Official Sherbourn PT-7030 Thread - Page 14 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #391 of 395 Old 09-28-2014, 08:07 AM
Newbie
 
vabmwrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knucklehead90 View Post
The 7030 does process and upscale/convert video input. It uses the Genesis Torino video engine with the DCDi’s Cinema Format Conversion and Truelife video enhancer. Those aren't pass through video tools.
Direct quote from the PT-7030 manual:

"Note: The Video Resolution setting in this menu only applies when an analog video source (component or composite video) is selected. HDMI video is always passed to the output at the same resolution in which it is received."

Direct quote from Rotel RSP-1572 manual:

"High Definition TV Monitor Outputs
Two HDMI outputs of the unit send the High Definition video signals to your TV monitor. The HDMI outputs can send all enhanced or high
definition video signals to a high-definition TV 2D (480p/576p, 720p, 1080i, or 1080p) and 3D (up to 1080p/24Hz).

The output resolution is specified in the VIDEO/HDMI setup menu. Analog video signals (Composite and Component) in any resolution can be
converted to the desired resolution, except 3D and 1080p 24Hz signals at the HDMI outputs.

Note: HDMI Video signals are passed through without scaling.
"

I don't know how the Genesis® Torino/DCDi/Truelife™ technology is implemented on other processors but on the Sherbourn PT-7030 and Rotel RSP-1572 any scaling is limited to analog video only.

Sam Ash was asking about whether his Blu-ray player output would be scaled twice since his player's internal scaling can't be turned off. It's highly unlikely he's using an analog video connection so I assumed the connection is via HDMI. The 7030 does not scale HDMI video signals therefore his player's HDMI output is only being scaled once. He doesn't need to worry about double scaling because via HDMI his TV will receive a passed through signal from the 7030's HDMI output.

"I wonder if it'd be louder with bigger wires"
vabmwrider is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #392 of 395 Old 09-28-2014, 11:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Knucklehead90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: State of Confusion - 98823
Posts: 7,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 101
My bad - I know it converts/upscales analog only - and in light of that fact why does HDMI switching take so damned long? It reminds me of the UMC-1 which I owned briefly. Thats what I get for being in a hurry - bad info given out!

The 7030 upscales to whatever your display res is but isn't automatic. Mine is set at 720P which isn't native res for my display - 1080i is but the 7030 and my display didn't want to talk about that! Go figure - so I set it at 720P and it works! But it doesn't make my old Super Nintendo look any better than running straight into my display - FWIW. I had an Emotiva UMC-200/USP-1 setup for a while but I have only so much room in the audio rack which is why I dumped the USP-1. The UMC-200 does audio as good as the USP-1 IMO.

After having used the 7030 for the past few days its kind of growing on me. I like that I can assign a single audio input to multiple HDMI outputs. Why the hell many AVR/AVP's can't do this is beyond me. This lets me listen to music from my HTPC while watching tv. And the sound quality is very good IMO. I was thinking I'd sell this in a year or less and find something better but it is very flexible. I'll see what I get after running REW.

When all else fails - RTFM!

♫♫♫ Two Channel Rules! ♫♫♫

GO SEAHAWKS!!!

Last edited by Knucklehead90; 09-28-2014 at 04:16 PM. Reason: edit in italics
Knucklehead90 is online now  
post #393 of 395 Old 09-28-2014, 02:31 PM
Newbie
 
vabmwrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knucklehead90 View Post
My bad - I know it converts/upscales analog only - and in light of that fact why does HDMI switching take so damned long? It reminds me of the UMC-1 which I owned briefly. Thats what I get for being in a hurry - bad info given out!

The 7030 upscales to whatever your display res is but isn't automatic. Mine is set at 720P which isn't native res for my display - 1080i is but the 7030 and my display didn't want to talk about that! Go figure - so I set it at 720P and it works! But it doesn't make my old Super Nintendo look any better than running straight into my display - FWIW. I had an Emotiva UMC-200/USP-1 setup for a while but I have only so much room in the audio rack which is why I dumped the USP-1. The UMC-200 does audio as good as the USP-1 IMO.

After having used the 7030 for the past few days its kind of growing on me. I like that I can assign a single audio input to multiple HDMI outputs. Why the hell many AVR/AVP's can't do this is beyond me. This lets me listen to music from my HTPC while listening to music over the mains. And the sound quality is very good IMO. I was thinking I'd sell this in a year or less and find something better but it is very flexible. I'll see what I get after running REW.
The PT-7030 does sound fine as a processor and also makes for surprisingly good analog playback in Bypass mode. I managed to get 9 years out of an Anthem AVM 30 processor before A/V synchronization issues finally drove me nuts enough to buy something with HDMI. I've owned various Rotel products over the years, I figured Sherbourn's implementation would retain Rotel's signature sound and the closeout price with a 5 year warranty didn't hurt. I prefer sound quality over features - the less foo-foo items and blinking lights the better.

If you haven't already done so one thing that will help with HDMI switching speed is to set your Oppo and other sources to output to a specific resolution/colorspace instead of "AUTO". The less parameters that have to be negotiated during the handshake the faster switching occurs. Also, due to the weird nature of HDMI architecture keeping to 6' (or 2 meter) length HDMI cables can help. On some systems it doesn't seem to matter, on other systems a 1 meter or 3+ meter cable mixed in causes problems. I use the Monoprice 6' 24AWG High Speed for sources and to the TV, the cables are kinda stiff but function flawlessly and only cost $7 each. The Monoprice Redmere cables generally work good for long runs, I use a 15' length from a Mac mini to the 7030 without issues. I'm not trying to shill for Monoprice as there's tons of HDMI cable choices but overall I've had good luck with them.

My 7030 switches between a Cisco DVR (Cox cable), Roku 3, Oppo BDP-103 and Toshiba HD-XA2 within an average of 1-2 seconds. The video always locks in quickly but sometimes the audio takes another second or two depending on signal type. Most of the time video and audio lock in less than 2 seconds. The momentary audio delay is probably the most irritating issue but is supposedly due to the particular chipset Rotel used. It almost seems as if there's a lack of buffering as audio format changes on cable channels (program>commercial>back to program) are audible, with my old AVM 30 you never heard those changes unless there was a significant time lapse involved. For the most part HDMI is the spawn of Beelzebub and whoever's responsible for requiring HDCP should be lobotomized for the safety of future generations.

"I wonder if it'd be louder with bigger wires"
vabmwrider is offline  
post #394 of 395 Old 09-28-2014, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Knucklehead90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: State of Confusion - 98823
Posts: 7,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 101
vabmwrider - thanks for the tips on HDMI switching. I'll set my 103 up for that and see how it works. My only HDMI connections to the 7030 is the Oppo and a sat box. I've had to turn the 7030 off then back on when switching to or from the Oppo a few times now - it seems to get hung up on switching to or from either. Not enough of a problem to get rid of it and I like the 2 channel sound I'm getting. It does as well as the USP-1 I had for over a year. It only has to please me in 2 channel and it does that very well IMO! I watched a couple of chapters of The Hobbit (first one) to see how good the multi-channel is. Sounds great to me. My Rat Shack SPL meter arrives tomorrow so I'll be able to get on with the task of setting the EQ of this thing to see what its capable of. I have a Dayton USB calibrated microphone ready to go and REW installed on the computer.

When all else fails - RTFM!

♫♫♫ Two Channel Rules! ♫♫♫

GO SEAHAWKS!!!
Knucklehead90 is online now  
post #395 of 395 Old 09-29-2014, 01:07 PM
Member
 
Sam Ash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for your input and help guys, I appreciate it
Sam Ash is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Sherbourn Pt 7030 Home Theater Pre Pro

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off