Yamaha CX-A5000 11.2 Prepro - Page 3 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 80 Old 11-22-2014, 07:07 AM
Member
 
waltiesantos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you very much Smitty 8451.
waltiesantos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 80 Old 11-27-2014, 04:58 AM
Member
 
waltiesantos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the CXA 5000 have problems with Netflix 4k streaming, as it is not 2.0? Or Netflix just upscales the signal to faux 4k? I ask this because we dont have netflix 4K in Brazil yet and it's known that native 4k requires HDMI 2.0.

Last edited by waltiesantos; 11-27-2014 at 07:28 AM.
waltiesantos is offline  
post #63 of 80 Old 03-12-2015, 02:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi All,


Does anyone know when the Yamaha will get Auro, Atmos and DTS:X?


I can't wait much longer!!!


Andy.
And007 is offline  
post #64 of 80 Old 03-12-2015, 04:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jima4a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 1,639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 79
To get ATMOS, Auro and/or DTSX will require a new model as hardware changes are required.
philmike21 likes this.
jima4a is offline  
post #65 of 80 Old 04-03-2015, 07:01 PM
Member
 
batman144144's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: California
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by And007 View Post
Does anyone know when the Yamaha will get Auro, Atmos and DTS:X?
I read online somewhere that the major manufacturers are moving away from separates and going back to an emphasis on receivers. Because of this, it was said, depending on sales, the CX-5000 may not get a follow-up. I ordered myself one today.
batman144144 is offline  
post #66 of 80 Old 04-03-2015, 09:54 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,361
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3706 Post(s)
Liked: 2177
Quote:
Originally Posted by And007 View Post
Hi All,


Does anyone know when the Yamaha will get Auro, Atmos and DTS:X?


I can't wait much longer!!!


Andy.
Likely in the fall when the new higher 2015 Aventage models are released.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #67 of 80 Old 04-09-2015, 06:32 PM
Member
 
batman144144's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: California
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Help! I think I blew my amp.

Okay, so, my CX-5000 arrives and I'm in the process of moving and disconnecting my current receiver (which I use with an outboard amp). Like an idiot, I had both the receiver and amp on. A couple of cables cross between the receiver and speaker cables on the amp. Boom. Then a loud hum. I turn off the amp and receiver. I turn on only the amp and the hum is still there. I disconnected the amp for 20 min. to let it reset....if amps even do that, then turn it back on. The hum is still there. I've tried fiddling with all the interconnects and speaker cables. If I disconnect right channel interconnect from the receiver, the hum is still there. I've tried wiggling everything. No luck. For reference, the amp is the Chiro C-500 five-channel amp; the receiver is the Marantz SR5005.

Okay, give it to me straight. Am I now in the market for a new multi-channel amp?

Last edited by batman144144; 04-09-2015 at 06:58 PM.
batman144144 is offline  
post #68 of 80 Old 04-10-2015, 06:00 AM
Senior Member
 
smitty8451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Do you have another set of speakers to connect to the amp to rule out the possibility that you blew the speakers and not the amp? If so, and there is still a loud hum then you probably blew the amp, but I would check into what it would cost to have the amp repaired first as it may not be to bad. Word to the wise ALWAYS UNPLUG all equipment before connecting/disconnecting said equipment. In my much younger days I fried a kenwood amp doing the same thing in my excitement to hook up a newly purchased pre-amp. A very costly lesson to learn.

Best of luck and enjoy your new yamaha Cx-a5000 when you get everything squared away.

batman144144 likes this.

Yamaha CX-A5000, ATI AT 2007 Amp (7X200W), ATI AT 2004 Amp (4X200W)Klipsch RF 63's - Main, RB 61's - Front heights, RC-62 - Center, RS-62's - Surround, RS-52's - Rear Surround, 2 Rythmik DS-1510 DIY Subwoofers (With PEQ600XLR3 Amp) each connected with Antimode 8033S-II, Oppo BDP-95, MMF-7.1, Project Phono Box RS, XBox 360, XBox One, Oppo HA-1, TEAC PD-501HR transport
smitty8451 is online now  
post #69 of 80 Old 04-10-2015, 06:26 AM
Member
 
batman144144's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: California
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitty8451 View Post
Do you have another set of speakers....
No, but I do have another "set" of amplifiers....in my receiver. I connected the speakers to it and everything sounds fine. I've already ordered another amp. My first choice was the 7-channel Marantz, but for the same price you can get the 11-channel Yamaha MX-A5000 --the matching component to the CX. So, I went with that. You are so right. This was a very expensive lesson.

I'm going to kinda miss my old amp. It's a Chiro by Kinergetics and was designed by the same guy that does Krell stuff. The amp was extremely well-reviewed and was, in fact, compared to Krell amps. It ran extremely cool and barely even got warm. You could set other components on top of it with no problem. I've had it since '96. I'm sure I'll love the new Yamaha, but it's still like saying goodbye to an old friend...

batman144144 is offline  
post #70 of 80 Old 04-10-2015, 07:47 AM
Senior Member
 
smitty8451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Sorry to hear its your amp, oh well you got a lot of good years out of it. I myself would have ordered the Yamaha amp but I had ATI amps already. When I was doing my research on the Yamaha amp the one thing that was mentioned is it runs a bit on the warm side so I would take that as running hotter that your old amp. With amps, my opinion is that they need lots of room to breath to stay cool so I place mine on the very top of my equipment rack with nothing around it. Your gonna like your new setup and please post your impressions for others to read.

batman144144 likes this.

Yamaha CX-A5000, ATI AT 2007 Amp (7X200W), ATI AT 2004 Amp (4X200W)Klipsch RF 63's - Main, RB 61's - Front heights, RC-62 - Center, RS-62's - Surround, RS-52's - Rear Surround, 2 Rythmik DS-1510 DIY Subwoofers (With PEQ600XLR3 Amp) each connected with Antimode 8033S-II, Oppo BDP-95, MMF-7.1, Project Phono Box RS, XBox 360, XBox One, Oppo HA-1, TEAC PD-501HR transport
smitty8451 is online now  
post #71 of 80 Old 04-10-2015, 07:19 PM
Member
 
batman144144's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: California
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitty8451 View Post
When I was doing my research on the Yamaha amp the one thing that was mentioned is it runs a bit on the warm side so I would take that as running hotter that your old amp. With amps, my opinion is that they need lots of room to breath to stay cool so I place mine on the very top of my equipment rack with nothing around it.
I read the same thing. How hot does the CX run? Would putting the MX on top of it be an option?
batman144144 is offline  
post #72 of 80 Old 04-11-2015, 07:25 AM
Senior Member
 
smitty8451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 70
I myself would not stack them, my cx is on a dedicated shelf with about 8" of space on the top, this leaves my unit running extremely cool (not even really warm after hours of playing) and easy to get too to keep them dusted frequently. The one thing to keep in mind is that any heat generated by the lower component when stacking adds to the heat produced by the one above it and in this case the amp will already be producing heat. If you absolutely have too, put riser blocks on the feet of the amp to increase the space between the two and look at some active cooling solutions.

batman144144 likes this.

Yamaha CX-A5000, ATI AT 2007 Amp (7X200W), ATI AT 2004 Amp (4X200W)Klipsch RF 63's - Main, RB 61's - Front heights, RC-62 - Center, RS-62's - Surround, RS-52's - Rear Surround, 2 Rythmik DS-1510 DIY Subwoofers (With PEQ600XLR3 Amp) each connected with Antimode 8033S-II, Oppo BDP-95, MMF-7.1, Project Phono Box RS, XBox 360, XBox One, Oppo HA-1, TEAC PD-501HR transport
smitty8451 is online now  
post #73 of 80 Old 04-11-2015, 05:41 PM
Member
 
batman144144's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: California
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitty8451 View Post
...put riser blocks on the feet of the amp to increase the space between the two and look at some active cooling solutions.

What would you recommend for risers? This is about the only thing I can find:
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B006N789W0/...I225U5IRAEGYM7
batman144144 is offline  
post #74 of 80 Old 04-12-2015, 09:06 PM
Senior Member
 
smitty8451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by batman144144 View Post
What would you recommend for risers? This is about the only thing I can find:
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B006N789W0/...I225U5IRAEGYM7
Those would work fine, you may also want to look at the isopod cones. There a little bit spendy but do a very good job. If you know a woodworker with a lathe you can also have some exotic hardwood risers/feet turned. Either way you want to get as much room between the components as possible for good airflow.

batman144144 likes this.

Yamaha CX-A5000, ATI AT 2007 Amp (7X200W), ATI AT 2004 Amp (4X200W)Klipsch RF 63's - Main, RB 61's - Front heights, RC-62 - Center, RS-62's - Surround, RS-52's - Rear Surround, 2 Rythmik DS-1510 DIY Subwoofers (With PEQ600XLR3 Amp) each connected with Antimode 8033S-II, Oppo BDP-95, MMF-7.1, Project Phono Box RS, XBox 360, XBox One, Oppo HA-1, TEAC PD-501HR transport
smitty8451 is online now  
post #75 of 80 Old 04-15-2015, 01:15 AM
Member
 
batman144144's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: California
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by smitty8451 View Post
I myself would not stack them...
Are you ready for this? I've been listening to and tweaking these units for about 5 or 6 hours straight now, playing music and movies. Both units are barely warm. Oh, did I mention the CX is stacked directly on top of the MX amp? No spacers. It's really awesome. I even lifted the CX to get my hand in deeper to check the MX. Barely warm. Pretty awesome. Now, I'm not listening at loud levels, but nonetheless I'm very impressed with how cool the units are.

They both sound awesome as well. This is the best HT I've owned. It's coupled with a brand new, 12" HSU sub, not to mention a new Oppo BDP-103D. Life don't get much better. I definitely prefer the Yamaha sound to the Marantz, though I still very much respect the Marantz brand. The Yamaha has a brighter and more detailed sound, without being harsh. It's like coming home. (Like I said, I owned a Yamaha DSP A-1 back in the day. I've missed both the sound as well as all the sound fields.) It's so nice to have an actual pre-pro as opposed to using a receiver as a pre-pro with outboard amps. It's the first time I've been able to do this, even though I've always wanted to since day 1.

Now, if you'll excuse me, I think I'm going to put in Pulp Fiction...
batman144144 is offline  
post #76 of 80 Old 04-15-2015, 01:55 AM
Member
 
REM Germany's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hi guys,
I am getting a CX A 5000 delivered today and will compare it to the Marantz AV7702, as I will buy either of the two units as an upgrade to my existing pre pro.

However I have a couple of questions on the setup which someone might hopefully be able to answer:

1. I am using active speakers, an Oppo 103D Blu Ray Player and a TV. The Oppo has two HDMI outs and can be set up in a way that one HDMI carries the sound information only and the other HDMI carries the actual movie data stream.
My plan was to connect the audio HDMI with the Yamaha and then the other HDMI directly with the TV.

Is there a possibility to activate the OSD for the Yamaha without having an HDMI connection from the processor to the TV?

2. I think I read "somewhere" that the initial setup can be done via browser as well if the Yamaha is connected to the network.
Could someone enlighten me how this is done? I seem to remember that you have to enter the processor´s IP in the browser? How do I know which IP the Yamaha got assigned in my network?

3. I am currently using a Velodyne DD12 Woofer which got a room EQ build in. This is working pretty fine for me and the bass is perfect as it is.
My speakers are all set to 80hz and below that the woofer takes over, which means that the build in EQ does its work as well.
Now when using YPAO is there a way to keep the above described setup, so the Yamaha´s room EQ does only take care of the frequencies above 80 HZ?


4. I read that you can run YPAO from multiple positions.
Is there any benefit of doing this or would it be sufficient to just position the tripod thingy at my main listening position? Just wondering if the whole EQ gets more precise the more measure points it has.

Thanks a lot for your feedback! I am really new to all this fancy stuff as my current processor is a good 10 years old and as basic as it gets!
REM Germany is online now  
post #77 of 80 Old 04-15-2015, 03:20 AM
Member
 
batman144144's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: California
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by REM Germany View Post
Hi guys,
I am getting a CX A 5000 delivered today...
I've been using the CX and MX matching amp less than a day, but I believe I can field a few of these.

1. I think most users on this forum recommend using only HDMI1 and connecting it, and your other HDMI gear, to the CX. Then, you would use the HDMI out to your monitor. I believe users had trouble with HDMI switching when they used both outputs on the 103D. However, don't let that stop you from experimenting.

2. Yeah, I wanted to try this, but I ended up just using the CX menus. You can get the unit's IP by using the remote and pressing On Screen, Setup, Network. Then go to your browser and enter the web address [CX Address]/setup. At least, that's how I understand it to work.

3. YPAO will reset everything how it thinks it should be, then you can go back in and tweak things however you want.

4. My understanding is that if you have only one listening position, you should not also calculate other listening positions because the unit is going to try and split the difference, so to speak.

Please, anyone with more experience than I with the CX, which is pretty much everyone, feel free to correct anything I've said and comment here.
batman144144 is offline  
post #78 of 80 Old 04-15-2015, 04:08 AM
Member
 
REM Germany's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Thanks a lot for your feedback, I guess that's a start already.


If anyone else has something to add please feel free to do so.
REM Germany is online now  
post #79 of 80 Old 04-21-2015, 06:29 AM
Member
 
batman144144's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: California
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, guys. Two questions. I just noticed that if you set your front speakers to Large, the unit cuts off output to the subwoofers (even with the surrounds set to small), at least according to the speaker display on the front panel. Now, the surrounds are supposed to be full range, so, why does the unit cut off the subs? Actually, I would like to be able to send bass info to the front speakers AND the sub. Is there a way to do that?
batman144144 is offline  
post #80 of 80 Old 04-21-2015, 07:07 AM
Member
 
batman144144's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: California
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Problem solved. I missed it because you have to advance past the first page in the On Screen -> Speaker -> Configuration menu. Then, go to Extra Bass.
batman144144 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Cx A5000bl Aventage 11 2 Channel Av Pre Amplifier , Marantz Av8801
Gear in this thread - Av8801 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off