McIntosh vs Parasound Halo vs ATI - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 15 Old 06-15-2013, 07:19 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
ATI (Amplifier Technology Inc) produces amplifiers as an OEM and for themselves. ATI's prices are less than half of two higher end manufacturers (McIntosh and Parasound). Can someone help me to understand if the underying technology, sound quality, build quality and customer service of these three companies are noticeably different. I am interested in their 5-7 channel amps ranging from 200-300 watts per channel for HT and music.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 06-15-2013, 07:38 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 64
While I have no personal experience with ATI I would recommend them from what I have gleaned from reading reviews and these forums. Parasound and of course McIntosh are also a great choice. I think a A31 for the front three and a AT2004 would make a great 7.x. Of course you could go AT3003 and AT2004. Or even A21/AT3002 and Outlaw 7500. I prefer two amps vs a 7 channel. L and R are most important followed by center then surrounds and finally the rest. Unless you do multichannel music and have five identical speakers that would be an exception.
Edit: I believe the A21 is slightly better than the A31/A51 derivatives, but all very good.

Main Kef: Reference 205/2 & 202/2c, Surrounds: Kef XQ40, Velodyne Optimum 12, Integra DHC 80.3, Oppo BDP-103, Bryston 4Bsst2, Parasound Halo A31. Second B&W: 685 (3), CCM618, Def Tech Powerfield 1500, Onkyo TX-NR1008, DBP 2010, Samsung BD-C7900, Zone 2 Klipsch AW650. Sitting still CCM616, Kef...
post #3 of 15 Old 06-15-2013, 08:12 AM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by jima4a View Post