Multi-Room setup - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 06-03-2013, 05:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HKman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm trying to help a friend with a multi-room setup. I'm not too familiar with multi-room so I thought I'd ask for some advice.

He just moved into a new place with pre-wired speakers in 3 different rooms. All wires meet in the main living room. There are 4 speakers in the main living room (which can be connected through the main speaker outputs on a receiver), 4 in the basement and 2 on the deck outside.

Most receivers only seem to have a multi-room setup for two additional speakers. Would I need a receiver that has an extra 3 channels for multi-room? If not, would it be ok to double up speakers on the terminals for multi-room? Any other suggestions?

Note, he does not mind if only the same source can be played in all rooms.
HKman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 06-03-2013, 09:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chevypower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Any 2 channel amp (or run from zone 2 on 5.1/7.1 avr)

Monoprice 12 AWG CL2 100' cable to run inside the walls
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003L1AFL4/ref=ox_sc_act_title_3?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

(I think it's cheaper directly from Monoprice though).


+ take your pick

1.- 2 source / 5 out
http://www.amazon.com/Speaker-Selector-Switcher-Control-Commercial/dp/B003UPIHF2/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1370318851&sr=8-1&keywords=speaker+switcher+with+volume+control

2. - 1 source (i think) / 6 out
http://www.amazon.com/Monster-SS-6-Speaker-Switcher-Speakers/dp/B00004Y3UY/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1370319103&sr=8-3&keywords=speaker+switcher+with+volume+control

3. - 2 source / 10 out
http://www.amazon.com/Speaker-Selector-Switcher-Control-SPECIALTY-AV/dp/B009LSOXHS/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1370319103&sr=8-6&keywords=speaker+switcher+with+volume+control

4. - 2 source / 7 out with remote control
http://www.amazon.com/OSD-Audio-ATM-7-Speaker-Selector/dp/B004Y8MH3M/ref=sr_1_10?ie=UTF8&qid=1370319299&sr=8-10&keywords=speaker+switcher+with+volume+control
Chevypower is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 08-05-2013, 03:36 PM
Member
 
svegesna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Chevypower,
The home is already pre-wired and has in-wall volume control for each speaker. (With Cat-5 connection).
and will the switch degrade the quality compared to 6 ch. amp when all the speakers are turned on ?, I'm just concerned that if I use the switch instead of the amp, the AVR will not have enough juice to run all these speakers ? Am I thinking wrong ?
svegesna is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 08-05-2013, 04:40 PM
Senior Member
 
HX_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
A separate amp would be the best/proper way to do this but will be more expensive. I'm doing a very similar setup to this, 5.1 + 6 rooms for Zone 2 (2 speakers per room).
HX_Guy is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 08-05-2013, 05:51 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,839
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 722 Post(s)
Liked: 1402
Yup ... separate amp would be much safer as well. smile.gif

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #6 of 8 Old 08-06-2013, 10:00 AM
Member
 
svegesna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks !
For the avr I can choose any of the branded basic 7.1, onkyo, denon, etc.. Which will cost $500
Now, where can I get a 7 CH amp at an affordable price ? (<$300)
All I see are in $1000 range.
These are small 8' in wall speakers, they don't need much power. BTW, how much watt should I consider if I want to run all 11 speakers at the same time.
svegesna is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 08-06-2013, 10:11 AM
Member
 
Cool_Hwhip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was just about to post about this same issue. I have almost an identical setup to your friend and am looking to upgrade my current ONKYO SR507 to an AVR w/ more HDMI inputs that can power the 5.1 system in the living room, as well as 2 additional zones in the house (total of 6 outdoor speakers). I was thinking a Denon AVR-1913 or Onkyo NR717 or NR616, but I don't really understand if a separate amp is still needed to power the other zones, and if so I don't know how to find a suitably cheap one.
Cool_Hwhip is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 08-06-2013, 10:33 AM
Member
 
jkust's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cool_Hwhip View Post

I was just about to post about this same issue. I have almost an identical setup to your friend and am looking to upgrade my current ONKYO SR507 to an AVR w/ more HDMI inputs that can power the 5.1 system in the living room, as well as 2 additional zones in the house (total of 6 outdoor speakers). I was thinking a Denon AVR-1913 or Onkyo NR717 or NR616, but I don't really understand if a separate amp is still needed to power the other zones, and if so I don't know how to find a suitably cheap one.

For most midlevel 7.1/7.2 systems, you will have the built in amp to power zone 2 if you only use a 5.1 set up in zone 1 which in the case of the Onkyos will also allow you to control the volume of zone 2 (others have fixed volume for zone 2). Zone 3 will require a separate amp but will have fixed volume for the Onkyos and other brands. In other words the Onkyo allows you to control the volume in zone 2 via any apple or android device, plus from the AVR and from the remote control. Some other brands require that you control the volume via volume knobs (of course you can use a multi channel amp with its own app to fix this). I have 8 speakers connected to my 616 zone 2 with a russound distribution block and impedance matching volume control knobs. All 8 speakers are 8" both two and three way's.
jkust is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off