The "Official" Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A1030, RX-A2030, RX-A3030 and CX-A5000/MX-A5000 Thread - Page 91 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2701 of 3409 Old 06-24-2014, 04:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundChex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA, west coast
Posts: 2,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 135
The RX-A740 thru RX-A3040 now show on the Yamaha USA site.
_

[Home Office system schematic]
"My AV systems were created by man. They evolved. They rebelled. There are many speakers. And they have . . . A PLAN."

SoundChex is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2702 of 3409 Old 06-24-2014, 06:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Indianapolis Indiana
Posts: 4,076
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 735 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by maximus74 View Post
Well...so much with expected good things from Yamaha...

I am disappointed with the announcement for RX-A 3040 as i don't see many differences from my RX-A3030.

They missed the boat this year.
people said the same thing last year when the 3030 was introduced...as compared to the 3020

read the 3020 forum this time last year


Warren

Rm 1 Samsung 64F8500 Marantz 8801 prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp B&W CM10s..CM2 center...CM5's.rears
Rm 2 LG 47LE8500 Denon 4520 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 51E8000 Yamaha A2010 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Panasonic 50ST50 Onkyo 906 Mirage Omni sat speaker system
turnne1 is offline  
post #2703 of 3409 Old 06-24-2014, 07:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Indianapolis Indiana
Posts: 4,076
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 735 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoundChex View Post
The RX-A740 thru RX-A3040 now show on the Yamaha USA site.
_

and no mention of a new pre/pro to replace the CX-A5000

I had heard that it was going to be on 2 year cycles

However..the current unit is going to be behind the feature set of all the competitors( Marantz and Onkyo units) now since they are all seem to be rolling out new products with added features


Warren

Rm 1 Samsung 64F8500 Marantz 8801 prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp B&W CM10s..CM2 center...CM5's.rears
Rm 2 LG 47LE8500 Denon 4520 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 51E8000 Yamaha A2010 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Panasonic 50ST50 Onkyo 906 Mirage Omni sat speaker system
turnne1 is offline  
post #2704 of 3409 Old 06-24-2014, 10:50 PM
Member
 
Night_Hawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL.
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like the only thing new that you get with the 3040 is SiriusXM Radio. lol
Night_Hawk is offline  
post #2705 of 3409 Old 06-24-2014, 11:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kikkenit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Night_Hawk View Post
Looks like the only thing new that you get with the 3040 is SiriusXM Radio. lol
For the same price 3040 includes dolby atmos?, 3d measurement in ypao, ypao volume, hdmi 2.0, htc connect and wi-fi. 3040 loses s-video inputs/output, front toslink in, 1 component input, lesser remote and 0.2 pounds.

Last edited by kikkenit2; 06-25-2014 at 01:19 AM.
kikkenit2 is offline  
post #2706 of 3409 Old 06-25-2014, 12:35 AM
Member
 
audiostar88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The exact 3040 have dolby atmos and hdmi 2.0 that's quite a bit of improvement...
audiostar88 is offline  
post #2707 of 3409 Old 06-25-2014, 12:39 AM
Senior Member
 
maximus74's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Warren
My previous receiver was also Yamaha, RX-A 3020.

The biggest difference between the two models are the dac's they use.(Burr-Brown vs ESS Sabre).The sonic character between this two models is a little bit different,so...yes i believe they are two different "animals".
You can't say the same thing with the previous models until 3020.
maximus74 is offline  
post #2708 of 3409 Old 06-25-2014, 02:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,534
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 895
RX-A3040 does not have Dolby Atmos.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #2709 of 3409 Old 06-25-2014, 03:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kikkenit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
RX-A3040 does not have Dolby Atmos.
Not yet. The official Dolby Atmos thread (home theater version) M Code says it's coming.
Reason for the question mark. Website says nothing. Probably the reason for late role out.
kikkenit2 is offline  
post #2710 of 3409 Old 06-25-2014, 04:12 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,534
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 895
Quote:
Originally Posted by kikkenit2 View Post
Not yet. The official Dolby Atmos thread (home theater version) M Code says it's coming.
Reason for the question mark. Website says nothing. Probably the reason for late role out.
Good to know. Thanks.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #2711 of 3409 Old 06-25-2014, 06:03 AM
Senior Member
 
AC2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Hi - I was in my local AV shop yesterday inquiring about the 3030 (they didn't have any, going to call their other locations for me today).

I'm currently running 7.1 (using front presence) on an RX-A800. I'm looking to:

a) Run a Zone B in an adjacent room - a couple of in-ceiling speakers for now to play music from CD & Sonos sources. Might eventually add a TV here as well.

b) Advance to 9.1/9.2 in my main room

From my research thus far, I'm confident that the 3030 can do both of these things (I know I need an external amp to power Zone B).

I don't see expansion to 9 channel in the main room in the very near future; so I'm wondering if the 2030 is capable of running my 7.1/2 in the main room plus the 2-channel Zone B? Can the 2030 do HDMI source to Zone B (in the event I wanted to put a TV in there)?

Boston Acoustics Classic series L/C/R + front presence; Fluance XLBP Bipole surrounds; PSA XS15se
Yamaha RX-A3040; Emotiva XPA-3
Oppo BDP-103D
AC2011 is offline  
post #2712 of 3409 Old 06-25-2014, 06:06 AM
Senior Member
 
maximus74's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I don't think they will have something new for this year,is not in their style...maybe next year.
But i hope i am wrong...because i would love to see something really new from them,not a rebadged RX-A 3030 (3040).
maximus74 is offline  
post #2713 of 3409 Old 06-25-2014, 06:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 6
RX-A2040/3040 Dolby Atmos Available via future Firmware Update

Definite Dolby Atmos support (via firmware update) for RX-A2040 and RX-A3040

http://uk.yamaha.com/en/news_events/...al/dolbyatmos/

Last edited by DoDaLeCa; 06-25-2014 at 06:52 AM. Reason: Added title
DoDaLeCa is offline  
post #2714 of 3409 Old 06-25-2014, 06:41 AM
Senior Member
 
maximus74's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Thanks a lot for this information...this is a good news.
maximus74 is offline  
post #2715 of 3409 Old 06-25-2014, 07:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoDaLeCa View Post
Definite Dolby Atmos support (via firmware update) for RX-A2040 and RX-A3040

http://uk.yamaha.com/en/news_events/...al/dolbyatmos/

Good news, but odd that it's an after thought. It seems Dolby Atmos takes a lot of DSP processing power, and if the 3040 is just a minor tweak to the 3030 there may have to be compromises when doing Atmos processing (e.g. on the max sampling rate). Just guessing here, but by some reports Denon significantly increased the DSP resources on new models in order to support Atmos and Audyssey XT32 at the same time.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #2716 of 3409 Old 06-25-2014, 07:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundChex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA, west coast
Posts: 2,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoDaLeCa View Post
Definite Dolby Atmos support (via firmware update) for RX-A2040 and RX-A3040
http://uk.yamaha.com/en/news_events/...al/dolbyatmos/
I guess we must wait to find out if the Yamaha Atmos firmware update will necessitate moving the Front+Rear Presence speakers from their (historically) on-wall positions in order to create the Dolby Atmos on-ceiling effects. Hopefully Yamaha can leave the Front+Rear Presence speakers in their usual positions, and instead employ a variation on their existing virtual height speaker technology to obtain the desired results.
_

[Home Office system schematic]
"My AV systems were created by man. They evolved. They rebelled. There are many speakers. And they have . . . A PLAN."

SoundChex is online now  
post #2717 of 3409 Old 06-25-2014, 08:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
PretzelFisch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoundChex View Post
I guess we must wait to find out if the Yamaha Atmos firmware update will necessitate moving the Front+Rear Presence speakers from their (historically) on-wall positions in order to create the Dolby Atmos on-ceiling effects. Hopefully Yamaha can leave the Front+Rear Presence speakers in their usual positions, and instead employ a variation on their existing virtual height speaker technology to obtain the desired results.
_
I really wonder if Atmos is just a gimmick they are not adding speaker support. how much magic can they really do with 7.1 speakers in their dsp.
PretzelFisch is online now  
post #2718 of 3409 Old 06-25-2014, 09:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by PretzelFisch View Post
I really wonder if Atmos is just a gimmick they are not adding speaker support. how much magic can they really do with 7.1 speakers in their dsp.
The 30x0 already supports 11.1 (actually 11.2). Presumably with Atmos the 3040 will support a 7.1.4 configutation (standard 7.1 with side and rear surrounds, plus 4 Atmos overhead speakers).
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #2719 of 3409 Old 06-25-2014, 10:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post
The 30x0 already supports 11.1 (actually 11.2). Presumably with Atmos the 3040 will support a 7.1.4 configutation (standard 7.1 with side and rear surrounds, plus 4 Atmos overhead speakers).
So, does that mean that the current front and rear presence speakers are replaced by the overhead speakers? I'm not sure I'd go for that as I don't see how Atmos will be all that good for listening to music (which is what I do most). Am I missing something here? (I really know next to nothing about Atmos.)
bwillcox is offline  
post #2720 of 3409 Old 06-25-2014, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
billmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 1,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 35
any idea why the product line "skips" a "900" series

740/840/(940)/1040/2040/3040
was this in earlier models and then dropped?

I lament the loss of S-Video connections - but realize they are sliding into oblivion...
billmich is online now  
post #2721 of 3409 Old 06-25-2014, 10:24 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,461
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 956 Post(s)
Liked: 1094
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoDaLeCa View Post
Definite Dolby Atmos support (via firmware update) for RX-A2040 and RX-A3040

http://uk.yamaha.com/en/news_events/...al/dolbyatmos/

Hmmm. I'd like to be more excited about this but....

"Definite" and "via firmware update" doesn't exactly tickle my funny bones.

Watching this like a haaaawwwwkkkkk!

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is online now  
post #2722 of 3409 Old 06-25-2014, 10:54 AM
Senior Member
 
CaptinCrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kennedale, Tx
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Dolby Atmos is a long ways away from being encoded in to Blu-ray disk. Your lucky if what you buy today on Blu-ray is even encoded in 7.1 HD or DTS Master audio.

Sony 55W900A
Sony S5100 Blu-ray
Yamaha Aventage A1030
Klipsch RF-82 II
Klipsch RC-62 II
Klipsch RS-52 II
Klipsch RB-51 II (Front Preference)
SVS PB-2000
CaptinCrunch is offline  
post #2723 of 3409 Old 06-25-2014, 10:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundChex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA, west coast
Posts: 2,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Interestingly, as the 2040|3040 DSP engines apparently have sufficient MIPS to perform Dolby Atmos processing, they should easily be capable of executing Auro-3D 9.1 decoding . . . for which codec the existing positions of the Front+Rear Presence speakers would seem to be ideal (as opposed to the on-ceiling speaker positions other AVRs will use for Dolby Atmos playback!)

I guess we'll have to wait for the likely mass-market roll-out of Auro-3D at CEDIA and|or IFA this Fall...?!

_

[Home Office system schematic]
"My AV systems were created by man. They evolved. They rebelled. There are many speakers. And they have . . . A PLAN."

SoundChex is online now  
post #2724 of 3409 Old 06-25-2014, 11:12 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,461
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 956 Post(s)
Liked: 1094
Yup.

Dolby Atmos: Hurry up and wait.



My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is online now  
post #2725 of 3409 Old 06-25-2014, 11:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post
So, does that mean that the current front and rear presence speakers are replaced by the overhead speakers? I'm not sure I'd go for that as I don't see how Atmos will be all that good for listening to music (which is what I do most). Am I missing something here? (I really know next to nothing about Atmos.)

Depending on how high your presence speakers are mounted, they could probably be used for Atmos. And even if you have to move them higher they would probably still work fine when used for presence channels.

kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #2726 of 3409 Old 06-25-2014, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundChex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA, west coast
Posts: 2,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post
Depending on how high your presence speakers are mounted, they could probably be used for Atmos. And even if you have to move them higher they would probably still work fine when used for presence channels.



Repeating my post from yesterday on the Pioneer SC LX88 thread..
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoundChex View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walkamo View Post
Hi Steve, Unfortunately wall mounted speaker will not work for Atmos content. The content must come from above you in order to work, however once the ceiling speakers are installed our new AVR's will have an Atmos upmixer to utilize the ceiling speakers/Dolby enabled speakers with non atmos content. I know alot people want to keep their existing front speakers. Ceiling speakers or add-on modules are the way to go.. Of course I think our new Elite speakers will offer sound quality far exceeding their price... Chris Walker Pioneer Electronics

Unpleasant inferences...

(1) If your previous AVR used Front|Rear Height speakers for DPLIIz, DTS Neo:X, Audyssey DSX, or Yamaha CinemaDSP, they will not perform "as required" on a Pioneer Dolby Atmos system.

(2) The Pioneer|Onkyo implementation of Dolby Atmos uses a speaker configuration which is incompatible with (externally) decoded Auro-3D content. (Compatibility with other future codec speaker layout requirements . . . ???)



_

[Home Office system schematic]
"My AV systems were created by man. They evolved. They rebelled. There are many speakers. And they have . . . A PLAN."

SoundChex is online now  
post #2727 of 3409 Old 06-25-2014, 11:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I don't intend to replace my CX-A5000 for another few years or so anyway so I guess I'll just not worry about Atmos. As I mentioned above, I mostly listen to music and I don't see how ceiling mounted speakers would be of much value for that.
bwillcox is offline  
post #2728 of 3409 Old 06-25-2014, 12:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundChex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA, west coast
Posts: 2,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post
I don't intend to replace my CX-A5000 for another few years or so anyway so I guess I'll just not worry about Atmos. As I mentioned above, I mostly listen to music and I don't see how ceiling mounted speakers would be of much value for that.

Hopefully there will a firmware update for the CX-A5000 allowing you to decode|play Auro-3D 9.1 music off BD . . . of course there are only a small number of disks at this time, although we are "promised" more 'later this year'...?!

Copied from an older post...
'However, not all surround audio is movie related; without the need to orient on a screen, some audio-only content can be recorded "in the round" . . . with the possibility of "equally important" sound delivered from all points of the compass. Some tracks on the (audio only) Blu-ray disc of SOUVENIR by TrondheimSolistene on the 2L label (link) were assembled into 2.0, 5.1 Standard, 7.1 Standard, and Auro 9.1 mixes from a single 11 microphone array recording.



As the seven middle layer microphones are defined as being for the traditional Front Left|Center|Right (L|C|R), Surround Left|Right (SL|SR), and Back Left|Right (BL|BR) channels, there exist intended "front" and "rear" portions of the soundstage; nonetheless, the instruments are situated "all around the audience".'

_

[Home Office system schematic]
"My AV systems were created by man. They evolved. They rebelled. There are many speakers. And they have . . . A PLAN."

SoundChex is online now  
post #2729 of 3409 Old 06-25-2014, 12:29 PM
Member
 
mjmcmahon67's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoundChex View Post
The RX-A740 thru RX-A3040 now show on the Yamaha USA site.
_
Oh doesn't that just figure....my RX-A3030 was delivered the same day! That said, I wouldn't have wanted to wait another 2 months for a receiver.
mjmcmahon67 is offline  
post #2730 of 3409 Old 06-25-2014, 03:13 PM
Member
 
bjack56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
RX A3030 HELP!
All network streams, Pandora, Net Radio, etc... constantly drop in & out making it non-listenable.
Was working fine when I installed, but now it's useless.
Comcast cable/phone modem. Hardwired cat6 to TV, Blu-Ray & RX A3030.
Only problems with Yamaha?

Any suggestions or solutions would be appreciated.

THX
bjack56 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Aventage Rxa 1030 Receiver , Yamaha Rxa2030bl Aventage Home Theater Receiver , Yamaha Rxa3030bl Aventage Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off