The "Official" Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A1030, RX-A2030, RX-A3030 and CX-A5000/MX-A5000 Thread - Page 48 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1411 of 3200 Old 02-10-2014, 04:49 PM
Member
 
dm465531's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just came from theMarantz AV7005 and I must say the ease of use and all of the features the CXA-5000 provides make for a very enjoyable experience. For movies this pre sounds amazing like wise with music. I watched a little bit of Rush and the separationseparation between the channels was great. YPAO is equally amazing and easy to use. It was also much quicker than audessey. I am very happy with this purchase and would recommend any one sitting on the fence to get one.
liltalkm likes this.
dm465531 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1412 of 3200 Old 02-10-2014, 10:41 PM
Senior Member
 
jake51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My 2030 has serious HDMI handshake problems with Apple TV
The cable is fine and has worked with all other receivers (I've had Pioneer and Denon)
Is this a common problem with Yamaha and Apple TV?
Is there a fix?
jake51 is offline  
post #1413 of 3200 Old 02-10-2014, 11:10 PM
Member
 
boxerfan88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11

Hi folks, on the 3030 while playing FLAC files (16/44) how large a sonic difference do you find between "STRAIGHT" mode vs. "Pure Direct" mode?


RX-A3030 | Usher MD2 + Klipsch RB51 | Sony BDP-S5100 | HTPC
Zone 2 | Heco Victa 702
Zone 3 | Audiolab 8000A | Rogers LS6a
boxerfan88 is offline  
post #1414 of 3200 Old 02-11-2014, 03:21 AM
Senior Member
 
dryasanne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NOrWAY
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Just get myself a 2030

The difference from my marantz 5006 is immensevily wast, why didnt I buy this earlier ??

There are some newebi q I dont fix.

- how do I play Pandora and Rhapsody

- how do I turn it on with Roomie remote

- how do I adjust tuner input so I can get my 2 subwoofers.
dryasanne is offline  
post #1415 of 3200 Old 02-11-2014, 04:53 AM
Member
 
WR1325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dm465531 View Post

I just came from theMarantz AV7005 and I must say the ease of use and all of the features the CXA-5000 provides make for a very enjoyable experience. For movies this pre sounds amazing like wise with music. I watched a little bit of Rush and the separationseparation between the channels was great. YPAO is equally amazing and easy to use. It was also much quicker than audessey. I am very happy with this purchase and would recommend any one sitting on the fence to get one.

 

Thanks, its good to know others really like the Yamaha, personally for some reason could never buy the Marantz

or Pioneer much as i like most Pioneer kit,

and definitely not the Denon either as they are usually so boring sounding

 

yeap still on the fence

but bought the Beast last night online, the "Yamaha P7000s Pro amp" (2x1000 into 4ohms or 1x2000w)

for a sub upgrade, could nt resist, should be here by the end of the wk,

 

if i don't get evicted for noise pollution i let folks know how it sounds

the CX-A5000 will have to wait just a little bit longer

 

enjoy the CX-A

WR1325 is offline  
post #1416 of 3200 Old 02-11-2014, 06:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
joeyvaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I just set this receiver up for a friend last night. Sounds Good connected to his old school Infinity bookshelf speakers. I have a couple of questions to some issues I encountered. He is running a 5.1 setup in his main room, 2 bookshelf speakers in zone 2, and a Bose Acoustimas setup in zone 3. All wiring is correct. I used the setup on page 31 of the manual.

Issues:
#1. In zone 3, it seems as though no bass is going to the Bose setup. It sounds as if all bass is crossed over and out from that zone. ZERO bass going to the "sub" and just sound to the cubes. Wiring is 2 ch to the "sub" and then up to the cubes. He swore the sub worked before. So I wired into the main L/R to test. And sure enough, the sub "works" as well as it can. These are just being used for mood music in a sitting room.
***Put the receiver in Party Mode and get the same results in this zone-No Bass***

#2. His turntable is connected to the phono input on the receiver-and grounded. We get no sound coming out of it. Connected to his old Yamaha receiver, it works fine. I read in the manual on page 43 where it says something about the type of cartridge the turntable uses may determine if a boosting transformer is necessary. Any thoughts on whether this might be his issue? Never had to use a boosting transformer before.


Thanks!
joeyvaz is offline  
post #1417 of 3200 Old 02-11-2014, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by boxerfan88 View Post

Hi folks, on the 3030 while playing FLAC files (16/44) how large a sonic difference do you find between "STRAIGHT" mode vs. "Pure Direct" mode?

I suspect there would be no inherent difference at all, because Pure Direct is not really Pure Direct for FLAC files (the DSP is still involved because it has to decode the input stream to PCM).

Any difference you hear will be because Straight mode applies EQ and Pure Direct doesn't (plus there's no bass management in Pure Direct, so it's not a direct comparison with Straight unless you have all speakers set as Large). When the input signal has to be decoded, Pure Direct really just becomes a quick way to turn off EQ and bass management (which I suppose still might be useful to some people).

With PCM or DSD input, Pure Direct can send the signal directly to the DACs bypassing all processing, and that might be a more interesting comparison, but the main advantage of Pure Direct is probably to send a good quality analog input direct to the output section (bypassing DACs as well as processing).
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #1418 of 3200 Old 02-11-2014, 11:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ross Ridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 81
FLACs and anything else file played over the network or from USB is decoded by the ARM CPU that handles networking. If it were the DSP doing the decoding you wouldn't be able to hear network sources in zone 2. I'm not sure if the DSP get physically bypassed in Pure Direct mode when a network/USB source is used.
Ross Ridge is offline  
post #1419 of 3200 Old 02-11-2014, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Good point, but I think it's probably true that Pure Direct does nothing special unless the source is analog (or maybe DSD). But it does serve as a quick way to see what your speakers sound like without EQ and/or bass management.

Edit: looking at the service manual for the A3000 (the latest I have), digital audio from the network processor (e.g. decoded FLAC) is converted to analog on the network board (DAC is a PCM1781). Then in Pure Direct mode it looks like it stays analog and bypasses the main DACs.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #1420 of 3200 Old 02-11-2014, 03:59 PM
 
asharris7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28

I just got the network adapter and updated firmware, all went smooth. One thing is though, that Pandora keeps getting disconnected (did that before firmware update too) Any thoughts? I'm using the App on my HTC one

asharris7 is offline  
post #1421 of 3200 Old 02-11-2014, 04:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,292
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 858
Quote:
Originally Posted by asharris7 View Post

I just got the network adapter and updated firmware, all went smooth. One thing is though, that Pandora keeps getting disconnected (did that before firmware update too) Any thoughts? I'm using the App on my HTC one
Does it say "access error"?

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #1422 of 3200 Old 02-11-2014, 04:57 PM
 
asharris7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Yes, anything I can do?
asharris7 is offline  
post #1423 of 3200 Old 02-11-2014, 08:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,292
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 858
Quote:
Originally Posted by asharris7 View Post

Yes, anything I can do?
That used to happen to me a lot and still does from time to time. I didnt do anything special to fix it but its a fairly common problem.
Some people try resetting their router. Others try setting up a static ip address for the receiver.
Are you hardwired?

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #1424 of 3200 Old 02-11-2014, 09:34 PM
 
asharris7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28

wireless adaptor

asharris7 is offline  
post #1425 of 3200 Old 02-11-2014, 09:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,292
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 858
Quote:
Originally Posted by asharris7 View Post

wireless adaptor
If theres any way you can hardwire it that would be very beneficial.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #1426 of 3200 Old 02-11-2014, 10:19 PM
Member
 
marky301067's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Scotland. UK.
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Excellent review of the CX-5000 & MX- A5000 in StereoPhile March issue.
Webmonkey likes this.

Receiver: Pioneer SC-LX88 | Power amp: Arcam FMJ P777 | Speakers: | Atmos Speaker set up 5.1.4: Dali Helicon 400 MK2'S | MK2 C200 | Phantom in walls | 4 x Phantom Kompas | Sub: Paradigm Sub1 | Source: OPPO 105D | Proj: JVC 950 | TV: Kuro 500A | Tivo 1TB | Harmony Ultimate | IPad Mini Retina |
marky301067 is offline  
post #1427 of 3200 Old 02-11-2014, 10:50 PM
 
asharris7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I would have to run it across the floor so that's a no go
asharris7 is offline  
post #1428 of 3200 Old 02-12-2014, 01:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
Webmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 912
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by marky301067 View Post

Excellent review of the CX-5000 & MX- A5000 in StereoPhile March issue.

I am waiting for the online version, as I do not want to pay ~25$for a single magazine
Webmonkey is offline  
post #1429 of 3200 Old 02-12-2014, 06:00 AM
Member
 
DaveNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14

So I finally hooked up my A2030 yesterday evening. Right off the bat the speakers were louder with the new AVR than my old RX-V867, most likely because the A2030 has more juice than the 867.

 

One thing that surprised me was the video hookups, from everything I can see the maximum video inputs you can use is 7 regardless of whether they are hdmi, component, composite, etc. I am using 4 of the hdmi inputs and one of the component inputs, however I had to connect one of my devices to hdmi input '5' instead of '4' since the component inputs are only 1 through 4. It's hard to explain, basically there is no option to display component 1 input or hdmi 1 input if both inputs are in use, it is only 'av input 1' so you can't have an hdmi device and a component device connected to the same respective input number.

 

Took me a few minutes to figure it out but once I did everything worked fine.


DaveNY is offline  
post #1430 of 3200 Old 02-12-2014, 10:28 AM
Member
 
llang269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Tinley Park IL
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Hey Marky what did the review say? I tried to ask Kal earlier but that didn't go to well. I understand he has to sell magazines!

llang269 is offline  
post #1431 of 3200 Old 02-12-2014, 01:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,470
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by marky301067 View Post

Excellent review of the CX-5000 & MX- A5000 in StereoPhile March issue.

Thank you.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Webmonkey View Post


I am waiting for the online version, as I do not want to pay ~25$for a single magazine

??? Cover price is much less than $25.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by llang269 View Post

Hey Marky what did the review say? I tried to ask Kal earlier but that didn't go to well. I understand he has to sell magazines!

I generally say more than I should but Stereophile has to sell magazines.


Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #1432 of 3200 Old 02-12-2014, 01:47 PM
Member
 
llang269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Tinley Park IL
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Exactly and I have no problem with that. I guess my next question would be how does it compare to the krell foundation? In your opinion!

llang269 is offline  
post #1433 of 3200 Old 02-12-2014, 01:50 PM
Member
 
nsiret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just received my CX-A5000 today. Anyone have the IR codes in either text or Excel format to assist with programming my TSU-9400?

Thanks,

Nick
nsiret is offline  
post #1434 of 3200 Old 02-12-2014, 03:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 25
PM me with your email address and I can send you the codes that I got from Yamaha and then converted from their NEC (I believe they are) to the HEX codes used by Pronto remotes to use with my TSU-9600.
bwillcox is offline  
post #1435 of 3200 Old 02-12-2014, 04:56 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,470
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by llang269 View Post

Exactly and I have no problem with that. I guess my next question would be how does it compare to the krell foundation? In your opinion!

My disclosure policy is unchanged.


Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #1436 of 3200 Old 02-12-2014, 04:57 PM
Member
 
llang269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Tinley Park IL
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Uh ok!!

llang269 is offline  
post #1437 of 3200 Old 02-12-2014, 05:28 PM
Member
 
llang269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Tinley Park IL
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I think I'll just go to the bookstore flip to what I want to know and leave it at that!

llang269 is offline  
post #1438 of 3200 Old 02-12-2014, 05:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 324 Post(s)
Liked: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

My disclosure policy is unchanged.

Guys, please respect his stance. Just buy the magazine. If you are to cheap to buy a magazine to read what you need, then you should not be buying a pre-pro at all. mad.gif
Mad Norseman likes this.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #1439 of 3200 Old 02-12-2014, 05:39 PM
Member
 
llang269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Tinley Park IL
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I respect his stance and will do exactly what I just said. And thank you for telling me what to do with my cash!

llang269 is offline  
post #1440 of 3200 Old 02-12-2014, 06:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kikkenit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 1,525
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 86
It's only $2,500. Just buy it already. Now some amps worth using it with. Big bucks!
http://www.amazon.com/Yamaha-CX-A5000BL-AVENTAGE-11-2-Channel-Pre-Amplifier/dp/B00DJ4BMG0
kikkenit2 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Aventage Rxa 1030 Receiver , Yamaha Rxa2030bl Aventage Home Theater Receiver , Yamaha Rxa3030bl Aventage Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread - Rxa2030bl by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off