The **OFFICIAL** Marantz SR5008, SR6008 and SR7008 AV Receiver Owner's Thread - Page 101 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3001 of 3012 Old 09-23-2014, 06:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by c5ride View Post
Hey all,

I have a brand new SR5008 purchased in late May. I have it set up in a 5.1 arrangement with Klipsch RF-52 fronts, RC-52 center, RB-51 surrounds and SW-110 sub. I previously had an Onkyo 607 and have had no problems with that setup.

I upgraded to a Marantz SR5008 and have absolutely LOVED the sound, but have had a problem almost since day 1. Within the first 5-15 minutes the Marantz is turned on, it shuts down and goes into protect mode. Fast blink. I've gone crazy trying to check my connections, re-wiring etc. I had it connected with bare 16 gauge wire, so i bought new 14 gauge wire with banana clips. Still does it. I replaced the power strip it was plugged into and that didn't help.

The weird part, is that it always happens within the first 5-15 min, I press the power button and the standby light stops blinking, then press power again, the unit comes back on and stays on the rest of the night, for several hours and won't do it again. I have all inputs through HDMI, but this happens on all inputs. Sometimes (but not all the time) there can be heard a very quick static like noise that i cannot isolate to a particular channel, almost like you would rub a finger over a small microphone type sound. This sound was not present with the Onkyo. I've had the Klipsch's since January of this year, so I don't think they are the culprit.

Thanks for listening, i just wanted to check here before i go to a service center since they say 3-4 weeks turnaround and i use this every night.
I am having the same issue with my 3 week old sr7008. Did you sort out a fix?
winston9332 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3002 of 3012 Old 09-23-2014, 08:41 PM
Newbie
 
c5ride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I took it to an authorized repair center and they said they applied a fix that they said there was a notice from Marantz about. I don't know the exact fix but the problem has not continued after. Sorry I don't have more concrete info, but can't find my receipt at the moment. It might be at my office.
c5ride is offline  
post #3003 of 3012 Old 09-23-2014, 10:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 734
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tgterm View Post
Sorry for my ignorance, but are you saying that there is an app that will let me stream Google play music from my Galaxy s4 to my sr7008 using Airplay? What are they? Thanks!
I'm using BubbleUPnP on the Note 2 and can stream from the NAS to the Marantz using DLNA. Just another option available under android OS.

Maranatz NR1504, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, LG LW6500, aTV, WDTV Live, Harmony 650 remote, KEF E301, MiniDSP(2x4), Rythmik F12G
steveting99 is offline  
post #3004 of 3012 Old 09-24-2014, 12:11 AM
Newbie
 
Frank Bijlard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveting99 View Post
You'll need to have the Spotify app on your mobile device.

The mobile device, Marantz SR5008 needs to be on the same network. I.e. somehow connected to the router.

On your mobile device such as iPhone, using the thumb - flick up from the bottom of the screen and there should be a square with a triangle in it. This is called Airplay icon and touch it. It will provide a list of speakers that it can stream to. One of them should be your Marantz SR5008. Select it. Using the music app, play a tune from the device - it should stream to the SR5008. This confirms that Airplay works.

Run the Spotify app on the mobile device. Activate your playlist. It should be playing through the mobile device speakers. At the bottom left hand corner of the Spotify app you'll see the a square with a triangle in it - this is the Airplay icon. Touch it to bring up available speakers that it can stream to. One of them should be your Marantz SR5008. Select it. You should be able to hear Spotify through the SR5008.
Everything i tried did not help so i did a factory reset and now everything works just fine. Even the spotify icon appeared.....

Thanks everybody for helping me !!

Greetings, Frank
Frank Bijlard is offline  
post #3005 of 3012 Old 09-24-2014, 03:43 AM
Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveting99 View Post
I'm using BubbleUPnP on the Note 2 and can stream from the NAS to the Marantz using DLNA. Just another option available under android OS.

I appreciate the input...thanks.

Just picked up the Magicplay app...$2.99 later I am streaming my S4 to my 7008 like an iPad! Nice!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Tgterm is online now  
post #3006 of 3012 Old 09-24-2014, 03:30 PM
Senior Member
 
lizrussspike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Quad Cities
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quick question, Does the SR7008 have a reference volume level to set up for an SPL?
OR does that mean I set the master volume to 0, and then check the speakers at the MLP, and adjust th volume from there to get the 75dbs? Thanks Russ

Marantz SR7008
Emotiva XPA5
PS3
PSA XV15se
Sony BDP-370
Toshiba HD-A2
Polk Monitor 70's,Polk CS20,Polk R50's,Polk F/XiA4's,Polk OWM3's
Polk PSW 505's
Sharp 60 LED 640U
Optoma HD25-LV
Belkin PureAV Home Theater Power Console

Last edited by lizrussspike; 09-24-2014 at 04:03 PM.
lizrussspike is online now  
post #3007 of 3012 Old 09-24-2014, 05:25 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,602
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1101 Post(s)
Liked: 1521
^^
Set the AVR master volume to 0db, however, not as reliable a test as using a 3rd party test disc. Trust the level set by the AVR as accurate and simply adjust further to suit your preference.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3008 of 3012 Old 09-25-2014, 11:45 AM
Senior Member
 
lizrussspike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Quad Cities
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Set the AVR master volume to 0db, however, not as reliable a test as using a 3rd party test disc. Trust the level set by the AVR as accurate and simply adjust further to suit your preference.
Thanks JD, I am using the S&M High Definition Benchmark to do some audio and video calibration with my SPL. The onto some REW this weekend.

Marantz SR7008
Emotiva XPA5
PS3
PSA XV15se
Sony BDP-370
Toshiba HD-A2
Polk Monitor 70's,Polk CS20,Polk R50's,Polk F/XiA4's,Polk OWM3's
Polk PSW 505's
Sharp 60 LED 640U
Optoma HD25-LV
Belkin PureAV Home Theater Power Console
lizrussspike is online now  
post #3009 of 3012 Old 09-27-2014, 06:33 PM
Member
 
chrisdemello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Has anyone experienced this with your XX08?

It was working fine yesterday but now it refuses to switch on for more than 5 seconds. It automatically shuts off with a blinking red, power light. I tried to do factory reset but it didn't work. The same thing happened 2 months ago and they have the whole HDMI board replaced. I am not sure why it happened again as the amp if well-ventilated and shouldn't show any signs of overheating. Any inputs?

Update:
1) Tried dismantling all cables... didn't work
2) Tried to do a factory reset again by unplugging the main power cord... didn't work
3) Tried to do a factory reset again by pressing 2 buttons as indicated in the manual... didn't work
4) Tried a different power source... didn't work

Saw a message at Amazon that one guy is experiencing the same problem after the firmware update. I did the firmware update but that was months ago. Is this the culprit? Is there a way to roll back to the old, factory firmware settings?
chrisdemello is offline  
post #3010 of 3012 Old 09-28-2014, 04:36 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Media Player Analog audio out

Hi, I am trying to connect my 7008 to my 1605 using the 7008's analog media player audio out (rec out) to my 1605's analog cd audio in. But there seems to be no sound coming from the 7008.
That output should send everything playing on the main room or not? What may I be doing wrong?

Thanks
emassu is offline  
post #3011 of 3012 Old Yesterday, 01:14 AM
Newbie
 
mukuntharajaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

Recently I have got SR5008 and ever since I have started using I am observing one problem. After it plays for quite some time, I could sense some kind of plastic melting or burning smell. Very mild one though. That too when I go too close to AVR and then try to do something I sense this. I am pretty new to AVR and speakers world. I am not sure whether this is normal.

AVR as such is working fine. No issues.
mukuntharajaa is offline  
post #3012 of 3012 Old Yesterday, 05:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 734
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by emassu View Post
Hi, I am trying to connect my 7008 to my 1605 using the 7008's analog media player audio out (rec out) to my 1605's analog cd audio in. But there seems to be no sound coming from the 7008.
That output should send everything playing on the main room or not? What may I be doing wrong?

Thanks
Welcome to AVS!

If you haven't done so, connect your media player to the SR7008 with analogue inputs.

Use the Zone2 analogue pre-outs, using RCA cables connect to your NR1605 CD audio input.

On the SR7008 engage Zone2 , select source as the media player. Play a tune on your media player and it will send the analogue 2.0 signals via the SR7008 Zone2 to the NR1605 CD audio input.

Maranatz NR1504, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, LG LW6500, aTV, WDTV Live, Harmony 650 remote, KEF E301, MiniDSP(2x4), Rythmik F12G

Last edited by steveting99; Yesterday at 05:41 PM. Reason: included greeting
steveting99 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr5008 , Marantz Sr7008 , Marantz Sr6008
Gear in this thread - Sr5008 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off