No audio when using ARC? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 07-01-2013, 02:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kaitlyn2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm using my Harmony remote to turn on my Denon AVR-1713 receiver and Samsung UN60F8000 TV. I am using antenna to watch television and they are connected via HDMI - ARC.

It works fine 75% of the time. Sometimes however, there is NO audio. If I turn off the receiver, the TV will revert to its internal speakers - but if I turn it back on then the sound cuts out completely.

Any ideas? Hard enough to reproduce in the first place, but very annoying when it happens!
kaitlyn2004 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 07-01-2013, 03:10 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,003
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 350 Post(s)
Liked: 1318
Turn on the TV first, then the AVR a few seconds later to allow a proper handshake between the two components.

Also note there is a dedicated thread for Denon AVR-XX13 Owner's linked in my sig.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3 of 10 Old 07-01-2013, 03:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kaitlyn2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Turn on the TV first, then the AVR a few seconds later to allow a proper handshake between the two components.

Also note there is a dedicated thread for Denon AVR-XX13 Owner's linked in my sig.

Hmm - in the harmony software the TV is set to turn on first. I don't think I can implement a kind of "power on delay"?

Kind of frustrating... frown.gif. want to use my Harmony for everything, but these Handshake issues are popping up like never before! frown.gif
kaitlyn2004 is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 07-01-2013, 03:31 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,003
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 350 Post(s)
Liked: 1318
AFAIK, the Harmony remote is capable of adding pauses between power on of the devices ... check with Logitech to confirm.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5 of 10 Old 07-01-2013, 03:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Or, use an optical connection instead. Optical pretty much works all the time without the squirreliness of HDMI Control.

The capability of your Harmony depends on the specific model and the user interface with the Logitech website.
BIslander is online now  
post #6 of 10 Old 07-01-2013, 04:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,766
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

AFAIK, the Harmony remote is capable of adding pauses between power on of the devices ... check with Logitech to confirm.
It really can't. But in the past I was able to ask Logitech support to add that for me for my specific TV. Giving that Logitech now removed all email support link and want to charge you for a fee for out of warranty support of any sort, I doubt you can do this now if you are out of initial warranty period.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #7 of 10 Old 07-01-2013, 06:04 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,003
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 350 Post(s)
Liked: 1318
^^
Hmmm ... a quick google search found the following that indicates it can ....

http://logitech-en-amr.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/11687/session/L3RpbWUvMTMyMTYxNTg3NC9zaWQvLTh6MTNxSms%3D

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #8 of 10 Old 07-01-2013, 06:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,766
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Power on delay prohibits other IR commands being send to the same device during the delay time but it doesn't prevent other devices get power on commands. I have two Logitech remotes and that is how it works (or not working). There is one parameter affects other devices, inter-device delay which controls delay between commands send to different devices. This affect all commands, not just power commands. So it is not practical to use this either.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #9 of 10 Old 07-02-2013, 02:03 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,003
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 350 Post(s)
Liked: 1318
Ah ... okay, then the following article discusses how to change the "input delay" ....

http://blog.logitech.com/2010/08/24/harmony-tips-and-tricks-adjusting-speed-setting-so-you-dont-always-use-the-help-button/

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10 of 10 Old 07-02-2013, 03:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,766
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 194
it is not going to help.
Foxbat121 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off