Panny Plasma
tyreman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2972 of 3388 Old 07-30-2014, 09:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,509
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 890
ARC can be finicky. Thats why I dont use it.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #2973 of 3388 Old 07-31-2014, 07:13 AM
Member
 
whitrzac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having a slight audio issue...

I've ran the auto setup and adjusted everything to sound good with dolby/DTS audio. But when it recives a PCM 7.1/5.1 signal the sound is 'pulled' all the way to the left.

Any ideas?
whitrzac is offline  
post #2974 of 3388 Old 07-31-2014, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,097
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 176
When anything bizarre and unexplainable happens, unplug from the wall for a few seconds (it's the only way to turn off the current models and reboot the processor).

If still not fixed, are you sure it's not a problem with the source?

And as a last resort there's the reset to factory defaults (in the manual under Advanced Setup Menu).
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #2975 of 3388 Old 08-01-2014, 06:46 AM
Member
 
Kblev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveting99 View Post
Kblev,

Is your 3030 hardwired to the router? Check the AVR IP address and that you can bring up the setup page via the web browser.

This issue appears to related to networking. You'll need a DLNA server, either on the NAS or PC to "serve up" files from your NAS to all rendering devices connected on your network, by hardwired or wireless. The 3030 is considered a rendering device and needs to be served files to it.
Thanks for answering.
Yes, all my equipment is hardwired, it appears that the 3030 sees the nas when the input is in server, but the andriod phone app does not. I'm working with Lenovo support to try to figure this out. I just did a "dump" report and I will get a hold of them today to see if anything is wrong. What si going on now is I tried to go through the media server function of the nas and enabled the function for dnla and I hit the scan button and the hard drive hasn't stopped crunching for a week. No matter what I do it won't stop. Unplug, turn it off, close out the web pages. It's driving me nuts listening to it all day and night when I'm in the same room.
Thanks again
Kblev is offline  
post #2976 of 3388 Old 08-01-2014, 08:29 AM
Member
 
BamaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by BamaDave View Post
AMP off problem, help please. I have a 3030 in my living room and can't get any audio from the speakers. When you select the display button in the top right you see AMP Off on the TV. The test tone works fine, but no audio. I'm thinking that there is some function I have inadvertently hit. Any Ideas or suggestions? Thanks David!



Need some suggestions please!
BamaDave is online now  
post #2977 of 3388 Old 08-01-2014, 08:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,509
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by BamaDave View Post
Need some suggestions please!
Turn amp On. Should be under HDMI Control settings somewhere.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #2978 of 3388 Old 08-02-2014, 01:33 AM
Senior Member
 
westmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 69
May I ask to what extent you are using the parametric EQ iN your Yamaha? I currently don't have any EQ running and wonder how good Yamahas EQ is!
westmd is online now  
post #2979 of 3388 Old 08-02-2014, 06:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,509
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by westmd View Post
May I ask to what extent you are using the parametric EQ iN your Yamaha? I currently don't have any EQ running and wonder how good Yamahas EQ is!
You didnt run YPAO?
Bond 007 is offline  
post #2980 of 3388 Old 08-02-2014, 10:23 AM
Senior Member
 
westmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
You didnt run YPAO?
I currently don't hava a Yamaha but a Lexicon MV5 which parametric EQ I turned off as it makes the sound really flat. As I am looking now into a new preamp I just wanted to know how relevant an EQ is in "real life".
westmd is online now  
post #2981 of 3388 Old 08-02-2014, 10:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,156
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by westmd View Post
I currently don't hava a Yamaha but a Lexicon MV5 which parametric EQ I turned off as it makes the sound really flat. As I am looking now into a new preamp I just wanted to know how relevant an EQ is in "real life".
When correctly dialed in, especially in the bass, EQ, especially PEQ, can really transform a system.

Too many auto set up systems end up doing as much harm as good.

I find YPAO to be decent, but plan to measure and adjust with REW -- and then have a professional do it "right".

The system in the Lexicon may be lacking. Is it the H-K auto setup EQ?

____________________

Build Thread: "Nathan's Theater in Search of....".
nathan_h is offline  
post #2982 of 3388 Old 08-09-2014, 01:05 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Mooloolaba, Queensland, Australia
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Getting clear 2 channel sound on a RX 2030?

Hi Guys,
I'm new to the forum. I apologies if this is not in the right place.
8 months ago I replaced a 14 year old RXV 995 with a RX 2030. I listen to music (jazz to rock) in 2 channel 80% of the time. From day one the 2 channel sound sound just hasn't been "present/true/clear." I have changed speakers. Tried Cantons, Monitor Audio and now back to Jamo 7.7 fronts with matching sub and dipolar rears. These are the best sound achieved, so far, however about 6/7 out of 10 as clear and true as the old amp. The audio guys have been to my place and truly have given me the run around at my cost for 8 months. I have had Yamaha on the phone for hours adjusting settings and then saying its the speakers and their positioning??? I said to them everything sounded great until the new amp came along.
The home audio guys are now saying I should have purchased a Marantz 5008 coupled up with a PM 8005 integrated amp to get the sound I expect. My problem is my old AVR sounded great and cost heaps less.
Would anyone have any ideas that may help please? Thanks in advance...
True Sound is offline  
post #2983 of 3388 Old 08-09-2014, 05:41 AM
Member
 
tyreman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
ARC can be finicky. Thats why I dont use it.
Thanks Bond007

This was occurring when turning on receiver from standby and Panny TV had been off
Further isolated this to turning on '1075 and then after a longer pause(than previously done) turning on Panny TV
Has worked well this way with no issue since, so this could be the way to go.
Time will tell.

Yamaha RX-V1075/3 Bryston 3B ST's/4 B&W 804's, fronts & side surrounds
2 B&W 602's(rears)50S60 Panny Plasma
tyreman is offline  
post #2984 of 3388 Old 08-09-2014, 09:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Can you disable arc on all your devices? If so where is in on my panny plasma and cx-a5000? Cause I have same issue sometimes when first turning on my system
NextLevel217 is online now  
post #2985 of 3388 Old 08-09-2014, 11:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,509
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by NextLevel217 View Post
Can you disable arc on all your devices?
Yes
Bond 007 is offline  
post #2986 of 3388 Old 08-11-2014, 11:03 AM
Member
 
JamesP1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How does the 1030 compare to the Denon 4000?
JamesP1701 is offline  
post #2987 of 3388 Old 08-15-2014, 09:51 PM
Member
 
boxerfan88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Was wondering what actually does the "hires" enhancer do?

How would hires enhancer process lossless 44k/16b FLAC files differently compared to enhancer off?

RX-A3030 | Usher MD2 + Klipsch RB51 | Sony BDP-S5100 | HTPC
Zone 2 | Heco Victa 702
Zone 3 | Audiolab 8000A | Rogers LS6a
boxerfan88 is offline  
post #2988 of 3388 Old 08-17-2014, 12:03 AM
Member
 
rdcollns's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by boxerfan88 View Post
Was wondering what actually does the "hires" enhancer do?

How would hires enhancer process lossless 44k/16b FLAC files differently compared to enhancer off?
I'm not sure about lossless, but the explanation I found on the enhancer is that it takes the digital signal and smooths the waves, like taking a bar chart and drawing a curve. I expected it to be a gimic, but on typical digital music, it makes a substantial improvement that you can really hear. I hear the biggest improvement on Pandora, i assume because it is a lower sampling rate than my music. I have never heard any negative impact so you might not hear much of an improvement on lossless, but I doubt it would degrade the sound.
rdcollns is offline  
post #2989 of 3388 Old 08-17-2014, 08:43 AM
Member
 
sullysnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Simonian View Post
The CX-A5000 is almost perfect but is a crime to not put XLR out's for the LFE. Wtf?

Still..... I want!
I keep reading this, why is this so important? I don't recall ever hearing noise from my sub setup. I have the Kenwood THX separates that I am planning on updating. Most of the subs I have seen do not even have XLR so you would need to convert it I guess and wouldn't that defeat the purpose of using XLR? Unless I am looking at subs that are not high end enough...

thanks
sullysnet is offline  
post #2990 of 3388 Old 08-18-2014, 10:22 AM
Newbie
 
Sallex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a KEF-KHT3005SE speaker system and an Onkyo TX-SR608 receiver and are in the market for a better receiver with 2 hdmi out. I'm tired of switching cables all the time. I've had several recommendations that my speaker system will perform very well with the Yamaha RX-A1030. I mostly use my system for whatching movies. What's your thoughts on this potential upgrade? Will I get noticeably better sound than with my Onkyo? How does the sound profiles compare? I don't want to loose any details in dialouge, and in sci-fi movies.
Sallex is offline  
post #2991 of 3388 Old 08-18-2014, 10:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
erwinfrombelgium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Flanders, Belgium
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Sorry for not going through all the earlier posts, but can someone tell if there will be a CX-A5000 successor with Atmos sooner rather than later? If so, will it sport more than 11 channels?

Thanks!

Building a HT with 7.2.4 layout and ◤SEOS-24◥ LCR.
erwinfrombelgium is offline  
post #2992 of 3388 Old 08-18-2014, 10:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 6,909
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 582 Post(s)
Liked: 593
Quote:
Originally Posted by erwinfrombelgium View Post
Sorry for not going through all the earlier posts, but can someone tell if there will be a CX-A5000 successor with Atmos sooner rather than later? If so, will it sport more than 11 channels?

Thanks!
Not yet.. so we don't know.

It has been speculated that it will be announced in the next 8 weeks.
FilmMixer is online now  
post #2993 of 3388 Old 08-18-2014, 12:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
erwinfrombelgium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Flanders, Belgium
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Okay, we will see then.

Building a HT with 7.2.4 layout and ◤SEOS-24◥ LCR.
erwinfrombelgium is offline  
post #2994 of 3388 Old 08-18-2014, 12:10 PM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,416
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 920 Post(s)
Liked: 1075
Would be pretty cool.

While they are at it, they can add in that extra XLR out(s) for the subwoofer(s).



Quote:
Originally Posted by sullysnet View Post
I keep reading this, why is this so important? I don't recall ever hearing noise from my sub setup. I have the Kenwood THX separates that I am planning on updating. Most of the subs I have seen do not even have XLR so you would need to convert it I guess and wouldn't that defeat the purpose of using XLR? Unless I am looking at subs that are not high end enough...

thanks
It's important for the same reason it's important that they went through the trouble to add XLR outs for every other channel. Why should the subwoofer be exempt from this feature?

Also it's more common (around these parts anyway) for one to use professional style amplifiers for their bass systems. Professional amplifiers will not have RCA jacks on them. They will be either XLR and/or 1/4" TRS jack.

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is online now  
post #2995 of 3388 Old 08-18-2014, 12:20 PM
Member
 
sullysnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I understand pro audio, I play myself so I'm full aware of it in that context. Most of the subs I have seen do not support it, but ones on this board do.

Do you feel it's a deal breaker when purchasing this setup? Is there a combo like this that is better and more complete or better for the money?

thanks


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Simonian View Post
Would be pretty cool.

While they are at it, they can add in that extra XLR out(s) for the subwoofer(s).





It's important for the same reason it's important that they went through the trouble to add XLR outs for every other channel. Why should the subwoofer be exempt from this feature?

Also it's more common (around these parts anyway) for one to use professional style amplifiers for their bass systems. Professional amplifiers will not have RCA jacks on them. They will be either XLR and/or 1/4" TRS jack.
sullysnet is offline  
post #2996 of 3388 Old 08-18-2014, 12:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by FilmMixer View Post
Not yet.. so we don't know.

It has been speculated that it will be announced in the next 8 weeks.
An earlier post here inferred something to do with the CX-A5000 will be announced in Berlin in about three weeks time.

The "Official" Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A1030, RX-A2030, RX-A3030 and CX-A5000/MX-A5000 Thread
DoDaLeCa is offline  
post #2997 of 3388 Old 08-18-2014, 12:27 PM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,416
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 920 Post(s)
Liked: 1075
Quote:
Originally Posted by sullysnet View Post
I understand pro audio, I play myself so I'm full aware of it in that context. Most of the subs I have seen do not support it, but ones on this board do.

Do you feel it's a deal breaker when purchasing this setup? Is there a combo like this that is better and more complete or better for the money?

thanks
Yeah there are not a ton of subwoofers (with built in amplifiers) that have XLR ins. I was speaking of those that will use external amplification which is fairly common.

Is it a deal breaker? Eh, not really but if I'm paying a premium for an audio device with XLR and no amplifiers at all I'd like those connections available for all my speakers including the subwoofer. Right now I use external pro amps but using RCA preouts because that is all I have and I get by just fine.

Is there a more complete combo? Do you mean for the receiver or subwoofer? If the receiver then yes, there is the 3030 or the new 3040 which just came out. It is cheaper than the 5000 and has built in amplifiers.

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is online now  
post #2998 of 3388 Old 08-18-2014, 12:36 PM
Member
 
sullysnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm actually talking about separates. Receiver and amp combo. Yamaha's and I was originally looking at the Marantz setup. I was also told abot Onkyo's. Right now I have separates and I don't think I will ever go back to an all in one setup again.

thanks again


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Simonian View Post
Yeah there are not a ton of subwoofers (with built in amplifiers) that have XLR ins. I was speaking of those that will use external amplification which is fairly common.

Is it a deal breaker? Eh, not really but if I'm paying a premium for an audio device with XLR and no amplifiers at all I'd like those connections available for all my speakers including the subwoofer. Right now I use external pro amps but using RCA preouts because that is all I have and I get by just fine.

Is there a more complete combo? Do you mean for the receiver or subwoofer? If the receiver then yes, there is the 3030 or the new 3040 which just came out. It is cheaper than the 5000 and has built in amplifiers.
sullysnet is offline  
post #2999 of 3388 Old 08-18-2014, 12:42 PM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,416
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 920 Post(s)
Liked: 1075
Quote:
Originally Posted by sullysnet View Post
I'm actually talking about separates. Receiver and amp combo. Yamaha's and I was originally looking at the Marantz setup. I was also told abot Onkyo's. Right now I have separates and I don't think I will ever go back to an all in one setup again.

thanks again
I see. No not that I am aware of. Yamaha mostly builds conventional receivers which was one of the things that made the 5000 so appealing. There is also the new Marantz 8802 coming out that is Atmos and Onkyo has the SC5530 coming out too with Atmos.

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is online now  
post #3000 of 3388 Old 08-18-2014, 01:15 PM
Member
 
sullysnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
looking at the thread I guess I am in the wrong one, I swore I was in the right one. thanks for the reply

forget it, I am in the right thread for CX-A5000 and MX-A5000, the downer now is no Atmos and no firmware update for it either. Plus not having the XLR like you said. I think I am going to need to hold off till new stuff comes out.

Last edited by sullysnet; 08-18-2014 at 01:56 PM.
sullysnet is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Aventage Rxa 1030 Receiver , Yamaha Rxa2030bl Aventage Home Theater Receiver , Yamaha Rxa3030bl Aventage Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off