The "Official" Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A1030, RX-A2030, RX-A3030 and CX-A5000/MX-A5000 Thread - Page 28 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #811 of 2884 Old 11-09-2013, 04:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by nucky View Post

You are correct that's exactly what I don't like.

I am curious as well

were you running running music in 2 channel in "straight" mode or were you using one of the DSP modes and listening to it matrixed?

I dont ever listen to music in anything other than discrete channels.....so unless its SACD its 2 channel for me

That being said, that is where I find the ultra high end brands shine...not so much for HT applications


Warren

Rm 1 Samsung 64F8500 Onkyo 5508 prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp Atlantic technology System 350 THX Ultra speakers
Rm 2 LG 47LE8500 Pioneer SC37 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 51E8000 Yamaha A2010 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Panasonic 50ST50 Onkyo 5009/906 Mirage Omni sat speaker system
turnne1 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 2884 Old 11-09-2013, 10:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post

Whoa boys with toys, I feel naked wink.gif

So does the CX-5000 and RX-A3030 sound similar?

Gosh, this is really hard for me to answer. Given the differences in the rooms that they are in and the speakers in those rooms it's hard to make a fair comparison. My living room is quite a bit larger than the den (20x22x10 feet vs. 12x14x8 feet) and the speakers differ considerably (main speakers in living room are Def Techs and in the Den I have all NHTs).

Add to that the fact that the power amps in the living room have a lot more punch than the RX-A3030. I have an Outlaw Audio 7900 300 wpc amp for the seven main channels and four Outlaw Audio 2200 200 watt amps for the presence channels. Additionally the 5 Def Tech speakers have builtin powered subwoofers (4 BP-8080STs and a CS-8080HD center) and my two Def Tech Trinity Signature subs have builtin 2000 watt amps.

All of these differences make it hard for me to make a fair comparison. Both systems sound very good to me, but I doubt I'd ever mistake which room I was listening to quality source material in. biggrin.gif


Bob
bwillcox is online now  
post #813 of 2884 Old 11-09-2013, 11:46 PM
Member
 
BamaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post

Gosh, this is really hard for me to answer. Given the differences in the rooms that they are in and the speakers in those rooms it's hard to make a fair comparison. My living room is quite a bit larger than the den (20x22x10 feet vs. 12x14x8 feet) and the speakers differ considerably (main speakers in living room are Def Techs and in the Den I have all NHTs).

Add to that the fact that the power amps in the living room have a lot more punch than the RX-A3030. I have an Outlaw Audio 7900 300 wpc amp for the seven main channels and four Outlaw Audio 2200 200 watt amps for the presence channels. Additionally the 5 Def Tech speakers have builtin powered subwoofers (4 BP-8080STs and a CS-8080HD center) and my two Def Tech Trinity Signature subs have builtin 2000 watt amps.

All of these differences make it hard for me to make a fair comparison. Both systems sound very good to me, but I doubt I'd ever mistake which room I was listening to quality source material in. biggrin.gif


Bob

Bob,
How do you like your CS-8080HD? I am looking at possibly purchasing one. I just ordered a CX-A5000/MX-A5000 & a Parasound A 31 combination and my fronts are Def Tech BP7001SC's.
BamaDave is offline  
post #814 of 2884 Old 11-10-2013, 07:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by BamaDave View Post

Bob,
How do you like your CS-8080HD? I am looking at possibly purchasing one. I just ordered a CX-A5000/MX-A5000 & a Parasound A 31 combination and my fronts are Def Tech BP7001SC's.

I really like it. This is the first time I've owned a center channel speaker with a powered subwoofer built into it and wasn't sure what that would sound like. But it didn't take me long to decide that I like it. I find that having the low frequency response in the center channel improves dialog in movies. The people sound more realistic to me...more like they're there.
bwillcox is online now  
post #815 of 2884 Old 11-10-2013, 10:17 AM
Newbie
 
Nival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by TKO1 View Post

As to whether or not Audyssey likes to have a 1.5/2.0kHz hole as their default target curve I have no idea.
Here: https://audyssey.zendesk.com/entries/410117-Midrange-Compensation

(I dont' say it's a good thing, I say it's THEIR explanation for that wink.gif)
Nival is offline  
post #816 of 2884 Old 11-10-2013, 12:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kiwi2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nival View Post

Here: https://audyssey.zendesk.com/entries/410117-Midrange-Compensation

(I dont' say it's a good thing, I say it's THEIR explanation for that wink.gif)

That Chris Kyriakakis comes across like an argent "I know what's best for you" know-all type.

I think I will stick with Yamaha.
TKO1 likes this.
kiwi2 is offline  
post #817 of 2884 Old 11-11-2013, 04:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post

Gosh, this is really hard for me to answer. Given the differences in the rooms that they are in and the speakers in those rooms it's hard to make a fair comparison. My living room is quite a bit larger than the den (20x22x10 feet vs. 12x14x8 feet) and the speakers differ considerably (main speakers in living room are Def Techs and in the Den I have all NHTs).

Add to that the fact that the power amps in the living room have a lot more punch than the RX-A3030. I have an Outlaw Audio 7900 300 wpc amp for the seven main channels and four Outlaw Audio 2200 200 watt amps for the presence channels. Additionally the 5 Def Tech speakers have builtin powered subwoofers (4 BP-8080STs and a CS-8080HD center) and my two Def Tech Trinity Signature subs have builtin 2000 watt amps.

All of these differences make it hard for me to make a fair comparison. Both systems sound very good to me, but I doubt I'd ever mistake which room I was listening to quality source material in. biggrin.gif


Bob

I would be curios if you ever switched the 3030 and use it as a pre /pro with your Outlaw and could tell any differences


Warren

Rm 1 Samsung 64F8500 Onkyo 5508 prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp Atlantic technology System 350 THX Ultra speakers
Rm 2 LG 47LE8500 Pioneer SC37 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 51E8000 Yamaha A2010 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Panasonic 50ST50 Onkyo 5009/906 Mirage Omni sat speaker system
turnne1 is online now  
post #818 of 2884 Old 11-11-2013, 05:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
TKO1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Canada's capital city.
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nival View Post

Here: https://audyssey.zendesk.com/entries/410117-Midrange-Compensation

(I dont' say it's a good thing, I say it's THEIR explanation for that wink.gif)

Got ya. That might have been a problem years ago with poor speaker design but with new technologies like waveguides and high order tweeter to midrange crossovers it doesn't make any sense with good engineered speakers. My speakers crossover at 3kHz for example.

Cheers.
TKO1 is offline  
post #819 of 2884 Old 11-11-2013, 05:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by turnne1 View Post

I would be curios if you ever switched the 3030 and use it as a pre /pro with your Outlaw and could tell any differences


Warren

Not likely I'll ever do that. These things just aren't that much fun to move around and get all connected and set up. eek.gif
bwillcox is online now  
post #820 of 2884 Old 11-11-2013, 04:41 PM
Member
 
THX Mode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hi Folks, a question; on my CX-A5000, I have 2 subwoofers setup in front&rear configuration. I see that the second subwoofer being on is dependant on the surround program. Is there any way I can have it on by default?
THX Mode is offline  
post #821 of 2884 Old 11-11-2013, 04:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
TKO1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Canada's capital city.
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by THX Mode View Post

Hi Folks, a question; on my CX-A5000, I have 2 subwoofers setup in front&rear configuration. I see that the second subwoofer being on is dependant on the surround program. Is there any way I can have it on by default?

It shouldn't be dependant upon that unless there is something wrong with your speaker settings or channel levels/triggers. Check to see what all the settings are and let us know. Also, just try switching the subwoofers to a different configuration than front & rear (i.e. Left + Right, or Monaural 2) to see if that changes anything.

Cheers.
TKO1 is offline  
post #822 of 2884 Old 11-11-2013, 06:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Mad Norseman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Land of 10,000 Taxes!
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by THX Mode View Post

Hi Folks, a question; on my CX-A5000, I have 2 subwoofers setup in front&rear configuration. I see that the second subwoofer being on is dependant on the surround program. Is there any way I can have it on by default?
Can you re-set it up in the speaker menu as a Left/Right configuration instead?
If Front/Rear, it may only send low frequency signals intended for the "small" surround channel speakers to the "rear" subwoofer(?).

The Insane Pink Care Bear's Home Theater Set Up:

Marantz AV 8801 Processor, Emotiva XPR-5 Amplifier, Panasonic 65" ST30 Plasma, Yamaha BD-S2900 Blu-ray, Yamaha CDC-697 CD Player, Yamaha TT-500U Turntable, w/Signet TK5e, JBL ES100 Fronts, JBL LC2 Center, JBL ES30 Surrounds & 2 JBL ES250P Subwoofers
Mad Norseman is offline  
post #823 of 2884 Old 11-11-2013, 07:25 PM
Member
 
BamaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post

I really like it. This is the first time I've owned a center channel speaker with a powered subwoofer built into it and wasn't sure what that would sound like. But it didn't take me long to decide that I like it. I find that having the low frequency response in the center channel improves dialog in movies. The people sound more realistic to me...more like they're there.

Thanks Bob the CS-8080HD is next on my list!
BamaDave is offline  
post #824 of 2884 Old 11-12-2013, 02:25 AM
Member
 
THX Mode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hi Guys, thanks for the replies. I went back and verified the config. So on music, AirPlay, I hit info on "Music Video" I can see 11 channels plus SW1 highlighted yellow, SW2 is gray. If I switch to "11 channel stereo", I then see all 11 channels plus SW1 and SW2 in yellow when I hit info.
THX Mode is offline  
post #825 of 2884 Old 11-12-2013, 04:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post

Not likely I'll ever do that. These things just aren't that much fun to move around and get all connected and set up. eek.gif

agreed...LOL
I was just wondering if one could hear any difference in the two...in the same setting



Warren

Rm 1 Samsung 64F8500 Onkyo 5508 prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp Atlantic technology System 350 THX Ultra speakers
Rm 2 LG 47LE8500 Pioneer SC37 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 51E8000 Yamaha A2010 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Panasonic 50ST50 Onkyo 5009/906 Mirage Omni sat speaker system
turnne1 is online now  
post #826 of 2884 Old 11-12-2013, 05:30 PM
Senior Member
 
sdv5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Do Yamaha receivers mute the first second or two of the incoming digital audio signal until they can lock onto the signal properly? For example, when you listen to CDs over HDMI or coaxial digital input, are tracks played in their entirety or do you get the first second or two chopped off? Another scenario would be a media streamer like Squeezebox connected over coaxial or optical digital input. Do you get the first second of every track chopped off?

Many thanks for your feedback. I have found that far too many brands have this problem (Harman Kardon, NuForce, Anthem, Sherbourn, Cambridge Audio), and it's too much of a distraction once you realize that you can never hear the songs in their entirety. Surprisingly, low cost mainstream models (e.g., Denon, Panasonic) are immune to this problem. How about Yamaha?

I am particularly interested in RX-A830 to use as a pre-pro; however, there is no thread dedicated to this model. I am hoping an owner of 1030, 2030, or 3030 would be able to chime in.
sdv5 is offline  
post #827 of 2884 Old 11-12-2013, 07:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Mad Norseman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Land of 10,000 Taxes!
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdv5 View Post

Do Yamaha receivers mute the first second or two of the incoming digital audio signal until they can lock onto the signal properly? For example, when you listen to CDs over HDMI or coaxial digital input, are tracks played in their entirety or do you get the first second or two chopped off? Another scenario would be a media streamer like Squeezebox connected over coaxial or optical digital input. Do you get the first second of every track chopped off?

Many thanks for your feedback. I have found that far too many brands have this problem (Harman Kardon, NuForce, Anthem, Sherbourn, Cambridge Audio), and it's too much of a distraction once you realize that you can never hear the songs in their entirety. Surprisingly, low cost mainstream models (e.g., Denon, Panasonic) are immune to this problem. How about Yamaha?

I am particularly interested in RX-A830 to use as a pre-pro; however, there is no thread dedicated to this model. I am hoping an owner of 1030, 2030, or 3030 would be able to chime in.
For what its worth, I had (not too long ago!) a Yamaha RX-V1900 AVR (that was a very nice AVR BTW...), that had no such problem when sourcing the CD player's input (also a Yamaha).
I would find the problem you're describing of missing a second or so off the first of each track a real deal-breaker, no one should have to put up with that!

The Insane Pink Care Bear's Home Theater Set Up:

Marantz AV 8801 Processor, Emotiva XPR-5 Amplifier, Panasonic 65" ST30 Plasma, Yamaha BD-S2900 Blu-ray, Yamaha CDC-697 CD Player, Yamaha TT-500U Turntable, w/Signet TK5e, JBL ES100 Fronts, JBL LC2 Center, JBL ES30 Surrounds & 2 JBL ES250P Subwoofers
Mad Norseman is offline  
post #828 of 2884 Old 11-12-2013, 07:39 PM
Senior Member
 
smitty8451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Norseman View Post

For what its worth, I had (not too long ago!) a Yamaha RX-V1900 AVR (that was a very nice AVR BTW...), that had no such problem when sourcing the CD player's input (also a Yamaha).
I would find the problem you're describing of missing a second or so off the first of each track a real deal-breaker, no one should have to put up with that!

I own 2 RX-A3010's and a CX-A5000 and do not experience any startup delay when playing back any audio formats. I have read in other threads that some of those described issues were rectified by firmware updates either in the source unit or receiver in question.smile.gif

Yamaha CX-A5000, ATI AT 2007 Amp (7X200W), ATI AT 2004 Amp (4X200W)
Klipsch RF 63's - Main, RB 61's - Front heights, RC-62 - Center, RS-62's - Surround, RS-52's - Rear Surround
2 Rythmik DS-1510 DIY Subwoofers (With PEQ600XLR3 Amp) each connected with Antimode 8033S-II
smitty8451 is offline  
post #829 of 2884 Old 11-13-2013, 02:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
TKO1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Canada's capital city.
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitty8451 View Post

I own 2 RX-A3010's and a CX-A5000 and do not experience any startup delay when playing back any audio formats. I have read in other threads that some of those described issues were rectified by firmware updates either in the source unit or receiver in question.smile.gif

No issues whatsoever with any of my media types (Redbook CD, DVD-A, SACD, USB, HDMI) on my CX-A5000.

Cheers.
TKO1 is offline  
post #830 of 2884 Old 11-13-2013, 05:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdv5 View Post

Do Yamaha receivers mute the first second or two of the incoming digital audio signal until they can lock onto the signal properly? For example, when you listen to CDs over HDMI or coaxial digital input, are tracks played in their entirety or do you get the first second or two chopped off? Another scenario would be a media streamer like Squeezebox connected over coaxial or optical digital input. Do you get the first second of every track chopped off?

Many thanks for your feedback. I have found that far too many brands have this problem (Harman Kardon, NuForce, Anthem, Sherbourn, Cambridge Audio), and it's too much of a distraction once you realize that you can never hear the songs in their entirety. Surprisingly, low cost mainstream models (e.g., Denon, Panasonic) are immune to this problem. How about Yamaha?

I am particularly interested in RX-A830 to use as a pre-pro; however, there is no thread dedicated to this model. I am hoping an owner of 1030, 2030, or 3030 would be able to chime in.

Just to chime in here with a me-too: I've not noticed this on any of the Yamaha receivers or amplifiers that I've owned over the years. These have ranged from the DSP-A3090 many years ago to my current crop of Aventage products (RX-A720, RX-A1030, RX-A2030, RX-A3030, & CX-A5000).
bwillcox is online now  
post #831 of 2884 Old 11-15-2013, 06:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Spotify Connect, where are you?!

2 months since the anouncement (and live demo) now. I understand it already works on Pioneer AVRs that have been upgraded. Anyone "in the know" have any idea?
jong1 is offline  
post #832 of 2884 Old 11-15-2013, 08:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Redoryx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pickering,On
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Tonight, after a month of waiting, I have finally setup my 2030. What a difference between it and the RX-V1800 I was running. The YPAO is so much more intuitive and customizable. My new speakers sound fantastic. Better GUI, and easy to navigate menus.

The only issue I have come across so far is AIRPLAY.
My iPad does not show the airplay icon when playing music, but will show it for videos. .????
The only way to play music is to start a video and then switch it back to the music. Anyone else have this issue?
I will be updating the firmware tomorrow to see I'd that remedies my problem.

GAMERTAG: ORYX
 

Redoryx is offline  
post #833 of 2884 Old 11-16-2013, 05:42 AM
Member
 
Civik99si's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redoryx View Post

Tonight, after a month of waiting, I have finally setup my 2030. What a difference between it and the RX-V1800 I was running. The YPAO is so much more intuitive and customizable. My new speakers sound fantastic. Better GUI, and easy to navigate menus.

The only issue I have come across so far is AIRPLAY.
My iPad does not show the airplay icon when playing music, but will show it for videos. .????
The only way to play music is to start a video and then switch it back to the music. Anyone else have this issue?
I will be updating the firmware tomorrow to see I'd that remedies my problem.

Redoryx, when you say the difference between your RX-V1800 and 2030 was big, are you referring more to ease of use/setup/features, or sound (or both)? Were you running the RX-V1800 with your new speakers?

Like you, I have an older Yamaha (RX-V1700) and am curious to know if the newer Yamaha units will make much of a difference in sound.
Civik99si is offline  
post #834 of 2884 Old 11-16-2013, 07:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 11,793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 821
Bond 007 is online now  
post #835 of 2884 Old 11-16-2013, 08:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Redoryx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pickering,On
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Civik, yes to all of the things mentioned. I was using the speakers with the 1800. I think the biggest difference is in the YPAO. As I do not have any other calibration equipment, the newer YPAO has done a much better job af analyzing my room. With the 1800, l could not adjust the sub level as much, and the readings were harder to understand. Now, after running it 5 times last night, the subs are dialed in at -.5db. Pretty great considering what I was dealing with before. The GUI is leaps and bounds over anything the 1800 has.
Do not get me wrong though the 1800 is a very capable AVR, that I have used and loved for 6 yrs.
funny thing too, YPAO set my LCR to all large ( which they are) with a crossover at 40hz! The surrounds were large as we'll with a 60hz crossover. I have since reset them to small and an 80hz. My new PSB's sing

GAMERTAG: ORYX
 

Redoryx is offline  
post #836 of 2884 Old 11-16-2013, 09:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Mad Norseman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Land of 10,000 Taxes!
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redoryx View Post

Tonight, after a month of waiting, I have finally setup my 2030. What a difference between it and the RX-V1800 I was running. The YPAO is so much more intuitive and customizable. My new speakers sound fantastic. Better GUI, and easy to navigate menus.

The only issue I have come across so far is AIRPLAY.
My iPad does not show the airplay icon when playing music, but will show it for videos. .????
The only way to play music is to start a video and then switch it back to the music. Anyone else have this issue?
I will be updating the firmware tomorrow to see I'd that remedies my problem.
But how can you really tell that the A2030 was the difference, and not your "new speakers"?
To tell for sure I'd think that you'd need to only change one part of the system at a time...rolleyes.gif

The Insane Pink Care Bear's Home Theater Set Up:

Marantz AV 8801 Processor, Emotiva XPR-5 Amplifier, Panasonic 65" ST30 Plasma, Yamaha BD-S2900 Blu-ray, Yamaha CDC-697 CD Player, Yamaha TT-500U Turntable, w/Signet TK5e, JBL ES100 Fronts, JBL LC2 Center, JBL ES30 Surrounds & 2 JBL ES250P Subwoofers
Mad Norseman is offline  
post #837 of 2884 Old 11-16-2013, 10:23 AM
Member
 
Civik99si's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Red, glad to hear you like the sound of the 2030 compared to the 1800. Seems like the few who have posted are happy with xx30/5000 purchase.
Civik99si is offline  
post #838 of 2884 Old 11-16-2013, 11:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Redoryx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pickering,On
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Norseman View Post

But how can you really tell that the A2030 was the difference, and not your "new speakers"?
To tell for sure I'd think that you'd need to only change one part of the system at a time...rolleyes.gif

I ended up getting a new package in early mid October. Set everything up except the AVR. I was having HDMI handshake issues and was waiting on new cables and adapters. I did set up all my speakers, ran YPAO on the 1800 and was enjoying them. Was using that setup for about 1 month.
Since setting up the 2030, the speakers have a whole new dimension. Hard to really out into words, but my ears are really happy:D
So in essence, my guess is the amp.

GAMERTAG: ORYX
 

Redoryx is offline  
post #839 of 2884 Old 11-16-2013, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 142
If the speakers are the same then most of the difference is likely the setup (new YPAO), and an 1800 could probably be made to sound very similar with careful setup. Of course that's what I'd like to believe, since I have no plans to change my 1800 at the moment smile.gif.
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
post #840 of 2884 Old 11-16-2013, 01:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Mad Norseman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Land of 10,000 Taxes!
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redoryx View Post

I ended up getting a new package in early mid October. Set everything up except the AVR. I was having HDMI handshake issues and was waiting on new cables and adapters. I did set up all my speakers, ran YPAO on the 1800 and was enjoying them. Was using that setup for about 1 month.
Since setting up the 2030, the speakers have a whole new dimension. Hard to really out into words, but my ears are really happy:D
So in essence, my guess is the amp.
That makes more sense then.
I had an RX-V1900 before, that I thought was a very nice AVR (and it was), so was interested in your take on this.
(I'm running a Marantz AV8801 surround pre-pro now with Audyssey XT32 & Sub EQ, but think the new versions of YPAO are nearly as effective).

The Insane Pink Care Bear's Home Theater Set Up:

Marantz AV 8801 Processor, Emotiva XPR-5 Amplifier, Panasonic 65" ST30 Plasma, Yamaha BD-S2900 Blu-ray, Yamaha CDC-697 CD Player, Yamaha TT-500U Turntable, w/Signet TK5e, JBL ES100 Fronts, JBL LC2 Center, JBL ES30 Surrounds & 2 JBL ES250P Subwoofers
Mad Norseman is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Aventage Rxa 1030 Receiver , Yamaha Rxa2030bl Aventage Home Theater Receiver , Yamaha Rxa3030bl Aventage Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off