The **OFFICIAL** Marantz SR5008, SR6008 and SR7008 AV Receiver Owner's Thread - Page 108 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3211 of 3238 Old 12-07-2014, 12:05 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,835
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2130 Post(s)
Liked: 1781
Quote:
Originally Posted by Federo5 View Post
Just downloaded the marantz app ( i have 7008) i found a surround mode i never came across in the receiver menu before in sound mode, dps similation : multi-channel stereo and virtual. Any way to access this other than the app. Any other feautures here or hidden ones in app or the receiver that will impove sound? Found that one improves stereo
Both modes have been available on D&M AVRs for years. See p. 124 in the Owner's manual.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3212 of 3238 Old 12-07-2014, 07:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 1,019
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 393 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Federo5 View Post
I have an lg blu ray too same same problem, sometimes blu rays just stop or on my external HD menu screen flashes, not in movie. What do u mean by deep colour setting, do u mean the vivid picture setting?
Every time there is a resolution change say from 1080p24(feature film) to 1080p50/60 (which some menus are configured at), there will be a HDCP check.

On your blu-ray player, there are settings for picture quality enhancements, i.e. color space, Deep color, xyColor, 8-bits, 10-bits, 12-bits, etc. Turn all picture enhancements OFF or go to default settings to reduce the bandwidth requirements for HDMI. For color space, there's generally two options, (1) YCbCr or (2) RGB. Most TV displays use YCbCr as that is the standard that blu-ray discs are encoded in and TV's will accept. The YCbCr color space means grey scale luminance value (Y), and two color difference values telling how much Blue (Cb) and Red (Cr) respectively to add to, or subtract from, that gray scale to get the desired color. On blu-ray discs the standard color space is YCbCr 4:2:0 as this takes the least amount of data which can be squeezed onto the disc. On your blu-ray player select this setting as it happens to be the most efficient transport through the receiver to the display.

When you refer to 'vivid picture setting' are you looking at the settings on your TV? If so, this has nothing to do with HDMI failures and more on the picture quality of the display. On the display you want to have this as Movie/Cinema or something similar.

A reduced HDMI bandwidth requirement means that when there is a HDCP check (authored by studios to discourage pirating) , there is less of a opportunity for it to fail - which means the video and sound wont get interrupted during playback.

Maranatz NR1504, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, LG LW6500, aTV, WDTV Live, Harmony 650 remote, KEF E301, MiniDSP(2x4), Rythmik F12G
steveting99 is online now  
post #3213 of 3238 Old 12-09-2014, 03:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
rossandwendy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I recently picked up the SR7008 and am loving it. But one thing I cannot figure out: when watching streaming from a Netflix app that is part of my Panasonic smart TV app package, the 7008's GUI will not display on the TV screen (can't see volume or any setting changes using the remote, have to go up to the receiver's tiny screen to make changes). I have one HDMI connection going from the TV's ARC input to the 7008's ARC monitor output.

Can anyone help me figure out how to get the GUI to show when watching Netflix?

Thanks,
Ross
rossandwendy is online now  
post #3214 of 3238 Old 12-09-2014, 03:23 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,835
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2130 Post(s)
Liked: 1781
^^
No can do. The GUI is displayed over the source video passing through the AVR and in this instance, there is no source video.
rossandwendy likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3215 of 3238 Old 12-09-2014, 04:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
rossandwendy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 19
^^
Ah, ok, thank you JD, that makes sense. I wonder if something like an Apple TV could connect to the Marantz as a video source and then watching Netflix via that Apple TV would have the GUI overlay?

UPDATE: now running Netflix through an app that's on one of my blu-ray players, and GUI works :-)

Last edited by rossandwendy; 12-09-2014 at 05:52 PM.
rossandwendy is online now  
post #3216 of 3238 Old 12-09-2014, 05:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Toronto
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Is there a setting in the 7008 that can change the dynamic range. Is this a different name on the receiver. Guy said where I bought this to make sure dyn range is set to limit off but I can't find
Federo5 is online now  
post #3217 of 3238 Old 12-09-2014, 05:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
rossandwendy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Federo5 View Post
Is there a setting in the 7008 that can change the dynamic range. Is this a different name on the receiver. Guy said where I bought this to make sure dyn range is set to limit off but I can't find

On your remote hit SETUP, then AUDIO>SURROUND PARAMETER>DYNAMIC COMPRESSION
rossandwendy is online now  
post #3218 of 3238 Old 12-09-2014, 06:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Toronto
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Perfect. Thanks man. I leave that off
Federo5 is online now  
post #3219 of 3238 Old 12-09-2014, 06:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Toronto
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Ross can u please read my Q in the audysee thread and help me out. I dont have a sub and need help setting my XO for the center and surrounds. Ive read all the info and cant get a correct answer. I posted the suggested frequency settings for my klipsch speakers
Federo5 is online now  
post #3220 of 3238 Old 12-09-2014, 09:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
rossandwendy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Federo5 View Post
Ross can u please read my Q in the audysee thread and help me out. I dont have a sub and need help setting my XO for the center and surrounds. Ive read all the info and cant get a correct answer. I posted the suggested frequency settings for my klipsch speakers
I'm not an Audyssey expert, but I did read your posts over there, and if it were me I would leave the crossovers at what your Marantz sets them to after carefully running the 8-point measuring. That's likely the best it's going to sound, until you are able to add a subwoofer and recalibrate.

That's my 2 cents :-)
rossandwendy is online now  
post #3221 of 3238 Old 12-09-2014, 09:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zappsdf View Post
Hi, I am having some issues with my SR7008. In some cases i can hear distortion from my center speaker, this is mainly on male voices.
I have isolated this issue to the "Dynamic volume" setting, when it's swithced off i can hear no distortion.
Has anyone else experienced this?!
Yes. I wrote a similar post not long ago. Someone recommended a fix by powering off the receiver, but I'm happy just turning off Dynamic Volume.
dpl1982 is offline  
post #3222 of 3238 Old 12-10-2014, 10:47 AM
Member
 
n8nagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by rossandwendy View Post
^^
Ah, ok, thank you JD, that makes sense. I wonder if something like an Apple TV could connect to the Marantz as a video source and then watching Netflix via that Apple TV would have the GUI overlay?

UPDATE: now running Netflix through an app that's on one of my blu-ray players, and GUI works :-)
Yes and depending on your TV that may be the preferred method of doing that for other reasons as well. E.g. in one setup I'm streaming Netflix through a Sony BDP and last night I noticed that the sound was 5.1 Dolby Digital +. However if using TV and ARC or S/PDIF for sound it may pass surround to receiver or some TVs only output 2 channel sound.

Sent from my XT897 using Tapatalk
n8nagel is online now  
post #3223 of 3238 Old 12-12-2014, 02:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Toronto
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 3
When should the IP scaler be turned on? My cable provider broadcasts in 1080I and 720p. I'm assuming it would never be turned on for blu rays
Federo5 is online now  
post #3224 of 3238 Old 12-13-2014, 09:54 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,835
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2130 Post(s)
Liked: 1781
^^
For many, never. Better to just let the source or TV do it.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3225 of 3238 Old 12-13-2014, 02:05 PM
Newbie
 
vendee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SR6008, wireless adaptor and Airplay

Just wanted to share my experience of getting my SR6008 connected to my network. I really wanted to be able to stream music from my android phone and tablet but it wasn't really possible to have a permanent LAN connection to my router. I initially hoped to use a redundant router/modem connected to the SR6008's LAN port and run in bridge mode but the router/modem wouldn't support this so them I took the advice on the Marantz website and bought a Netgear WNCE20001 wi-fi adapter. I'm really pleased with is adapter. It was relatively cheap (equivalent of $55) and its small and unobtrusive. The SR6008 has Airplay, which is a Apple protocol but I found an android app called "MagicPlay" which will stream from android devices to Airplay devices. It works really well for me. I've now also got access to internet radio which is a bonus.
vendee is offline  
post #3226 of 3238 Old 12-14-2014, 05:30 PM
Newbie
 
Dargent0628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
SR5008 as prepro

Hi All--

I recently passed on a great deal on some PSB towers because my current Denon AVR591 couldn't adequately drive them properly. This has motivated me to take another approach to upgrading my admittedly humble setup, and find a receiver with the requisite pre-outs so I can add a stereo power amp that will then offer me a lot of flexibility when shopping for LCR speakers down the road. After some research, the SR5008 seems to offer all I need. I love that it has MultiEQXT, which is an upgrade from the old Denon, and of course the pre-outs I want. I'd love to hear from anyone who's driving an amp with the 5008--which amp, what wattage and any issues that may have been encountered. A4L has a great price right now--I have no issues with refurbs with the one year warranty and shop and buy used all the time. Thanks for any info and advice.
Dargent0628 is offline  
post #3227 of 3238 Old 12-14-2014, 10:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 1,019
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 393 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dargent0628 View Post
Hi All--

..After some research, the SR5008 seems to offer all I need. I love that it has MultiEQXT, which is an upgrade from the old Denon, and of course the pre-outs I want...
If you're interested in room correction by Audyssey, the step up XT32 is the right one to get according to technical addendum article written by AVS member Keith Barnes here: "Official" Audyssey thread (FAQ in post #51779)

If you can grab the Denon 4311 on audiogon it has the pre-outs, Audyssey XT32 and more powerful amps to to drive 4 ohm speakers. Keep an eye out for those wanting to upgrade and you can grab a great deal.

Maranatz NR1504, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, LG LW6500, aTV, WDTV Live, Harmony 650 remote, KEF E301, MiniDSP(2x4), Rythmik F12G
steveting99 is online now  
post #3228 of 3238 Old Yesterday, 10:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Toronto
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Hey guys. I just bought a sub! I spent 10 calibrations without a sub getting my sound to something I love. Now with a sub I am afraid I won't get this sound from my speakers again, I have the settings saved on my computer. Is it possible to somehow just run audyseey for my sub when I get it and than load the saved speaker settings or do I have to do the whole thing over again and hope the frequencies match up similar.
Federo5 is online now  
post #3229 of 3238 Old Yesterday, 11:00 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,835
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2130 Post(s)
Liked: 1781
^^
Must run Audyssey again.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3230 of 3238 Old Yesterday, 11:20 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Toronto
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 3
ok thanks, and before I forget, right now I am bi-amped on my fronts and on my back two speakers which are my surrounds I have the gold plates on ( they are towers also). When I hook up my sub I assume I leave the gold plates on the back speakers and unplug one set of two wires from the fronts and attach the plates on the front with one set of wires only. Is this correct?
Federo5 is online now  
post #3231 of 3238 Old Yesterday, 12:51 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,835
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2130 Post(s)
Liked: 1781
^^
The AVR is only capable of using "Bi-amp" for the FL/FR speakers so unclear as to how you have the surrounds bi-amped as well. Also, when bi-amping the gold jumper plate should not be used. Also, unclear as to why you feel adding a sub is going to change your "bi-amp" configuration.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3232 of 3238 Old Yesterday, 05:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Toronto
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
The AVR is only capable of using "Bi-amp" for the FL/FR speakers so unclear as to how you have the surrounds bi-amped as well. Also, when bi-amping the gold jumper plate should not be used. Also, unclear as to why you feel adding a sub is going to change your "bi-amp" configuration.
No sorry, just my fronts are bi amped. There is one set of wires connected to the backs with plates. The fronts have no plates and two sets of wires. So I assume when I add my sub I am removing one set of wires from each front and adding back the gold plates? Or do I leave them as is now, bi-amped with no plates.
Federo5 is online now  
post #3233 of 3238 Old Yesterday, 06:31 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,835
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2130 Post(s)
Liked: 1781
^^
If you feel that being "bi-amped" is providing any benefit at all then there is no reason to discontinue just because you are adding a sub.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3234 of 3238 Old Today, 12:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Toronto
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 3
WHat do I set my settings too, low pass, filter, gain ect
Federo5 is online now  
post #3235 of 3238 Old Today, 05:49 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,835
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2130 Post(s)
Liked: 1781
^^
Low pass/crossover - maximum setting
Filter - default or no filter
Gain - about 9-10 o'clock

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3236 of 3238 Old Today, 02:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Toronto
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 3
I appreciate your help. I just still am confused on my speaker wire set up moving forward. I dont want to blow anything. Currently front have four wires and no plates. Backs/ surround have one set of wires and plates. What will i want to have with the sub. I have it ready to set up. Leave the fronts with 4 wires and no plates?
Federo5 is online now  
post #3237 of 3238 Old Today, 03:50 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,835
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2130 Post(s)
Liked: 1781
^^
You should have purchased a "powered" sub which plugs in to the wall and is connected to the AVR's sub pre-out (in yellow below) with a coax digital cable. You don't want a sub with just speaker post connections. Use of a coax digital cable would then have nothing to do with your speaker wire "bi-amp" connection of the FL/FR speakers.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	7
Size:	39.0 KB
ID:	426225  

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; Today at 03:57 PM.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3238 of 3238 Old Today, 04:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Toronto
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
You should have purchased a "powered" sub which plugs in to the wall and is connected to the AVR's sub pre-out (in yellow below) with a coax digital cable. You don't want a sub with just speaker post connections. Use of a coax digital cable would then have nothing to do with your speaker wire "bi-amp" connection of the FL/FR speakers.

Yes I got the PB 1000 by SVS. So it's ok to leave the fronts with 4 connections each and no gold plate? I just remember when I bought the speakers the guy said when I ghet I sub I would needed to change something around. I called Marantz and asked he said it was ok to leave it the way it was.
Federo5 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr5008 , Marantz Sr7008 , Marantz Sr6008
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off