HDMI audio out through the speakers when the tv is off? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 06-13-2013, 04:36 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mmcxiiad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a yamaha receiver (rx-V473) with an apple tv hooked up to it and then to a vizio tv (m220va). It is mostly used by the kids to watch movies from the apple tv and works perfectly.

Sometimes though, we want them to listen to music with the tv off. Although when we start the music and then turn off the tv, the audio stops. I am not sure if this is the apple tv pausing or the receiver muting the volume, but it appears to be the first one.

Anyone know how to continue to hear the audio when the tv is off?
mmcxiiad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 06-13-2013, 04:45 PM
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13,310
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 772 Post(s)
Liked: 1087
Do you have HDMI Standby On in the 473?
Bond 007 is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 06-13-2013, 05:01 PM
Member
 
SLIDEx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

Do you have HDMI Standby On in the 473?

What he said, if not, just run a seperate audio cable from the device (I dont have apple tv so dont know if its plausable). Optical or Red white?
SLIDEx is offline  
post #4 of 19 Old 06-14-2013, 03:15 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,874
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4411 Post(s)
Liked: 2372
The TV is sometimes required to keep the HDMI signal path complete. If you add an HDMI switch or splitter between the AVR and the TV, that should resolve the issue.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 06-14-2013, 05:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,509
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 481 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

If you add an HDMI switch or splitter between the AVR and the TV, that should resolve the issue.

I'm not so sure that will solve the issue definitely. The problem is the broken HDMI chain when you initially have TV on, then shut off. Some players can automatically re-start a new handshake, some don't. It largely depends on the design of player device and sometime AVR itself. But it is quite normal that AVR will lose sound if you turn off the TV in the middle of a playback.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #6 of 19 Old 06-14-2013, 05:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
WeApOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a very similar setup. I believe the above posters are right. The HDMI connection is likely being severed at the TV since it is off.

Unless the TV itself had HDMI standby passthrough, which I don't think any TV has, it won't pass through.

Either a separate run or an HDMI splitter -- for only when the TV is off -- should work.

Edit: Actually -- How are the speakers connected to the TV? We assumed HDMI. Is it stereo cable, toslink?
WeApOn is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 06-14-2013, 07:39 AM
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13,310
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 772 Post(s)
Liked: 1087
I have never had any problem listening to my cable box, PS3, or BDP while the tv was off with my Yamaha receivers. He either has a setting wrong in the avr or it is an issue with the AppleTV device.
No tv I have ever heard of has HDMI standby pass through.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 06-14-2013, 07:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
WeApOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What it sounds like is he is passing through HDMI to another device and THEN to speakers. I don't think he's talking about line level speakers. I could be wrong, but if not, he has a very similar setup to me. It has less to do with the receiver itself and more to do with how he is passing HDMI downstream. We will have to wait to hear from OP for more information.
WeApOn is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 06-14-2013, 12:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,509
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 481 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

I have never had any problem listening to my cable box, PS3, or BDP while the tv was off with my Yamaha receivers. He either has a setting wrong in the avr or it is an issue with the AppleTV device.
No tv I have ever heard of has HDMI standby pass through.

Try this on your cable box:

1. Have TV, AVR and cable box or CD/BD player all on. With HDMI connection of course.
2. Tune to a cable music channel or start play a CD or BD and make sure it plays music fine.
3. Turn off the TV. Now see if the music still plays on your AVR speaker.

For majority setups, it will effectively stop the audio to the AVR the second your TV is off.

There is no problem if you started playing music without TV ever on.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 06-14-2013, 02:04 PM
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13,310
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 772 Post(s)
Liked: 1087
When I follow those steps there is a momentary pause and then the audio continues with the tv off.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #11 of 19 Old 06-14-2013, 02:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,509
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 481 Post(s)
Liked: 308
That means your device is able to re-negotiate a new HDMI handshake and continue. Try a different device like PS3 and BDP and see how they react. Not all device can do that. And some AVR won't react so nicely either. OP's problem is just that. It is a quite common complaint.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 06-14-2013, 02:18 PM
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13,310
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 772 Post(s)
Liked: 1087
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

That means your device is able to re-negotiate a new HDMI handshake and continue. Try a different device like PS3 and BDP and see how they react. Not all device can do that. And some AVR won't react so nicely either. OP's problem is just that. It is a quite common complaint.
All my devices work that way. LG BDP, PS3, DVR. Thats why I said he either has a setting wrong in the Yamaha or it is an issue with the AppleTV.
Apple is famous for making their devices only compatible with other Apple devices to force you to stay in the family. That is my first suspect.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 06-14-2013, 04:05 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,874
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4411 Post(s)
Liked: 2372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

I'm not so sure that will solve the issue definitely. The problem is the broken HDMI chain when you initially have TV on, then shut off. Some players can automatically re-start a new handshake, some don't. It largely depends on the design of player device and sometime AVR itself. But it is quite normal that AVR will lose sound if you turn off the TV in the middle of a playback.

That's why it likely will work as the TV's EDID is copied to the HDMI splitter/switch which the AVR still sees when the TV is turned off. wink.gif

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #14 of 19 Old 06-14-2013, 04:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,509
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 481 Post(s)
Liked: 308
I see.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 06-14-2013, 04:45 PM
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13,310
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 772 Post(s)
Liked: 1087
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

I see.
You a fan of Russian planes? MIG-25. Predecessor to the Fulcrum. Not as sexy as the MIG-29. Not as lethal as the MIG-31.
None of which are a match for an Eagle. smile.gif
Bond 007 is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 06-14-2013, 05:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
myoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

All my devices work that way. LG BDP, PS3, DVR. Thats why I said he either has a setting wrong in the Yamaha or it is an issue with the AppleTV.
Apple is famous for making their devices only compatible with other Apple devices to force you to stay in the family. That is my first suspect.

The OP is sort of the same boat I am. I would like to listen to a cd without turning on the television. With my Onkyo 809 and Pansonic 310, I have dual HDMI outs, one connection to the receiver for audio, the other connection to the TV. I lose the audio connection to the Panasonic when the television is off. The only way I can listen to a CD is with my Sony DVD recorders optical output. I have tried HDMI passthough, and setting the receiver to allow passthrough for the Panasonic only, but to no avail. HDCP = PITA...
myoda is offline  
post #17 of 19 Old 06-14-2013, 05:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,509
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 481 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Roger that! I was a fan of all warplanes of that era. Don't have time for that anymore.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

I see.
You a fan of Russian planes? MIG-25. Predecessor to the Fulcrum. Not as sexy as the MIG-29. Not as lethal as the MIG-31.
None of which are a match for an Eagle. smile.gif


Sent from my RM-820_nam_canada_246 using Board Express
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 06-14-2013, 07:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stevew24963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Boca Raton,Fla.
Posts: 3,352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 705 Post(s)
Liked: 757
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Roger that! I was a fan of all warplanes of that era. Don't have time for that anymore.



Sent from my RM-820_nam_canada_246 using Board Express
Said enough.
stevew24963 is online now  
post #19 of 19 Old 06-14-2013, 07:09 PM
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13,310
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 772 Post(s)
Liked: 1087
That really is super cool. smile.gif And the caption says it all.
Bond 007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off