Denon 1713 5.1 only works with a DVD movie - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 07-17-2013, 01:10 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
BlueBear03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased a Denon 1713 and other than dvd movies all sources play just the two front speakers.. HD TV music channels and CD's. I have try useing HDMI cables as well as optical cables and nothing changes. Is it normal that the display on the receiver goes blank after a few minutes and I have to shut it off and hit the power button to get a display again? From reading post on here I have gone into the setting and change them to auto.I did use Audyssey to set up the system.
BlueBear03 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 07-17-2013, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,514
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Hi BlueBear03, possible you enabled Pure Direct mode.
JChin is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 07-17-2013, 01:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
BlueBear03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do you change modes. I don't see anything about that on a web search or on the receiver or remote
BlueBear03 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 07-17-2013, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,514
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Should have a "Pure" button on the remote.
JChin is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 07-17-2013, 02:35 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
BlueBear03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank You, It has 5.1 in either game or movie now and 2.1 for music or pure. Is there a way to get the display to either stay on or light up without changing something?
BlueBear03 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 07-17-2013, 05:29 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,983
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 786 Post(s)
Liked: 1437
The front panel display should only go dark when you're using the PURE DIRECT surround mode (which isn't recommended).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 07-17-2013, 05:45 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
BlueBear03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It goes black in any mode after a few seconds. It worked correctly when I first put the system together last week. Is there a sleep mode?
BlueBear03 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 07-17-2013, 05:51 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,983
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 786 Post(s)
Liked: 1437
That should only happen with PURE mode enabled, otherwise the front panel should be either ON or OFF ... anything in between is likely a defect issue ...


---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 07-18-2013, 12:25 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
BlueBear03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jdsmoothie:
I guess I will have to print out the instructions and learn all the buttons. I hit dimmer once and all is well now. I appreciate everyone’s help.

Thanks Chris
BlueBear03 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off