The "Official" Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A1030, RX-A2030, RX-A3030 and CX-A5000/MX-A5000 Thread - Page 101 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3001 of 3008 Old 08-18-2014, 12:15 PM
Member
 
sullysnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
looking at the thread I guess I am in the wrong one, I swore I was in the right one. thanks for the reply

forget it, I am in the right thread for CX-A5000 and MX-A5000, the downer now is no Atmos and no firmware update for it either. Plus not having the XLR like you said. I think I am going to need to hold off till new stuff comes out.

Last edited by sullysnet; 08-18-2014 at 12:56 PM.
sullysnet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3002 of 3008 Old Today, 10:24 AM
Member
 
BamaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The real bummer is for folks that already have a CX/MX-A5000 and want Dolby Atmos!

Quote:
Originally Posted by sullysnet View Post
looking at the thread I guess I am in the wrong one, I swore I was in the right one. thanks for the reply

forget it, I am in the right thread for CX-A5000 and MX-A5000, the downer now is no Atmos and no firmware update for it either. Plus not having the XLR like you said. I think I am going to need to hold off till new stuff comes out.
BamaDave is online now  
post #3003 of 3008 Old Today, 12:19 PM
C44
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just got my SVS ultra towers to go along with my PB13 ultra sub through my RX-A3030. Running YPAO, it set my towers as large as well as my centre, the four surrounds were set small. My question is, should I set the towers as small to fully get the optimal bass from the PB13?
C44 is offline  
post #3004 of 3008 Old Today, 12:22 PM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 13,419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 714
Quote:
Originally Posted by BamaDave View Post
The real bummer is for folks that already have a CX/MX-A5000 and want Dolby Atmos!
Yeah really. Sure seems like it has DSP power to do it as firmware upgrade.

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is offline  
post #3005 of 3008 Old Today, 12:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,025
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 219 Post(s)
Liked: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Simonian View Post
Yeah really. Sure seems like it has DSP power to do it as firmware upgrade.
Some say it does and some say it doesnt. That would be a mighty big upgrade for free. Cant see it happening. Yamaha will want you to buy a different AVR.
Bond 007 is online now  
post #3006 of 3008 Old Today, 12:45 PM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 13,419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 714
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
Some say it does and some say it doesnt. That would be a mighty big upgrade for free. Cant see it happening. Yamaha will want you to buy a different AVR.
It nearly every other case, I'd agree with you. But this is their still current flagship pre/pro. Yamaha has kept nice incentives to flagship owners over the years with upgrades (when possible).

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is offline  
post #3007 of 3008 Old Today, 03:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,937
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by C44 View Post
I just got my SVS ultra towers to go along with my PB13 ultra sub through my RX-A3030. Running YPAO, it set my towers as large as well as my centre, the four surrounds were set small. My question is, should I set the towers as small to fully get the optimal bass from the PB13?
Yes.


nathan_h is online now  
post #3008 of 3008 Old Today, 08:02 PM
Senior Member
 
whitecamaross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hi guys,
I just bought a rxa3030 and I'm using the preamp outputs to connect to a mcintosh 5 channel amplifier. I'm trying to find information all over to see whether I will hear any sort of improvement in sound if I go to the cxa5000? Besides the xlr, will I hear much difference in sound ? THE Price I Got rxa3030 was spectacular but recently I've located a local person selling a cxa5000 for a good price but it's still about 800 dollars more than what I paid for this unit .
I'd love to know your opinion. .
whitecamaross is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Aventage Rxa 1030 Receiver , Yamaha Rxa2030bl Aventage Home Theater Receiver , Yamaha Rxa3030bl Aventage Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread - Rxa2030bl by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off