The **OFFICIAL** Marantz SR5008, SR6008 and SR7008 AV Receiver Owner's Thread - Page 125 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3721 of 3732 Old 04-16-2015, 12:02 PM
Member
 
TurboTropic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Markham, ON Canada
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Not sure what you're asking here? If you run Audyssey, all speakers are set to the same volume level at the main listening position (ie. mic #1 position). The Height speakers are for ambient audio and generally don't get much audio. If you want any speaker to be more pronounced, simply use Manual Setup - Test Tones and raise the speaker volume a few db.
The "issue" is purely around the centre speaker. It's level sounds much higher than all others at the MLP. It's volume appeared to be fine (much lower) prior to connecting the height speakers and switching to the height processing options. I ran Audessey prior to connecting the height speakers. As a temporary measure I added in the height speaker's information manually after connecting them. In any case I don't know why that would have had an effect on the centre's perceived level. Maybe it's unrelated. Anyhow, I'll try to run Audyssey again tonight.

Optoma HD131xe on 106" Accuscreens 16:9 pull-down screen
Marantz SR7008 AVR / Sony PS3 Fat / Sony BDP-5200 / Mac Mini / Synology 212j NAS
Polk Monitor65T Series II LR / Polk CS1 centre / Polk Monitor30 Series II heights / Monoprice in-wall 5-1/4 Inch rear surrounds / SVS SB12-NSD sub
TurboTropic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3722 of 3732 Old 04-16-2015, 12:26 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,180
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3604 Post(s)
Liked: 2154
^^
When you add more speakers, the AVR disables Audyssey until you run it again to include the new speakers.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3723 of 3732 Old 04-16-2015, 01:11 PM
Member
 
TurboTropic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Markham, ON Canada
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
When you add more speakers, the AVR disables Audyssey until you run it again to include the new speakers.
Ahhh, that would be it. Thank you!

Optoma HD131xe on 106" Accuscreens 16:9 pull-down screen
Marantz SR7008 AVR / Sony PS3 Fat / Sony BDP-5200 / Mac Mini / Synology 212j NAS
Polk Monitor65T Series II LR / Polk CS1 centre / Polk Monitor30 Series II heights / Monoprice in-wall 5-1/4 Inch rear surrounds / SVS SB12-NSD sub
TurboTropic is offline  
post #3724 of 3732 Old 04-16-2015, 02:34 PM
Member
 
John M Miller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How similar are these to Denon X4000? I returned that receiver because it was having problems with my HTPC. When skipping over commercials the receiver would audibly click as it lost signal and then re-acquired it. According to others in this forum it's a design flaw of the unit. Very annoying. Also, when turning the receiver off and then on again the scaling in Windows Media Center would get messed up. Sometimes it would scale down to 480p and I would have to close WMC and reopen the program to get it back to 1080p. This was the deal-breaker for me and I had to return the receiver. It's a shame because I loved the way it sounded. Audyssey is amazing.
John M Miller is offline  
post #3725 of 3732 Old 04-16-2015, 02:37 PM
Member
 
TurboTropic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Markham, ON Canada
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by John M Miller View Post
How similar are these to Denon X4000? I returned that receiver because it was having problems with my HTPC. When skipping over commercials the receiver would audibly click as it lost signal and then re-acquired it. According to others in this forum it's a design flaw of the unit. Very annoying. Also, when turning the receiver off and then on again the scaling in Windows Media Center would get messed up. Sometimes it would scale down to 480p and I would have to close WMC and reopen the program to get it back to 1080p. This was the deal-breaker for me and I had to return the receiver. It's a shame because I loved the way it sounded. Audyssey is amazing.

My guess would be that they are so similar internally that you would have the same issue. Especially the video components.



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Optoma HD131xe on 106" Accuscreens 16:9 pull-down screen
Marantz SR7008 AVR / Sony PS3 Fat / Sony BDP-5200 / Mac Mini / Synology 212j NAS
Polk Monitor65T Series II LR / Polk CS1 centre / Polk Monitor30 Series II heights / Monoprice in-wall 5-1/4 Inch rear surrounds / SVS SB12-NSD sub
TurboTropic is offline  
post #3726 of 3732 Old Yesterday, 08:44 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello friends,






Is there issues with the SR7008 receiving HDMI signal from HTPC? I for the life of me cannot figure out why the HTPC isn't getting a signal into the receiver. Even tried to use various inputs.
Still in basic setup, 2.1 being fed from the HTPC. Could bring down the cable box for another input to try another source. Any suggestions?
- do I have a setting in the computer to adjust? it's Windows 8.1




Thanks
Shmoo17 is offline  
post #3727 of 3732 Old Today, 03:11 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,180
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3604 Post(s)
Liked: 2154
^^
HTPCs can have issues with any brand of AVR depending on the card installed. Review following link for some helpful information ...

http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-faq.html#l12

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3728 of 3732 Old Today, 11:57 AM
Member
 
vodil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SFO
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question Doesn't 4K just get passed through to the TV

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
If you plan on purchasing a 4k TV and HDMI 2.0/HDCP 2.2 Blu Ray player, the work around would be to purchase a dual HDMI BDP in order to pass the video to the TV and audio to the AVR. Otherwise if not planning on placing "height" speakers for Dolby Atmos or Auro 3D, the SR7008 uses the same version of Audyssey MultEQ XT32. .
I am planning on upgrading my Sammy Smart TV to UHD and I assumed that the AVR would pass through the DirecTV (and other) 4K signals on. Is this not so? I have an SR7008 (plus an Oppo 103 and PS3).
vodil is online now  
post #3729 of 3732 Old Today, 12:03 PM
Member
 
vodil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SFO
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
The only video you need to pass to the TV directly would be a 4k/60Hz/HDCP 2.2, otherwise you can pass 4k/30Hz, 1080p and lower resolution directly to the AVR. However, in every case, audio should go directly to the AVR and not come from the TV which in many cases is limited to only 2CH stereo.
TV Specs say Dolby MS11--which I think is atmos. Does that not mean it will pass through pretty much everything? Otherwise how would Apps on the SmartTV (e.g. Netflix) use multichannel audio?
vodil is online now  
post #3730 of 3732 Old Today, 12:38 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,180
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3604 Post(s)
Liked: 2154
Quote:
Originally Posted by vodil View Post
I am planning on upgrading my Sammy Smart TV to UHD and I assumed that the AVR would pass through the DirecTV (and other) 4K signals on. Is this not so? I have an SR7008 (plus an Oppo 103 and PS3).
As long as the signal is not HDCP 2.2 protected (ie. new UHD HDMI 2.0/HDCP 2.2 BDP avail Fall 2015) or 4k/60Hz, yes, it will pass through the AVR. Neither the 103 or PS3 is capable of passing a 4k signal so those 1080p signals will pass through the AVR and be upscaled to 4k by the TV.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vodil View Post
TV Specs say Dolby MS11--which I think is atmos. Does that not mean it will pass through pretty much everything? Otherwise how would Apps on the SmartTV (e.g. Netflix) use multichannel audio?
The SR7008 is not Atmos capable, so would not be able to play an Atmos stream from the TV so the TV would only pass DD or DD+ to the AVR.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3731 of 3732 Old Today, 01:49 PM
Member
 
vodil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SFO
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In HDMI speak:

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
As long as the signal is not HDCP 2.2 protected (ie. new UHD HDMI 2.0/HDCP 2.2 BDP avail Fall 2015) or 4k/60Hz, yes, it will pass through the AVR.
Very helpful. TY. In other words SR7008 can shuttle 10.2Gbps signals (e.g. HDMI 1.4a) but not 18Gbps (i.e. HDMI 2.0a) that the full 4k systems will eventually need?

That suggests that the DirecTV needs to go directly to the TV to get its 4K right.
vodil is online now  
post #3732 of 3732 Old Today, 02:28 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,180
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3604 Post(s)
Liked: 2154
Quote:
Originally Posted by vodil View Post
Very helpful. TY. In other words SR7008 can shuttle 10.2Gbps signals (e.g. HDMI 1.4a) but not 18Gbps (i.e. HDMI 2.0a) that the full 4k systems will eventually need?

That suggests that the DirecTV needs to go directly to the TV to get its 4K right.
When DirecTV starts broadcasting 60Hz 4k signals, yes.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr5008 , Marantz Sr7008 , Marantz Sr6008
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off