The "Official" Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A1030, RX-A2030, RX-A3030 and CX-A5000/MX-A5000 Thread - Page 112 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3331 of 3776 Old 11-25-2014, 02:54 PM
Member
 
Gordon-XZ71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: South Lyon, Michigan USA
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post
The CX is essentially an RXA3030 without power amps. Yamaha only make the 3040 (and receivers within this generation) to be firmware unlockable. So it comes to no surprise why the CX is not firmware unlockable to Atmos.
It is not an issue of being firmware unlockable, The reason the RX-A3030 and CX-A5000 can not be updated to Dolby Atmos is a hardware issue, it would need different processor chip to accommodate Dolby Atmos. It is not as simple as a software upgrade. the RX-A 2040 & 3040 have a different processor in them. The CX-A5000 is supposed to be replaced with a new model presumably next fall, with the ability to do Dolby Atmos, Auro 3D and hopefully DTS UHD.

Welcome My Son, Welcome To The Machine
Gordon-XZ71 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3332 of 3776 Old 11-25-2014, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,795
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 441 Post(s)
Liked: 484
that's exactly what I meant. The xx30 generation is not firmware unlockable (because there is nothing to be unlocked) whereas the xx40 generation can be unlocked because the hardware is already there. The firmware is just to unlock the capabilities of the chip inside.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #3333 of 3776 Old 11-27-2014, 10:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
westmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 545 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Just got confirmation again that Yamaha will announce their Auro 3D firmware upgrade in December 2014! No word yet on any technical details.
It looks like the upgrade will only be available for the RX3040 and not for any other units including CX-A5000!
westmd is offline  
post #3334 of 3776 Old 11-27-2014, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 439 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Ouch! Another for A5000 owners.

I guess the 2040 misses out because it doesn't support 11 channels.

Edit: But then again Denon are adding Auro 3D to their X4100W which only supports 9 channels like the 2040.

Last edited by kriktsemaj99; 11-27-2014 at 10:54 AM.
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
post #3335 of 3776 Old 11-27-2014, 10:38 AM
Member
 
jmike619's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Receiver yo.

This receiver is dope, buy it and don't be disappointed.
jmike619 is offline  
post #3336 of 3776 Old 11-27-2014, 12:56 PM
Member
 
cmiller44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Haven't posted here for a long time, but I had to come and say, this A5000 is just incredible..as many users also, I've had countless pre pros and amps in my days, this A5000 is the best I've ever heard..it's so clear and detailed..I couldn't imagine what a better sounding pre would sound like..
M Lo and rustolemite like this.
cmiller44 is offline  
post #3337 of 3776 Old 11-28-2014, 03:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
A5000/3030 for two channel - direct beats "pure direct".

Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post
Once you enable Pure Direct mode, the two channel analog inputs should follow the same path as the multi-channel inputs.

In both cases the volume is handled by an 8-channel volume control IC (that also includes tone controls for the front channels). I've never heard anyone claim that it degrades the sound noticably.
First I would like to say I am a Yamaha movies and music fan. I have owned 2070's in the early 90's, then a 3090, a Z11, a 3030 and now a CX-A5000 running 11.2 with 300 watts per channel on all but the fronts with have 1000 watts. Aside from not being able to support Atmos I think it is fantastic.

But, in answer to limhd200i original question and partially in response to kriktsemaj99 quote above, I have found issues that even in pure direct the 3030 and even the CX-A5000 which I now have do impact on the signal purity. But in my experience it does depend on the input device how much you will notice.

I have put a Cambridge Audio 752BD though and in comparison to being fed through a Pass Labs pre-amp there was some loss of timing particularly on drum attack and release. The same signal sent straight to the power amps using the volume control on the 752BD was also cleaner than through either Yamaha. However this was only really noticeable if one carried out an immediate A/B test.

Far more noticeable and easy to distinguish even in separated listening sessions was when trying to feed both my Movies and my dCS Scarlatti dac through Pass Labs Power amps to the Focal Diablo Utopia speakers.

When using either a Music First pre-amp or the digital volume from Scarlatti straight into the power amps with Sarum Tuned aray chord XLR the difference over feeding it through the Yamaha's (also using tuned aray sarum) was very noticeable. It still sounded better than the 752BD direct, but it did impact on the quality.

So based on that experience I would say it depends on the quality of your input device. Given the OPPO is often regarded as superior to the Cambridge 752BD I would expect limhd200i could hear the difference with revealing speakers.

I got round the problem initially feeding the front channels to the dCS to decode so I could maintain the direct scarlatti to power amp link. There was a small amount of centre channel bleed to the fronts but that was only noticeable when the Yam was turned down/off. With delay adjusted it sounded fuller using the dCS' dac than the yamaha's front. However for convenience I now use the Music First..

I would therefore recommend a stereo amp with AV bypass and connect your front pair, av pre-outs source to that.
UKR&DTAX is offline  
post #3338 of 3776 Old 11-28-2014, 05:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Indianapolis Indiana
Posts: 5,030
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1305 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post
Ouch! Another for A5000 owners.

I guess the 2040 misses out because it doesn't support 11 channels.

Edit: But then again Denon are adding Auro 3D to their X4100W which only supports 9 channels like the 2040.

I am not surprised at all that the A5000 cant be upgraded


what I am surprised about is that Yamaha just come out with a new unit....since the pre/pro is essentially the A30XX AVR without amps


since they have an A3040...I don't know why they didn't introduce its pre/pro twin


Warren

Rm 1 Samsung 64F8500 Marantz 8801 prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp B&W CM10s..CM2 center...CM5's.rears
Rm 2 LG 47LE8500 Denon 4520 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 51E8000 Pioneer SC77 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Panasonic 50ST50 Onkyo 5009 Mirage Omni sat speaker system
turnne1 is offline  
post #3339 of 3776 Old 11-28-2014, 06:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 439 Post(s)
Liked: 270
^ If Yamaha had released a pre/pro version of the 3040 it would be out of date a few months from now when models with full HDMI 2.0/HDCP 2.2 start appearing. So they would have made the same mistake twice (introduced a flagship model just before a significant new technology comes along).

Probably for that reason they are waiting until 2015 for an A5000 successor.
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
post #3340 of 3776 Old 11-29-2014, 05:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Have an Anthem MCA50. Should I pair with the CX A5000 or 3040? Only have a 5.1 setup for now and foreseeable future. I know the 3040 will support the latest and greatest formats
Kevin. W is offline  
post #3341 of 3776 Old 11-29-2014, 06:17 AM
Member
 
OsageCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by OsageCowboy View Post
I love the 3040. Question: how do I get it to display an HDMI video output (i.e. my cable box) but also broadcast Spotify for music at the same time?

I can't seem to figure this one out. In the words of Cal Naughton, Jr., "I like to party."
go to the Spotify input and change Video Out to whatever HDMI your cable box is.
Ok, I am a buffoon. I can't figure out how to do this--nothing with the remote or the Yamaha app on my tablet. Where can I change the HDMI Video Out??? All help is appreciated.
OsageCowboy is offline  
post #3342 of 3776 Old 11-29-2014, 06:34 AM
Member
 
audiostar88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I don't think that they will realese a new pre/pro next year probably in 2-3 years time after atmos auro and dts -mda have been tested on at least 2 genaration before realising a high end product. I have the 5000 and I am not at all disappointed in the product I would of course be fun with atmos but I will not have speakers in the celling. And I think the H3 is incredibly good as it is.
audiostar88 is offline  
post #3343 of 3776 Old 11-29-2014, 08:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
A5000 vs 3040

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin. W View Post
Have an Anthem MCA50. Should I pair with the CX A5000 or 3040? Only have a 5.1 setup for now and foreseeable future. I know the 3040 will support the latest and greatest formats
Hi Kevin,

I have an CX-A5000 connected to Anthem P5 for centre and surround centre and back and another 4 channels of rotel for the presence speakers. I am testing a 3040 on Wednesday/Thursday to see what Atmos can add and whether I lose anything on the processing capability of the 5000. So some similarity to the system alternatives you are proposing. I will happily give you some comparison feedback when I have tried them.

As I am told the 3040 now has the same dacs as the 5000 on surround rear and presence (the 3030 were less capable dacs and this could be heard) I am hopeful there will be no down side. Yamaha's Atmos layout scheme suggests their 'normal' presence front and rear channel positions (i.e. Front presence high and slightly outboard of front speakers. Rear presence on rear walls above and outboard of surround rear) can be used for Atmos as can ceiling speakers. I am already using these positions and they do enhance especially on upward movement sequences (I first used tried on Twister's opening sequence in the 90's on a Yamaha 3090 running a laserdisc and have always used them in since).

I want to see if the Amos in the presence positions can do much more on Atmos material than Yamaha DSP does on the standard mix. If it can and there is no non Atmos downside I take up the offer on the 3040 (the wi-fi and better control app will be welcome.

Before I let the 5000 go, I will also try Atmos dolby surround upmix vs Yamaha DSP as some have suggested the latter is better. If it is then I will also be doing 3040 DSP vs A5000 DSP.

I think that lot would probably be useful in your decision too.

If 3040 is not immediately convincing on Atmos in "presence mode" I will see if I can try ceiling mode. But if I am already sold on it that test will come later.
UKR&DTAX is offline  
post #3344 of 3776 Old 11-29-2014, 09:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 439 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by OsageCowboy View Post
Ok, I am a buffoon. I can't figure out how to do this--nothing with the remote or the Yamaha app on my tablet. Where can I change the HDMI Video Out??? All help is appreciated.

Option menu / Input Settings / Video Out (selects a video to be output with the audio input source). Page 110 in the 3040 manual.
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
post #3345 of 3776 Old 11-29-2014, 07:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Balanced or Unbalanced cables for hookup of the CX-A5000 to amp? If balanced does it really matter the cable used? Tiger direct has some 22AWG, twisted pair with foil sheild and cooper braid by cables to go

Last edited by Kevin. W; 11-29-2014 at 08:56 PM.
Kevin. W is offline  
post #3346 of 3776 Old 11-29-2014, 09:07 PM
Senior Member
 
rustolemite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 34
[QUOTE=Kevin. W;29455706]Balanced or Unbalanced cables for hookup of the CX-A5000 to amp?

Why would you have a A5000 if you weren't going to use the balanced connection?

Mitsubishi WD-92840
Yamaha CX-A5000 + Emotiva XPA-5
GoldenEar Triton Five + SuperCenter XXL + Axiom QS8's
HSU VTF-3 MK4 Subwoofer
LG BP550+ Sony BDP-CX960 + HTPC +Xbox One
http://www.invelos.com/dvdcollection.aspx/Rustolamite
rustolemite is offline  
post #3347 of 3776 Old 11-29-2014, 09:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 30
[quote=rustolemite;29457530]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin. W View Post
Balanced or Unbalanced cables for hookup of the CX-A5000 to amp?

Why would you have a A5000 if you weren't going to use the balanced connection?

Haven't got it yet. Heard over short runs it makes no difference, but I do plan on going that route. just wondering if it makes a difference with which brand/price of balanced cable or is it just snake oil.
Kevin. W is offline  
post #3348 of 3776 Old 11-30-2014, 03:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
Webmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 31
[quote=Kevin. W;29457722]
Quote:
Originally Posted by rustolemite View Post


Haven't got it yet. Heard over short runs it makes no difference, but I do plan on going that route. just wondering if it makes a difference with which brand/price of balanced cable or is it just snake oil.
It made a HUGE difference for me - I got rid of hum/ground loop and really lowered any hiss.
rustolemite and michaelp2005 like this.
Webmonkey is offline  
post #3349 of 3776 Old 11-30-2014, 05:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 30
[quote=Webmonkey;29460642]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin. W View Post

It made a HUGE difference for me - I got rid of hum/ground loop and really lowered any hiss.
What brand of balanced cables did you get?
Kevin. W is offline  
post #3350 of 3776 Old 11-30-2014, 06:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Webmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 31
[quote=Kevin. W;29461706]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Webmonkey View Post

What brand of balanced cables did you get?
Xindak BC-01
Webmonkey is offline  
post #3351 of 3776 Old 11-30-2014, 07:37 AM
Member
 
cmiller44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Here's the Balanced cables I'm running with 0 hum, sound is crisp and clear..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	154
Size:	276.1 KB
ID:	393178  
cmiller44 is offline  
post #3352 of 3776 Old 11-30-2014, 07:58 AM
Senior Member
 
rustolemite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I use these along with my XPA-5.

http://emotiva.com/products/interconnects/xlr

Mitsubishi WD-92840
Yamaha CX-A5000 + Emotiva XPA-5
GoldenEar Triton Five + SuperCenter XXL + Axiom QS8's
HSU VTF-3 MK4 Subwoofer
LG BP550+ Sony BDP-CX960 + HTPC +Xbox One
http://www.invelos.com/dvdcollection.aspx/Rustolamite
rustolemite is offline  
post #3353 of 3776 Old 11-30-2014, 08:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Picked up some iCan 3ft. 24awg, triple shielded, silver coated wire. Under $100 for all 5
Kevin. W is offline  
post #3354 of 3776 Old 12-01-2014, 03:46 AM
Member
 
Regiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Latvia
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello!

Will there be any change in sound quality if I upgrade my current AVR (Yamaha – RX-A830) to RX-A2040 or RX3040? My current system is mentioned in my signature.

What could be the major things that I could hear/feel?

Or maybe I should try Pioneer or Marantz?!

Thanks!

Samsung ue55f8000stxxh / Yamaha RX-A830 with YWA-10 / Dali Ikon 6 mk2 - front (bi-amp) / Dali Ikon vokal 2 mk2 - centre / Dali Zensor 1 on Dali connect stand E-600 - surround / Dali E-9 F sub / Sony bdp-s790 / Marantz cd6005 / LTC IP TV /
Regiss is offline  
post #3355 of 3776 Old 12-01-2014, 02:57 PM
Senior Member
 
maximus74's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 32
UKR&DTAX

Are you sure about the same dacs for all channels on 3040?
On Yamaha literature, 3040 has the same dacs as 3030 (9016,9006)
maximus74 is offline  
post #3356 of 3776 Old 12-01-2014, 06:30 PM
Senior Member
 
smitty8451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by maximus74 View Post
UKR&DTAX

Are you sure about the same dacs for all channels on 3040?
On Yamaha literature, 3040 has the same dacs as 3030 (9016,9006)

I believe Maximus74 is correct, only the CX-A5000 has the 9016 DACS on all channels up to and including the presence channels.



Yamaha CX-A5000, ATI AT 2007 Amp (7X200W), ATI AT 2004 Amp (4X200W)Klipsch RF 63's - Main, RB 61's - Front heights, RC-62 - Center, RS-62's - Surround, RS-52's - Rear Surround, 2 Rythmik DS-1510 DIY Subwoofers (With PEQ600XLR3 Amp) each connected with Antimode 8033S-II, Oppo BDP-95, MMF-7.1, Project Phono Box RS, XBox 360, XBox One, Oppo HA-1, TEAC PD-501HR transport, Atech Fabrication 7000 fanless HTPC with Sony VGP-XL1B DVD changer
smitty8451 is offline  
post #3357 of 3776 Old 12-02-2014, 05:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Yamaha told me it is a hardware and license issue, to why no Atoms for the CX A5000. What's the difference in the DSP between the CX A5000 and 3040
Kevin. W is offline  
post #3358 of 3776 Old 12-02-2014, 06:41 AM
Newbie
 
limhd200i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post
Once you enable Pure Direct mode, the two channel analog inputs should follow the same path as the multi-channel inputs.

In both cases the volume is handled by an 8-channel volume control IC (that also includes tone controls for the front channels). I've never heard anyone claim that it degrades the sound noticably.
I would be very surprised if enabling Pure Direct Mode allowed all 2 channel analog inputs to act exactly as the multi-ins

Well my findings are rather disappointing on "analog" stereo and I can only assume that the volume IC is a weak link? The findings are the same for the multi-ins but I guess as you feel they act the same you will not be surprised.

Quote:
Originally Posted by UKR&DTAX View Post
First I would like to say I am a Yamaha movies and music fan. I have owned 2070's in the early 90's, then a 3090, a Z11, a 3030 and now a CX-A5000 running 11.2 with 300 watts per channel on all but the fronts with have 1000 watts. Aside from not being able to support Atmos I think it is fantastic.

But, in answer to limhd200i original question and partially in response to kriktsemaj99 quote above, I have found issues that even in pure direct the 3030 and even the CX-A5000 which I now have do impact on the signal purity. But in my experience it does depend on the input device how much you will notice.

I have put a Cambridge Audio 752BD though and in comparison to being fed through a Pass Labs pre-amp there was some loss of timing particularly on drum attack and release. The same signal sent straight to the power amps using the volume control on the 752BD was also cleaner than through either Yamaha. However this was only really noticeable if one carried out an immediate A/B test.

Far more noticeable and easy to distinguish even in separated listening sessions was when trying to feed both my Movies and my dCS Scarlatti dac through Pass Labs Power amps to the Focal Diablo Utopia speakers.

When using either a Music First pre-amp or the digital volume from Scarlatti straight into the power amps with Sarum Tuned aray chord XLR the difference over feeding it through the Yamaha's (also using tuned aray sarum) was very noticeable. It still sounded better than the 752BD direct, but it did impact on the quality.

So based on that experience I would say it depends on the quality of your input device. Given the OPPO is often regarded as superior to the Cambridge 752BD I would expect limhd200i could hear the difference with revealing speakers.

I got round the problem initially feeding the front channels to the dCS to decode so I could maintain the direct scarlatti to power amp link. There was a small amount of centre channel bleed to the fronts but that was only noticeable when the Yam was turned down/off. With delay adjusted it sounded fuller using the dCS' dac than the yamaha's front. However for convenience I now use the Music First..

I would therefore recommend a stereo amp with AV bypass and connect your front pair, av pre-outs source to that.
I think all your points here would fit with all I have done.

A great receiver for all it's bells and whistles for sure, but to those that feel it just passes analog sources unchanged on direct mode cannot have done A/B testing ?

I thank all for who have contributed and respect all views, but these have been my findings.
limhd200i is offline  
post #3359 of 3776 Old 12-02-2014, 07:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitty8451 View Post
I believe Maximus74 is correct, only the CX-A5000 has the 9016 DACS on all channels up to and including the presence channels.


Hi Maximus / Smitty,

Thank you for the info, up to this point I had just asked the dealer (from whom I had obtained the A5000 specifically due to the enhanced rear and presence DACS) and his response was "I need to check with Yamaha" then "I have contacted Yamaha and they are the same as A 5000". This is a specialist whom I have always found to be accurate, so he may have been misinformed or perhaps the "all channels" got lost in the question to Yamaha.

I will have a look at the Yamaha specs when I get home but I don't doubt you two are correct.

The trial 3040 should be on its way, so I will soon at least have the opportunity for comparison.

Previously I definitely preferred A5000 over 3030 for the dacs and balanced output, so Atmos would have to sway me as a selling point. If not it is wait for A5000 replacement.

Thanks again.
Nigel
UKR&DTAX is offline  
post #3360 of 3776 Old 12-02-2014, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 439 Post(s)
Liked: 270
^ The Yamaha website (Features tab) says the 3030/3040/5000 have the same ES9016 DACs everywhere except the presence channels. For the presence channels the 5000 also has the ES9016, while the 3030/3040 use the ES9006.
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Aventage Rxa 1030 Receiver , Yamaha Rxa2030bl Aventage Home Theater Receiver , Yamaha Rxa3030bl Aventage Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off