The "Official" Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A1030, RX-A2030, RX-A3030 and CX-A5000/MX-A5000 Thread - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 2883 Old 09-13-2013, 08:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Mad Norseman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Land of 10,000 Taxes!
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitty8451 View Post

I am also surprised as I did the one review and still find the unit excellent even at it's current (street) price. I have not heard the Marantz SR8801, but upon reading up on the thread I can say the CX-A5000 that I bought stays cool at all times and has not had one single issue. Not knockin the Marantz but the Yamaha is deffinitly a viable option when looking for a good pre/pro.

Smitty
I've got the Marantz AV8801, and it does run hotter than expected (I've got a fan on it just to make sure it stays cool).
The Yamaha looks like a good surround processor too, in fact, I'd been bugging Yamaha for years to get into separates, but got tired waiting for them so pulled the trigger on the Marantz last January, and am very pleased with it.
I've always like Yamaha equipment (starting with the old CA-1000 integrated amp back in 1977!
Went from the RX-A1900 (a very nice AVR) to the Marantz/Emotiva XPR-5 set up and have been quite happy with the pairing.
I'm curious about the CX-A5000 though, so have also been watching this thread for more reports on it, but oddly there have been very few!

The Insane Pink Care Bear's Home Theater Set Up:

Marantz AV 8801 Processor, Emotiva XPR-5 Amplifier, Panasonic 65" ST30 Plasma, Yamaha BD-S2900 Blu-ray, Yamaha CDC-697 CD Player, Yamaha TT-500U Turntable, w/Signet TK5e, JBL ES100 Fronts, JBL LC2 Center, JBL ES30 Surrounds & 2 JBL ES250P Subwoofers
Mad Norseman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 2883 Old 09-13-2013, 08:52 AM
Senior Member
 
smitty8451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 55
I do wonder if it may be two things, lack of interest or no in store demo unit at dealers (my local area dealer does not have one yet) or because it is still relatively new to the market. I pre-ordered mine just to have it by the begining of August.biggrin.gif

Yamaha CX-A5000, ATI AT 2007 Amp (7X200W), ATI AT 2004 Amp (4X200W)
Klipsch RF 63's - Main, RB 61's - Front heights, RC-62 - Center, RS-62's - Surround, RS-52's - Rear Surround
2 Rythmik DS-1510 DIY Subwoofers (With PEQ600XLR3 Amp) each connected with Antimode 8033S-II
smitty8451 is offline  
post #543 of 2883 Old 09-13-2013, 09:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by SvtFoci View Post

So I'd have to move up to a 2030 or a 3030? I also have the Behringer MIC2200 for my subs equalization, so would I even benefit from the sub eq in the receiver?

The Parametric EQ in the Behringer will be more precise than in the A2030 or 3030 (much more control over the centre frequency of each filter). So with the Behringer, the sub EQ in the Yamaha becomes a don't care.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #544 of 2883 Old 09-13-2013, 12:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Redoryx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pickering,On
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Couple of questions.
I am looking to buy the 2030. How does this new YPAO compare to the Audessey calibration.
And, I have searched, but has there been any published revies of this years RX-A line?

GAMERTAG: ORYX
 

Redoryx is offline  
post #545 of 2883 Old 09-13-2013, 03:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitty8451 View Post

I am also surprised as I did the one review and still find the unit excellent even at it's current (street) price. I have not heard the Marantz SR8801, but upon reading up on the thread I can say the CX-A5000 that I bought stays cool at all times and has not had one single issue. Not knockin the Marantz but the Yamaha is deffinitly a viable option when looking for a good pre/pro.

Smitty

the Marantz 8801 has a LOT more buzz...even before it was released the thread was going like wildfire



Warren

Rm 1 Samsung 64F8500 Onkyo 5508 prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp Atlantic technology System 350 THX Ultra speakers
Rm 2 LG 47LE8500 Pioneer SC37 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 51E8000 Yamaha A2010 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Panasonic 50ST50 Onkyo 5009/906 Mirage Omni sat speaker system
turnne1 is offline  
post #546 of 2883 Old 09-13-2013, 04:31 PM
Member
 
ShakeMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone had any HDMI handshake issues with the A3030? I installed a new A3020 today, replacing my Onkyo, and I have HDMI issues galore (green screen, corrupted video, no video/sound). I was really impressed by the DSP on a Yamaha receiver I had years ago, and I've heard nothing but praises for the Cinema HD3 on the newest models. This HDMI deal has me gun-shy, however. I'm sending the A3020 back. I'm just trying to decide whether to replace it with another A3020 (maybe I just got a dud?) or change to the A3030 in hopes that a totally different video processor might keep lightning from striking twice. It took a whole day to set everything up, realize it was glitchy, and put the Onkyo back in again. Not fun. Any opinions? And thanks.
ShakeMan is offline  
post #547 of 2883 Old 09-13-2013, 05:39 PM
Senior Member
 
smitty8451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShakeMan View Post

Has anyone had any HDMI handshake issues with the A3030? I installed a new A3020 today, replacing my Onkyo, and I have HDMI issues galore (green screen, corrupted video, no video/sound). I was really impressed by the DSP on a Yamaha receiver I had years ago, and I've heard nothing but praises for the Cinema HD3 on the newest models. This HDMI deal has me gun-shy, however. I'm sending the A3020 back. I'm just trying to decide whether to replace it with another A3020 (maybe I just got a dud?) or change to the A3030 in hopes that a totally different video processor might keep lightning from striking twice. It took a whole day to set everything up, realize it was glitchy, and put the Onkyo back in again. Not fun. Any opinions? And thanks.

I think you may be experiencing an HDMI handshake issue. I would first start off by turning OFF HDMI CEC on the Yamaha. If that does not work, turn off ARC on the Yamaha if you are not using it, and last but not least, turn off video processing on the Yamaha. One thing I do know is if you have a 1080I/P signal feeding the Yamaha there is no reason to use video up converting/processing as the signal is digital and will be as good as it gets coming from the source device (Dish/DIRECTV boxes excluded as they pretty much have a bad pic straight from the box). I have 2 RX-A3010 and a CX-A5000 with the above mentioned settings OFF and have not seen nary a green screen. You can also try connecting one source device at a time and turn video processing ON and see which one is causing the issue. Yours is not the first time I have heard of a "Green Screen" issue so I don't believe it is a Yamaha issue, at least not in my experience.

Sincerely

Smitty

Yamaha CX-A5000, ATI AT 2007 Amp (7X200W), ATI AT 2004 Amp (4X200W)
Klipsch RF 63's - Main, RB 61's - Front heights, RC-62 - Center, RS-62's - Surround, RS-52's - Rear Surround
2 Rythmik DS-1510 DIY Subwoofers (With PEQ600XLR3 Amp) each connected with Antimode 8033S-II
smitty8451 is offline  
post #548 of 2883 Old 09-13-2013, 06:47 PM
Member
 
ShakeMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, Smitty. I had already tried turning the ARC off (never use it anyway). I also switched the CEC off and went through each input. My BD player and PS3 never would come through, and the Roku was just a pretty Christmas green the whole time. The Dish receiver worked, but it kept popping up HDCP messages onscreen. At this point, I'm back to my Onkyo and working fine again, albeit without any nice DSP audio. I'm sending the 3020 back and trying to decide whether to get another 3020 (and hope this one was just sucky) or try the 3030. The Vida chip really helped with the block noise on Dish channels, and I notice that the 3030 doesn't have any type of noise reduction functionality. That's a bummer. Then again, totally different processor, so maybe I wouldn't have any HDMI issues. Thanks again for the post.
ShakeMan is offline  
post #549 of 2883 Old 09-13-2013, 07:00 PM
Senior Member
 
smitty8451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Did you try turning video processing off? It's in the setup menu and kinda hard to find. Also a long shot but take the HDMI cable from the one device that worked and use that cable on one of the devices that didn't. I have read in other forums that some none high bandwidth/faulty cables can cause the issue your describing.

Yamaha CX-A5000, ATI AT 2007 Amp (7X200W), ATI AT 2004 Amp (4X200W)
Klipsch RF 63's - Main, RB 61's - Front heights, RC-62 - Center, RS-62's - Surround, RS-52's - Rear Surround
2 Rythmik DS-1510 DIY Subwoofers (With PEQ600XLR3 Amp) each connected with Antimode 8033S-II
smitty8451 is offline  
post #550 of 2883 Old 09-13-2013, 07:05 PM
Senior Member
 
smitty8451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 55
After re-reading your thread, error messages regarding HDCP point to an HDMI cable issue. The recommended length for HDMI cables is 6 feet, shorter or longer cables can cause issues. I had a 4' cable that would not work one time, changed it to a 6' and all went well. Just some general troubleshooting suggestions and I wish you the best in your endevours.

Yamaha CX-A5000, ATI AT 2007 Amp (7X200W), ATI AT 2004 Amp (4X200W)
Klipsch RF 63's - Main, RB 61's - Front heights, RC-62 - Center, RS-62's - Surround, RS-52's - Rear Surround
2 Rythmik DS-1510 DIY Subwoofers (With PEQ600XLR3 Amp) each connected with Antimode 8033S-II
smitty8451 is offline  
post #551 of 2883 Old 09-14-2013, 06:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Shakeman, I've not had any HDMI handshake issues with my CX-A5000 (or other Yamana gear, for that matter). You don't mention what the other components in your system (such as TV/monitor). You may be experiencing compatibility issues between the units. Also, as Smitty suggested, I would try changing the HDMI cables.

BTW, just as a data point, when I replaced my RX-Z11 with the CX-A5000 I switched out all of my HDMI cables to the Monoprice RedMere cables. These vary from 3ft to 30ft in length and are all working great.
bwillcox is offline  
post #552 of 2883 Old 09-14-2013, 09:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Webmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Any updates on up-coming reviews? :-D
Webmonkey is offline  
post #553 of 2883 Old 09-14-2013, 09:35 AM
Senior Member
 
smitty8451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post

Shakeman, I've not had any HDMI handshake issues with my CX-A5000 (or other Yamana gear, for that matter). You don't mention what the other components in your system (such as TV/monitor). You may be experiencing compatibility issues between the units. Also, as Smitty suggested, I would try changing the HDMI cables.

BTW, just as a data point, when I replaced my RX-Z11 with the CX-A5000 I switched out all of my HDMI cables to the Monoprice RedMere cables. These vary from 3ft to 30ft in length and are all working great.

Bwillcox

Do those new Redmere cables have the error correcting chips on both ends of the cable? I had always wondered how well they worked as I am thinking of replacing my cables and going with those. I had read that with the error correcting tech they use that cable length is no longer an issue and am looking at cleaning up my spaghetti mess of cables behind my racks.biggrin.gif

Yamaha CX-A5000, ATI AT 2007 Amp (7X200W), ATI AT 2004 Amp (4X200W)
Klipsch RF 63's - Main, RB 61's - Front heights, RC-62 - Center, RS-62's - Surround, RS-52's - Rear Surround
2 Rythmik DS-1510 DIY Subwoofers (With PEQ600XLR3 Amp) each connected with Antimode 8033S-II
smitty8451 is offline  
post #554 of 2883 Old 09-14-2013, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Webmonkey View Post

Any updates on up-coming reviews? :-D

Definitely not from me. Yamaha Canada was so angry because I mentioned that the power amp won't be able to do more than approx 65 wpc RMS all channel driven at full spectrum, they are boycotting me from doing a review of their product. rolleyes.gif

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #555 of 2883 Old 09-14-2013, 11:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
Webmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post

Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Definitely not from me. Yamaha Canada was so angry because I mentioned that the power amp won't be able to do more than approx 65 wpc RMS all channel driven at full spectrum, they are boycotting me from doing a review of their product. rolleyes.gif

lol - I am happy that I will pair the CX-A5000 with a Sunfire - if I decide to get a CX-A5000 :-D
Webmonkey is offline  
post #556 of 2883 Old 09-14-2013, 04:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post

Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Definitely not from me. Yamaha Canada was so angry because I mentioned that the power amp won't be able to do more than approx 65 wpc RMS all channel driven at full spectrum, they are boycotting me from doing a review of their product. rolleyes.gif

probably because its true...LOL

I seriously doubt that amp has the chops to compete well...and may only give you a little more than the a3030 can...which I assume will bench like Yamaha's 3xxx receivers of the past few years at between 60-65 watts per channel with 5 channels driven





Warren
David Susilo likes this.

Rm 1 Samsung 64F8500 Onkyo 5508 prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp Atlantic technology System 350 THX Ultra speakers
Rm 2 LG 47LE8500 Pioneer SC37 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 51E8000 Yamaha A2010 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Panasonic 50ST50 Onkyo 5009/906 Mirage Omni sat speaker system
turnne1 is offline  
post #557 of 2883 Old 09-14-2013, 04:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Yup, it's petty for any company wanting to hide the truth from their consumers. Oooh, I have to be careful, the "Yamaha Canada Police" may be watching this post (that's what he refers himself as).

The irony is that none of my post badmouth Yamaha, mostly praising them, even. The only bad "post" is when I reveal the truth about the power amp. Oh well. smile.gif

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #558 of 2883 Old 09-15-2013, 06:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitty8451 View Post

Bwillcox

Do those new Redmere cables have the error correcting chips on both ends of the cable? I had always wondered how well they worked as I am thinking of replacing my cables and going with those. I had read that with the error correcting tech they use that cable length is no longer an issue and am looking at cleaning up my spaghetti mess of cables behind my racks.biggrin.gif

I'm not sure (I haven't taken one apart), but it appears that the chip is in only one end (the destination end as I recall) as that end is visibly larger than the other. I'm no expert on them, but I thought that the chip was used to reshape the signal, not for error correction. I do believe that the circuit in the cable has to be tuned to the length of the cable.

I wasn't having HDMI issues with my previous cables but wanted to clean up the mess I had. I really like the fact that the RedMere cables are alot thinner (esp the shorter ones) and thus allow for neater and more secure cable runs.
bwillcox is offline  
post #559 of 2883 Old 09-15-2013, 07:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 325
You are correct, the chip is only at the receiving end of the cable, not both ends.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #560 of 2883 Old 09-15-2013, 01:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Mad Norseman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Land of 10,000 Taxes!
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post

Yup, it's petty for any company wanting to hide the truth from their consumers. Oooh, I have to be careful, the "Yamaha Canada Police" may be watching this post (that's what he refers himself as).

The irony is that none of my post badmouth Yamaha, mostly praising them, even. The only bad "post" is when I reveal the truth about the power amp. Oh well. smile.gif

I've always liked Yamaha for their pre-amp/processing capabilities...not so much for their (compared to other manufacturers) weak amplifier sections...
Best to get the CX-A5000, but pair it with an amp that actually knows its business!

The Insane Pink Care Bear's Home Theater Set Up:

Marantz AV 8801 Processor, Emotiva XPR-5 Amplifier, Panasonic 65" ST30 Plasma, Yamaha BD-S2900 Blu-ray, Yamaha CDC-697 CD Player, Yamaha TT-500U Turntable, w/Signet TK5e, JBL ES100 Fronts, JBL LC2 Center, JBL ES30 Surrounds & 2 JBL ES250P Subwoofers
Mad Norseman is offline  
post #561 of 2883 Old 09-15-2013, 03:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 325
I'm truly a fan of their DSP programmes. i used to own the original DSP-A1 and a whole slew of Yamaha effects during my recording studio period of my life. They used to make truly powerful amps too. Unfortunately they are no longer available frown.gif

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #562 of 2883 Old 09-16-2013, 09:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I have quite powerful amps in my setup with my CX-A5000: an Outlaw Audio 7900 for the 7 main + surround channels and 4 Outlaw Audio 2200 Monoblock amps for the presence channels. However, I'm not so sure that I would say I that I need this much power. Since I also have two powered sub woofers (Def Tech Trinity Sighatures) with 2000 watt amps, each of my main and surround speakers (Def Tech BP8080STs) have 455 watt powered subwoofers in them, and my center channel (also Def Tech) has a 300 watt powered subwoofer. Probably a 'mere' 65 watts/channel from my amps would be just fine. Not sure what else might degrade (if anything), but I doubt that I'd be for want of sufficient power. wink.gif
bwillcox is offline  
post #563 of 2883 Old 09-20-2013, 07:39 AM
Newbie
 
danipier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi first post here on AVS forum,

Need advice for a Yamaha receiver. I live in Montreal in a condo and i'm interested at the Yamaha Aventage RX-A3030.
For a moderated listening, is the receiver RX-A3030 is enough or too much powerful.
I do not intend to mount the volume to maximum.
Is the combo CX-A5000/MX-A5000 is a good choice or it is too much for my limited space in the Condominium.

What i am looking for is a receiver that is good for music on 2 channels and is good also for movies, television on a 5.1. audio system.
60% will be for Music and 40% Movies, tv.

Thanks for helping me on my decision and sorry if i make some mistakes on my english.
danipier is offline  
post #564 of 2883 Old 09-20-2013, 08:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 325
In terms of power even the 1030 is enough for a condo (unless your condo is the size of the condo I used to live in Toronto -- 2100 sq ft)
Mad Norseman likes this.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #565 of 2883 Old 09-20-2013, 08:43 AM
Newbie
 
danipier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post

In terms of power even the 1030 is enough for a condo (unless your condo is the size of the condo I used to live in Toronto -- 2100 sq ft)

OK

But in terms of sound quality of the DACS on the RX-A3030.

Do i will hear a better sound with the RX-3030 vs RX-1030.

Condo where i live is 1100 Square/feet

Thanks David
danipier is offline  
post #566 of 2883 Old 09-20-2013, 08:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Whether you can hear the difference, absolutely. Whether it's worth the money is subjective. I'd go for the 3030 if the budget permits, IMHO.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #567 of 2883 Old 09-21-2013, 05:11 PM
Senior Member
 
coli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by danipier View Post

Hi first post here on AVS forum,

Need advice for a Yamaha receiver. I live in Montreal in a condo and i'm interested at the Yamaha Aventage RX-A3030.
For a moderated listening, is the receiver RX-A3030 is enough or too much powerful.
I do not intend to mount the volume to maximum.
Is the combo CX-A5000/MX-A5000 is a good choice or it is too much for my limited space in the Condominium.

What i am looking for is a receiver that is good for music on 2 channels and is good also for movies, television on a 5.1. audio system.
60% will be for Music and 40% Movies, tv.

Thanks for helping me on my decision and sorry if i make some mistakes on my english.

Go for something with XT32 instead (or maybe Dirac), YPAO is a bad joke really.
coli is offline  
post #568 of 2883 Old 09-21-2013, 05:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 11,791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 821
Quote:
Originally Posted by coli View Post

Go for something with XT32 instead (or maybe Dirac), YPAO is a bad joke really.
Disgruntled, are we? rolleyes.gif

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #569 of 2883 Old 09-21-2013, 05:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by coli View Post

Go for something with XT32 instead (or maybe Dirac), YPAO is a bad joke really.

As my kid used to say: "YOU're a joke!" wink.gif. It's clear you never tried the latest iteration of YPAO. rolleyes.gif

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #570 of 2883 Old 09-23-2013, 04:03 AM
Newbie
 
paul78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, Anyone change 3020 to 3030 how's sound different from DAC.? Is it ok to change to 3030 or not?
paul78 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Aventage Rxa 1030 Receiver , Yamaha Rxa2030bl Aventage Home Theater Receiver , Yamaha Rxa3030bl Aventage Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off