The "Official" Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A1030, RX-A2030, RX-A3030 and CX-A5000/MX-A5000 Thread - Page 136 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 103Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #4051 of 4066 Unread 01-06-2017, 04:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
Webmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by boxerfan88 View Post
Try this if your cxa5000 is connected to a TV which is in turn connected to an antenna: disconnect the antenna and check if the hum is gone.

I had the same root cause with the A3030 when I upgraded the external amp. Two didn't have hum but the third amp (class A balanced type) had serious hum, and was traced to the antenna.

Hope this suggestion works.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I only have BD/DVD and Netflix, so no cable TV involved here. When I first got the CX-A5000 I did not have much hum when the processor was ON. Neither at first when switched off for the night. But after 10min or so, it would start to hum and turn into a loud GROWL that could be heard from another room in the morning. This I solved with XLR cables. Before Moving to XLR, I tried other RCA. Still humming issue, but there was a difference in the level of hum. So strange.

I am thinking there might be something with output/input sensitivity?

Last edited by Webmonkey; 01-06-2017 at 04:11 AM.
Webmonkey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4052 of 4066 Unread 01-06-2017, 04:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
Webmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitty8451 View Post
I looked up your amp and could not find a Nuforce MCA-200 but did find the MCA-20. If you have the MCA-20 it is a class D amp? Which I have no experience with as all the amps I have ran from my CX have been class A/B. I believe the best advice is the one given regarding a possible issue with an antenna connected to the CX as it may be causing the hum. I read these threads and others pretty consistently and your the first I have heard who has had incompatibility with the CX and external amps BUT all the other posters on this and other forums I have read run either Class A/B amps or Tube amplification.
Ah yes, sorry. MCA-20. It is a Class D, PWM amp. My Sunfire is a A/B that sorta behaves like a Class H or somethign like it.

As I do not have antenna/TV, that is not the cause.

I am suspecting that NuForce is contaminating my powersupply as I also get the eletrical buzzing in my center and front left/right speakers, which are connected to the Sunfire whenever the NuForce is ON. :-(
Webmonkey is offline  
post #4053 of 4066 Unread 01-29-2017, 04:22 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
First time post - I have searched and read nearly this entire thread and cannot find the answer.


I haveLG OLED tv hooked to receiver through ARC (HDMI out 1). ARC works fine. How do I get video to HDMI out 2 for a projector?
mlbirchfield is offline  
 
post #4054 of 4066 Unread 01-29-2017, 04:23 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlbirchfield View Post
First time post - I have searched and read nearly this entire thread and cannot find the answer.


I haveLG OLED tv hooked to receiver through ARC (HDMI out 1). ARC works fine. How do I get video to HDMI out 2 for a projector?
Sorry. I have a RX-A3030
mlbirchfield is offline  
post #4055 of 4066 Unread 02-04-2017, 06:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
bguzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 518
Look at page 61 of the manual. Press HDMI OUT on the remote until you see HDMI 1+2. I do this with my RX-1030.

HT, Mitsubishi HC6500, 106" screen, Panasonic TC-P50G10, Oppo BDP-103, Toshiba A35, Panasonic LX-1000U, Pioneer Elite CLD-95, Faroudja NRS, DirecTV H21-100, PS3, Pioneer Elite SC-85, Def Tech; SM 450, CLR 2002, BP2X, Klipsch KSB 1.1(X4), Pro Sub 100, Polk PSW125
Old School, Sony PS-5500->Denon 103r->AU-320 SUT, Dual 1219->Shure M91ED, Kyocera DA-610cx, Pioneer SA-1000, Polk Monitor 10A
bguzman is offline  
post #4056 of 4066 Unread 02-04-2017, 07:51 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the response.


I have tried the HDMI out button set to 1+2 and 2 only and still no video. It simply may not be possible for HDMI 1 out to display video to HDMI 2 out.


The only way HDMI 2 out will display video is when the signal is input through one of the HDMI in ports.
mlbirchfield is offline  
post #4057 of 4066 Unread 02-04-2017, 09:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
bguzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlbirchfield View Post
Thanks for the response.


I have tried the HDMI out button set to 1+2 and 2 only and still no video. It simply may not be possible for HDMI 1 out to display video to HDMI 2 out.


The only way HDMI 2 out will display video is when the signal is input through one of the HDMI in ports.
What happens if you turn ARC off?

HT, Mitsubishi HC6500, 106" screen, Panasonic TC-P50G10, Oppo BDP-103, Toshiba A35, Panasonic LX-1000U, Pioneer Elite CLD-95, Faroudja NRS, DirecTV H21-100, PS3, Pioneer Elite SC-85, Def Tech; SM 450, CLR 2002, BP2X, Klipsch KSB 1.1(X4), Pro Sub 100, Polk PSW125
Old School, Sony PS-5500->Denon 103r->AU-320 SUT, Dual 1219->Shure M91ED, Kyocera DA-610cx, Pioneer SA-1000, Polk Monitor 10A
bguzman is offline  
post #4058 of 4066 Unread 02-08-2017, 10:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 1,366
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 101
HDMI 1 and 2 are outputs, not inputs. ARC is an exception, but that's only for sound - it's Audio Return Channel.

Philnick is online now  
post #4059 of 4066 Unread Yesterday, 07:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
bguzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlbirchfield View Post
Thanks for the response.
I have tried the HDMI out button set to 1+2 and 2 only and still no video. It simply may not be possible for HDMI 1 out to display video to HDMI 2 out.
The only way HDMI 2 out will display video is when the signal is input through one of the HDMI in ports.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
HDMI 1 and 2 are outputs, not inputs. ARC is an exception, but that's only for sound - it's Audio Return Channel.
As Philnick pointed out you have your displays connected to HDMI outs (1and 2). You need to additionally connect all of your sources to HDMI inputs on the AVR. You will then get any of these sources to play on either your TV or projector. You can watch any source on your TV with the AVR off by selecting that input and making sure you have the pass through setting enabled.

HT, Mitsubishi HC6500, 106" screen, Panasonic TC-P50G10, Oppo BDP-103, Toshiba A35, Panasonic LX-1000U, Pioneer Elite CLD-95, Faroudja NRS, DirecTV H21-100, PS3, Pioneer Elite SC-85, Def Tech; SM 450, CLR 2002, BP2X, Klipsch KSB 1.1(X4), Pro Sub 100, Polk PSW125
Old School, Sony PS-5500->Denon 103r->AU-320 SUT, Dual 1219->Shure M91ED, Kyocera DA-610cx, Pioneer SA-1000, Polk Monitor 10A
bguzman is offline  
post #4060 of 4066 Unread Yesterday, 08:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Two questions on setup: I know it's dependent on room size, speakers, etc. In my media room I have a 5.1.4 setup with Klipsch Speakers. I'm not sure if I just don't have it loud enough, when compared to my Sony 1060 receiver in my living room which is a 5.1 setup with Klipsch in wall speakers.

(1) For most of your viewing which sound setup do you use, surround, 9.1, etc.

(2) what is the typical volume setting to get a decent sound on the Yamaha? On the Sony usually 25-30 and the center speaker is very clear. I understand the Yamaha shows the inverse. Where should you typically be? Is negative 28-30 too low? Do i need to be around 25? Not sure what people typically listen to it at.
1dwn5up is offline  
post #4061 of 4066 Unread Yesterday, 08:36 AM
Senior Member
 
fredxr2d2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1dwn5up View Post
Two questions on setup: I know it's dependent on room size, speakers, etc. In my media room I have a 5.1.4 setup with Klipsch Speakers. I'm not sure if I just don't have it loud enough, when compared to my Sony 1060 receiver in my living room which is a 5.1 setup with Klipsch in wall speakers.

(1) For most of your viewing which sound setup do you use, surround, 9.1, etc.

(2) what is the typical volume setting to get a decent sound on the Yamaha? On the Sony usually 25-30 and the center speaker is very clear. I understand the Yamaha shows the inverse. Where should you typically be? Is negative 28-30 too low? Do i need to be around 25? Not sure what people typically listen to it at.
Most TV shows I listen to at -15 to -10 and movies I listen at -5. I believe that most Yamaha receivers have 0dB as Reference (that is, the internal test tone, which is played at -30dBFS, should be 75dB at your listening position).

Tim S.
Former 35mm and Digital Projectionist @ Regal Cinemas

Currently watching on: BenQ W1070, 106" 0.8 Gain Screen, Darbee, PS4, w/ Yamaha Aventage RX-A1030, NAD C370 (for Front L/R), Outlaw Model 5000, SVS PB-2000, SVS PC-2000, a Def Tech CS-8080HD, 2 SM65 for L/R, 2 SM55 for sides, and 2 PM1000 for rears.
fredxr2d2 is offline  
post #4062 of 4066 Unread Yesterday, 08:45 AM
Senior Member
 
smitty8451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Sutherlin, Oregon
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1dwn5up View Post
Two questions on setup: I know it's dependent on room size, speakers, etc. In my media room I have a 5.1.4 setup with Klipsch Speakers. I'm not sure if I just don't have it loud enough, when compared to my Sony 1060 receiver in my living room which is a 5.1 setup with Klipsch in wall speakers.

(1) For most of your viewing which sound setup do you use, surround, 9.1, etc.

(2) what is the typical volume setting to get a decent sound on the Yamaha? On the Sony usually 25-30 and the center speaker is very clear. I understand the Yamaha shows the inverse. Where should you typically be? Is negative 28-30 too low? Do i need to be around 25? Not sure what people typically listen to it at.
As you stated, a lot will depend on room size, speakers (how efficient they are) and to a point your power amplifier (input voltage specs) I have found that in my room which is roughly 30'X20' with speakers placed along the long wall that I hit 80 SPL at 14' away from the speakers at -30 on my Yamaha volume control. This equates to about roughly 1/2 max volume. Now keep in mind I currently am running Klipsch La Scala II speakers which are extremely sensitive, but before I had those in place I had a pair of Klipsch RF-63 speakers and they would hit 80 SPL at 14' at -24 on the volume indicator. I currently run 9.2 setup but I tend to listen to stereo only with music. I also have a Rogue Audio Pharaoh Integrated tube amplifier, and paired with the La Scalas I get about 1/4 turn of the volume knob and it is at 80 SPL and can peak as high as 95 SPL during loud passages. The Rogue uses a tube preamp stage and Hypex digital amps which I think makes part of the difference between it and the Yamaha. Regardless of what you are trying to aim for, please from someone who has been into audio for the last 40 years, try and keep your volume at a safe listening level, nothing is worse than working most of your life to get your dream system together to find out you have lost some of your hearing and won't get the most out of it. OSHA has charts recommending the max SPL and time recommendations to keep this from happening.

Happy listning

Yamaha CX-A5000, ATI AT 2007 Amp, ATI AT 2004 Amp, Klipsch La Scala II- Main, RB 61's - Front heights, RC-62 - Center, RS-62's - Surround, RS-52's - Rear Surround, 2 Rythmik DS-1510 DIY Subwoofers each connected with Antimode Dual Core 2, Oppo BDP-95, MMF-7.1, Project Phono Box RS, XBox 360, XBox One, Oppo HA-1, TEAC PD-501HR transport, Atech Fabrication 7000 fanless HTPC and TASCAM DA-3000 SS Recorder, Kramer VS-88A Matrix Switch, Rogue Audio Pharaoh Int amp, Sony HAPZ1-ES
smitty8451 is offline  
post #4063 of 4066 Unread Today, 03:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Knucklehead90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: State of Confusion - 98823
Posts: 8,464
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 384 Post(s)
Liked: 332
I just ran YPAO on my A5000 a bit ago. Second time I've ran it - I just added an SVS SB12 sub to the mix. I never looked at the results the first time. I don't get it - I have a 5.2 setup and I'm getting a REVERSE note on each of my 5 speakers - subs are 'NORMAL'. I can't imagine that I managed to screw up the polarity of all five speakers. Maybe one - or even two - but FIVE? Anyone have this happen? Should I reverse each of my five speaker terminals?

The front three speakers are powered by the Acurus - Outlaw powers the surrounds and zone II.

Yamaha CX-A5000 - Acurus A100x3 & Outlaw 7075 - Salk Song Towers - Custom Selah Audio Center - Oppo 103 - Marantz TT42
***GO SEAHAWKS ***
Twas a woman who drove me to drink. I never had the decency to write and thank her ~ WC Fields
Knucklehead90 is online now  
post #4064 of 4066 Unread Today, 04:13 PM
Senior Member
 
smitty8451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Sutherlin, Oregon
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knucklehead90 View Post
I just ran YPAO on my A5000 a bit ago. Second time I've ran it - I just added an SVS SB12 sub to the mix. I never looked at the results the first time. I don't get it - I have a 5.2 setup and I'm getting a REVERSE note on each of my 5 speakers - subs are 'NORMAL'. I can't imagine that I managed to screw up the polarity of all five speakers. Maybe one - or even two - but FIVE? Anyone have this happen? Should I reverse each of my five speaker terminals?

The front three speakers are powered by the Acurus - Outlaw powers the surrounds and zone II.
Don't worry, this is an ongoing issue with just about all Yamaha Receivers/preamps from what I have read on multiple forums. Just verify that all the wiring is correct. I have ran YPAO on both my 3010's and my CX-a5000 multiple times with different speakers and get intermittent REVERSE messages upon completion. My unit always shows my Klipsch La Scala II's as being reversed.


Yamaha CX-A5000, ATI AT 2007 Amp, ATI AT 2004 Amp, Klipsch La Scala II- Main, RB 61's - Front heights, RC-62 - Center, RS-62's - Surround, RS-52's - Rear Surround, 2 Rythmik DS-1510 DIY Subwoofers each connected with Antimode Dual Core 2, Oppo BDP-95, MMF-7.1, Project Phono Box RS, XBox 360, XBox One, Oppo HA-1, TEAC PD-501HR transport, Atech Fabrication 7000 fanless HTPC and TASCAM DA-3000 SS Recorder, Kramer VS-88A Matrix Switch, Rogue Audio Pharaoh Int amp, Sony HAPZ1-ES
smitty8451 is offline  
post #4065 of 4066 Unread Today, 05:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 1,366
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knucklehead90 View Post
I just ran YPAO on my A5000 a bit ago. Second time I've ran it - I just added an SVS SB12 sub to the mix. I never looked at the results the first time. I don't get it - I have a 5.2 setup and I'm getting a REVERSE note on each of my 5 speakers - subs are 'NORMAL'. I can't imagine that I managed to screw up the polarity of all five speakers. Maybe one - or even two - but FIVE? Anyone have this happen? Should I reverse each of my five speaker terminals?

The front three speakers are powered by the Acurus - Outlaw powers the surrounds and zone II.
Wouldn't it be simpler just to reverse the phase of the subs? Of course, this might mean wiring a custom crossover cord for each of them, since they probably don't have discrete speaker terminals.

Or move them a few inches nearer or further away - phase is influenced by distance, after all.

EDIT: I actually think there's a "phase reverse" setting for the subwoofer output in most Yamahas - check your manual!


Last edited by Philnick; Today at 05:24 PM.
Philnick is online now  
post #4066 of 4066 Unread Today, 06:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Knucklehead90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: State of Confusion - 98823
Posts: 8,464
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 384 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
Wouldn't it be simpler just to reverse the phase of the subs? Of course, this might mean wiring a custom crossover cord for each of them, since they probably don't have discrete speaker terminals.

Or move them a few inches nearer or further away - phase is influenced by distance, after all.

EDIT: I actually think there's a "phase reverse" setting for the subwoofer output in most Yamahas - check your manual!
I don't know if there is a phase adjustment in the A5000 but both subs have a reverse phase knob on the plate amps. Maybe both subs are wired wrong internally? It doesn't make sense - I know how to connect speakers. FWIW it sounds good playing a movie and I haven't switched anything. I've never seen anything like that before.

Yamaha CX-A5000 - Acurus A100x3 & Outlaw 7075 - Salk Song Towers - Custom Selah Audio Center - Oppo 103 - Marantz TT42
***GO SEAHAWKS ***
Twas a woman who drove me to drink. I never had the decency to write and thank her ~ WC Fields
Knucklehead90 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Aventage Rxa 1030 Receiver , Yamaha Rxa2030bl Aventage Home Theater Receiver , Yamaha Rxa3030bl Aventage Home Theater Receiver



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off