The "Official" Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A1030, RX-A2030, RX-A3030 and CX-A5000/MX-A5000 Thread - Page 113 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #3361 of 3388 Old 12-03-2014, 08:17 AM
Member
 
cmiller44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
[QUOTE=Webmonkey;29541170]Any of you guys use the CX-A5000's XLR input -6dB attenuation function???

I seem to hear some cracking in the trebles via XLR from my Oppo-BDP105D on a few CDs - I am not sure if it is because the dynamic range of the disc have been over-compressed or if the Oppo's signal is just to high.

- I would like to know if anyone has noticed a degradation in the sound quality when using this -6dB Att. function.


Thanks![/QUOTE
Where is this -6dB Att function located ? I'll try it out
cmiller44 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3362 of 3388 Old 12-03-2014, 02:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Webmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 27
[quote=cmiller44;29561226]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Webmonkey View Post
Any of you guys use the CX-A5000's XLR input -6dB attenuation function???

I seem to hear some cracking in the trebles via XLR from my Oppo-BDP105D on a few CDs - I am not sure if it is because the dynamic range of the disc have been over-compressed or if the Oppo's signal is just to high.

- I would like to know if anyone has noticed a degradation in the sound quality when using this -6dB Att. function.


Thanks![/QUOTE
Where is this -6dB Att function located ? I'll try it out
It is in the Input menu for (only) the XLR input. Same place where you can set the jitter reduction.
Webmonkey is offline  
post #3363 of 3388 Old 12-04-2014, 02:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When it comes to video processing, do owners of the CX-A5000 use Through or allow the unit to do it? My BluRay Player is the Denon DBP-4010 which uses the Anchor Bay ABT2015

Last edited by Kevin. W; 12-04-2014 at 09:31 PM.
Kevin. W is offline  
post #3364 of 3388 Old 12-04-2014, 06:46 PM
Senior Member
 
smitty8451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin. W View Post
When it comes to audio processing, do owners of the CX-A5000 use Through or all the unit to do it? My BluRay Player is the Denon DBP-4010 which uses the Anchor Bay ABT2015
I use "through" on mine, but I run klipsch speakers which tend to be on the "bright" sounding side of the sound spectrum. Through eliminates that issue with my speakers but I think it all depends on what sounds best to YOU.


Yamaha CX-A5000, ATI AT 2007 Amp (7X200W), ATI AT 2004 Amp (4X200W)Klipsch RF 63's - Main, RB 61's - Front heights, RC-62 - Center, RS-62's - Surround, RS-52's - Rear Surround, 2 Rythmik DS-1510 DIY Subwoofers (With PEQ600XLR3 Amp) each connected with Antimode 8033S-II, Oppo BDP-95, MMF-7.1, Project Phono Box RS, XBox 360, XBox One
smitty8451 is offline  
post #3365 of 3388 Old 12-04-2014, 09:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitty8451 View Post
I use "through" on mine, but I run klipsch speakers which tend to be on the "bright" sounding side of the sound spectrum. Through eliminates that issue with my speakers but I think it all depends on what sounds best to YOU.


Thanks for the info. I should have said "Video Processing", not audio.
Kevin. W is offline  
post #3366 of 3388 Old 12-04-2014, 10:16 PM
Senior Member
 
smitty8451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin. W View Post
Thanks for the info. I should have said "Video Processing", not audio.
I also use through on my video processing. I compared video processing with the yamaha and without utilizing my oppo BDP-95 and honestly could not tell the difference so I eliminated the additional processing.


Yamaha CX-A5000, ATI AT 2007 Amp (7X200W), ATI AT 2004 Amp (4X200W)Klipsch RF 63's - Main, RB 61's - Front heights, RC-62 - Center, RS-62's - Surround, RS-52's - Rear Surround, 2 Rythmik DS-1510 DIY Subwoofers (With PEQ600XLR3 Amp) each connected with Antimode 8033S-II, Oppo BDP-95, MMF-7.1, Project Phono Box RS, XBox 360, XBox One
smitty8451 is offline  
post #3367 of 3388 Old 12-05-2014, 10:40 AM
abs
Member
 
abs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: england
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I was just about to buy the Yamaha 3040 with the 5000 power amp but need a few more days before I part with my hard earned cash. The retailer rang the Yamaha rep to clarify a few points. Firstly he couldn't confirm if the 3040 would be getting the aura 3d upgrade. Secondly I was looking at utilising all the 11 inputs on the power amp so I have the PA dealing with the grunt and the 3040 as a processor. I've been told I can only use a max of 7.1.4 for Atmos.. This threw me a little, what is the max channels I can use in non Atmos mode. I could go up to 9.1 on my Onkyo 5009 with front heights, can I still do this I the Yamaha 3040 or just 7.1?
abs is online now  
post #3368 of 3388 Old 12-05-2014, 01:14 PM
Senior Member
 
smitty8451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by abs View Post
I was just about to buy the Yamaha 3040 with the 5000 power amp but need a few more days before I part with my hard earned cash. The retailer rang the Yamaha rep to clarify a few points. Firstly he couldn't confirm if the 3040 would be getting the aura 3d upgrade. Secondly I was looking at utilising all the 11 inputs on the power amp so I have the PA dealing with the grunt and the 3040 as a processor. I've been told I can only use a max of 7.1.4 for Atmos.. This threw me a little, what is the max channels I can use in non Atmos mode. I could go up to 9.1 on my Onkyo 5009 with front heights, can I still do this I the Yamaha 3040 or just 7.1?
The RX-A3040 has 11.2 channel expandability, If you don't utilize the front and rear presence outputs for multi zone capability. Basically translated it has the following outputs which can be used with a power amplifier

Front Right
Front Left
Center
Surround Right
Surround Left
Back Surround Right
Back Surround Left
Front Presence Left
Front Presence Right (Must disable Multizone for presence speakers to be avialable)
Rear Presence Left
Rear Presence Right


Thats the "11" in 9.2

There are also 2 outputs for powered subwoofers, hence the "2" in 11.2

The Front and rear presence speakers can be ran to an amplifier BUT you will not have multi zone capability

Current surround formats are supported and yamaha DSP's utilize the front and rear presence, the newer surround formats will utilize the presence channels for the ATMOS channels.

So I would say you should be good to go with the 3040 and 5000 amp combo with the caveat that you will not be utilizing all the channels on the 5000 amp that are available unless you run the RX-A3040 without utilizing any zone processing (other than HDMI dedicated to zone 2).

best of luck
abs likes this.

Yamaha CX-A5000, ATI AT 2007 Amp (7X200W), ATI AT 2004 Amp (4X200W)Klipsch RF 63's - Main, RB 61's - Front heights, RC-62 - Center, RS-62's - Surround, RS-52's - Rear Surround, 2 Rythmik DS-1510 DIY Subwoofers (With PEQ600XLR3 Amp) each connected with Antimode 8033S-II, Oppo BDP-95, MMF-7.1, Project Phono Box RS, XBox 360, XBox One

Last edited by smitty8451; 12-05-2014 at 01:25 PM. Reason: Modify
smitty8451 is offline  
post #3369 of 3388 Old 12-05-2014, 02:13 PM
abs
Member
 
abs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: england
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thanks for your reply mitty. I'm not looking at using more than 1 zone. . so I can still get 9.2 without atmos and 7.1.4 with atmos enabled?
abs is online now  
post #3370 of 3388 Old 12-05-2014, 02:55 PM
Senior Member
 
smitty8451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 60
abs

Yes, but your additional zone will only be the HDMI feed from the HDMI output labeled "Zone 2". The HDMI feed zone does not require any additional channels from the receiver to function, but you will need to run it direct to another HDMI capable device. A receiver in another room or TV located in another room. The neat thing about using the HDMI as the feed to the zone is it will pass 7.1 signal I believe so if you run it into another receiver you can setup another surround system in another part of your home. Kinda cool.

Yamaha CX-A5000, ATI AT 2007 Amp (7X200W), ATI AT 2004 Amp (4X200W)Klipsch RF 63's - Main, RB 61's - Front heights, RC-62 - Center, RS-62's - Surround, RS-52's - Rear Surround, 2 Rythmik DS-1510 DIY Subwoofers (With PEQ600XLR3 Amp) each connected with Antimode 8033S-II, Oppo BDP-95, MMF-7.1, Project Phono Box RS, XBox 360, XBox One
smitty8451 is offline  
post #3371 of 3388 Old 12-06-2014, 07:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin. W View Post
When it comes to video processing, do owners of the CX-A5000 use Through or allow the unit to do it? My BluRay Player is the Denon DBP-4010 which uses the Anchor Bay ABT2015
Hi Kevin,

I have in the past used through. But I have found best results into my projector are achieved by setting output on my Cambridge 752BD to source direct and feeding the signal direct via output 1 and feeding the A5000 (or 3040 I have on trial) from output 2.

I do lose on screen messages and have to put it on through for audio set up, but overall it has been the best picture. In comparing the A5000 to the Cambridge for processing I found them very close, the Cambridge seemed to have the edge on mastered in 4K blu-rays, the A5000 coped better with some DVDs.

Regards
Nigel
UKR&DTAX is offline  
post #3372 of 3388 Old 12-06-2014, 08:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
liltalkm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Coral Springs,FL, USA
Posts: 595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 64
I posted this in the Marantz 7702 forum....

but I wanted some Yamaha opinions...

I just received an email sound advice offering 100% value for any receiver you purchased from them towards a 7702 and two MM7055 which they would then charge $4400.00 for.

I purchased my Yamaha CX-A5000 from them in January for 2200.

Is it a no brainer for me to jump on this deal and get a 7702 plus two 7055's for 2200?

I currently us a Sunfire TGA-5400 to power my 5.2 system with Martin Logan Montis as my mains. I doubt I would move over to the 7055 for them, but I would at least have power ready to go when I advance to an ATMOS set up.

Thoughts?

Speakers: Martin Logan Montis, EM C2, Dual Depth I Subs, JBL S38 surround (upgrading soon) | Processor: Yamaha CX-A5000 | Amp: Sunfire TGA-5400 | Sources: DirecTV HR34, HTPC, Mac Mini, Oppo BDP-103, PS4, PS3, Xbox One, Wii U | Television: Panasonic 65VT50 | Remote: Logitech Harmony Ultimate
liltalkm is online now  
post #3373 of 3388 Old 12-06-2014, 11:47 AM
Senior Member
 
smitty8451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by liltalkm View Post
but I wanted some Yamaha opinions...

I just received an email sound advice offering 100% value for any receiver you purchased from them towards a 7702 and two MM7055 which they would then charge $4400.00 for.

I purchased my Yamaha CX-A5000 from them in January for 2200.

Is it a no brainer for me to jump on this deal and get a 7702 plus two 7055's for 2200?

I currently us a Sunfire TGA-5400 to power my 5.2 system with Martin Logan Montis as my mains. I doubt I would move over to the 7055 for them, but I would at least have power ready to go when I advance to an ATMOS set up.

Thoughts?

If it were my choice I wouldn't, here is my reasoning, one ATMOS is in its infancy and the industry will take a bit to get it ironed out (HDMI version fiasco comes to mind) and another thing to consider, do you have the room to properly setup ATMOS? Sure extra speakers sound great but unless it's properly setup you may get little to no benefit. Case in point and it's been said many times on AVS forum, "A properly setup 5.1 system will sound better than a poorly setup 7.1 system" so it would be wise to look at all the variables before deciding to trade up just to get ATMOS capability. I believe that Yamaha will watch how everything pans out and when they feel comfortable they will provide a successor to the CX-A5000 that will include the new surround formats. I base what I say in that I was thing about upgrading to something that supported the new ATMOS format, but realistically my room is just not setup properly to get the benefit of the additional speakers, plus I utilize the XLR inputs on my CX-A5000 and I am not aware of anything ATMOS ready that has XLR inputs. So I will wait, but hey to each his own, as long as your happy and enjoy it there is no wrong way to go.



Yamaha CX-A5000, ATI AT 2007 Amp (7X200W), ATI AT 2004 Amp (4X200W)Klipsch RF 63's - Main, RB 61's - Front heights, RC-62 - Center, RS-62's - Surround, RS-52's - Rear Surround, 2 Rythmik DS-1510 DIY Subwoofers (With PEQ600XLR3 Amp) each connected with Antimode 8033S-II, Oppo BDP-95, MMF-7.1, Project Phono Box RS, XBox 360, XBox One
smitty8451 is offline  
post #3374 of 3388 Old 12-10-2014, 07:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 946
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitty8451 View Post
If it were my choice I wouldn't, here is my reasoning, one ATMOS is in its infancy and the industry will take a bit to get it ironed out (HDMI version fiasco comes to mind) and another thing to consider, do you have the room to properly setup ATMOS? Sure extra speakers sound great but unless it's properly setup you may get little to no benefit. Case in point and it's been said many times on AVS forum, "A properly setup 5.1 system will sound better than a poorly setup 7.1 system" so it would be wise to look at all the variables before deciding to trade up just to get ATMOS capability. I believe that Yamaha will watch how everything pans out and when they feel comfortable they will provide a successor to the CX-A5000 that will include the new surround formats. I base what I say in that I was thing about upgrading to something that supported the new ATMOS format, but realistically my room is just not setup properly to get the benefit of the additional speakers, plus I utilize the XLR inputs on my CX-A5000 and I am not aware of anything ATMOS ready that has XLR inputs. So I will wait, but hey to each his own, as long as your happy and enjoy it there is no wrong way to go.


I'm with you on this Smitty. I don't see that ATMOS will be ready for some time yet either. Also, I listen to way more music than watch movies on my system and I don't see how ATMOS will be an advantage for music (over my current 11.2 setup with front and rear presence speakers).
bwillcox is online now  
post #3375 of 3388 Old 12-11-2014, 01:19 AM
Newbie
 
Regiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Latvia
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Regiss View Post
Hello!

Will there be any change in sound quality if I upgrade my current AVR (Yamaha – RX-A830) to RX-A2040 or RX3040? My current system is mentioned in my signature.

What could be the major things that I could hear/feel?

Or maybe I should try Pioneer or Marantz?!

Thanks!
Any opinions, comments?
thx

Samsung ue55f8000stxxh / Yamaha RX-A830 with YWA-10 / Dali Ikon 6 mk2 - front (bi-amp) / Dali Ikon vokal 2 mk2 - centre / Dali Zensor 1 on Dali connect stand E-600 - surround / Dali E-9 F sub / Sony bdp-s790 / Marantz cd6005 / LTC IP TV /
Regiss is offline  
post #3376 of 3388 Old 12-11-2014, 04:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,509
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Regiss View Post
Any opinions, comments?
thx
If I were you and wanted better sound there are 2 things I would do.
First get a better subwoofer. That's a big weak link in your system. Your other speakers are fine. Shame to have such nice speakers and an anemic subwoofer.
Second I would stop wasting 2 channels by biamping the fronts and get a pair of back surrounds.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #3377 of 3388 Old 12-11-2014, 05:55 AM
Member
 
tyreman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I would agree also about waiting on this.
Who knows what for sure will be the outcome yet.
I for one have about enough speakers in my room, listen to music primarily, and actually am setup(with current equipment roster) now go back to conventional stereo.
Should I decide to or get fed up with all this

Yamaha RX-V1075/3 Bryston 3B ST's/4 B&W 804's, fronts & side surrounds
2 B&W 602's(rears)50S60 Panny Plasma
tyreman is offline  
post #3378 of 3388 Old 12-11-2014, 07:56 AM
Newbie
 
Regiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Latvia
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
If I were you and wanted better sound there are 2 things I would do.
First get a better subwoofer. That's a big weak link in your system. Your other speakers are fine. Shame to have such nice speakers and an anemic subwoofer.
Second I would stop wasting 2 channels by biamping the fronts and get a pair of back surrounds.
Thx for reply!
I like this small sub, it adds really punchy bass to Ikons in stereo mode. My living room is about 30m2 and due to size of Ikon sub I have no normal place for it... I have tried just 2 subs - Dali sub E-12 F and sub E-9 F, and between them I liked E-9 F more!
But bass is not an issue... I would like to have more detalization and clarity in stereo mode and little bit more power for movies!

Samsung ue55f8000stxxh / Yamaha RX-A830 with YWA-10 / Dali Ikon 6 mk2 - front (bi-amp) / Dali Ikon vokal 2 mk2 - centre / Dali Zensor 1 on Dali connect stand E-600 - surround / Dali E-9 F sub / Sony bdp-s790 / Marantz cd6005 / LTC IP TV /
Regiss is offline  
post #3379 of 3388 Old 12-11-2014, 08:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,509
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Regiss View Post
Thx for reply!
I like this small sub, it adds really punchy bass to Ikons in stereo mode. My living room is about 30m2 and due to size of Ikon sub I have no normal place for it... I have tried just 2 subs - Dali sub E-12 F and sub E-9 F, and between them I liked E-9 F more!
But bass is not an issue... I would like to have more detalization and clarity in stereo mode and little bit more power for movies!
Don't we all. But it's not a cheap proposition especially when you already have a pretty nice system.
A new AVR isn't what you're looking for. The extra power is insignificant. Buy a preamp if you want that. For more detail the best thing to do would be to buy better speakers. Room treatments are an option.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #3380 of 3388 Old 12-11-2014, 09:24 AM
Newbie
 
Regiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Latvia
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
Don't we all. But it's not a cheap proposition especially when you already have a pretty nice system.
A new AVR isn't what you're looking for. The extra power is insignificant. Buy a preamp if you want that. For more detail the best thing to do would be to buy better speakers. Room treatments are an option.
Dali rubicon 5 or 6 for example? Then also I should change centre speaker...
Also big problem for room is that I cannot move speakers more than ~20cm from rear wall... and Rubicon 6 is 3 cm greater in depths, but Rubicon 5 is 1.3cm smaller and also smaller in overall dimensions...

Why do you think that 3040 would not improve sound compare to 830?

Samsung ue55f8000stxxh / Yamaha RX-A830 with YWA-10 / Dali Ikon 6 mk2 - front (bi-amp) / Dali Ikon vokal 2 mk2 - centre / Dali Zensor 1 on Dali connect stand E-600 - surround / Dali E-9 F sub / Sony bdp-s790 / Marantz cd6005 / LTC IP TV /
Regiss is offline  
post #3381 of 3388 Old 12-11-2014, 09:41 AM
Member
 
tommaazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SLOVENIA
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Regiss View Post
Dali rubicon 5 or 6 for example? Then also I should change centre speaker...
Also big problem for room is that I cannot move speakers more than ~20cm from rear wall... and Rubicon 6 is 3 cm greater in depths, but Rubicon 5 is 1.3cm smaller and also smaller in overall dimensions...

Why do you think that 3040 would not improve sound compare to 830?
Did you always have a yamaha receivers? You can try marantz sr7008 or if you want atmos and auro3d go for 7009...i think that will give you a little different sound they both have audyssey xt32 room calibration which is great...on the other hand i will probably change a brand of my receiver to yamaha (from marantz sr7008) next year because i want to try yamaha dsp with front presence speakers just to see how i will like cinema dsp...i had a marantz receivers for a long time now...they are great but i just want to try other brand

Marantz sr7008, monitor audio bx6,bx center,bx fx,bx1,sub SVS sb13ultra, panasonic 60asw654
tommaazz is online now  
post #3382 of 3388 Old 12-11-2014, 10:01 AM
Member
 
Modern Times's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I just recently got a really good deal on an MX-A5000 so I bought 2 . Before I bought the Yamaha amps I bought a Denon AV5200. I'm wishing now that I had bought the Marantz AV7200 mostly for the XLR outputs. I read on a review that it was highly recommended to use the Yamaha XLR's instead of the RCA's. What do you guys think regarding the XLR vs RCA inputs with this amp? I am contemplating selling the Denon and buying the Marantz.

Regards
Tom
Modern Times is offline  
post #3383 of 3388 Old 12-14-2014, 01:22 PM
Newbie
 
boeckelr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi -

I would have posted this in the RX-A830 thread, but it doesn't get nearly the traffic that this one does, and the questions Im asking are just as applicable here.

I ordered a Yamaha RX-A830 on Friday night. I knew it didn't have HDMI 2.0 and have been having second thoughts since.

I'm partial to Yamaha and also considered the RX-A740 and the RX-V677, which are very similar, but they were both outside of my price range.

Today I was looking online and noticed that the 677 was put on sale..and is now within my price range.

I'm just looking for opinions on whether I should keep the slightly more powerful, slightly nicer 830, or order the 677 with HDMI 2.0 and return the 830 when it arrives?

I've also read about how the HDMI 2.0 standard is evolving and wonder whether this first generation of HDM 2.0 receivers will even really work with 4K DVD players and cable boxes.....The whole HDMI 2.0 thing is kind of a mess....I would wait and see how the HDMI 2.0 thing plays out except that I really need a new receiver now.

One last thing I was wondering is what do I get besides pre-outs and a longer warranty when I buy an 830? Do Aventage receivers sound better than their corresponding RX-V model, or are the electronics inside the same on each? I know the chassis is more robust with Adventage receivers, but is it assembled differently or are they put together in the same factory, one with pre-outs and one without?

And help is greatly appreciated.

Last edited by boeckelr; 12-14-2014 at 08:48 PM.
boeckelr is offline  
post #3384 of 3388 Old 12-15-2014, 09:46 PM
Member
 
BamaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 25
If anyone is in the market, I'm thinking about changing my setup around and putting my CX-A5000 on the block!
BamaDave is online now  
post #3385 of 3388 Old 12-16-2014, 07:56 PM
Member
 
glugus2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Send me a pm and we'll talk. I'm definitely interested.

Sent from my SM-P900 using Tapatalk
glugus2000 is online now  
post #3386 of 3388 Old Yesterday, 04:59 AM
Member
 
orcrone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Keep the RX-A2030 or upgrade to CX-A5000.

I own the RX-A2030 receiver, along with a Sunfire 7 channel amp. Currently I'm using nine channels (5.1 HT, and 2 stereo zones) so upgrading to the CX-A5000 would also require the addition of two channels of amplification.

Someone locally (no shipping) is selling the CX-A5000 at a decent price (asking $1200) and I'm considering it. The differences I've found so far is
  1. Higher end DAC (9016 vs. 9006)
  2. ability to output non-HDMI sources on zone 4
  3. balanced outputs

I'm not sure if there are any other differences (aside form lack of power amp).

Is there anything I'm missing and how much of a step up is the CS-A5000 from the RX-A2030?
orcrone is online now  
post #3387 of 3388 Unread Today, 11:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 946
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by orcrone View Post
I own the RX-A2030 receiver, along with a Sunfire 7 channel amp. Currently I'm using nine channels (5.1 HT, and 2 stereo zones) so upgrading to the CX-A5000 would also require the addition of two channels of amplification.

Someone locally (no shipping) is selling the CX-A5000 at a decent price (asking $1200) and I'm considering it. The differences I've found so far is
  1. Higher end DAC (9016 vs. 9006)
  2. ability to output non-HDMI sources on zone 4
  3. balanced outputs

I'm not sure if there are any other differences (aside form lack of power amp).

Is there anything I'm missing and how much of a step up is the CS-A5000 from the RX-A2030?
I own and use both (in different systems). I can't speak to any multi-zone features since I don't use them (I simply duplicate stuff ). There are, however, additional DSP modes in the CX-A5000 that none of the receivers support. May or may not be important to you (I do use them in my CX-A5000).

I will say that I really prefer the sound of my system with the CX-A5000, but since everything else in that system is higher level, they can't really be compared fairly.

Personally, if the CX-A5000 is in good shape I'd snap it up.
bwillcox is online now  
post #3388 of 3388 Unread Today, 12:58 PM
Member
 
orcrone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post
I own and use both (in different systems). I can't speak to any multi-zone features since I don't use them (I simply duplicate stuff ). There are, however, additional DSP modes in the CX-A5000 that none of the receivers support. May or may not be important to you (I do use them in my CX-A5000).

I will say that I really prefer the sound of my system with the CX-A5000, but since everything else in that system is higher level, they can't really be compared fairly.

Personally, if the CX-A5000 is in good shape I'd snap it up.
Thanks. So have you swapped the CX-A5000 / amp combo in one system with the RX-A2030 in the other to compare more fully?!?!
orcrone is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Aventage Rxa 1030 Receiver , Yamaha Rxa2030bl Aventage Home Theater Receiver , Yamaha Rxa3030bl Aventage Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off