The "Official" Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A1030, RX-A2030, RX-A3030 and CX-A5000/MX-A5000 Thread - Page 137 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 105Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4081 of 4101 Old 05-04-2017, 04:45 PM
Member
 
johnstonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: St. Louis Metro
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Looking at maybe picking up a Factory Refurbished RX-A1030. I want a system with HD Radio and Zone 2.

Any advise would be helpful.

Thanks

Ken
johnstonk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4082 of 4101 Old 05-04-2017, 08:31 PM
Senior Member
 
tomd51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnstonk View Post
Looking at maybe picking up a Factory Refurbished RX-A1030. I want a system with HD Radio and Zone 2.

Any advise would be helpful.

Thanks

Ken
Accessories4less has one Yamaha refurb'ed 1030 left in stock @ $499.99 with 18 mo. warranty:

http://www.accessories4less.com/make...eceiver/1.html

If you can stretch for the RX-A1050 @ $699.99 (also the last one in stock), it might be a bit more future- proof than the former:

http://www.accessories4less.com/make...eceiver/1.html

Here's a comparison of the two from Yamaha's site:

http://usa.yamaha.com/products/audio...464741_577237_

Emotiva XPA-2, XPA-5 | Yamaha CX-A5000 | Mitsubishi WD-73742 | Epson 8700UB
Boston Acoustics VS 336s, VS 325c, Emotiva ERD-1s (x2) | 15" TC-2000 DIY Sub
Dish Hopper with Sling | Oppo BDP-93 | AppleTV v4 | Roku 3
tomd51 is online now  
post #4083 of 4101 Old 05-04-2017, 09:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: SWEDEN
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Can anyone explain why the upcoming Aventage x/x70 series are promoted with HDR and Dolby Vision?

If older recivers like the Aventage 3060 and older has full UHD/4k passthru. Why?

Of course its all about having the latest specs for sales reason. But will the new 3070 do something better with HDR and Dolby Vision that the 3060 wont?
IMAGINAERUM is offline  
 
post #4084 of 4101 Old 05-05-2017, 06:30 AM
Member
 
johnstonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: St. Louis Metro
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomd51 View Post
Accessories4less has one Yamaha refurb'ed 1030 left in stock @ $499.99 with 18 mo. warranty:

http://www.accessories4less.com/make...eceiver/1.html

If you can stretch for the RX-A1050 @ $699.99 (also the last one in stock), it might be a bit more future- proof than the former:

http://www.accessories4less.com/make...eceiver/1.html

Here's a comparison of the two from Yamaha's site:

http://usa.yamaha.com/products/audio...464741_577237_
Thanks for the side by side, I wish the 1050 had the HD-Radio
johnstonk is offline  
post #4085 of 4101 Old 05-05-2017, 07:22 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16,630
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2573 Post(s)
Liked: 2036
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnstonk View Post
Thanks for the side by side, I wish the 1050 had the HD-Radio
My 2030 does. Same price as the 1030 at A4l.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #4086 of 4101 Old 05-06-2017, 05:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
Webmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 975
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 32
What would be the best way to setup my CX-A5000 in stereo mode so that my stereo subs join the fun when my source input if from the XLR in (from an Oppo BPD-105D)??

My previous Thule PR350 had a simple SubMax ON/OFF switch that would work on any source and "copy" all below 120Hz from the fronts to the subs also, no matter if it was stereo or Dolby Pro Logic.


- I would have loved it they could also play in Direct mode, but I understand that this is not possible.


Do my settings for YPAO measured in the 11.2 setup also apply in 2.0 mode???
Webmonkey is offline  
post #4087 of 4101 Old 05-07-2017, 07:03 PM
Senior Member
 
carminepesce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Webmonkey View Post
What would be the best way to setup my CX-A5000 in stereo mode so that my stereo subs join the fun when my source input if from the XLR in (from an Oppo BPD-105D)??

My previous Thule PR350 had a simple SubMax ON/OFF switch that would work on any source and "copy" all below 120Hz from the fronts to the subs also, no matter if it was stereo or Dolby Pro Logic.


- I would have loved it they could also play in Direct mode, but I understand that this is not possible.


Do my settings for YPAO measured in the 11.2 setup also apply in 2.0 mode???
I just hit the Stereo button on the remote & that switches the unit into 2ch Stereo mode. As far as I know, as long as you have your mains set to Small your sub will be playing along. I have my mains x'd over at 80Hz on my CX-A5000 & my sub is active in Stereo mode as well. I also believe that YPAO measurements apply to all modes as long as it's not set to Through in Setup.

Hope this helps bud!
Carmine.

Panasonic 50" ST50 Plasma
Outlaw Model 5000 Amp
Yamaha CX-A 5000 Pre/Pro
Oppo BDP-103D Bluray player
SVS PB-1000 Sub w/DSpeaker Anti-Mode 8033s ii
SVS Prime System
carminepesce is offline  
post #4088 of 4101 Old 05-09-2017, 11:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
Webmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 975
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by carminepesce View Post
I just hit the Stereo button on the remote & that switches the unit into 2ch Stereo mode. As far as I know, as long as you have your mains set to Small your sub will be playing along. I have my mains x'd over at 80Hz on my CX-A5000 & my sub is active in Stereo mode as well. I also believe that YPAO measurements apply to all modes as long as it's not set to Through in Setup.

Hope this helps bud!
Carmine.
Thanks for replying.


Well, my fronts are very large, so there is no way I will put them into small mode :-)

I just discovered that there actually IS a "Ekstra Bass" mode on this Yamaha processor - but it does not seem like something that can be only-on for stereo, mono, pro logic sources. And it does not look like there is an option for selecting the cut-off frequency :-(

I hope that it also works without DSP modes.

I would have preferred that I could also use my subs in Direct mode - should not be that hard to also output a filtered analogue signal at the same time to the subs.


- there is one option though, if I buy 2 xtra sub cables and connect to the 2nd inputs of my Supernovas - but the catch here is that I can no longer user "bypass" for lowpass filter on the LFE and will need to accept a cutoff point here.
Webmonkey is offline  
post #4089 of 4101 Old 05-09-2017, 04:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,611
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1085 Post(s)
Liked: 544
Send a message via Yahoo to ChromeJob Send a message via Skype™ to ChromeJob
Quote:
Originally Posted by Webmonkey View Post
Thanks for replying.


Well, my fronts are very large, so there is no way I will put them into small mode :-)

I just discovered that there actually IS a [edit]"Extra Bass" mode on this Yamaha processor - but it does not seem like something that can be only-on for stereo, mono, pro logic sources. And it does not look like there is an option for selecting the cut-off frequency :-(

I hope that it also works without DSP modes.
First, let's clear up a misconception. Regardless of the quality and range of your main speakers, setting them to "Small" in the AVR bass management does not mean they're "underpowered." Large vs Small is one of the most misleading things in AVR settings.

All it does is divert ULF bass content from the main speakers to a subwoofer. YOu can generally set the low-pass cross over frequency to as low as you like: 40 Hz, 60 Hz, the THX std 80 Hz. If you have mains with woofers less than say 7" then this can be advantageous as your sub makes the ULF bass, and the mains no longer try to. It conserves power since the lower the freq, the more power the AVR consumes driving speakers (presuming your sub is self-powered).

There are some theories that this makes your main speakers more efficient, because they are no longer tasked with producing the most power consuming low freqs.

I think it just makes sense. Your main speakers can be used for higher freqs (above 80 Hz, or above 120 Hz in my case), freqs they are better at producing.

The Extra Bass function that sends certain low freqs to the Sub, AND the main speakers, will usually sound like dookie. You have a powerful sub generating ULFs, and the mains are also trying to reproduce them. It can be an uncontrolled mess. UNLESS you really love boomy, distorting, messy bass, that is.
Webmonkey likes this.

“Phil? Phil Connors?!”
Are ya new here? Please read FAQs and forum stickies. Like posts that help you. Don't ask a question and then disappear.
A: Yamaha RX-V775. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Samsung UN40ES6150, Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen.
ChromeJob is online now  
post #4090 of 4101 Old 05-13-2017, 07:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
Webmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 975
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChromeJob View Post
First, let's clear up a misconception. Regardless of the quality and range of your main speakers, setting them to "Small" in the AVR bass management does not mean they're "underpowered." Large vs Small is one of the most misleading things in AVR settings.

All it does is divert ULF bass content from the main speakers to a subwoofer. YOu can generally set the low-pass cross over frequency to as low as you like: 40 Hz, 60 Hz, the THX std 80 Hz. If you have mains with woofers less than say 7" then this can be advantageous as your sub makes the ULF bass, and the mains no longer try to. It conserves power since the lower the freq, the more power the AVR consumes driving speakers (presuming your sub is self-powered).

There are some theories that this makes your main speakers more efficient, because they are no longer tasked with producing the most power consuming low freqs.

I think it just makes sense. Your main speakers can be used for higher freqs (above 80 Hz, or above 120 Hz in my case), freqs they are better at producing.

The Extra Bass function that sends certain low freqs to the Sub, AND the main speakers, will usually sound like dookie. You have a powerful sub generating ULFs, and the mains are also trying to reproduce them. It can be an uncontrolled mess. UNLESS you really love boomy, distorting, messy bass, that is.
Found the setting and set it to 40Hz. My front have 12" woofers, and powered by 400W Sunfire poweramp, so I am not worried about power :-)


Thanks!
Webmonkey is offline  
post #4091 of 4101 Old 06-07-2017, 05:45 AM
Senior Member
 
carminepesce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Yamaha CX-A5000 & Outlaw 5000

Hey guys, I know this might be a little difficult to answer but over the last month or so it seems that I'm having to increase my volume on my Yamaha higher than usual. I used to have the volume around 35 for casual viewing & that was perfect now it seems I'm going to 25 to be at the level I was at prior. I have SVS Prime bookshelves which I know aren't the most sensitive speakers but is there anything that would cause this to occur out of nowhere? Please forgive me if this has been discussed elsewhere. Thanks so much as usual guys!!!
carminepesce is offline  
post #4092 of 4101 Old 06-07-2017, 05:48 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 68,893
Mentioned: 332 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13715 Post(s)
Liked: 6391
Quote:
Originally Posted by carminepesce View Post
Hey guys, I know this might be a little difficult to answer but over the last month or so it seems that I'm having to increase my volume on my Yamaha higher than usual. I used to have the volume around 35 for casual viewing & that was perfect now it seems I'm going to 25 to be at the level I was at prior. I have SVS Prime bookshelves which I know aren't the most sensitive speakers but is there anything that would cause this to occur out of nowhere? Please forgive me if this has been discussed elsewhere. Thanks so much as usual guys!!!
When was your last ear doctor appointment?
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4093 of 4101 Old 06-07-2017, 03:39 PM
Senior Member
 
carminepesce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
When was your last ear doctor appointment?
LMAO, thanks JD!! I'm assuming it's all in my head then...I tend to get a little "anal/ocd" at times....

Panasonic 50" ST50 Plasma
Outlaw Model 5000 Amp
Yamaha CX-A 5000 Pre/Pro
Oppo BDP-103D Bluray player
SVS PB-1000 Sub w/DSpeaker Anti-Mode 8033s ii
SVS Prime System
carminepesce is offline  
post #4094 of 4101 Old 06-09-2017, 02:37 PM
Newbie
 
angryfoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Firmware Upgrades

I just upgraded my 3030's firmware from v1.60 to v1.87 - been awhile I guess.
I was hoping for some new wallpaper or whatev's that I might see immediately, but nothing stands out.
Question: Is there any listing that shows what changes are made in each Firmware Upgrade? A link
in AVSFORUM or an outside URL would be nice if someone doesn't want to spell it all out.
Big Thanks!
angryfoot is offline  
post #4095 of 4101 Old 06-09-2017, 06:36 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 68,893
Mentioned: 332 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13715 Post(s)
Liked: 6391
Quote:
Originally Posted by carminepesce View Post
LMAO, thanks JD!! I'm assuming it's all in my head then...I tend to get a little "anal/ocd" at times....
I was kidding ... it could be the start of amp failure.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4096 of 4101 Old 06-10-2017, 07:40 AM
Senior Member
 
carminepesce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
I was kidding ... it could be the start of amp failure.
Oh great, that's definitely not what I wanna hear lol.....Is there any way of me to diagnose if that indeed is what's going JD?

Thanks bud!

Panasonic 50" ST50 Plasma
Outlaw Model 5000 Amp
Yamaha CX-A 5000 Pre/Pro
Oppo BDP-103D Bluray player
SVS PB-1000 Sub w/DSpeaker Anti-Mode 8033s ii
SVS Prime System
carminepesce is offline  
post #4097 of 4101 Old 06-11-2017, 11:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,611
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1085 Post(s)
Liked: 544
Send a message via Yahoo to ChromeJob Send a message via Skype™ to ChromeJob
Quote:
Originally Posted by angryfoot View Post

Question: Is there any listing that shows what changes are made in each Firmware Upgrade? A link

in AVSFORUM or an outside URL would be nice if someone doesn't want to spell it all out.

Big Thanks!
Go to the Yamaha product page for your AVR, click downloads, click the details for firmware. Prepare to be disappointed, their descriptions are often opaque to the Nth degree. "Audio dropouts."

Addendum: with so many past firmware updates that yours included, you probably have many fixes incorporated fr incremental updates.
angryfoot likes this.

“Phil? Phil Connors?!”
Are ya new here? Please read FAQs and forum stickies. Like posts that help you. Don't ask a question and then disappear.
A: Yamaha RX-V775. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Samsung UN40ES6150, Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen.

Last edited by ChromeJob; 06-11-2017 at 12:00 PM.
ChromeJob is online now  
post #4098 of 4101 Old 06-12-2017, 08:07 PM
Senior Member
 
tyee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Just had an offer today for a hardly used A1030. I have currently the A860 which I got a few months ago. Should I just keep the 860 or go for the older 1030?

Just read this does not have HDMI 2. Is this correct or has a firmware update occurred?

Last edited by tyee; 06-12-2017 at 09:54 PM.
tyee is offline  
post #4099 of 4101 Old Today, 10:22 AM
Newbie
 
angryfoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Firmware Upgrades - what have they been for?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChromeJob View Post
Go to the Yamaha product page for your AVR, click downloads, click the details for firmware. Prepare to be disappointed, their descriptions are often opaque to the Nth degree. "Audio dropouts."

Addendum: with so many past firmware updates that yours included, you probably have many fixes incorporated fr incremental updates.
Thanks ChromeJob. The current v1.87 refers to Napster improvements. I was wondering how to find out what the prior firmware upgrades have been as well, since I have gone directly from 1.60 to 1.87 and I haven't seen any differences. Anyone know how I may find out what each previous firmware upgrade may have been for, or how to find out? RX-A3030.

Gracias. Arigato. Merci. Thanks. Danke.
angryfoot is offline  
post #4100 of 4101 Old Today, 12:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,611
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1085 Post(s)
Liked: 544
Send a message via Yahoo to ChromeJob Send a message via Skype™ to ChromeJob
Quote:
Originally Posted by angryfoot View Post
Thanks ChromeJob. The current v1.87 refers to Napster improvements. I was wondering how to find out what the prior firmware upgrades have been as well, since I have gone directly from 1.60 to 1.87 and I haven't seen any differences. Anyone know how I may find out what each previous firmware upgrade may have been for, or how to find out? RX-A3030.



Gracias. Arigato. Merci. Thanks. Danke.
Some companies, particularly software firms, will list the prior updates and fixes/enhancements in a release document (sometimes called README) along with the firmware. Yamaha doesn't appear to do so. I also have not seen them list prior firmware updates for review or download on their site.

Users may have posted details in this thread previously; you can search for it. If the topic had an owner who wanted to devote the time, s/he could update post #1 with details from each firmware update. I do that for a topic at the blu-ray.com forums (Costco special deals).

“Phil? Phil Connors?!”
Are ya new here? Please read FAQs and forum stickies. Like posts that help you. Don't ask a question and then disappear.
A: Yamaha RX-V775. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Samsung UN40ES6150, Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen.
ChromeJob is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Aventage Rxa 1030 Receiver , Yamaha Rxa2030bl Aventage Home Theater Receiver , Yamaha Rxa3030bl Aventage Home Theater Receiver



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off