Can't get Coxial Digital Audio cable to work on my Sony Receiver.... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 06-27-2013, 04:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
WaveBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,051
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 40
So, I have an HDMI Cable going from my Bluray player straight to my HDTV(Don't wont to bypass it through my Receiver and send it through another HDMI cable to my TV because there's noticable audio lag when doing so, which is why i opted for Coxial. It's either that or basic audio. Coaxial it is! XP)
and a Coaxial cable coming from my Bluraplayer straight to my receiver....But it's not working. I have everything hooked up properly, the coaxial input on my Receiver is labeled 'DVD in' and it's set to DVD on my Receiver. What could be the problem?

Do you have to manually go into your receivers menu via remote to somehow activate coaxial?
Here's my STR-DG720 Sony Receiver
http://store.sony.com/p/STR-DG720/en/p/STRDG720
WaveBoy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 06-27-2013, 05:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 7,370
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 1039
You can check your manual but it possibly does need the input to be specified as to source unless it auto detects (it may be set to hdmi by default). Were you hoping to not have to read the manual yourself? smile.gif http://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model-home.pl?mdl=STRDG720&template_id=1&region_id=1&tab=manuals#/manualsTab

PS You might also check your player to make sure you don't have to specify output, too

"I realize that somebody playing free music isn't as commercial as a hamburger stand. But is it because you can eat a hamburger and hold it in your hand and you can't do that with music? Is it too free to control?" - Don Van Vliet (aka Captain Beefheart) discussing commercial success in the music biz


lovinthehd is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 06-27-2013, 05:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
WaveBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,051
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post

You can check your manual but it possibly does need the input to be specified as to source unless it auto detects (it may be set to hdmi by default). Were you hoping to not have to read the manual yourself? smile.gif http://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model-home.pl?mdl=STRDG720&template_id=1&region_id=1&tab=manuals#/manualsTab

PS You might also check your player to make sure you don't have to specify output, too

I'm reading through it right now, but it's a little...well, overly complex. looking for the word COAX. XP
WaveBoy is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 06-27-2013, 05:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 7,370
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 1039
Try input audio assignment or something along those lines

"I realize that somebody playing free music isn't as commercial as a hamburger stand. But is it because you can eat a hamburger and hold it in your hand and you can't do that with music? Is it too free to control?" - Don Van Vliet (aka Captain Beefheart) discussing commercial success in the music biz


lovinthehd is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 06-27-2013, 09:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 7,370
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 1039
Now that I'm home check page 76

"I realize that somebody playing free music isn't as commercial as a hamburger stand. But is it because you can eat a hamburger and hold it in your hand and you can't do that with music? Is it too free to control?" - Don Van Vliet (aka Captain Beefheart) discussing commercial success in the music biz


lovinthehd is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 06-27-2013, 10:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 135
WaveBoy - Why do you say the coax input on your AVR is labeled DVD? Analog audio inputs never change and they have physical labels on the back of the AVR. Digital audio inputs do not have permanent labels. Rather, they are associated with a name based on the selections made on the digital input assignment screen.
BIslander is online now  
post #7 of 18 Old 06-27-2013, 11:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 7,370
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 1039
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIslander View Post

WaveBoy - Why do you say the coax input on your AVR is labeled DVD? Analog audio inputs never change and they have physical labels on the back of the AVR. Digital audio inputs do not have permanent labels. Rather, they are associated with a name based on the selections made on the digital input assignment screen.

Take a look at the way his avr is labeled on the back, page 23 in the manual (dvd in, coaxial, digital assignable)

"I realize that somebody playing free music isn't as commercial as a hamburger stand. But is it because you can eat a hamburger and hold it in your hand and you can't do that with music? Is it too free to control?" - Don Van Vliet (aka Captain Beefheart) discussing commercial success in the music biz


lovinthehd is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 06-28-2013, 12:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 135
If it is assignable, as digital inputs almost always are, then any physical label is meaningless. If the coax input has been reassigned, it will not be associated with the DVD label. On that model AVR, there are five other inputs where the coax could have been reassigned. p75 of the manual. That's why I asked the question.
BIslander is online now  
post #9 of 18 Old 06-28-2013, 09:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 7,370
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 1039
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIslander View Post

If it is assignable, as digital inputs almost always are, then any physical label is meaningless. If the coax input has been reassigned, it will not be associated with the DVD label. On that model AVR, there are five other inputs where the coax could have been reassigned. p75 of the manual. That's why I asked the question.

At work again so can't see the manual but IIRC there is a way to check display as to current assignment, think that was on p.76.
Could be he hasn't told his player how to route audio yet too...

"I realize that somebody playing free music isn't as commercial as a hamburger stand. But is it because you can eat a hamburger and hold it in your hand and you can't do that with music? Is it too free to control?" - Don Van Vliet (aka Captain Beefheart) discussing commercial success in the music biz


lovinthehd is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 06-28-2013, 09:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Could be. But, on most players, the audio outputs are always active.
BIslander is online now  
post #11 of 18 Old 06-28-2013, 11:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 7,370
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 1039
Maybe OP has figured it out....

"I realize that somebody playing free music isn't as commercial as a hamburger stand. But is it because you can eat a hamburger and hold it in your hand and you can't do that with music? Is it too free to control?" - Don Van Vliet (aka Captain Beefheart) discussing commercial success in the music biz


lovinthehd is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 06-29-2013, 07:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
WaveBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,051
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Correcto! XP Thanks to page 76...well, sort of. I basically went into the menu system, selected 'Audio', which had Optical selected by default, so i clicked down and selected COAX where it then basically links it to whatever Amplifier channel(DVD, Sat, Video 1) of your choice. Easy as pie and works like a charm. thanks for the help you guys! My New Sony 3D Bluray player definitly looks quite a bit sharper/clearer than my PS3 Bluray, plus my new Sony BD player is extremely quite, you can't even hear it vs the extremely loud PS3 Fan which was pretty darndistracting.
I may not get 96hz/dts HD master with a Coax cable but that's fine seeing as how i typically use my pair of Sennheiser HD595 headphones anyways, AND there's zero lag since i'm not bypassing any cables through my receiver from a particular device and sending it out to my TV. wink.gif
WaveBoy is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 06-29-2013, 07:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
D Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 1,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 181
Was the audio late or early using HDMI to the receiver? I'm guessing it was early, and you could have used the audio sync feature in the Sony to correct the issue. Then you get Dolby HD/DTS Master decoding.

Samsung UN60D6420 ~ DirecTV HR-44 ~ Sony S5100 ~ Roku 3 ~ Denon X-2000 ~ HTD Level TWO Towers ~ HTD Level TWO Surrounds ~ Power Sound Audio XV15
D Bone is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 06-29-2013, 09:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
WaveBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,051
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by D Bone View Post

Was the audio late or early using HDMI to the receiver? I'm guessing it was early, and you could have used the audio sync feature in the Sony to correct the issue. Then you get Dolby HD/DTS Master decoding.

Really? well, i've got quite a few HDMI cables lieing around so i could always try this out. And i'm pretty sure the audio was a little late when using HDMI.
WaveBoy is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 06-29-2013, 10:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Audio is usually early rather than late because the picture can be delayed by video processing.
BIslander is online now  
post #16 of 18 Old 06-29-2013, 12:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
WaveBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,051
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Page 45 from the manual >

A.V SYNC.

* A.V.SYNC. N (No) (Delay time: 0ms)
The audio output is not delayed

*A.V.SYNC. Y (Yes) (Delay time: 60ms)
The audio output is delayed so that the time
gap between the audio output and visual display is minimized

So in this case, wouldn't having it set to 'Y' reduce or solve the Audio sync delay problem?
I'm going to throw in a dvd, and see if i can make out a difference between the two for myself.
WaveBoy is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 06-29-2013, 01:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Yes, if the audio is ahead, it needs to be delayed to get back in sync.
BIslander is online now  
post #18 of 18 Old 06-29-2013, 01:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 7,370
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 1039
I didn't search your manual to solve your lag/gaming thing. Some receivers you can adjust for with a simple lip sync setting if you're using hdmi. Some may also allow an adjustment of the lag time but from what you posted it seems you only have one setting of 60ms (mine is variable from 0-800 ms in 5ms intervals plus has the single sync setting too). Give yours a try (and look through the manual for anything else).

"I realize that somebody playing free music isn't as commercial as a hamburger stand. But is it because you can eat a hamburger and hold it in your hand and you can't do that with music? Is it too free to control?" - Don Van Vliet (aka Captain Beefheart) discussing commercial success in the music biz


lovinthehd is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off