The **OFFICIAL** Marantz SR5008, SR6008 and SR7008 AV Receiver Owner's Thread - Page 102 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3031 of 3060 Old 10-02-2014, 12:46 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Not quite true ... it will do so on both the Zone 2 (HDMI, digital, analog) and Zone 3 (digital, analog) pre-outs.
I thought line level outputs didn't get affected by the volume settings of the sender.
emassu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3032 of 3060 Old 10-02-2014, 12:51 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,253
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1389 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
^^
Huh? I responded to your no digital comment.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3033 of 3060 Old 10-02-2014, 01:30 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Huh? I responded to your no digital comment.
and I'm saying that zone 2 and 3 pre outs are not line level outputs ...
emassu is offline  
post #3034 of 3060 Old 10-03-2014, 01:32 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Poland, Szczecin (Stettin)
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Solution to "low volume" for network sources bug

Quote:
Originally Posted by StefaanSeys View Post
Solution to "low volume" for network sources bug

Hi,

Only two months after buying a brand new Marantz SR5008, the volume for any of the network sources (DLNA, internet radio, etc.) dropped dramatically. Where previously normal levels of 20-40 were used, suddenly I had to crank it up to 60-80. Other sources like HDMI audio from the TV, analog CD player, etc. remained unchanged.

I tried doing a factory reset, power off for 30 minutes, a couple of more factory resets, but the problem remained.

Looking on the Internet, I discovered I was not the only one having this issue. Finally, I found the solution on a Denon related forum (the Denon's have the same issue), but as we all know the close relationship between the two, I applied the exact same solution to my Marantz and yes, the problem is solved!

Solution:

1) Go download the latest firmware from the marantz support website:
2) Follow the instructions to update the firmware through a USB dongle (I previously already did a network firmware update, but this didn't fix the problem - and there has to be an update to do this )
3) Don't forget to do a cpu reset by pressing Channel+ and Channel- while powering on the device (is also part of the instructions).

The whole process took about 45 minutes, but it saved me a trip to the shop, wait 3 weeks for Marantz service to do this, go back to the shop, re-install all my wires and cables, etc.

Remarks:

I have only discovered this yesterday, so I do not know whether the bug is actually fixed in the firmware, or that the whole updating process truly resets the whole receiver in way that the normal factory reset does not. The firmware release notes do not state anything related to this particular bug...

It would be very helpful to know exactly why the receiver suddenly drops its volume for network sources in order to avoid the problem (assuming that the firmware does not already fixes it).

Hopefully this will help other people with the same issue...

Stefaan
Hi Stefaan and all
I have the same defect in my SR5008.
I updated the firmware through a USB dongle and volume in my SR5008 is OK.


Can you tell me if the problem is solved ?
After two months volume in your Marant is OK ?


Artur
aba107 is offline  
post #3035 of 3060 Old 10-03-2014, 04:21 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Solution:

1) Go download the latest firmware from the marantz support website:
2) Follow the instructions to update the firmware through a USB dongle (I previously already did a network firmware update, but this didn't fix the problem - and there has to be an update to do this )
3) Don't forget to do a cpu reset by pressing Channel+ and Channel- while powering on the device (is also part of the instructions).

The whole process took about 45 minutes, but it saved me a trip to the shop, wait 3 weeks for Marantz service to do this, go back to the shop, re-install all my wires and cables, etc.



Is the CPU reset a normal step in the firmware update process?

Harry
senojhrj1 is offline  
post #3036 of 3060 Old 10-04-2014, 12:09 AM
Member
 
chrisdemello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisdemello View Post
Has anyone experienced this with your XX08?

It was working fine yesterday but now it refuses to switch on for more than 5 seconds. It automatically shuts off with a blinking red, power light. I tried to do factory reset but it didn't work. The same thing happened 2 months ago and they have the whole HDMI board replaced. I am not sure why it happened again as the amp if well-ventilated and shouldn't show any signs of overheating. Any inputs?

Update:
1) Tried dismantling all cables... didn't work
2) Tried to do a factory reset again by unplugging the main power cord... didn't work
3) Tried to do a factory reset again by pressing 2 buttons as indicated in the manual... didn't work
4) Tried a different power source... didn't work

Saw a message at Amazon that one guy is experiencing the same problem after the firmware update. I did the firmware update but that was months ago. Is this the culprit? Is there a way to roll back to the old, factory firmware settings?
Last call on folks if you have any advice on the above problem or if you've encountered something similar.
chrisdemello is offline  
post #3037 of 3060 Old 10-04-2014, 07:10 AM
Member
 
rodneyiii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by aba107 View Post
Hi Stefaan and all
I have the same defect in my SR5008.
I updated the firmware through a USB dongle and volume in my SR5008 is OK.


Can you tell me if the problem is solved ?
After two months volume in your Marant is OK ?


Artur
Where exactly did you go on the Marantz website to D/L the firmware? I looked and couldn't find it. Please post a link. Thanks.
rodneyiii is offline  
post #3038 of 3060 Old 10-04-2014, 07:13 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,253
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1389 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
^^
The firmware download being discussed is only available for owners of the European D&M models and as such, the firmware ONLY applies to the European models. USA models are updated via a network connection to the Marantz servers.

http://firmware.marantz.eu/

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 10-05-2014 at 12:14 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3039 of 3060 Old 10-04-2014, 07:15 AM
Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 12
^^ I can't seem to find it either on the U.S. Site...only downloads available seem to be for user manuals and other docs...no firmware. If anyone knows, the link would be much appreciated...


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Tgterm is online now  
post #3040 of 3060 Old 10-04-2014, 07:16 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,253
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1389 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisdemello View Post
Last call on folks if you have any advice on the above problem or if you've encountered something similar.
If the unit is shutting down with nothing connected to it and it's not connected to a power strip, you must send it in for repair.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3041 of 3060 Old 10-04-2014, 07:16 AM
Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^

The firmware download is only available for owners of the European D&M models.

Well that explains why it can't be found...but why is it only available there?



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Tgterm is online now  
post #3042 of 3060 Old 10-04-2014, 11:23 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Poland, Szczecin (Stettin)
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
USB Firmware Update Instruction Manual:
https://
drive.google.com/file/d/0B3gDRtv9xpfPYmNlaHpvNjYtazg/view?usp=sharing

Firmware Marantz SR5008 black Europe
https://
drive.google.com/file/d/0B3gDRtv9xpfPZlFReGM3b0cwUjg/view?usp=sharing

Last edited by aba107; 10-04-2014 at 11:30 PM.
aba107 is offline  
post #3043 of 3060 Old 10-04-2014, 11:32 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Poland, Szczecin (Stettin)
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Changelog of SR5008
04.03.2014
Firmware: 8500-1784-1603
When the customer plays the source of "DTS-HD Master Audio/96k PBR
(PeakBitRate) stream", the noise occurs or the sound is not output.
The noise occurs in the play of DD+ stream of Netflix.
The specification of the product was changed:
The play of the WMA file from WMP11/12 changed the specification to nonsupport.
("With DRM"/"there is a copyright protection").
The noise is output when the customer plays a WAV file in the NAS (Twonky
Server 7) via remote App.

The operation (AMX command) for "MSLEFT"and "MSRIGHT" was
opposite.
Wrong translation for AUDIO setting "ALWAYS ON" in Dutch.

The noise occurs between tracks when a specific FLAC file is played.

The set doesn't communicate with Buffalo LinkStation (LS410/420).


30.07.2013
Firmware version: 8300-0384-9550
When other Network Service is played after AirPlay is executed from Remote
App, the display of Remote App doesn't change from AirPlay.
View photos via USB interface, the 4:3 image is stretched in width severely.

When the customer is not setting Usage Data, the PopUp display of restart
was added to the specification.
Setup Assistant starts by connecting the HDMI cable.
After the firmware is updated, the device is not found via the ios application.
Spelling mistakes on WEB GUI.
aba107 is offline  
post #3044 of 3060 Old 10-05-2014, 12:16 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,253
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1389 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tgterm View Post
Well that explains why it can't be found...but why is it only available there?



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Although planned, Marantz USA has not yet begun to supply firmware updates via USB. Note the European update ONLY applies to the European models.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3045 of 3060 Old 10-05-2014, 07:52 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Poland, Szczecin (Stettin)
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Although planned, Marantz USA has not yet begun to supply firmware updates via USB. Note the European update ONLY applies to the European models.
Why European und USA models - firmware has the same defect with volume ???
aba107 is offline  
post #3046 of 3060 Old 10-05-2014, 10:13 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
LFE - only LFE (0.1) goes to the sub
LFE+MAIN - both LFE and low freq < crossover FL/FR speakers set to LARGE go to the sub (aka "double bass" and generally not recommended)

LPF for LFE - factory defaults to 120Hz and should be left there to allow full LFE (20Hz - 120Hz) to pass to sub

If after running Audyssey you set the FL/FR speakers to SMALL/80Hz, this will ensure the sub is always used even with 2.0 audio.
Thanks for the reply and explanation. I have read the audyssey FAQ as well, and now it's all making sense.
The resulting Audyssey corrections are shown in the jpegs below. There's alot of HF being added to the signal. Why is this. If I listen to music with any Audyssey engaged it sounds very good and enjoyable, but a little bright. Why so bright? Here I'm mainly talking about the FL and FR as they are on axis and height with the microphone. Is it just to correct HF roll off of the speaker tweeters, or is it room correction? Or something else? Or is this why some people claim that Audyssey is a bit over bright generally?

I noticed that I can engage a parameter called 'Surround Parameter'> 'Home Theatre EQ' - What does this do technically?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SR7008_07.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	36.3 KB
ID:	296730   Click image for larger version

Name:	SR7008_06.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	171.5 KB
ID:	296738   Click image for larger version

Name:	SR7008_05.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	182.6 KB
ID:	296746   Click image for larger version

Name:	SR7008_04.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	164.3 KB
ID:	296754   Click image for larger version

Name:	SR7008_03.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	182.2 KB
ID:	296762  

Click image for larger version

Name:	SR7008_02.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	177.8 KB
ID:	296770   Click image for larger version

Name:	SR7008_01.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	173.9 KB
ID:	296778  

Last edited by rauck; 10-05-2014 at 10:19 PM. Reason: Add info
rauck is offline  
post #3047 of 3060 Old 10-06-2014, 01:13 PM
Senior Member
 
mthomas47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by rauck View Post
Thanks for the reply and explanation. I have read the audyssey FAQ as well, and now it's all making sense.
The resulting Audyssey corrections are shown in the jpegs below. There's alot of HF being added to the signal. Why is this. If I listen to music with any Audyssey engaged it sounds very good and enjoyable, but a little bright. Why so bright? Here I'm mainly talking about the FL and FR as they are on axis and height with the microphone. Is it just to correct HF roll off of the speaker tweeters, or is it room correction? Or something else? Or is this why some people claim that Audyssey is a bit over bright generally?

I noticed that I can engage a parameter called 'Surround Parameter'> 'Home Theatre EQ' - What does this do technically?
I can't really say whether Audyssey is too bright in general. I actually prefer Audyssey Flat, so I guess that wouldn't be true in my room and for my taste. But XT-32 seems to be particularly sensitive to fairly directional speakers which are off-axis (either horizontally or vertically), and can boost the highs accordingly. You said that you have everything in alignment. If I were you, I would experiment a bit with the front speakers, increasing and decreasing the amount of toe-in to find the position that works best. In my case, doing that to satisfy the Audyssey calibration helped me to find the optimum amount of toe-in, in general.

Something else that can sometimes result in boosted highs is comb filtering from having your Audyssey microphone too close to a wall, or leather chair or sofa back. Using a soft towel or blanket can help in that case. Audyssey can be a little fussy about the highs, and it can sometimes take a few tries to get it dialed in right, but I find it very worthwhile once I get it right, and as I said, the experimentation has helped me to improve my system in subtle ways.

Depending on how well any of that works, you may also want to roll-off your treble a couple of decibels, particularly if you are using Audyssey Flat. If you engage DEQ, the tone controls will be disengaged, but will default back when you turn off DEQ. Let us know how it all works out.

Regards,
Mike
mthomas47 is offline  
post #3048 of 3060 Old 10-08-2014, 08:12 PM
Member
 
blake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Speaker distances are not valid

RE: Marantz SR7008.

I am in Setup Menu:
Speakers-Manual Setup-Distances.

I have a 5.1 system, with 2 subwoofers

Why can I not set the distance for either subwoofer #1 or #2 at any number higher than 27.6 feet?
If I try to set it at a greater distance, it says "Speaker distances are not valid. Please set them again "??
blake is offline  
post #3049 of 3060 Old 10-13-2014, 03:26 PM
Member
 
JESSIE DART's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question to 7008 owners.
Im new to marantz, and just learned that this unit also has a audussy sub eq.
Im currently using a Onkyo tx-nr909 combined with a velodyne sms-1 dedicated sub eq.
I was seriously looking at this unit and wanted to know if you all felt the receiver was a good step up from the 909 and mostly, will this sub eq replaced my dedicated sub eq?
Ive always liked the way these receivers looked and im hoping the 7008 can perform as well or hopefully better than my current thxultra beast.
Any thoughts?

Im replacing the Onkyo looking for updated 4k and 3d video capabilities.

Last edited by JESSIE DART; 10-13-2014 at 03:34 PM.
JESSIE DART is online now  
post #3050 of 3060 Old 10-13-2014, 04:24 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,253
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1389 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
^^
Audyssey Sub EQ HT is designed to level match and set the delay for dual subwoofers, otherwise it has no benefit with a single subwoofer. Audyssey XT32 will still provide EQ for the sub as well as overall improvement over just MultEQ on the 909.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3051 of 3060 Old 10-14-2014, 07:24 AM
Senior Member
 
mthomas47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by JESSIE DART View Post
Question to 7008 owners.
Im new to marantz, and just learned that this unit also has a audussy sub eq.
Im currently using a Onkyo tx-nr909 combined with a velodyne sms-1 dedicated sub eq.
I was seriously looking at this unit and wanted to know if you all felt the receiver was a good step up from the 909 and mostly, will this sub eq replaced my dedicated sub eq?
Ive always liked the way these receivers looked and im hoping the 7008 can perform as well or hopefully better than my current thxultra beast.
Any thoughts?

Im replacing the Onkyo looking for updated 4k and 3d video capabilities.
I took a quick look at the 909 and it does seem like a beast, but I think you will be very happy with Marantz. XT-32 is a significant upgrade from XT. The FAQ, linked below, has some detail on the differences between the two Audyssey versions.
mthomas47 is offline  
post #3052 of 3060 Old 10-14-2014, 05:47 PM
Member
 
JESSIE DART's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Audyssey Sub EQ HT is designed to level match and set the delay for dual subwoofers, otherwise it has no benefit with a single subwoofer. Audyssey XT32 will still provide EQ for the sub as well as overall improvement over just MultEQ on the 909.
Ok.
But does Sub EQHT also re eq the subs to fix room anomalies or just do levels?
My sms1 completely removes all anomalies from 20 hertz to 120.
It measures the room snd then graphically shows all the peaks and dips across the subs band.
after manually fixing all of them the difference was beyond description.
Only down side is it only does one sub, I have 2 so the sms1 is re eqing both with the same measurement.
Also the unit was $750 alone.
I'm hoping this unit can do both subs separately and also even better job with fixing and blending the subs to the room and speakers.
JESSIE DART is online now  
post #3053 of 3060 Old 10-14-2014, 06:06 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,253
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1389 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
^^
Just delay and levels. XT32 EQ's the subs together as one.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3054 of 3060 Old 10-14-2014, 06:25 PM
Member
 
JESSIE DART's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Just delay and levels. XT32 EQ's the subs together as one.
Oh wait i get it.. I think.
The sub eq just does time alignment and level.
Then XT32 is the actual EQ part.
So if both subs are already in equidistant placement and you level matched them, do you even need subeq?
Couldn't you go with a sr7007 and save money and get the same results?
JESSIE DART is online now  
post #3055 of 3060 Old 10-14-2014, 07:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 784
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by JESSIE DART View Post
Oh wait i get it.. I think.
The sub eq just does time alignment and level.
Then XT32 is the actual EQ part.
So if both subs are already in equidistant placement and you level matched them, do you even need subeq?
Couldn't you go with a sr7007 and save money and get the same results?
Jess,

Audyssey sub EQ HT pings each sub individually then combined for an overall response. See the following FAQ by Keith Barnes about it: "Official" Audyssey thread (FAQ in post #51779)

The correction filters available under XT32 for the low frequencies are quite extensive and with 2 subs placed in the optimal locations, XT32 should be able to do a good job in the room.

The Marantz SR7007 has the step down Audyssey XT, which has lower correction filters compared to XT32. There are some issues with Audyssey XT as indicated by the following post: "Official" Audyssey thread (FAQ in post #51779). If you can afford the receiver with Audyssey XT32, I would personally go for that. Saving a few dollars and not enjoying the setup is a poor decision making process in my opinion.

Maranatz NR1504, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, LG LW6500, aTV, WDTV Live, Harmony 650 remote, KEF E301, MiniDSP(2x4), Rythmik F12G
steveting99 is online now  
post #3056 of 3060 Old 10-14-2014, 07:50 PM
Member
 
JESSIE DART's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveting99 View Post
Jess,

Audyssey sub EQ HT pings each sub individually then combined for an overall response. See the following FAQ by Keith Barnes about it: "Official" Audyssey thread (FAQ in post #51779)

The correction filters available under XT32 for the low frequencies are quite extensive and with 2 subs placed in the optimal locations, XT32 should be able to do a good job in the room.

The Marantz SR7007 has the step down Audyssey XT, which has lower correction filters compared to XT32. There are some issues with Audyssey XT as indicated by the following post: "Official" Audyssey thread (FAQ in post #51779). If you can afford the receiver with Audyssey XT32, I would personally go for that. Saving a few dollars and not enjoying the setup is a poor decision making process in my opinion.
Got it... thanks.
Ill be buying a sr 7008.
done and done.
JESSIE DART is online now  
post #3057 of 3060 Old Yesterday, 09:15 AM
Newbie
 
yanquiuxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having pretty bad luck with the SR7008 so far. The first one I bought about a month ago was making a static crackling sound every so often out of the right channel, which occurred even after changing speaker wire and changing speakers all together. So I had it replaced through marantz. My replacement unit is making the "ping" sound that it fires during an audessey calibration every hour or so randomly on any input. On top of this, I sold one to one of my customers who had the same static crackle problem that I did. I'm on the phone right now with marantz trying to get this one repaired or replaced... It makes me wonder if maybe there's a bad batch of these units that are linked to the $400 price drop that happened a couple of months ago. At this point I would love to just get a refund or switch out to to the SR7009, at the very least I would just like a receiver that doesn't make strange noises in the middle of a movie!

Last edited by yanquiuxo; Yesterday at 09:40 AM.
yanquiuxo is offline  
post #3058 of 3060 Old Yesterday, 10:41 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,253
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1389 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
^^
The price drop was simply due to the newer model SR7009 being released.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3059 of 3060 Old Yesterday, 11:47 AM
Newbie
 
yanquiuxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, either way it's three defective units within a month of each other...
yanquiuxo is offline  
post #3060 of 3060 Old Yesterday, 04:53 PM
Senior Member
 
ferrari fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego, CA.
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by yanquiuxo View Post
Well, either way it's three defective units within a month of each other...

Just out of curiosity, do you know the manufacture date of each of those three units, not that it will make a difference at this point. Just curious.
ferrari fan is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr5008 , Marantz Sr7008 , Marantz Sr6008
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off