The "Official" Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A1030, RX-A2030, RX-A3030 and CX-A5000/MX-A5000 Thread - Page 119 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #3541 of 3557 Old 02-17-2015, 11:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by highd3f View Post
That's a very amusing post

Then again, had there been a post like mine it might've saved me from regret
Well, I'm with the other posters. Mine sounds great. No idea what may be causing your issues.
bwillcox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3542 of 3557 Old 02-17-2015, 07:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LowTech1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: St Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 1,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Its funny , because receiver opinions mean nothing. Unless you had a Denon 5200W, Marantz SR7009, Pioneer SC 8Oror Onkyo 1030. If your not A/B switching them side by side , you would be hard pressed to tell the difference. Most guys in every receiver forum will tell you how pleased they are with their choice. In reality, they might be just as pleased with the Marantz. Got into the Anthem forum, tell them how much you like your Yamaha and those guys will destroy you.
bigguyca likes this.
LowTech1 is offline  
post #3543 of 3557 Old 02-19-2015, 09:49 AM
Member
 
davethestalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: SW lower Michigan
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Refurbished A2030 are going for $800 now. $200 less than 'new old stock'. My concern is YPAO RSC vs Audyseey XT & XT32.

My post from a different thread...

I have had a Marantz SR7007 for about a week now. I'm thinking about sending it back to Crutchfield in exchange for an X4000. That is until I saw that I could get a Yamaha A2030 factory refurb with a 1yr warranty. All three pieces are $800, so that is a non-factor. Or an A840 new for $850, which is lacking too many important features and power. None of which are HDCP 2.2 compliant. I've been a Yamaha die hard since 1995. This is an upgrade from an A710 which cannot drive my uograded speakers very well.

710 YPAO is ok. 7007 Audyseey MultiEQ XT is pretty good, even better when change distance values to "real" measurements with a tape measure, set all of the speakers (Def Tech BP2003 (built-in subs) full system with a set of SM450 for side surrounds) and a Polk PSW505. I know nothing about "improved YPAO" now with RSC. I would guess it's on par with Audyseey XT.

The x4000 with xt32 with SubEQ is VERY intriguing.

Content is 60% multichannel AV, 40% 2.1 vinyl or streaming & AirPlay (TuneIn Radio, Sporify, YouTube). I can't get radio in my basement, besides my area doesn't have much HD Radio.

When people say power doesn't make a difference, I beg to differ. Changing my speakers from Def Tech ProCinema 60 with SM450 for mains, to a complete BP2003 system practically crippled my A710's 90w.amps. The 7007 & x4000 both have 125w. The A2030 has 140.

So, I don't know what to do.
davethestalker is online now  
post #3544 of 3557 Old 02-19-2015, 12:04 PM
Senior Member
 
tomd51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Refurbished A2030 are going for $800 now. $200 less than 'new old stock'. My concern is YPAO RSC vs Audyseey XT & XT32.

My post from a different thread...

I have had a Marantz SR7007 for about a week now. I'm thinking about sending it back to Crutchfield in exchange for an X4000. That is until I saw that I could get a Yamaha A2030 factory refurb with a 1yr warranty. All three pieces are $800, so that is a non-factor. Or an A840 new for $850, which is lacking too many important features and power. None of which are HDCP 2.2 compliant. I've been a Yamaha die hard since 1995. This is an upgrade from an A710 which cannot drive my uograded speakers very well.

710 YPAO is ok. 7007 Audyseey MultiEQ XT is pretty good, even better when change distance values to "real" measurements with a tape measure, set all of the speakers (Def Tech BP2003 (built-in subs) full system with a set of SM450 for side surrounds) and a Polk PSW505. I know nothing about "improved YPAO" now with RSC. I would guess it's on par with Audyseey XT.

The x4000 with xt32 with SubEQ is VERY intriguing.

Content is 60% multichannel AV, 40% 2.1 vinyl or streaming & AirPlay (TuneIn Radio, Sporify, YouTube). I can't get radio in my basement, besides my area doesn't have much HD Radio.
Unless your listening area is unusually difficult environment to make minor adjustments that most receiver/proceessor calibration software is doing, there may be a slight difference between Audyssey MultEQ XT, MultEQ XT32 and YPAO, but the differences may not be substantial. Having used all three of these on upper end Marantz and Yamaha receivers and processors, there was a slight difference, but nothing that stood out. My listening area is fairly simple in size (24' x 14' x 8'), including furniture and some treatments to work with, so this may have had some impact on my results. If you feel your bass response could be improved by using the XT32 calibration, might be worthwhile. But, if you're still using the PSW505 and not relying solely on the built-in subs of your mains (BP2006 I assume and not 2003s?) , that might be what's hampering things in that department.

Quote:
When people say power doesn't make a difference, I beg to differ. Changing my speakers from Def Tech ProCinema 60 with SM450 for mains, to a complete BP2003 system practically crippled my A710's 90w.amps. The 7007 & x4000 both have 125w. The A2030 has 140.
I would agree to a certain extent, understand the sensitivity and impedance of all three mains you referenced differ, so this would have an impact on the power that's required to drive each set. Having said that, the difference between 90 W versus 140 W may be noticable but would be minimal compared to adding external amplification. You would do well to add an external amp, at least for your mains, to the SR7007.
tomd51 is online now  
post #3545 of 3557 Old 02-21-2015, 03:42 PM
Member
 
SSUNBRN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by orcrone View Post
You cannot get multichannel on zone 2 when the main zone is set to the same source. Instead just set the main zone to some other input.
Thanks for taking the time to reply. It seems to work if the receiver is off / in stand-by mode.
SSUNBRN is offline  
post #3546 of 3557 Old 02-22-2015, 08:13 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello, I am about to pull the trigger on a 1030 and plan to power my fronts with a crown xls amp. My question is for anyone running these receivers with pro audio amps. Can these receivers sufficiently drive pro amps without a bump box? I would like to avoid this scenario. Thanks in advance.
Thundar is offline  
post #3547 of 3557 Old 02-23-2015, 08:50 PM
Member
 
D.Theater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Columbus, GA
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes, You will be fine. When you do your calibration you will see though that your receiver will level things out. Crowns are excellent amps, I am running five of them with a Z9 as a pre amp and it kicks butt.
D.Theater is offline  
post #3548 of 3557 Old 02-23-2015, 09:48 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by D.Theater View Post
Yes, You will be fine. When you do your calibration you will see though that your receiver will level things out. Crowns are excellent amps, I am running five of them with a Z9 as a pre amp and it kicks butt.
Thank you for replying! That's great to hear, I only asked because I was hearing about low preout voltages. Though I heard the same about running my balanced Mini Dsp with from my sub preout, which has worked perfectly. Can't wait to get this setup and running now.
Thundar is offline  
post #3549 of 3557 Old 02-28-2015, 10:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
PretzelFisch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 162
when I mesure with rew do I need to set the system to through or pure direct?
PretzelFisch is online now  
post #3550 of 3557 Old 02-28-2015, 04:16 PM
Member
 
boxerfan88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by PretzelFisch View Post
when I mesure with rew do I need to set the system to through or pure direct?

Try to measure both.

Pure direct for reference.
Straight through to measure effect of going through EQ.
One can then compare which is best for the room.

RX-A3030 | Usher MD2 + Klipsch RB51 | Sony BDP-S5100 | HTPC
Zone 2 | Heco Victa 702
Zone 3 | Audiolab 8000A | Rogers LS6a
boxerfan88 is offline  
post #3551 of 3557 Old 03-02-2015, 05:58 AM
Member
 
sawzalot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cape may n.j.
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I bought a 1030 for just under 5 bills and opened up the unit last night to check things out. I am using a Pioneer SC37 in my HT and it is hooked up 5.2 right now , in my bedroom I went with the Yamaha hooked up in stereo for now . Carnegie bookshelves for mains at 8 ohm respective, I then hooked up my older Oppo 83 to the panel via hdmi and ran a toslink to the 1030 at AV 3. no matter what selections I made through both the Oppo and the Yamaha I could not get any dialogue out of the Speakers only background music using blu rays . any thoughts and or suggestions would be appreciated sawz.
sawzalot is offline  
post #3552 of 3557 Old 03-02-2015, 06:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by sawzalot View Post
I bought a 1030 for just under 5 bills and opened up the unit last night to check things out. I am using a Pioneer SC37 in my HT and it is hooked up 5.2 right now , in my bedroom I went with the Yamaha hooked up in stereo for now . Carnegie bookshelves for mains at 8 ohm respective, I then hooked up my older Oppo 83 to the panel via hdmi and ran a toslink to the 1030 at AV 3. no matter what selections I made through both the Oppo and the Yamaha I could not get any dialogue out of the Speakers only background music using blu rays . any thoughts and or suggestions would be appreciated sawz.
Just curious, why didn't you run the HDMI from the Oppo to the Yamaha AVR and then to your display? Why use the toslink connection at all?
bwillcox is offline  
post #3553 of 3557 Old 03-02-2015, 07:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by sawzalot View Post
I bought a 1030 for just under 5 bills and opened up the unit last night to check things out. I am using a Pioneer SC37 in my HT and it is hooked up 5.2 right now , in my bedroom I went with the Yamaha hooked up in stereo for now . Carnegie bookshelves for mains at 8 ohm respective, I then hooked up my older Oppo 83 to the panel via hdmi and ran a toslink to the 1030 at AV 3. no matter what selections I made through both the Oppo and the Yamaha I could not get any dialogue out of the Speakers only background music using blu rays . any thoughts and or suggestions would be appreciated sawz.

Make sure the Yamaha doesn't think you have a center channel speaker connected (because that's where the dialog usually goes).

You could also choose Stereo mode on the Yamaha (press the MUSIC button on the remote until you get to 2ch Stereo).
sawzalot likes this.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #3554 of 3557 Unread Today, 04:08 PM
Member
 
njgl_torres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Queens NY
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by LowTech1 View Post
Its funny , because receiver opinions mean nothing. Unless you had a Denon 5200W, Marantz SR7009, Pioneer SC 8Oror Onkyo 1030. If your not A/B switching them side by side , you would be hard pressed to tell the difference. Most guys in every receiver forum will tell you how pleased they are with their choice. In reality, they might be just as pleased with the Marantz. Got into the Anthem forum, tell them how much you like your Yamaha and those guys will destroy you.

hi

how about your own opinion? what receiver you own? did you compare any of these brand. any suggestion.

i own most onkyo and integra receiver. my own opinion integra is much better. i did try any of yamaha, marantz or denon.

thanks
njgl_torres is offline  
post #3555 of 3557 Unread Today, 04:56 PM
Senior Member
 
steelers1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: idaho falls.id
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got the 1040. use to have the 3800. my question is in the 3800 in the display when the movie was dts master audio it would show up on the display but on the display of the 1040 it dosen`t show up should it show up? if it does what am I doing wrong. thanks for any information. have a nice day.
steelers1 is online now  
post #3556 of 3557 Unread Today, 05:21 PM
Member
 
jcwhammie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: St Louis
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelers1 View Post
I just got the 1040. use to have the 3800. my question is in the 3800 in the display when the movie was dts master audio it would show up on the display but on the display of the 1040 it dosen`t show up should it show up? if it does what am I doing wrong. thanks for any information. have a nice day.
Hit the 'info' button on the remote.
jcwhammie is offline  
post #3557 of 3557 Unread Today, 11:59 PM
Senior Member
 
steelers1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: idaho falls.id
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcwhammie View Post
Hit the 'info' button on the remote.
well I did it dosent say dts master audio just pcm. when I put the movie in my Panasonic then hit info button it says dts master audio 7.1. but in the sony bdp-s6200 it dosent just pcm. I tried different settings on the sony but it comes up pcm. do you have any ideas for me? just learning thanks.
steelers1 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Aventage Rxa 1030 Receiver , Yamaha Rxa2030bl Aventage Home Theater Receiver , Yamaha Rxa3030bl Aventage Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off