Denon 3080CI HDMI port 1 issue - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 06-09-2013, 08:07 PM - Thread Starter
PMA
Senior Member
 
PMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I'm hoping someone can help me diagnose and possible fix this issue:

I have a blu ray player attached to port 1 and for some reason, I can see the boot up screen but then the screen goes black (I think to change resolutions) and then I get the Denon screen as if nothing was attached. The port has worked properly in the past but intermittently. I wasn't using it at all but then attached the BD player which worked for a short time and then this issue.

Anyone know what may be going on so I can fix? I've already reset the AVR to see if rebooting from scratch might fix. Did not work.

Thanks,
Paul
PMA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 06-10-2013, 03:10 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,874
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4411 Post(s)
Liked: 2370
Try replacing the HDMI cable as well as the other inputs.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 06-10-2013, 09:14 AM - Thread Starter
PMA
Senior Member
 
PMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Try replacing the HDMI cable as well as the other inputs.

Thanks, I've tried other HDMI cables and also hardware sources to that input. Still no go. What's most curious is why it works for a few seconds but then for some reason the port goes dark with the Denon screen showing on the TV as if nothing is plugged in.
PMA is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 06-10-2013, 02:34 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,874
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4411 Post(s)
Liked: 2370
The BDP issue may be resolved by setting the "Deep Color Output" setting on the BDP to OFF, however, if the issue still remains even when connecting to the other HDMI inputs and is also occurring with all your HDMI sources, then give a few more microprocessor resets a try, otherwise, the HDMI board has likely gone bad. If your typo really refers to the 3808CI, then this board is likely no longer available although going the repair route if the board is available is likely to run at least $300-$400 so consider putting the money into a newer model.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 06-11-2013, 09:20 AM - Thread Starter
PMA
Senior Member
 
PMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

The BDP issue may be resolved by setting the "Deep Color Output" setting on the BDP to OFF, however, if the issue still remains even when connecting to the other HDMI inputs and is also occurring with all your HDMI sources, then give a few more microprocessor resets a try, otherwise, the HDMI board has likely gone bad. If your typo really refers to the 3808CI, then this board is likely no longer available although going the repair route if the board is available is likely to run at least $300-$400 so consider putting the money into a newer model.

Thanks for the advice. Yesterday, I did another hardware swap and the port suddenly worked with an Apple TV attached. Not sure why but the BDP also works OK in a separate port. You are correct that my heading is a typo and the unit is a 3808CI. If the port becomes intermittent or fully fails again, I will consider a AVR replacement but will try resetting the microprocesser a few more times.
PMA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off