The "Official" Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A1030, RX-A2030, RX-A3030 and CX-A5000/MX-A5000 Thread - Page 107 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3181 of 3187 Old 10-14-2014, 07:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Shenefelt View Post
I have a Yamaha Avantage 3010. Is there a quick and simple way to switch between Pattern 1 and Pattern 2 to reduce subwoofer volume for TV shows? I can turn the sub off there and reset front and other speakers to large or reduce sub output by 10 dB to make some TV stuff more reasonable but no quickie direct way to just turn down the sub. I have no idea what Yamaha does with "Scenes" so do not know if there is something there that I could use. Any thoughts?

Scenes are one way to go. First configure scenes so that speaker setup is part of a scene (p. 107 of the 3010 manual). Then save a scene for the TV input while using pattern 1, and a scene for the TV using pattern 2. But when you switch to a different input (i.e. not the TV) you'll need to make sure you go back to the pattern that uses the sub (assuming you want the sub).

Otherwise there are discrete codes to select a speaker pattern (at least there are network and serial codes, not sure about IR). So with the right remote control you could just change speaker pattern with one button.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3182 of 3187 Old 10-15-2014, 01:50 PM
Newbie
 
wnmv2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
New Owner of a 2030

Today at lunch time, I was browsing a Best Buy store and found an open box 2030 at 716.99. It looked almost brand new, but the remote control and microphone were missing. I asked the saleman if he could give me any random Yamaha remote control. He said yes if he could find one. Then he opened some drawers and got me the original remote. Unable to be happier, I drove back to work being a new owner of the 2030.
tomd51, dwaleke and Davis Bacon like this.

Last edited by wnmv2006; 10-15-2014 at 01:52 PM. Reason: Wrong spelling
wnmv2006 is offline  
post #3183 of 3187 Old 10-17-2014, 06:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
hmunster2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Can't get 5.1

Hope you guys might be able to shed some light on this. Last night I was watching the NFL game on CBS over Comcast cable. I have a DTA-HD converter box (this is not the normal large box, but small box) connected to Yamaha 830 via HDMI. THe decoder surround mode is set to pro logic on the 830 (DTA has no user settings) . I am sure the program was broadcast in DD5.1, but all I could get was sound from the fronts-the display on 830 said PCM ProLogic. I have not actually used this setup for cable before, usually use it for Blurays and have no problem-always displays that it is in DTA MA or DD5.1
Any thoughts.
Bye the way, I post here because the 730/830 forum really has very little activity .
Thank you.
hmunster2 is offline  
post #3184 of 3187 Old 10-17-2014, 07:42 AM
Senior Member
 
westmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Did one of you ever try to manually calibrate the PEQ built in the Yamaha against YPAO? It would be interesting to know what a professional calibrator dould do against the automatic calibration?
westmd is offline  
post #3185 of 3187 Old 10-17-2014, 08:11 AM
Newbie
 
jdaddieo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Safe operating temperature

I have a 2030 and have noticed that it gets pretty hot after a short time of operation. Even before hooking everything up and installing it in the rack, with free air all around it got pretty hot in a short while. I bought a dual 120mm fan set-up from Ac-Infinity along with the fan thermostat and speed controller to cool things down. Last night I got them installed and started to watch the football game. After about 30 minutes the digital read-out was showing the probes sensor temp at 85 F with the fans running at full speed. This was from a reading of 70 F at start-up. The temp went up to 91 F in about 1 hour and leveled out by the 4th quarter, about 1 1/2 hours, it was still at the 91. Overall this is was cooler then before I installed the fans. What I'm wondering is; is this normal for these receivers and at what temp is it considered to be "safe operating temperatures"?
Thanks

jdaddieo is offline  
post #3186 of 3187 Old 10-17-2014, 09:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 161
^ 91 is certainly not hot. Without fans it's OK to feel somewhat hot, as long as you can easily hold your hand on it.

If you have any speakers set as Large the receiver is going to get hotter than if you have everything set as Small and let the sub handle the bass (most of the power goes into the bass frequencies).
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #3187 of 3187 Old Yesterday, 11:47 AM
Senior Member
 
westmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by pasender91 View Post
I went to a Hifi and HT show in Paris today, and visited the several stands, here is the info i gathered on 3D sound:

1) Most importantly, because it is a question still lurking in the thread, again yesterday it was asked, rougly as "is there is no 1st gen Atmos AVR that is able to place speakers precisely?"
I believe this is important. Atmos places objects precisely in space, but then our speakers are placed in legacy FH or TM unprecise locations????? come on !!!
During my visit on the Yamaha stand, i had a discussion with a tech rep that tested the Beta Atmos FW for the 3040. He assured me that this AVR will be able to place speakers precisely using azimuth and elevation angles , like it does on non-Atmos modes.
Over from the Atmos thread. GREAT NEWS!
westmd is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Aventage Rxa 1030 Receiver , Yamaha Rxa2030bl Aventage Home Theater Receiver , Yamaha Rxa3030bl Aventage Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread - Rxa2030bl by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off