How do I connect an external hard disk to my amplifier? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 07-15-2013, 05:58 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bobbyalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Singapore
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New here, so go easy on me smile.gif

I have a Marantz PM6004 amp + 5004 CD player connected to a pair of ELACs. I have a huge collection of hi def music on my external usb drive. Mostly MP3. What do I need so that I can listen to them on my current setup? I know there you could use a line in from my computer but I dont want that. Will a DAC help here?

EDIT:
Based on the replies so far I have concluded that a DAC wont help. Media players with RCA out look promising but most require the TV to be switched on so that you can navigate. Same for XBOX, PS3, DB/DVD players. Anyone know of any that I can use as a standalone unit? Preferably with a remote so that I can just switch it on and start playing.
I had a look at one of the Sonos models but they only seem to stream music from your computer/phone or require a line in from an external device. It does not have storage nor does it accept a USB drive. Know of any alternatives?
bobbyalex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 07-15-2013, 07:14 AM
Member
 
r0n1n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Singapore
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
do you have a media player? usually media players have usb input. connect your hdd to a media player, then connect your media player to your amp. And no, you can't use a dac.
bobbyalex likes this.

Paradigm Studio 10 v5 | Paradigm CC 290 v6 | Paradigm ADP 190 v5 | PSA XS30 | Denon 1911
r0n1n is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 07-15-2013, 06:09 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bobbyalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Singapore
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I dont have one. Also, the amp does not have a standard stereo 3.5 mm line in, only RCA. What I am looking for is a device that I can connect to the amp to which I can connect the usb drive and use a remote to skip/pause songs. I dont want to have to use a TV or any other external device like a computer to play music or control the device. I am also ok if the device does not have a USB input but has internal storage to store the music directly.

Any suggestions?

PS: Well now that I think about it, I do have a PS3 and a DVD player. But I need to turn on the TV to navigate both.. plus there is a start up delay.
bobbyalex is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 07-15-2013, 06:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 14,383
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 758 Post(s)
Liked: 1169
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbyalex View Post

New here, so go easy on me smile.gif

I have a Marantz PM6004 amp + 5004 CD player connected to a pair of ELACs. I have a huge collection of hi def music on my external usb drive. Mostly MP3. What do I need so that I can listen to them on my current setup? I know there you could use a line in from my computer but I dont want that. Will a DAC help here?

Many BD Players will play MP3s off of external drives.
arnyk is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 07-15-2013, 06:38 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bobbyalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Singapore
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
True but you have to switch on your TV first. I am looking for a more stand alone option. Media players look promising... know any which does not require a TV?
bobbyalex is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 07-16-2013, 02:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nethawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Look for a Logitech Squeezebox Touch or classic on Ebay. While discontinued it's the best solution there is. You can navigate via the front panel of the Touch or smartphone/tablet app for either.

Nethawk is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 07-17-2013, 04:42 AM
Member
 
r0n1n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Singapore
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I think most media players will need a TV to navigate through the menus. So you will still need a TV. The Squeezebox is a viable option, or try to search for music servers. Not sure if it has usb input though.

Paradigm Studio 10 v5 | Paradigm CC 290 v6 | Paradigm ADP 190 v5 | PSA XS30 | Denon 1911
r0n1n is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 07-17-2013, 04:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bommai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 4,518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 19
If you have an iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch, your best bet is to get a $100 AppleTV. Then use airplay to stream. You don't need to turn on the TV. Works great.
bommai is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off